14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

whirlwind
post Nov 11 2020, 07:44 PM

http://purplemonkey.com.my/
3,602 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Nov 11 2020, 06:43 PM)
dayum..
wipe out approximately 8k of gain  tongue.gif
Hopefully the rebound is even better 🙏

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Nov 11 2020, 07:37 PM)
time to buy (wait few days)
Hahaha, dca method but not for me
whirlwind
post Nov 11 2020, 09:54 PM

3,602 posts

Sorry for the Wrong info, actually NAV drop 0.05 = 3.8% (PGC)

And tomorrow we gonna see another drop 🙁 based on today’s news

This post has been edited by whirlwind: Nov 11 2020, 10:06 PM
whirlwind
post Nov 11 2020, 09:55 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 11 2020, 07:46 PM)
So what method are you using?
Currently no method. Trying my best to just wait and go with the flow

Unless you have some tips for me?
whirlwind
post Nov 12 2020, 12:49 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 12 2020, 12:35 PM)
T 1 U  N 1 4 H S 3 N G!

I just top up on Monday ( 9th Nov 2020 ) RM 5,000.00 into AmChina-A Share, the RM 5K being the minimum top up value. Looks like I top up at the peak.

Xuzen.
😱
PGC yesterday 3.8%, today gonna be another drop

Based on the news, worry the clamp down from the China government might leave a permanent drop
whirlwind
post Nov 12 2020, 01:03 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Nov 12 2020, 12:54 PM)
nothing is permenant.
Hopefully 🙏
Today’s drop please not so steep 🙏
Gonna be end of the year soon and so far my portfolio so so only. If considering the losses due to the Precious Metal and Global Titan, leaving the money in epf seems a better choice
whirlwind
post Nov 12 2020, 01:37 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Nov 12 2020, 01:13 PM)
U r getting into the "omg UT suck phase" now.... laugh.gif

That didn't take long....
Hahaha, I don’t think UT sucks. It’s the beginners like me.

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 12 2020, 01:14 PM)
so are China funds from this FHs

did not check whether all the gains from the rally from 2 Nov had been wiped out or not yet
For PGC on month of nov so far +3.73%

whirlwind
post Nov 12 2020, 11:54 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(encikbuta @ Nov 12 2020, 04:21 PM)
yea i tend to agree with this statement  biggrin.gif 

not very easy ler to find a fund that consistently gives 5 - 7% every year and summore promise a minimum of 2.5%.

if not because of the 55 yrs old withdrawal thingy, i would have just dumped all my investable money into EPF. no need to bother trying to manage my own investments.
Yup not easy
I’m still not giving up
I believed with sufficient experience and perseverance UT will be able to provide a better return
whirlwind
post Nov 13 2020, 12:02 AM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 12 2020, 07:00 PM)
Principal Greater China Equity Fund - MYR drops another 1.76%
Not as bad as yesterday
Let’s see tomorrow

Just after I switched my Affin Hwang Asia Pacific balance fund to affin hwang select asia ex japan dividend fund, it’s going down

whirlwind
post Nov 13 2020, 10:30 AM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 13 2020, 08:02 AM)
Dow dropped ~1% while NASDAQ dropped ~0.65% rclxub.gif
Asia also drop when US drop🙁

Asian stocks dip as virus spread tamps vaccine hopes
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/asia...s-vaccine-hopes
whirlwind
post Nov 13 2020, 12:23 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 13 2020, 10:32 AM)
Drop is good; an opportunity to buy more!
I won't cry for it.
But I'm curious why with the drop? Perhaps the rising cases in US is swinging the market mood.
2 days ago due to China clamp down on China tech
But today 🤷‍♂️

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Nov 13 2020, 11:45 AM)
One thing that might help - is to stop looking at news (contradictory I know)

Maybe then won't feel as worried and let emotions take control of your investment.
😅
That’s gonna be hard
whirlwind
post Nov 13 2020, 01:45 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 13 2020, 12:25 PM)
yes, especially when you took out money from EPF to invest
First time investing in UT
No experience in stocks or any form of similar kind of investment

Many advise saying UT should be a long term one
I’ll experience till next year and see how it goes

whirlwind
post Nov 13 2020, 01:52 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Nov 13 2020, 12:37 PM)
Nothing is easy. Since you've decided to use EPF fund to invest, just stick around and stop looking at news and continously switching funds. Even if returns don't kill you the switching fees (if any) will. Revisit your portfolio half a year (or a year, or two) later and decide if rebalance is needed or if direction change is required.

