11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

dasecret
post May 22 2017, 10:36 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ May 21 2017, 10:48 PM)
Yup understood the management fee is different.

This is only specifically WRAP FEE that they are talking about. I did counter them using the same statement.
I belief that agent is referring to the wrap account that IFAST offers through financial planners. Well, strictly speaking it's only comparing apple to apple when you compare Public Mutual agent to financial planners that sell funds from asset management companies other than Pub Mut. FSM is another ball game altogether, you gotta put through all the transactions yourself and decide on what funds to get on your own.

As to whether or not 1.5% p.a. wrap fee is worth it, it depends on how you buy & sell your funds. If you trade it like share market, the wrap fee may work out to be cheaper than upfront sales charge. Especially with Pub Mut style of switching penalty within 90 days. In FSM, you can even get 0 switching charge if you are willing to have longer lag time.

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 21 2017, 11:10 PM)
I sometimes wish fsm would have installed their own irr calculation instead of us having to go through the wonky excel sheets.
I don't think the excel sheets are wonky, I'm grateful there are excel experts who are willing to spend time to prepare them and generously share with us. But some forumers did rightly point out that sometimes it's hard to use other ppl's stuffs and may be easier if you just prepare your own excel sheet which meet your own objective instead
dasecret
post May 26 2017, 09:53 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ May 26 2017, 12:03 AM)
rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif  rclxm9.gif
no more headache
no more D-I-Y
no more self ranting.gif 

anytime failed got someone to blame.... biggrin.gif

Promotion Launch: 0% Portfolio Management Fee for First 50 Clients
May 25, 2017,    Author : Fundsupermart

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...50-Clients-8395

wub.gif come come wanna go?
QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 26 2017, 12:33 AM)
nah. not my cup of tea
Yeah ppl here so actively managing their portfolio, this is not for them la. Those ASx or FD fans should consider this la, autopilot
I would quite likely put in, just to see how they perform. But I still have credits which I haven't utilise and now I need to pay front end charges again hmm.gif

Steven7 MAPS is here in FSM MY!

QUOTE(T231H @ May 26 2017, 12:41 AM)
hmm.gif Time for some of you to reduce your EQ ratio?  devil.gif
sourced from

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsm/manage...tment-portfolio

do you guys /girs think it is possible or realistic to have this ratio with this roi? confused.gif
if ok...sailing for 8% ROI with just 50% EQ......very comfortable to sleep at nights?
It's very do-able. My mum's portfolio of 60EQ: 40FI is making close to 9% p.a. at the moment. The portfolio is 2 years old

This post has been edited by dasecret: May 26 2017, 10:34 AM
dasecret
post May 26 2017, 10:54 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(ganaesan @ May 26 2017, 01:11 AM)
50 people and max RM10k. What are the odds you are the lucky 50 hmm.Well that's faster than expected. Arrival of FSM MAPS. Even interface also like FSM SG.

Very true... might just get an email stating we missed the 50 slots

Maybe @T231H can explain how to know we will be the lucky 1?
Actually it's the first 50 instead of lucky draw basis. So if the product was just launched yesterday, if you sign up today there should be a good chance to get it. Not everyone can mobilise RM10k immediately, some ppl would want to wait for FD to mature or earn this month's ASx dividends first

I've also confirmed with live help that the 0% portfolio management fee is for the entire duration you hold the portfolio. So every year you would save RM50, for 20 years if you decide to hold it for so long
dasecret
post May 26 2017, 11:21 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ May 26 2017, 11:11 AM)
From what I read is that subscribers have to pay two fees, the portfolio management fees is actually the small devil, the bigger entity is the subscription fees which appears to be yearly.

I guess this shall not be a cup of tea for too many.
It's the other way actually, subscription fees is the upfront fee and the portfolio management fees is the platform fee equivalent

That's why I say the existing crowd on this thread is not their target customers, because you guys enjoy studying funds n doing trades on your own. There are however people up there who much prefer to have someone settle all these for them. This is a very good product to compete with public mutual agents because it takes 8 years for the fees to rake up to PM's front end charge and it provides all the things that the agent promises

My only complaint is, for the conservative portfolio the charges is rather steep. At the moment FI only get charged 0.2% platform fees per annum and no sales charge; so purely for the services of rebalancing (which I don't think would be a lot for a conservative portfolio), you have to pay 0.3% per annum

FSM SG charges less for conservative portfolio. Not sure why FSM MY did not use the same model

For the higher EQ portion portfolio, basically you are paying the 0.5% to cater for the switching sales charges and service for rebalancing which is likely to be more extensive
dasecret
post May 26 2017, 11:36 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 26 2017, 11:26 AM)
No competition in Malaysia. Hence they can afford to price what they like.  devil.gif
U ask Philip capital to come up with this la

Anyway, it looks like this MAPS complied to the latest robo advisory guidelines that Securities Commission just announced, they have all the portfolio mandate and custodian information disclosed.

