1553 Pages « < 359 360 361 362 363 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Zero Correlation
post Jul 28 2017, 02:48 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(HahaCat @ Jul 28 2017, 02:46 PM)
Why do u assume others don't already have crypto currency? And this is a Unit trust fsm forum. So we discuss unit trust here. There are ppl here say they make 200% in stocks. And that is more suitable to discuss at the stock forum.
No mah, just trying to help you make more $$. Unit trust for speculation far less rewarding than stocks, options and commodities or exotic instruments. Would love to see you on those threads showing screenshots of big investments too brows.gif
puchongite
post Jul 28 2017, 03:05 PM

33,587 posts

QUOTE(Zero Correlation @ Jul 28 2017, 02:48 PM)
No mah, just trying to help you make more $$. Unit trust for speculation far less rewarding than stocks, options and commodities or exotic instruments. Would love to see you on those threads showing screenshots of big investments too  brows.gif
Simple, people focus on area which they think they have advantage. For areas where one has no advantage, then it becomes a gamble. When comes to gambling, there are many places to gamble. Genting is one of them.
Zero Correlation
post Jul 28 2017, 03:24 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 28 2017, 03:05 PM)
Simple, people focus on area which they think they have advantage. For areas where one has no advantage, then it becomes a gamble. When comes to gambling, there are many places to gamble. Genting is one of them.
Cannot be bitcoin no advantage? From USD100 become USD20 million wor
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jul 28 2017, 03:28 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

This thread is getting dangerous.
Avangelice
post Jul 28 2017, 03:44 PM

5,271 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 28 2017, 03:28 PM)
when greed overcomes all control. sickness of the human mind to get the most profits at the least possible effort. gone were the days where we practiced risk profiling and diversification.
xuzen
post Jul 28 2017, 03:59 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 28 2017, 03:28 PM)
Yar! Especially folks tend to confuse investing with trading.

Xuzen
puchongite
post Jul 28 2017, 04:06 PM

33,587 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 28 2017, 03:59 PM)

Xuzen
Haha people are not confused. People intentionally want to perform trading. They know trading is different from investing.
fense
post Jul 28 2017, 04:07 PM

Struggle to be RICH
948 posts

Suddenly flash in my mind.
Is that possible FSM produce and Windows or Mac App?
Excel file had its limits on long term data.

Since FSM have mobile apps, why not desktop app? Or maybe Mobile user is mainstream nowadays and computer become not necessary.
xuzen
post Jul 28 2017, 04:08 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 28 2017, 04:06 PM)
Haha people are not confused. People intentionally want to perform trading. They know trading is different from investing.
And using UTF as the platform for trading? Not efficient, not efficient at all....

It is like an algo trader trying to trade on index linked counter. Where got syiok wan?

Xuzen
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jul 28 2017, 04:19 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jul 28 2017, 03:44 PM)
when greed overcomes all control. sickness of the human mind to get the most profits at the least possible effort. gone were the days where we practiced risk profiling and diversification.
QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 28 2017, 03:59 PM)

Xuzen
Correct. UT usually for those mid class or long term holding. Trading happens when they are big player. But things seems getting out of the control and speculation happened. I remember few days before he sold IDS so many thing happens and sound so good thus calling people buy in. Silent reader may really buy in tho. And after the drop of 0.02, massive sold off.
Is interpac new shell or new company?

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 28 2017, 04:06 PM)
Lol. Yada yada.
If people know the difference, they wont speculate.
Take GTF for example. We takes weeks to discuss.

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 28 2017, 04:08 PM)
And using UTF as the platform for trading? Not efficient, not efficient at all....

It is like an algo trader trying to trade on index linked counter. Where got syiok wan?

Xuzen
Important thing is that they tend to confuse people while reaping own benifits.
puchongite
post Jul 28 2017, 04:47 PM

33,587 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 28 2017, 04:08 PM)

Xuzen
Return efficiency is not the only thing which needs to be considered.

For argument sake, let's say people think they have the knowhow to know when to enter and when to leave a UTF. Not the most efficient vehicle, but gives good return. Cannot meh ?

Then people start to argue, why don't apply it to stock market and get bigger return ?

For argument sake, let's say the skillset only works for UTF. Stock market is too big a sea for the skillset to work. Can or not ?

