FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
SUSSammich!
Mar 12 2018, 07:18 PM
affin hwang select asia quantum fund is it a gone case?
last time so power but now is the bad apple in my basket make my overall portfolio return so low.
should i sell?
SUSSammich!
Mar 12 2018, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 12 2018, 07:21 PM) do you have other fund(s) that you can substitute that with? don’t have other affin hwang funds. 😞 QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 12 2018, 07:30 PM) My EPF is also stuck with Affin-Hwang REIT fund also. ROI to-date is barely over < 1%. that sucks. epf have 6.5%
SUSSammich!
Mar 12 2018, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 12 2018, 07:40 PM) if interswitch charges is your main concern...can try have a look at this.... Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Opportunity Fund thanks
SUSSammich!
Mar 12 2018, 10:40 PM
what is you guys portfolio profit now ? mine is very low less than 6%. invest epf better.
i see correct place right? my investment then analyse by fund?
This post has been edited by Sammich!: Mar 12 2018, 10:42 PM
SUSSammich!
Mar 17 2018, 11:59 AM
what is good strategy to invest unit trust? as the fundamental we cannot evaluate like buy company stock
SUSSammich!
Mar 17 2018, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 17 2018, 12:01 PM) thanks. basically they just ask to invest regularly but there are no basis to do that. if wrong strategy and keep dumping money after 10 years only realise is same return as fd will 🤯 QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Mar 17 2018, 05:28 PM) Strategy in fund selection or strategy on when to top up? both lo. for example in stock market we choose what to invest based on the company profit and debt and equity etc etc. for unit trust the fund manager suka suka buy fund they think is good. all depend on 1 person QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Mar 17 2018, 05:52 PM) look into wat and which sector the fund investing in? determine whether suck decision is good for medium to long run? investigate the record of the fund house/manager? yup
SUSSammich!
Mar 17 2018, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 17 2018, 07:17 PM) it will definitely be a wrong strategy if you plan to buy and see the result only after 10 years.... unless, there is no set ROI to invest...in that case...by a Asia Pac balanced fund will be enough. the FMs cannot suka suka buy when he think a stock is good...it cannot be a 1 person decision......they will have a team of researchers, and a risk assessment board to ensure that the stock selected are within their investment parameter and guidelines.... i thought unit trust is a more long term investment and return will higher with longer time? if short term should goreng stocks right?
SUSSammich!
Mar 17 2018, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Mar 17 2018, 08:48 PM) We can only judge from historical performance. Those with more advance insights can look further ahead in the world trends n buy beforehand expecting certain fund to increase due to its underlying holdings. As to top up strategy I suggest VCA what are the indicators to stop or sell a certain fund? as nav go down i think could be due to general market trend and after it over will go back up. so sell due to that might rugi...
SUSSammich!
Apr 4 2018, 07:26 AM
why cimb dynamic income fund so strong? good fund manager? anyway we can check who is the fund manager and the fund he manage? i think i will follow all his funds only.
currently all my funds negative except cimb which pull my total investment to positive despite others dragging it down.
SUSSammich!
Apr 4 2018, 08:17 AM
QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 4 2018, 07:40 AM) my understanding is that the corrections started in early Feb 2018... from 2 Feb till now Cimb Asia Pac dynamic income fund - MYR lost 4.6%..... just wondering how it can pull your total investment to positive..... the fund lost 2.6% from 2 Jan till now.... i bougt it last year and the gain is like 10%. recent stock down i still gain positive compare to other funds all i receive negative.
SUSSammich!
Apr 4 2018, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 4 2018, 09:41 AM) oic,...now i know how you concluded that cimb dynamic income fund (Ponzi 2.0) is so strong and how despite all your other funds are negative; Ponzi 2.0 is still in black and suggested that it is that fund that pulled your total investment to positive despite others dragging it down. Thanks for sharing your method.....  using your method......if you had just bought into them just 3 or 4 years ago...i think "none" will be in RED. but other funds like the affin hwang which i bought much earlier than cimb is negative also. a lot la other fund i bought last year also i think cimb have good fund manager. do u know how to see if the fund manager have other funds?
SUSSammich!
Apr 4 2018, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(pisces88 @ Apr 4 2018, 12:12 PM)  dont take my post too literally, just illustration on what u can save... All the talk about managing prs, and comparing with epf, i think is too troublesome. Prs is additional retirement savings, priority should be given to epf first.. If dun have epf, shouldnt even think of prs imo. 6-7 figure net income former spotted
SUSSammich!
Jul 21 2018, 02:06 PM
should i give up on affin hwang quantum fund? based on past performance it so good and i continue invest think is bad market but seem negative for long time already
SUSSammich!
Jul 21 2018, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 21 2018, 03:51 PM) mind to share how may % is this fund is in your portfolio? as this fund is of highest FSM risk rating...try to allocate it to under 10%? (perhaps maybe even 5% like for India, Reits, resources and Tech....let them be the strikers in your team?) It may has its place in a portfolio just my 2 cents...caveat emptor quite high about 25 to 30% cos last time is very good i focus on it
SUSSammich!
Jul 21 2018, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 21 2018, 05:23 PM) In Feb 2017,...FSM did has an article on this fund.... at the very end of it, it did mentioned, "......Interested investors can consider to include the fund into the supplementary part of their portfolios, with not more than 10% allocation of their overall portfolios. " https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...uary-2017--7950anyway,...most would just say.....if you are still young and have a good risk appetite and this UT investment portfolio is not your only investment....then can go big or go home no right or wrong....maybe circumstances changes and this period of lower than expected performance will helps you to realign and relects on your investment's selection perspective. problem with unit trust is that we can’t give a good evaluation of its performance other than past history. fund manager can buy any stock which you cannot control. in comparison buying stocks of company we have better evaluation in the stock we are buying based on the stock price and evaluation of the company management and profit etc
SUSSammich!
Jul 21 2018, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 21 2018, 05:52 PM) isn't the FMs is buying into the notion as highlighted in RED too? and also FMs has more indepth info of the actual plants(entities) itself than just referring to the financial reports ya but we are rely on fund manager actions which make wrong decision sometimes and make big loss like affin hwang. last time buy correct stock then good. now buy wrong stock we can’t do anything and no control what he buy. if noob then die us.