Moding, 2 PSU into 1 Motherboard

TSdEvILrOx
post Feb 28 2007, 10:03 PM, updated 19y ago

618 posts

dont mind the poor drawing, idea was to enable 2 PSU running when i press the on button on my casing. maybe 1 PSU is for those blink blink , fan fan, another PSU for hard disk , optical drive ? can it be done w/o harming my motherboard ?

rivoluzione
post Feb 28 2007, 10:58 PM

353 posts

wa,i think its extreamly risky as you could burn down your mb if anything goes wrong, you'll need to find some expert in electrical stuff and get the two psu into one
mcchin
post Feb 28 2007, 11:36 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

here
http://www.burningissues.net/how_to/power/theory.htm

here
http://pc-mod.com/articles/atx/

here
http://www.mhennessy.f9.co.uk/dualpsu/dualpsu1.htm

and here
http://www.computersoc.com/viewtopic.php?p=26144

actually it is quite safe
except there is a niggling problem that
if a power supply is not drawn enuff irt might not work properly
or supply enuff power at all

Added on February 28, 2007, 11:39 pmjuz now check your picture
well it is actually dangerous
cause you are doubling the power supply

it is much safer if you connect a few start wire
just to start the psu
instead of connecting all

This post has been edited by mcchin: Feb 28 2007, 11:39 PM
TSdEvILrOx
post Mar 1 2007, 08:41 AM

618 posts

Was thinking only connecting the start wires, but dunno which 1 >< lolz ~~

yea , planning to reduce the load of the PSU so that it will prolong the PSU lifespan.

Added on March 1, 2007, 8:44 am@mcchin

btw thanks for those links =D

@rivoluzione

i not overloading my motherboard , juz that i dont know which wire to kick start the PSU.

This post has been edited by dEvILrOx: Mar 1 2007, 08:44 AM
z3r0717
post Mar 1 2007, 08:59 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

i have a question.. if we're using 2 PSU, must it be the same??? smthing like SLI? haha
kalakatu
post Mar 1 2007, 09:17 AM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Mar 1 2007, 08:59 AM)
i have a question.. if we're using 2 PSU, must it be the same??? smthing like SLI? haha
haha laugh.gif no need the same lar..different oso can..
go for truepower for mb, and chapalng for bling2 stuffs.. thumbup.gif
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 1 2007, 09:53 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

you could use the primary PSU which has got a more stable rail for the CPU while the second one for the rest of the stuff like optical drive, fans and lightings...

you just need to add another POWER ON/OFF button for the second PSU because once you shut down, there's no way it can be done the same to the second PSU.......therefore you'll need a manual button to ON or OFF the second PSU
Edi8888
post Mar 1 2007, 10:20 AM

MyViVa Owner
1,242 posts

actully can just use a paper pin to short it right?
SUSAllnGap
post Mar 1 2007, 10:24 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(Edi8888 @ Mar 1 2007, 10:20 AM)
actully can just use a paper pin to short it right?
yep...green wire and any ground ( black wire ) will do
ff7yta
post Mar 1 2007, 02:11 PM

Rookie
1,091 posts

You can also use an AT power supply. Much much much less wiring...
ianho
post Mar 1 2007, 03:18 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Aiya just go buy the 2 PSU converter lar. What it does is connect ure 2 PSUs together. Then it works like 1 PSU. All it does is start the other PSU together with the main PSU.
ryudox
post Mar 1 2007, 06:06 PM

~~ ConVict ~~
732 posts

no need 2 PSU actulally to power up the bling2..just modify the and u can use as many as u want to connect the bling2..but beware of shortcircuit..huhu...i think its better than using 2 PSU,as it will consume too much electrics..
E-J@1
post Mar 1 2007, 08:34 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Mar 1 2007, 09:53 AM)
you could use the primary PSU which has got a more stable rail for the CPU while the second one for the rest of the stuff like optical drive, fans and lightings...

you just need to add another POWER ON/OFF button for the second PSU because once you shut down, there's no way it can be done the same to the second PSU.......therefore you'll need a manual button to ON or OFF the second PSU
wanna know what's the minimum W required to power up the rest of the stuff like optical drive, fans and lightings... sweat.gif

if using those 5" bay psu to power it up, sufficient ka sweat.gif if using 2 standard psu size --> will have to change casing sad.gif

like this whistling.gif

ya, ya, ya, i know it's for vga, just wanna know notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Mar 1 2007, 08:35 PM
TSdEvILrOx
post Mar 2 2007, 01:53 AM

618 posts

hmm ... juz the idea of it lo ... hehehe ^^ knowledge ma
lichyetan
post Mar 2 2007, 07:44 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Mar 1 2007, 08:34 PM)
wanna know what's the minimum W required to power up the rest of the stuff like optical drive, fans and lightings... sweat.gif

if using those 5" bay psu to power it up, sufficient ka sweat.gif if using 2 standard psu size --> will have to change casing  sad.gif

like this whistling.gif

ya, ya, ya, i know it's for vga, just wanna know notworthy.gif
i using tht thermaltake drivebay PSU to power up water cooling pump, 12v fans and also CCFL, i also power up my 1950XT.... not recommended for HDD as it dun have 5v rail i think....dun dare to power up HDD using it.
verz84
post Mar 3 2007, 02:46 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 1 2007, 03:18 PM)
Aiya just go buy the 2 PSU converter lar. What it does is connect ure 2 PSUs together. Then it works like 1 PSU. All it does is start the other PSU together with the main PSU.
where actually can we get the 2 psu converter?How much izit?and..last but not least..how does it looks like? hmm.gif
Dennos
post Mar 6 2007, 12:16 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(verz84 @ Mar 3 2007, 02:46 PM)
where actually can we get the 2 psu converter?How much izit?and..last but not least..how does it looks like? hmm.gif
actually no such thing, only ATX casing come with built in converter. so no need to find it at lowyat
ianho
post Mar 6 2007, 05:50 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Dennos @ Mar 6 2007, 12:16 PM)
actually no such thing, only ATX casing come with built in converter. so no need to find it at lowyat
Got lar. Those server parts shops will haf it.
verz84
post Mar 8 2007, 11:09 AM

592 posts

wahahaha!!!i've created my own dual psu and working quite impressive as one psu for my 6600GT and fans while another one for the rest
Vervain
post Mar 11 2007, 12:06 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

abit of soldering and wiring can do the job. just connect the green and black wires parallel to each of the 20/24 pin socket, then connect one socket to the mobo. when you switch on the power, both psu will run.

0.0235sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:24 AM