9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

voyage23
post Oct 19 2018, 11:46 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 19 2018, 11:33 AM)
Sometimes such drop allow one to accumulate dividend stocks sold at discount. Sometimes price not attractive enough so just look.
Why do you think China so worried about US imposing trade war on them? Why do you think china is trying to spend just to push up the economy. They realised they are too reliant on selling things to US. When they can't sell things to US,  their economy definitely will stall or slow down. Why do you think china impose capital control on their own citizen? They don't want their rich citizen to bring money out of the country. Who knows the economy better than the locals?
What on earth are you talking about.... Are you just regurgitating what you have read on Bloomberg? Or are you a local in Mainland China? You still did not answer my question. If China is SOOOO worried about the trade, IF one day US decides to impose on ALL their items, at what percentage point it would hit China's GDP? When you find out the answer maybe you will know you are just as hypnotised as the media and reading all the headline news only.

Capital control? Did you also know that President Xi is slowly deregulating and opening up? Aiya nevermind stick to your Bloomberg. We shall see biggrin.gif

I for one am extremely bullish on China in the medium to long term, hence holding 60% in Asia Pacific and Greater China combined. But everyone's different. So no worries icon_rolleyes.gif
voyage23
post Oct 23 2018, 08:29 PM

368 posts

FBM Small Cap Index is at all time low of around 13000 now.

For the past 6 months, IDS/IDEF had the highest returns among the small-cap funds available in FSM. ~6.x%. If you look at YTD, IDS/IDEF did significantly poorer compared to other small-cap funds, however in just few months, they managed to claw back significantly to lead the pack.

Having read through Lim Tze Ching's book I kinda like his thinking and he once mentioned that his fund fact sheet is not quite updated because he does not want other fund houses to know.

I personally think we have hit almost the bottom for small cap funds and it is a good time to enter now (or after Budget 2019), because all they need is few months of bull run. Hit 17500-18000 and you can dispose it off.

Topping up IDS soon! Any takers?
voyage23
post Oct 23 2018, 09:29 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 23 2018, 09:23 PM)
IDS have new fund. just FYI.

and thinking to buy IDS fund, only 1 level better than going genting.

think thrice.
Wow, this is some pretty strong statement. I find it quite insulting to the fund manager who has shown some pretty decent results in the small-cap space in the last 6 months.

Anyway I did mention that I hold IDS and I am planning to top up. If you did not buy it during their peak you are unlikely to be affected that much. My only mistake was not taking profit when it went on a bull run.
voyage23
post Oct 23 2018, 09:33 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 23 2018, 09:23 PM)

I just recheck chart of 3 IDS fund in FSM.
they never back to peak. and what makes you think they can be better than KGF and other small cap fund?
They never, or they have not? What time frame are you giving them? I suggest you go play around with the Chart Centre and include those small-cap funds from CIMB and Eastspring then you will get what I mean.

When a fund manager chooses a riskier stock, of course it will go down more during downtime. As you can see ALL small cap funds went down. But just in that short period of bull run somewhere in July/Aug, you can see IDS/IDE clawed back a lot of their losses and regained top position.

What do you make of that?
voyage23
post Oct 30 2018, 11:01 AM

368 posts

Thinking of applying for HSBC's 0% CIP to take advantage of current market weakness.

RM12k at 0% over 12 months - pay RM1000 monthly.

If I can afford the monthly repayment just from my regular salary, any downside to this? Planning to dump it all into malaysia small cap fund and asia pacific ex-japan.
voyage23
post Oct 30 2018, 11:24 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 30 2018, 11:12 AM)
i'd do this too IF..
a. market crashed (past tense) >20%, preferably >=30%
b. i've at least 3 months' expenses stashed away in somewhere

IMHO:
i'm still waiting for the "crashed" (past tense) to start deploying using "leveraged $". Other than Shanghai Index + maybe South Korea's KOSPI, not much lelong this month's "crash", especially MY's stocks - relatively speaking.
Yeap maybe I should wait after US midterm elections and that will be after budget announcement as well.

I wonder how the bank benefit from this if I can just cancel the card that I am supposed to sign up with them for this CIP.
voyage23
post Nov 1 2018, 11:19 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 1 2018, 06:51 PM)
FSM Fund Choice: Maybank Greater China ASEAN Equity-I Fund [November 2018]

URL: https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...ber-2018--10326

Promotion: 0.5% Sales Charge On Maybank Greater China ASEAN Equity-I Fund

URL: https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...ty-I-Fund-10325
I like the fact that it is being advised by Value Partners now. Fund management company that I look up highly too. And Dato Cheah is a contrarion with proven track record as well. Interesting to see how they perform moving forward.

