55 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Avangelice
post Mar 2 2017, 11:38 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 2 2017, 11:35 AM)
Friend Avangelice, the term Dragon fund, being a nickname assigned to CIMB Greater China fund may not be appropriate anymore because Manulife has launched a fund named Manulife Dragon Growth Fund. It may cause confusion.

Xuzen
aaaiiissshhhh, that sucks. fine then. Red Dragon. red being cimb official colors. better than typing cimb greater china
Avangelice
post Mar 2 2017, 09:26 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Mar 2 2017, 08:40 PM)
Dear Sifus, I am trying to adopt a value cost averaging approach to my portfolio. How do you think I best do this? Top up every month on the fund in reds?
I think you need to fully understand the difference between vca vs dca. please have a read in this article
https://kclau.com/investment/value-cost-averaging/

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Mar 2 2017, 09:26 PM
Avangelice
post Mar 2 2017, 09:58 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 2 2017, 09:57 PM)
As i posted before, I am strongly optimistic with the US stock markets performance for the 1st Q of 2017 as investors are optimistic with Trump's promises.

Would he deliver what he said "Bringing jobs, increasing wages, tightening security, focusing on developing their infrastructure etc"

To get the answers to the questions above, one would have to let some time pass to know
You have decided to top-up your portfolio on a monthly basis ?
I been doing it since I started. DCA with whatever money I have as savings. trying to reach my 100k mark by the time I hit 30 years old in two years time.
Avangelice
post Mar 2 2017, 10:20 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Mar 2 2017, 10:01 PM)
So do you top up your portfolio with RM1,300 every month or does the value differ ?
as much as I can save and I do that by reducing unnecessary spending on a daily basis. some days I have 2k to pump in. some days I have 1.6k

QUOTE(woonsc @ Mar 2 2017, 10:03 PM)
bruce.gif  when did you start investing bro?
lemme see after I broke up which was in late 2014? I remember my first purchase. Global Titans Fund.
Avangelice
post Mar 2 2017, 10:38 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Mar 2 2017, 10:30 PM)
So you don't like VCA strategy?
As much as many men here don't like to admit, dating nowadays can be costly.  Less money for dating means more money for investment.  Haha, but what's life without love?
I don't think I have the discipline to do vca. when it comes to crunch time would you place 16k in one lump sum after the 6th vca? the fear in me would nag at me.

nah man dating is cheap if you find the right girl who understands. maybe in Kuala Lumpur is different but back in kuching, you can spend zero cash by going to parks or a drive around town (no jam unlike BB) and also girls here aren't that materialistic.
Avangelice
post Mar 3 2017, 01:29 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 3 2017, 12:10 AM)
u can do it bro. put ur heart (and brain  biggrin.gif ) to it! i was disciplined enough to achieve it before age 30, so can u.  rclxms.gif
thank you brother. yes at the rate I am going, I am hoping I can hit that big number. good night and bless you
Avangelice
post Mar 3 2017, 11:51 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Mar 3 2017, 11:31 AM)
My APAC REITS is the most underperforming one currently, at 1.7%.
It seems like it's probably going to be in the 4-5%range this year, any ideas whether I should switch.
This is period where equities are shining and real estate aren't sort after. Once people panic they will pull their investments to bonds and reits. It's a cycle. Just keep it there and invest what ever money you have into eq. Use reit and bond as a foundation to run to.
Avangelice
post Mar 3 2017, 12:52 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 16 2017, 03:48 PM)
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...s--10-Feb--7978

Key Points

1. We are still a long way from peak in the investment cycle.
2. There is little sign of economic excess globally :
a. underlying inflation is low,
b. spare capacity remains,
c. there is no sign of overinvestment;
d. credit growth is modest;
e. monetary conditions are not tight;
f. share market valuation is okay;
g. investors are not euphoric.

[attachmentid=8492647]

Investment Implications

1. while corrections should be anticipated – with Trump and upcoming Eurozone elections being potential triggers – we still appear to be a long way from the peak in the investment cycle.

