Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Change hardware Mobo/ram, what happen to installed window 10 @ SSD

bangaubagus
post Feb 17 2017, 08:22 AM, updated 8 months ago

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 178

Joined: Aug 2016


Hi,

If i upgraded my mobo/ram/psu etc, but using the same SSD/HDD which has win 10 installed in it, what happen next? Can i still have access to window afterward?
YoungMan
post Feb 17 2017, 08:36 AM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,260

Joined: Oct 2008
From: Kuala Lumpur



yes you can, but windows will ask you to activate. If your copy of Win10 is retail, probably you can transfer the activation to new mobo, but if OEM licence, can only activate once and tie to that mobo.
Kellicros
post Feb 17 2017, 03:38 PM

www.getto.com.my
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 999

Joined: Jan 2003
From: KL
QUOTE(bangaubagus @ Feb 17 2017, 08:22 AM)
Hi,

If i upgraded my mobo/ram/psu etc, but using the same SSD/HDD which has win 10 installed in it, what happen next? Can i still have access to window afterward?
*
You will have to reinstall Windows 10 for it to work properly.

Make sure you upgraded to anniversary edition and link your license to your Microsoft account, that will make your life easier during activation.
bangaubagus
post Feb 17 2017, 07:35 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 178

Joined: Aug 2016


Haa... how to uninstall n install back win 10.. sorry kinda noob
Kellicros
post Feb 19 2017, 03:18 PM

www.getto.com.my
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 999

Joined: Jan 2003
From: KL
Link your license if you have not already:
http://www.windowscentral.com/how-re-activ...hardware-change

Back up your important files before trying anything,

Create the windows 10 installer flash drive
https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/2376-us...ndows-10-a.html

How to do a clean install of Windows 10:
https://www.howtogeek.com/224342/how-to-cle...all-windows-10/

If you have backed up everything, and wish to format your drive, just delete all partitions on your main drive and click install, the setup will automatically reformat your drive and create the required partitions to run windows 10.

If you're not sure if you want to reformat, during installation, the set up will let you choose to either repair or reinstall windows if it detects an older windows in your drive, once you make your choice, it "should" ask you if you want to keep your old files, and if you choose to, your old windows directory will be backed up to windows.old folder on your main drive, after doing a clean install, check that folder and see if there is any files you want to keep, the "windows.old" folder will be automatically deleted after 30 days.




bangaubagus
post Feb 19 2017, 05:40 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 178

Joined: Aug 2016


Thanks, appreciate all sifus help
DEz012
post Feb 19 2017, 06:18 PM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 538

Joined: Oct 2006


You don't need to reinstall your win 10 below is the guide to link your win 10 license with online Microsoft account.

http://www.windowscentral.com/how-re-activ...hardware-change

Before you change your mobo. please make sure u uninstall old mobo software such as intel chipset, usb software, audio driver and etc.

Just to let u know u must has a legit product key of win 10 , win 8 or win 7 just in case if u fail to activate your windows using the above method u will need to contact Microsoft from the link below, they will used remote assist to activate your windows.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/contactus/

Just a tip after u have successful activate your windows, go settings , accounts, click Sign in with a local account instead (must have your microsft acc. username & password), if not u will locked out of windows if you don't have a internet connection or forget your password.

This post has been edited by DEz012: Feb 19 2017, 06:34 PM
Savor_Savvy
post Apr 14 2017, 09:18 AM

GiRl gaMeR
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,958

Joined: Jul 2006


QUOTE(DEz012 @ Feb 19 2017, 06:18 PM)
You don't need to reinstall your win 10 below is the guide to link your win 10 license with online Microsoft account.

http://www.windowscentral.com/how-re-activ...hardware-change

Before you change your mobo. please make sure u uninstall old mobo software such as intel chipset, usb software, audio driver and etc.

Just to let u know u must has a legit product key of win 10 , win 8 or win 7 just in case if u fail to activate your windows using the above method u will need to contact Microsoft from the link below, they will used remote assist to activate your windows.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/contactus/

Just a tip after u have successful activate your windows, go settings , accounts, click Sign in with a local account instead (must have your microsft acc. username & password), if not u will locked out of windows if you don't have a internet connection or forget your password.
*
This one. I did the remote assistance thingy after i failed to activate manually after a mobo change.


Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0748sec    4.03    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 02:05 PM