Credit Card Chargeback Disputes, How to solve, please help

yusiang
post Feb 15 2017, 02:38 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(veronicachant @ Feb 15 2017, 12:32 PM)
Hello everyone, my husband is a small time trader who also sells online engaging ipay88 as the Payment Gateway system. As usual, he will receive credit card payments through the company website (payment managed by ipay88) and then proceed to deliver the items via courier service or COD.

Then one day, after 5-6 months, the buyer disputed the transaction. Claiming that he did not buy the items. But my husband, upon seeing the authorized transaction then had already delivered the items to the buyer. Now, all ipay88 claim that they can do is ask us to contact the buyer to ask him to cancel the dispute. This is unlikely to happen because, after so long, the buyer is uncontactable as he has changed his hp number. Secondly, it could be a case of misused credit card issue whereby the credit card owner really did not make the purchase. How can the company absolve the responsibility just because the bank has raised a dispute on this? It is a very big amount amounting to thousands. Because of the negligence by ipay, we could potentially lose double the amount that is the cost of the stock and the selling price which ipay88 is demanding from us. We have already furnished receipts (with buyer's signature) as proof of sale and receipt to ipay88. The whole system seems unfair to us as it only protects the consumers and big companies like ipay88. Small time merchants are left in the lurch.

Any sifus can guide us on what we can do in this case? It is very unfair to us, genuine sellers as we engaged ipay88 in trust that they are providing reliable payment gateway solutions. It baffles me that they can authorize the credit card transaction, and dispute it 5-6 months later! We merely perform normal business procedures and got caught in this sticky situation due to them not having stringent procedures to prevent chargebacks like this from occurring. Please guide us, if u have any experience as I'm feeling really helpless and sad right now. Thank you.
Chargebacks are always merchant's own responsibility, no payment gateway will absorb it, which is also why most small merchants prefer to sell on platforms like lazada/11street/etc.

The bigger e-commerce merchants actually absorb these chargebacks as part of their operational cost. Anyway, if you prefer to fight this chargeback case, first of all you have to ask all the details from ipay88 (i.e. transaction approval details like 3D secure info, dispute reason code etc), forget about asking ipay88 to fight on your behalf, as no payment gateway will do this for their merchants.
yusiang
post Feb 21 2017, 05:27 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(veronicachant @ Feb 21 2017, 05:18 PM)
If credit card is chargedback in Lazada and 11street they wouldn't force their merchants to bear the loss unlike payment gateways like MOL and ipay88?
They won't, technically lazada/11street will be the merchant for the transaction, they will absorb the credit card fraud.

Below is Lazada's statement about it:-

Lazada (directly or indirectly through a third party at its sole discretion) will bear the risk of credit card fraud (e.g. fraudulent
purchases arising from the theft or unauthorized use of a Customer’s credit card information) occurring in connection with the
Transactions, except with respect to Transactions that the Seller does not fulfil in accordance with the Order information. The Seller will
bear all other risk of fraud or loss. The Seller will promptly inform Lazada of any changes to the nature or specifications of the Goods or any
pattern of fraudulent or other improper activity with respect to any of the Goods that may result in a higher incidence of fraud or other
impropriety associated with Transactions involving the Goods.
yusiang
post Feb 22 2017, 10:21 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(veronicachant @ Feb 22 2017, 03:03 PM)
Thank you. That is more reassuring.

In this case, the gateway providers should step up and bear some risk instead of merely acting as an "independent" intermediary platform for transactions only.
In case you know of any gateway providers besides ipay88 that would bear the risk of credit card fraud, please let me know. Thank you.  smile.gif
There is none, even those famous one worldwide like braintree and stripe also dont bear that.

0.0171sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:49 PM