Yes, I completed my subscription cool2.gif

Based on monte carlo simulation, balanced portfolio will yield the highest average returns in 30 years; so arguably that's the optimum portfolio. Of course the best case scenario for aggressive portfolio is the highest, but the worst case scenario for aggressive portfolio is simulated to be 60% of invested amount after 20 years

Disclaimer: one should have basic understanding of monte carlo simulation in order to decipher what the results mean
dasecret
post May 26 2017, 11:38 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ May 26 2017, 11:31 AM)
If you all go for zero platform fees, then this thread will be very quiet, almost like a ghost town.... liao.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Xuzen
Won't geh, ppl here still want to follow crystal ball ma. And everyone wants to beat the managed portfolio's returns also

Would be interesting huh, to benchmark against FSM cool2.gif
dasecret
post May 26 2017, 11:46 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ May 26 2017, 11:41 AM)
Paiseh, paiseh me know not SH1T abt Monte-Carlo simulation, only know Genting stimulation  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

But but but.... sistah! Somehow Algozen™ aka crystal ball also churn out a balanced type port. Recall she always go for mid-risky UTF...

Xuzen
Geeks like u should learn monte carlo simulation la, it's so fascinating looking at how you can run all the different possibilities on excel. But I don't know how to do it, ppl do I watch only

But you won't approve how MAPS does it, they like to play Pokemon
dasecret
post May 26 2017, 01:11 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ May 26 2017, 12:24 PM)
I am thinking of trying MAPS account.

Minimum initial purchase is 10k.

Need info of Minimum subsequent purchase, minimum redemption amount, etc...
QUOTE(puchongite @ May 26 2017, 12:28 PM)
Where to click to purchase ? Can't find it anywhere.  blink.gif
Subsequent purchases is minimum RM1k. Hmm, They were not explicit on minimum redemption; but it sounds like when you sell it's the entire portfolio. Best to check with live help

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsm/manage...tment-portfolio
The buy button is below the different risk ratings

I bought already, so memang available
dasecret
post May 26 2017, 06:59 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(screwedpeep @ May 26 2017, 06:17 PM)
I asked him if he can confirm no shariah compliant managed portfolio, and if there is any plan in the nearest time to be introduced. And if the sales charge of each fund bought in our portfolio is already included in that portfolio fee or we still have to pay like normal fund purchase. I hope someone got the opportunity to ask about the fee.
The subscription charge up to 1.25% is the sales charge for this product. Naturally it has to be lower than the normal fund purchase sales charge as this product also comes with a holding fees of 0.5%. Cannot be you need to pay 1.75% SC +1.25% subscription + 0.5% management fee. Who would sign up wor

The challenge with shariah portfolio is, even their recommended portfolio is not doing great. How to come up with a managed portfolio that can give similar returns
dasecret
post May 26 2017, 10:39 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ May 26 2017, 08:40 PM)
Your argument is just biased. That's it. If you think an investor is smart enough to perform cost averaging, then he is smart enough to perform profit skimming.

If he is dump enough to partial sell when the fund is at the lowest point and about to fly, then he is dump enough top up when the fund is declining.

If you don't allow investor to interfere, then shut off both top up and top down.
Well, I think the good thing about managed portfolio is, it takes away the human emotion and lack of discipline factors. It's not difficult to learn the basic allocation theory, VCA theory, rebalancing strategy. The more important factor is, with the skills do you do it consistently? I know I don't necessarily for various reasons.

As to why they allow top up, I think it's quite simple. They are profit oriented company, got more AUM u don't want meh? N it's not realistic to expect the customer to put in everything at one go. I shared this product with a few friends. When one wanted to put in rm100k for a start I actually recommended her to put in by 10 installments instead to average out the entry price.

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ May 26 2017, 10:04 PM)
well UT is still UT. risk is there compared to fd
If you are referring to cash management fund, yes, there's no pidm and capital guarantee like FD. N the return is not fixed at the point of entry. What u see is only indicative. But if you look at the underlying assets and historical results, the risk of losing capital is very remote. So it depends on whether it meets your needs

The other UT funds are different story. But in a normal world, risk and return has a strong relationship. Only in ASx, tabun haji and to a lesser extent, EPF this rule doesn't apply
dasecret
post May 28 2017, 02:42 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ May 27 2017, 12:55 PM)
I was thinking of investing into this fully managed fund. Then I can truly benchmark DIY vs fully managed.