Emotions and Investment don't work well together.
👌
I thought I need to update myself with business news
That’s why reading business everyday and look at the fund performance 😅

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Nov 13 2020, 01:33 PM)
U don't need to react to every news. The direction is always up. Pick a good fund n just look for buying opportunity.
👌
I still not sure whether my funds are ok or not
All are equities
Consist of Greater China, Asia, Global and Malaysia Small Cap
whirlwind
post Nov 13 2020, 01:54 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 13 2020, 01:46 PM)
Yes it is meant for long term but you're being affected emotionally in short term.
Irony I would say ...  dry.gif
Adapting myself
Trying to control myself with any short term changes

By the way, principal ASEAN been continuing going up for this month. Fyi

This post has been edited by whirlwind: Nov 13 2020, 01:57 PM
whirlwind
post Nov 13 2020, 02:01 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 13 2020, 01:55 PM)
Yet, you're doing it again!
You're like singing Britney Spears song: Ops, I Did It Again!
👌
I better not comment too much or you guys will think I’m a pain in the ass
Hahaha
whirlwind
post Nov 13 2020, 02:03 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 13 2020, 01:57 PM)
bro - long term is about TENS of YEARS... not 1-2 years neh  laugh.gif
👌
whirlwind
post Nov 13 2020, 06:51 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 13 2020, 03:44 PM)
bro - when U look at short term, U see crazy stuff
iShares Russell 3000 ETF (IWV) which holds 98%+/- of US stocks

BUT when U zoom out - whatcha see?
steady climb up with a trip (dang pebble/shoe laces) here/there right?

U can look up other ETfs and zoom in/out to get a feel of what U should be focusing on and what NOT to be focusing on
eg. like driving - yes look ahead at the road in front BUT more important focus is getting to the destination, using whatever roads (if immediate road jammed) right?
👍
Actually many sifus here reminded me before.
It’s just that I easily get “emotional”
In my mind, it’s always are my funds really the correct ones? Then we I start to see the drop, I start comparing, hahaha.
whirlwind
post Nov 13 2020, 06:59 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 13 2020, 06:39 PM)
whirlwind
Principal Greater China Equity Fund - MYR up 0.55%
Yup yup
That’s a fast turn around

Happy weekend!
whirlwind
post Nov 13 2020, 07:03 PM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 13 2020, 06:57 PM)
even if your fund "maybe' the correct one for now (or for another X months)....it does not mean that it will stay the "correct" for ever.....

so, just hope that your "emotion" can "corrects" itself  devil.gif
Noted
Will continue update myself so that I don’t miss out on the good fund
whirlwind
post Nov 14 2020, 12:34 AM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 13 2020, 07:03 PM)
whirlwind Learn to edit and use multi-quote since all the posts are so short time frame in between. sweat.gif
You mean like this?

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 13 2020, 07:08 PM)
Just a note,... By the time you realised  n updated yourself n confirmed that it was a good fund n switched in.... It may already at peak....
Some call that the perils of rear view investing....

No harm trying that as one can only loss time n some money
I have an assumption at the moment that Precious Metal Securities might be in this scenario. The fund shoot up during the emergence of covid and now since there’s many news on vaccines therefore Investing in gold fund at the moment is very risky.

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Nov 13 2020, 07:50 PM)
there is only a few common good funds that is always discuss here. most of the funds in fsm is cannot pakai one.

from time to time the senior here will discover new better performing fund n share in here. u can update your watchlist.

after a while u will get the hang of how to evaluate a good performing fund too.

in the begining just learn from others first before forming your own opinion. try not to bring any of your own misconseption into this. if u dont agree with others later on, go ahead n follow your own mindset. ultimately its your money. there is no right or wrong as long as u dont lose money. losing money is the biggest no no.

"Rule No. 1: Never lose money. Rule No. 2: Never forget rule No. 1."

try out small amount first. this is you "life lesson fee" into investing your own money. even if u lose it. u wont feel so heart pain.
👌
whirlwind
post Nov 14 2020, 11:01 AM

3,602 posts

QUOTE(encikbuta @ Nov 14 2020, 07:55 AM)
maybe you could run a long term experiment to test out this theory for yourself. it is sometimes easier to 'see it to believe it'. so say you got RM10k overall investable fund right now.

RM5k you put into a globally diversified large cap unit trust (Principal Global Titans?) and dump RM100/month or whatever inside. Don't change no matter the market up or down. We call this the 'boring portfolio'.

Then another RM5k (along with additional RM100/month), you do your own allocation (i.e. some in Large Cap, ASEAN, Precious Metals, Greater China, Healthcare, etc) and make constant adjustments based on your sources. We call this the 'active portfolio'. I guess kinda like what you doing now?

Check back after 5 years and compare the total ROI%.
Already invested most of the available fund in my epf. Not much fund left for dca

This post has been edited by whirlwind: Nov 14 2020, 01:00 PM

14 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0717sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:22 PM