1553 Pages « < 600 601 602 603 604 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

MUM
post Feb 19 2018, 05:29 PM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(apiali44 @ Feb 19 2018, 11:56 AM)
You're right. Most funds are aiming for mid to long term return. Dollar cost averaging actually makes sense.

See, i have this idea.

I want to invest in Fund A, the minimum initial investment, say RM 500. NAV 0.47 (eg)
Minimum top-up - RM 100.
Months : 1

on Months: 2
Funds A NAV: 0.45
I top up - 100.

on Months: 3
Funds A NAV: 0.48
I let it ride.

The point is, When monthly NAV goes down to a relevant point, i buy in to dollar cost averaging. When it exceeds the average point, i let it ride.

Would this idea worked?
When monthly NAV goes down to a relevant point, i buy in to dollar cost averaging.
Q: what is the relevant point? lower than your average cost of unit being currently held?

When it exceeds the average point, i let it ride.
Q: what if the NAVs keeps going up?Does that means no buying in?

i1899
post Feb 19 2018, 05:43 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Feb 19 2018, 10:13 AM)
hmm, I am not stock player, you are rite? Does this trick really work in stock market? And if you compare for the same year for UT and stock eg 16 and 17 for both... I believe the lost is around the same perhaps?
I am stock investor (buy and hold for years, mainly the big companies like TNB, maybank, maxis) not stock player.
I look at fundamental in selecting stock, not using any tactics of trading.
So, i have no idea... But, i guess too dangerous to chase for the top performers in any kind of investment.

When an investment is going higher and higher, it is the time to consider to sell, not buy...

i1899
post Feb 19 2018, 05:53 PM

225 posts

You're right. Most funds are aiming for mid to long term return. Dollar cost averaging actually makes sense.

See, i have this idea.

I want to invest in Fund A, the minimum initial investment, say RM 500. NAV 0.47 (eg)
Minimum top-up - RM 100.

I top up - 100.

I let it ride.

The point is, When monthly NAV goes down to a relevant point, i buy in to dollar cost averaging. When it exceeds the average point, i let it ride.

Would this idea worked?
In fact, it is not DCA, it is simplied VCA.

Buying when NAV is lower than average buying NAV (dividend adjusted) is working.
But, when you hold the fund >6 months, a GOOD fund won't come back to NAV lower than your average buying price. If not, it is NOT a GOOD fund, it keeps dropping even after 6 months of DCA...

skynode
post Feb 19 2018, 06:03 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 19 2018, 05:43 PM)
I am stock investor (buy and hold for years, mainly the big companies like TNB, maybank, maxis) not stock player.
So, i have no idea...  But, i guess too dangerous to chase for the top performers in any kind of investment.

When an investment is going higher and higher, it is the time to consider to sell, not buy...
Do you use this at analysing the fundamentals and fair prices for stocks?

WhitE LighteR
post Feb 19 2018, 08:03 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Manulife REIT and AHSB continues to slid lower. Not unexpected. Others seem to be recovering nicely now.
i1899
post Feb 19 2018, 09:45 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 19 2018, 06:03 PM)
Do you use this at analysing the fundamentals and fair prices for stocks?
actually, stocks selection is easier than ut selection. because all data are accesible.

using apps like stockhunter, then all stocks with high roe, low per, high margin (aka good fundamental) are shown in no time. just choose the best among them.

between, I only buy companies that seems can survive in next 30 years.
i bought 20k tnb using the leftover of my scholarship when I graduated. now, dividend received already more than rhe 20k. stock is for long term investment.
Ramjade
post Feb 19 2018, 09:52 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 19 2018, 08:03 PM)
Manulife REIT and AHSB continues to slid lower. Not unexpected. Others seem to be recovering nicely now.
What you are seeing is old news. All s-reit increase in price sad.gif
skynode
post Feb 19 2018, 11:03 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 19 2018, 09:45 PM)
actually, stocks selection is easier than ut selection. because all data are accesible.

using apps like stockhunter, then all stocks with high roe, low per, high margin (aka good fundamental) are shown in no time. just choose the best among them.

between, I only buy companies that seems can survive in next 30 years.
i bought 20k tnb using the leftover of my scholarship when I graduated. now, dividend received already more than rhe 20k. stock is for long term investment.
So you hunt for Blue Chips.
Would cigar butt strategy work for Malaysian Stocks?
i1899
post Feb 19 2018, 11:39 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 19 2018, 11:03 PM)
So you hunt for Blue Chips.
Would cigar butt strategy work for Malaysian Stocks?
Worked fine for me at IRR 10% since 2007 (before 2008 fin crisis), with very minimal effort.

repusez
post Feb 20 2018, 02:25 PM

669 posts

did anyone receive email from FSM CIS introducing themselves and the service they offer. I received an email from one of their CIS called Sukma Syidi , this is a surprise as I've not received such email in my few years in FSM.
puchongite
post Feb 20 2018, 03:03 PM

33,601 posts

QUOTE(repusez @ Feb 20 2018, 02:25 PM)
did anyone receive email from FSM CIS introducing themselves and the service they offer. I received an email from one of their CIS called Sukma Syidi , this is a surprise as I've not received such email in my few years in FSM.
Could it be scam ? devil.gif brows.gif

Later ask you to deposit money into some bank account .....
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Feb 20 2018, 03:25 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

See, i have this idea.