Quick question are you able to seperately buy this fully managed in a seperate account.
You can even buy both your own funds and managed portfolio in the same account. Managed portfolio is a different product, it won't be shown on the funds tab

QUOTE(xuzen @ May 27 2017, 04:06 PM)
Boh Hiew , boh chap local. Going for dan lain - lain.
I bet I am giving auntie Dasecret a hard - on by talking Monte - Carlo with her .

Xuzen

p / s : I have also perform simulation with Ponzi two and RHB AIF as well. Forget to include in my above write up earlier . Sorry .
Hmm.... what kind of monte carlo method you use to be able to come out with a decision of allocation for specific funds? I thought monte carlo helps with probability, sensitivity, scenarios etc. that's why the FSM one would just show you where the different scenarios would end up in that chart

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 27 2017, 10:46 PM)
That's why FSM Malaysia made a wrong move with this managed portfolio. Should have follow SG way. Buy yourself, kena charge 0.4%pa platform fees. Use their managed portfolio, kena charged 0.5%p.a platform fees. 0.1%pa and people do everything for you.
I thought you always say platform fee is conjob? lol. Personally I don't think the market is ready for platform fees yet; at least not for DIY product

QUOTE(drew86 @ May 27 2017, 11:43 PM)
Of course we have to pay for top-ups. There is no free lunch in this world! After all they don't charge sales charge for the underlying equity/balanced funds anymore. Just think of it as averaging out the cost of sales charge for all funds making up the entire portfolio.  biggrin.gif  Wonder if we can use referral tokens on the subscription fee?  whistling.gif

I'm actually quite tempted give the Managed Portfolio a try, but am afraid will miss out the first 50 subscribers by the time I make up my mind. LOL
Check with them if you still stand a chance to be the first 50 before you buy lor. They emailed to notify that I'm within the first 50. But really, the amount of savings is not that much la, RM50 per year can buy you a nice dinner currently. In 20 years maybe only enough to buy a pack of chicken rice tongue.gif
dasecret
post May 28 2017, 03:49 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ May 27 2017, 10:57 AM)
Algozen™ speaketh; listen well...

I tried putting in various UTF(s) into Algozen™ and letting her run the numbers. Maximum per simulation run is ten UTFs. Anything more, is limited by the correlation coefficient parameters. 

The criteria for selecting UTFs for simulations are:

1) Good risk to reward ratio among peers
2) They must have poor correlation among each other (meaning must be well diversified)
3) Good rating from FSM or other rating agencies such as morning star, lipper etc.

Some of the UTFs I used to run the simulation are:

KGF representing home ground

TA GTF, Manulife US & CIMB Titan representing US

CIMB Greater China &  Eastspring Dinasti representing Greater China

Esther Bond, RHB ATR & RHB EMB representing bonds

Manulife India

TA Europe

If I do not put those into the simulation it means those UTFs do not satisfy the above three criteria.

After running multiple scenarios (I think Dasecret gave it a fanciful name: Monte - Carlo simulation), Algozen™ came out with the best scenario that is:

TA-GTF @ 25%
India @ 10%
AMReits @ 25%
Ester bond @ 40%

This will give a ROI of 12 to 13% with a risk to reward ratio greater than two. This port is moderate with bias towards some aggressiveness. If you want to be more aggressive, reduce Esther Bond by ten percent and increase by proportion into the other. This port is scalable.

Take note that Algozen™ is very focused, she doesn't play Pokémon Go style. The above four are very well diversified and quite optimized in terms of risk to reward.

Xuzen
Took a closer look on your picks. So AIF dropped off the good books?
Since I do listen to FSM research a bit, I'm skeptical with your recommendations on REITs; hasn't been doing well since FSM published their take early this year. No more broad based asia pac fund? Not even manulife pacific? I still like ponzi 1.0 la

QUOTE(yklooi @ May 27 2017, 12:39 PM)
currently having some sitting in CMF....
thinking of using this RM10k to go into it just for "fun"
thinking of moderately aggressive at 30%FI:70%EQ
no mgmt. fees only 1% subscription fees
no platform fees for the 30%FI

what says you guys
Come join the fun! Actually balanced portfolio seem more optimum

QUOTE(Alex05187 @ May 28 2017, 02:29 AM)
Hi fellow sifu.
In you opinion which type of user should subscribe to their portfolio management services?
People who is willing to trade lower returns for peace of mind and auto-pilot. Those ppl who wants to be in driver seat all the time is not the target audience for this product.