2. non-US share markets and economies – notably Japan and Europe - are less advanced in their cycles and so provide opportunities for investors

Got this through my email by one of the fsm staff. looks like we aren't the only one feeling worried over the market
QUOTE(David3700 @ Mar 3 2017, 12:37 PM)
here you go David.
there's a graph in the original post. please have a look

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Mar 3 2017, 12:52 PM
Avangelice
post Mar 3 2017, 01:41 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Mar 3 2017, 01:38 PM)
Aku pun belum beli 10 lots...aku ada 8 lots je sad.gif
me 4 lots but supposed to go add in manatau go add another 20 lots for VS INDUSTRY
Avangelice
post Mar 3 2017, 11:46 PM

5,272 posts

I am hearing many people being scared about corrections and asking if they can bail out if it happens. the question is if you do bail out, how sure are if this is just a temporary correction and if it does correct would not recover after a year? so why panic?
Avangelice
post Mar 4 2017, 09:45 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Mar 4 2017, 09:08 AM)
Why about using either constant dollar investing or value averaging to lock in the profits? Isn't that a better option than to cash out from a fund completely?

For e.g., for constant dollar investing, your equity fund portion is constant. Let's say you bought Eastspring Small Cap for RM10k. It has now increased 20%. You then transfer RM2k into Eastspring Bond Fund. Your EISC value is still RM10k. After 6 months, the market corrects and EISC drops 20%. You switched back all the Eastspring Bond into EISC free of charge using credit points. Note: Another variation of buy low, sell high?

Just my own thought. No right or wrong answer. Everyone has different investing style. 👍
QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 4 2017, 09:40 AM)
I am not sure about others....but I think, at times this is also a very emotional affecting actions too.
I did that a few times....not a good feelings when you see the funds continued to rally for another few months.....days after days...the EQ and FI returns gaps widen.... ranting.gif
but then, at times...I just felt so  rclxm9.gif  when after I moved,...that funds corrected..... thumbup.gif  oh-what a feelings....felt just like the fortune teller.

yes,...your suggestion is practical......and your comments on " No right or wrong answer. Everyone has different investing style" is correct too.  :thumbsup:

so is post by T231H ....
thumbup.gif  :thumbsup:  RUN....RUN.... if you liked that.
it is your money and your choice...who knows when the BIG corrections is gonna come....
the thing is that switching process forces you to switch all. you have to sell some your units to lock profits then reinvest the said profits in a bond fund.
Avangelice
post Mar 4 2017, 11:44 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 3 2017, 11:22 PM)
2016 kalah teruk, almost quit FSM totally. now recover a bit d, thinking of cashing out while still making money. shall I?
QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 3 2017, 11:23 PM)
monthly mmg RSP. but whenever I see some drop in value of certain portfolios, Ill throw in lum sum. nth strategic, just luck
QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 3 2017, 11:24 PM)
hmm...I dun have strategic plan. Just tot wanna run while making money
QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 3 2017, 11:25 PM)
lotsa it not lum sum in the beginning. while on the way , keep topping up
no wonder you got reported. lol 4 posts back to back without multi quote . I think it breaks the forum rules and its regarded as spam as some people abuse the system to get more stars. which is something I cannot understand with some kids who regard the stars as "dick measuring contest"a

and no I didn't report you i got more things to worry about than this trivial stuff. someone has been reporting me constantly

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Mar 4 2017, 11:45 AM
Avangelice
post Mar 4 2017, 01:19 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(fense @ Mar 4 2017, 11:55 AM)
for past 2 mths been trying to get out from pokemon mode, but still stuck in 20 funds from 26s...haha

most fund have very nice return in 1 st quater, too hesitate to switch.best switch last 1 mths plus was emerging market, 5%  raise in a month.
mind sharing your new port? maybe we can advise you? would that be okay?
Avangelice
post Mar 5 2017, 10:12 AM

5,272 posts

fense

i see that you over lap your funds. please have a look at your optimized port.

you buy way too many funds in Malaysia. streamline it to KGF and ES small cap.