Minimum top-up - RM 100.

I top up - 100.

I let it ride.

Would this idea worked?
must see the perf of the fund also. Take your example for RHB EMB, you will top up every months and make lost every month.

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 19 2018, 05:43 PM)
So, i have no idea...  But, i guess too dangerous to chase for the top performers in any kind of investment.

Hand itch wan try stock liao
lolwei
post Feb 20 2018, 03:57 PM

43 posts

Hi all sifus! I'm a new grad who just started working and have been lurking about the forums, waiting for my day to enter the UT market.

Right now I have RM4k in my bank account after excluding my regular spending. Any recommendations, or shud I keep saving up until I have a bigger amount?

Heard there was a dip recently but I think already missed the chance. sad.gif
MUM
post Feb 20 2018, 04:12 PM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(lolwei @ Feb 20 2018, 03:57 PM)
Hi all sifus! I'm a new grad who just started working and have been lurking about the forums, waiting for my day to enter the UT market.

Right now I have RM4k in my bank account after excluding my regular spending. Any recommendations, or shud I keep saving up until I have a bigger amount?

Heard there was a dip recently but I think already missed the chance. sad.gif
i think it is better to built up your emergency fund before doing investment..
lolwei
post Feb 20 2018, 04:36 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 20 2018, 04:12 PM)
i think it is better to built up your emergency fund before doing investment..
Very appropriate username haha. wink.gif

Forgot to mention that I already have set aside close to RM7K already as my emergency (3k in FD which I consider can use also).

Really just looking at what I can do in terms of UT with 4k.
Searingmage
post Feb 20 2018, 05:43 PM

1,809 posts

QUOTE(lolwei @ Feb 20 2018, 04:36 PM)

Forgot to mention that I already have set aside close to RM7K already as my emergency (3k in FD which I consider can use also).

I think first thing first is looking for the right funds that fits your risk appetite. Go research and select a few funds that you're interested in.

FSM min purchase is RM1k if I'm not mistaken. So you can either select 4 funds, or go for less funds.
Read up more on FSM, they have details on the risk profile of the fund. Take a look at the fund fact sheet before investing.
Another strategy is choose a fund you want, then spread your investment over a few months, to prevent loss due to sudden spikes. (weighted average cost method)/

MUM
post Feb 20 2018, 07:22 PM

14,857 posts

QUOTE(lolwei @ Feb 20 2018, 04:36 PM)

hmm.gif what can you really do in terms of UT with 4k?
hmm.gif try form a portfolio of funds (I think 4K is enough to form a simple one)
for some tips
Common Portfolio Management Mistakes Made
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...?articleNo=4383

and do take note of the above post by "Searingmage" thumbup.gif
i1899
post Feb 20 2018, 07:55 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(repusez @ Feb 20 2018, 02:25 PM)
why not call / write to FSM and ask: "herm, is there any CIS called sukma syidi or not?" blush.gif

Every member in FSM should have only ONE CIS, who have access to your current UT holding (units, avg price etc).
I feel very insecure/ uneasy if FSM allow too many CIS, as u used "they" in ur post, to have this kind of information loh...

Between, what is the service he provided?
i1899
post Feb 20 2018, 08:27 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 19 2018, 08:03 PM)
Done a quick check, i compared Manulife REIT with 1 AxJ REIT ETF and SREIT ETF using bloomberg chart.

hmm.gif Manulife REIT seems performs similar with other AxJ REIT ETF.
All of them reach the 6 months lowest point, on 09 Feb and is rebounding.

it is nothing wrong with Manulife REIT, but REIT in overall won't perform superb in interest rising periods.
Ramjade
post Feb 20 2018, 10:21 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Feb 20 2018, 08:27 PM)
Done a quick check, i compared Manulife REIT with 1 AxJ REIT ETF and SREIT ETF using bloomberg chart.

hmm.gif Manulife REIT seems performs similar with other AxJ REIT ETF.
All of them reach the 6 months lowest point, on 09 Feb and is rebounding.
it is nothing wrong with Manulife REIT, but REIT in overall won't perform superb in interest rising periods.
Actually it depends. If a reit can increase rental to offset increase in rental payment, it will be good. Something which bond can't do.

1553 Pages « < 600 601 602 603 604 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:45 PM