If you want something more than FD and ASx, have a long time horizon, but not sure where to start; managed portfolio is for you
If you lost money trying to invest yourself and don't trust yourself with it anymore, this is for you
If you know all the investing basics but lacked time or discipline, this is for you

Why don't you describe what type of user are you then we can advise if this is for you

dasecret
post May 28 2017, 10:17 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 26 2017, 11:36 AM)

Based on monte carlo simulation, balanced portfolio will yield the highest average returns in 30 years; so arguably that's the optimum portfolio. Of course the best case scenario for aggressive portfolio is the highest, but the worst case scenario for aggressive portfolio is simulated to be 60% of invested amount after 20 years

Disclaimer: one should have basic understanding of monte carlo simulation in order to decipher what the results mean
QUOTE(yklooi @ May 28 2017, 10:09 AM)
hmm.gif please enlighten me as to why it is more optimum?
Based on the above. If you look at the recommended portfolio, also balanced portfolio has the highest returns. But I look at average, not max upside
dasecret
post May 28 2017, 10:30 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ May 28 2017, 10:26 AM)
the average return (projected) increases in 1% each step of the portfolio type by with 20% variance in FI ratio

where did you se the highest returns?
can see from the FSM chart?
Both average returns and highest returns I mentioned is from the Monte Carlo simulation. Not from the projected average returns. Basically it gives you a picture of the possible outcomes in 30 year and where it's distributed

Just pick a portfolio that you are comfy with. I also picked moderately aggressive for myself. If mum wants to put in, I'd go for balanced for her
dasecret
post May 28 2017, 10:06 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ May 28 2017, 08:38 PM)
how much to top up?
10k also?
QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 28 2017, 08:54 PM)
10k per port bro. cannot top up. it's to prevent it from complications
QUOTE(voyage23 @ May 28 2017, 10:00 PM)
I thought rm1k per top up? Of course can top up where can limit to 10k only.
Initial investment minimum rm10k. Subsequent investment minimum rm1k. When you want to dispose, have to dispose entirely
dasecret
post May 28 2017, 10:14 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 28 2017, 10:11 PM)
now that ain't fun.
I agree on the disposal part. They should allow partial redemption in multiple of rm1,000 or rm10,000 as long as the balance is still above minimum subscription amount. Although I can imagine the administrative nightmare to do it, I think it can actually be a deal breaker for ppl who are not confident if they can really put this amount for longer term

Edit: So I kept thinking this didn't bother me when I bought MAPS on FSM SG, so I went to FSM SG to check. True enough, FSM SG allows partial redemption for MAPS provided the minimum investment sums for the various portfolios are met. They also allow for more than one type of portfolio to be subscribed to within the same account. Means you can have both balanced and aggressive portfolio under the same account as long as both meets minimum subscription amount

This is something the FSM MY team really need to work on and consider before the product would really work well, IMHO

This post has been edited by dasecret: May 29 2017, 09:31 AM
dasecret
post May 29 2017, 10:08 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 29 2017, 09:21 AM)
I am tempted to open one beneficiary account and pump in 10k and do my usual diy stuff then compare to those ports managed under FSM. Problem is who is going to share the returns made from managed ports after a year.
QUOTE(puchongite @ May 29 2017, 09:40 AM)
Have to match the risk profile first. Only make sense if both same risk level.
Well, since I'm the advocate for managed portfolio. I should at least explain why

So I first signed up for MAPS on FSM SG end of last year; and then signed up for RSP early this year. I'm on balanced-growth portfolio

My annualised IRR is 16.81%; ROI is 5.36% for a less than 6 months old portfolio

My own investments in FSM SG was much worse to be honest; and I started more than 2 years ago

One can argue that it was good timing etc; but for me, it really is convenient and FSM SG has such a big pool of funds I didn't think I did a good job investing myself.

Moving forward I'd be updating the FSM MY managed portfolio returns here to help others in their decision making. But please do not expect daily update; will likely be a quarterly update
dasecret
post May 29 2017, 10:32 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ May 29 2017, 10:11 AM)

btw,
she said...no top up allowed....
but during the buying in website process, noticed there is minimum subsequent RM1000 top up note:  rclxub.gif

Wow, for real? This product will die such a tragic death if they are indirectly limiting each investor to buy RM10k; this story reminds me so much of PRS