For now will play safe with CIMB Greater China (wife's port) and have some fun in Manulife Dragon (own port).
voyage23
post Nov 9 2018, 09:05 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Nov 9 2018, 08:43 AM)
lets say I don't really need gov give Mia 1k.

what you guys think about PRS.

Is RSP better than PRS?
Depending on your income level, but I invested in PRS mainly for the RM3000 tax relief. The RM1k youth incentive is just a bonus.
voyage23
post Nov 9 2018, 09:27 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Nov 9 2018, 09:21 AM)
since now SSPN already raise to 8k.. so now yearly die die also need 11k for tax relief.....
SSPN tax relief is only for parent right? Not qualified yet. sad.gif Now KWSP tax relief reduced and life insurance I did not insure until RM3k annual premium.

Middle income class kena hit sad.gif
voyage23
post Nov 23 2018, 02:38 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 23 2018, 10:52 AM)
bad but I don't have to pay any management fees on a quarterly basis and I can still get back my capital via dividends. I'm looking at my stupid IDS and it's not even gotten better. at least my stocks are improving slowly.
to be fair IDS was one of the best performer for the past 6 months at ~7%. you just bought when everything was on the high thats why.
voyage23
post Nov 24 2018, 10:25 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 24 2018, 03:19 PM)
added another MYR 1,000.00 into US exposure...
Interesting choice. What's your rationale?

voyage23
post Jan 7 2019, 10:14 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 7 2019, 09:53 AM)
all market shoot up. at least 1%.

market start recover? or just brewing a perfect storm?
Damn just when I was about to top up PRS for 2019!
voyage23
post Jan 7 2019, 11:16 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 7 2019, 10:46 AM)
The year is still young.
Low enough for me to take advantage. You are either in one of these 2 camps:

1) 2019 will only get better
2) More downturn to come in 2019

Then you act accordingly. After all, PRS money can only be taken out at 55 years old, all these won't really matter 25 years down the road (my time horizon).
voyage23
post Jan 15 2019, 10:25 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Merovingian2 @ Jan 14 2019, 10:23 PM)
Are the KL LYN guys having a meet and greet session at the KL event?
I think everyone prefers their anonymity here tongue.gif
voyage23
post Jan 28 2019, 08:13 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 27 2019, 09:12 PM)
I don't think Trump cares about technological "transfers" and "piracy". All he cares is how much money he  can makes from a deal and how good is he a business man to the American public.
Of course he does, in fact I think this is the main issue of the tension between US and China now. I have said it before, if you only read news portal from US - that's all you will get. Do not underestimate Uncle Xi and his team.

Personally holding off till 1st of March to observe first.
voyage23
post Jan 29 2019, 08:35 AM

368 posts

With the criminal charges against Huawei filed by US, this officially kick off the US-China tech cold war.

More volatility?
voyage23
post Mar 19 2019, 09:36 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 19 2019, 09:30 AM)
I have in conventional but pull out all.

their track record isn't that good tbh...

but I got see the list they given in Islamic, most of the fund are actually quite ok.

conventional isn't that good because too much expose to US and EU.
Don't think we can speak of "track record" when they are so new. Especially when they sorta started during the volatile period. Give them 5-8 years then we see whose track record is better.
voyage23
post Mar 19 2019, 09:49 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 19 2019, 09:46 AM)
Fair point, but most of our DIY port perform better compared to them.
Nobody really knows cos nobody really shows their portfolio here especially 2018. 2017 when everything was up everyone was busy showing off. When market is up even monkeys can earn money. So it doesn't matter..managed portfolio is not meant for those who knows how to DIY. If you think you can do better, don't bother. Their market is mainly those that DO NOT want to manage themselves.
voyage23
post Apr 3 2019, 04:35 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Apr 3 2019, 04:27 PM)
my ID safi is at 31% bleeding.

dilemma should I sell now or keep it..

advice?
Oops..must have bought at the very top when the fund has risen a lot.
voyage23
post Apr 4 2019, 03:54 PM

368 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Apr 4 2019, 01:54 PM)
I am curious of your holding on IDS.

I remember last time you said its a good fund when I pointed out this fund can never do any good due to previous speculation.

You also mentioned that in the fact sheet it dint reveal the real proportion the stocks they hold to prevent other people stealing it.

Fast forward up to today, it perform poorly against peer fund. Nothing much but I am just curious. This fund to me, its really kind of weird.
I think what I mentioned was that I liked the fund manager's thinking after reading his book and therefore believed in his fund for the long term. That was just 3-4 months ago. Back then IDS outperformed its peers, but now really lacking behind a lot if you look at YTD.

But again, after 3-4 months you can't say they can never do any good. If you compare with 1/2/3 years with their peers, they are not too bad. So it depends on which period you wanna check on its record. I still believe in the long term story of this fund esp when I have holding power.

I am still holding eventhough bleeding like others also as it only forms 15% of my whole portfolio.

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0470sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:49 PM