GTF covers Europe, US and Japan. you can choose to get it or it's Manulife US and TA European

Either Ponzi 1.0 or Ponzi 2.0 and combined one with AmAsia REIT as it covers Asia ex Japan

also your entire port is very hot. I hope you know that with commodities and Japan hedge along with the rest of the EQ funds it will be on heck of a ride during a storm. just letting you know

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Mar 5 2017, 10:14 AM
Avangelice
post Mar 5 2017, 02:46 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Mar 5 2017, 02:41 PM)
So far my portfolio consists of :
20% bond
22.5% Manulife US
10% Ponzi 1
22.5% Ponzi 2
10% Eastspring GEM
15% Kenanga Growth Fund

Should I reduce my exposure in Malaysia and allocate 10% each for China and India?
I would rather you reduce your allocation to US 22.5%? that's high
Avangelice
post Mar 6 2017, 12:40 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(2387581 @ Mar 6 2017, 12:26 AM)
I think FD also instant liquid...insofar as my experience with CIMB clicks. Only that you lose the accrued interest should you withdraw before maturity. Maturity could be monthly for some bank's FD.
instant liquid will always be

cash in hand/ credit card > savings account > fixed deposit / CMF > investment vehicles like UT and stocks>propeties

of course you are sacrificing interest with each tier you go lower. that's why I keep money in each tier so I don't have to sacrifice my returns.

800 in cash all the time.
16k for credit card limit
4k in savings.
10k in CMF
70k in stocks and UT
700k property to be sold if the need arises with loan against it for 414k

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Mar 6 2017, 12:41 AM
Avangelice
post Mar 6 2017, 07:42 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 6 2017, 12:58 AM)
Gee.  Ready cash only rm1. laugh.gif
No credit card yet.
Few k in eGIA-i. 
Few k in asnb
Few k in FSM.
haish... ram always the humble one eh? I know you got more stash hidden away somewhere bro.

QUOTE(asimov82 @ Mar 6 2017, 02:19 AM)
bro, the property is for own stay or invest?
u can always topup loan for cash.
I don't do property flipping so that house is for my own and future family. personally feel that property flipping brings bad karma as it affects other young couples who want to buy a home and we are the ones stopping them from doing so not the developers.
Avangelice
post Mar 6 2017, 08:44 AM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 6 2017, 08:31 AM)
cry.gif strongly agree with the above though the season-ed property investor would not care...

PS: don't really need to argue about CMF vs savings account or CMF vs Fixed Deposit. it's a good tool to achieve a certain purpose. I have been using CMF as a tool to grow my savings as well. It is the parking place of my short-term savings, as well as transferring it to the equity funds when it’s time for me to invest.

While it takes 2 working days to liquidate, note that I am willing to sacrifice that over 0% in savings account or 3.00% for normal 1-month FD. When I accumulate enough, then I park it into promo FD giving me say 4% or something. Even that, it’s just for the cash I’m not investing. Even if I’m investing them, I still put them in CMF instead of 1-month FD before I move to other investing instruments. 3%+ is a lot for minimal effort.
girlfriend wanted to buy an apartment in kuching near my own home. brand new blocks by ibraco. on launch day each and everyone one of them have been snapped up and now being offered by property agents at a increase price of 30%. scalpers. piece of trash. they really don't need the money but greed fuels them.
Avangelice
post Mar 6 2017, 02:28 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Mar 6 2017, 02:26 PM)
sold some cash management fund via direct GIRO today at 1 pm. when is the fastest the money will be in my bank account
two days.
Avangelice
post Mar 6 2017, 07:16 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 6 2017, 07:11 PM)
just a few days ago,...there was a mention of CMF vs FD.....
here now FSM tells you.....
How This Portfolio Out Beats Your FD Rate? [6 March 2017]
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...arch-2017--8077
wah lao. I'm impressed but at the same time I'm feeling a little disturbed by it.

55 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0448sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:40 AM