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 29 2017, 10:24 AM)
Nah. If I were to choose automatic portfolio manager, I will rather choose those real robo investor instead of this pseudo robo investor (FSM managed portfolio is still operated by humans). After all if a robot can beat human at Go (ancient chinese stategy game), what chances does human have against robo investor? Even Blackrock, one of US largest fund house fired most of their fund manager and go the robo way.
Well, the biggest hurdle/limitation is, I don't think there would be a real robo advisory distributing ETFs in Msia in the near term. And FSM MY if I remember correctly, only has license to distribute UTs and not securities (means no ETFs). MAPS in FSM SG does include ETF as part of their portfolio

I think your expectations on the robo advisory is a bit unrealistic. In the end, who do you think develop and determine the algorithm used by the machines for robo advisors? At least for now it'll still be humans, but yeah, next time maybe when the machines self learning technology improve further, maybe they don't need human intervention anymore. But really, can machines anticipate Fed's next move? or Trump's? or North korea's? rclxs0.gif
dasecret
post May 29 2017, 01:35 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ May 29 2017, 11:15 AM)
Dasecret,

I was just jesting with you, I am no good with actual Monte - Carlo. However, I did use various UTFs and various Correlation - Coefficient to run multiple scenarios. Then I choose the most optimal risk to reward portfolio. The most tedious part for my Algozen™ is data entry.

RHB AIF and Ponzi 2 have very high correlation to AMReits and ManuReits. 90% correlated. When the UTFs are very correlated, it would be wise to choose the one which offer the better risk to reward ratio. With regards to ManuReits and AMReits, these two are very similar in terms of risk adjusted performance that is to say, ManuReits give better return but it comes with greated volatility compared to AMReits. In the end, I decided to go with AMReits because it has lower volatility (more stable) and let my India and TA-GTF act as the alpha - maker (forward striker in football parlance)

However, if one wishes to substitute ManuReits with AmReits, it is perfectly OK as both Manu and AMReits have around 95% correlation. If one looking at individual UTF, then one will say ManuReits make sense as it return is better. But when one is constructing a portfolio, many other parameters comes into play.

Xuzen.
Just find it interesting that ponzi 2 which is a pure EQ fund to be highly correlated to a pure REITs fund. AIF I can understand since it does invest quite a bit into REITs on top of FI and EQ

QUOTE(Steven7 @ May 29 2017, 11:19 AM)
Well don't get too carried away with all these AI hype, speaking from a tenured Software Engineer who has worked with multiple AI and machine learning problem. Here is a good read for you https://backchannel.com/the-myth-of-a-super...ai-59282b686c62 I still prefer a little human touch when it comes to investing and I definitely don't trust the newcomers (Smartly, StashAway) AI yet as they are nowhere close to AlphaGo, the main reason being Google is way too ahead in this AI realm
QUOTE(Steven7 @ May 29 2017, 11:26 AM)
To build on your reply, yes most AI is still built by humans with some exceptions, for instance, Google's AI is building a better AI compared to its engineers but I agree with you that we can't rely on full robo-advisory yet for now (on my previous reply). Speaking of which, predictive analytics is always an interesting problem in AI (in fact I am working something like that right now but on a different context).

Quick unrelated fun read: There is an open-source project that does the following, monitor Trump's feed, process each tweet by extracting the company name mentioned & perform sentiment analysis on the text, if its good sentiment buy the stock of the company thru TradeKing API immediately and vice versa. The simulated portfolios earns a shit ton of money.
Now, the prices of the stocks mentioned in Trump's tweet going up and down; isn't that also due to the investors manual speculation? So machines are just doing it faster to gain that competitive edgewhile the investors are still sleeping or haven't read the news

This is the kind of conversation I find interesting thumbup.gif
Great that you are in the front line of the technological change, I know little of these stuffs other than what my brother feeds me sometimes. Since I'm in the no.1 profession to be made redundant with technological advances, I'm keeping a close eye on the tech developments and hopefully can put myself in a position to still remain relevant for the rest of my working life
dasecret
post May 29 2017, 04:25 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ May 29 2017, 02:44 PM)

That is why hor, if we do not research, our common - sense can be not so common wan....
QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 29 2017, 03:00 PM)
How can they be correlated (ponzi 2 and amasia)? One invest in equity and there's nothing mentioned in the factsheet about property. One invest only in reits. Amasia invest 20%+ in Japan while Ponzi 2 doesn't have any Japan holdings.
QUOTE(puchongite @ May 29 2017, 03:06 PM)
Correlated based on mathematics lar, no need to offer you the reason why they are correlated.  brows.gif
This discussion feels like dejavu; ini correlation based on USD returns ke based on MYR returns? Long long time ago we discussed this ma; the high correlation could just be currency correlation instead of underlying asset correlation

I have no access to MYR correlation cry.gif

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0545sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:29 PM