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 28 2017, 04:19 PM)
Correct. UT usually for those mid class or long term holding. Trading happens when they are big player. But things seems getting out of the control and speculation happened. I remember few days before he sold IDS so many thing happens and sound so good thus calling people buy in. Silent reader may really buy in tho. And after the drop of 0.02, massive sold off.
Is interpac new shell or new company?
Lol. Yada yada.
If people know the difference, they wont speculate.
Take GTF for example. We takes weeks to discuss.
Important thing is that they tend to confuse people while reaping own benifits.
I don't understand the highlighted part. People's objective is to trade, of course he will go in and out of the market lar.

You may call it speculate, but why can't it be called making moves based on 'informed decision' ?

WhitE LighteR
post Jul 28 2017, 05:32 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

The timing for this 0.8% offer is unfortunate i feel... it happens when all my fund NAV keeps going to new high.
funnyface
post Jul 28 2017, 06:15 PM

696 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 28 2017, 05:32 PM)
The timing for this 0.8% offer is unfortunate i feel... it happens when all my fund NAV keeps going to new high.
Today market all red hmm.gif
If you didnt topup today then too bad.. tongue.gif
quackpack
post Jul 28 2017, 06:30 PM

327 posts

Any sifu can give their opinion below?

Is lump sum investing into UT a preferred way or RSP?
T231H
post Jul 28 2017, 06:35 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(quackpack @ Jul 28 2017, 06:30 PM)
Any sifu can give their opinion below?

Is lump sum investing into UT a preferred way or RSP?
while waiting for value added responses....
I found this on google.....
hope it can provide you with some info while you wait....
https://www.google.com/search?biw=1920&bih=...1k1.H-WljwYPhcs

[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jul 28 2017, 07:12 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 28 2017, 04:47 PM)
Return efficiency is not the only thing which needs to be considered.

For argument sake, let's say people think they have the knowhow to know when to enter and when to leave a UTF. Not the most efficient vehicle, but gives good return. Cannot meh ?

Then people start to argue, why don't apply it to stock market and get bigger return ?

For argument sake, let's say the skillset only works for UTF. Stock market is too big a sea for the skillset to work. Can or not ?
I don't understand the highlighted part. People's objective is to trade, of course he will go in and out of the market lar.

You may call it speculate, but why can't it be called making moves based on 'informed decision' ?
-UT
-TRADE.

Choose one.

I never hear people use IT trade. This is new then lol

puchongite
post Jul 28 2017, 07:27 PM

33,587 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 28 2017, 07:12 PM)
-UT
-TRADE.

Choose one.

I never hear people use IT trade. This is new then lol
Precisely, you are locked inside your own stereotype.

By the way, I am not saying UT is the best vehicle to trade. I am not even saying that I agree with it. As pointed out by sifu Xuzen, using UT to trade is inefficient. So this is typically doomed to fail for most funds and for most people.

But there could be some exceptions. This happens when some funds have big step gain. Plus there is zero entry cost and zero exit cost. Management fees is taken care off if the step gain is big. Plus if the person is able to spot trend. Plus .....

There are many conditions for it So we maybe talking about this is one example of an exceptional case.
idyllrain
post Jul 28 2017, 07:31 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Jul 28 2017, 11:21 AM)
I have got a technical question to ask.
idyllrain

After I have retired a fund in the Polarbearz worksheet, how come all of my IRR calculations become zero?  The ROI is unaffected though.  Curious on how to fix this?

Did I retire my fund wrongly?  I copied and pasted as instructed.  cry.gif
Yes, most likely your IRR formula is pointing to the wrong ranges. It's very easy to fix:

For individual funds just make sure that
CODE
=XIRR(<investment amount record for that fund>, <dates of investments for that fund>)

This post has been edited by idyllrain: Apr 29 2023, 10:36 AM
newdnewd
post Jul 28 2017, 08:27 PM

60 posts

Did IDS' assets drop 5 mil?
puchongite
post Jul 28 2017, 08:43 PM

33,587 posts

QUOTE(newdnewd @ Jul 28 2017, 08:27 PM)
Did IDS' assets drop 5 mil?
It's wrong.

27th fund size 18.846
NAV drop 0.48%
New fund size 18.846 * (1- 0.0048) = 18.756

Actual fund size 28 july = 18.935

New fund injection = 18.935 - 18.756 = .179 mil = 179k increase.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jul 28 2017, 08:44 PM

1553 Pages « < 359 360 361 362 363 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:33 AM