AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

chocobo7779
post Sep 26 2022, 10:22 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 26 2022, 09:02 PM)
The undervolt + OC results are interesting hmm.gif

I wonder whether AMD has pushed too much power just for the sake of making benchmarks look good hmm.gif

So far, Zen 4 doesn't seem to be worth the price right now (feels like much of its pricing are early adopter's tax, not to mention board prices and DDR5 RAM) hmm.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Sep 26 2022, 10:33 PM
goldfries
post Sep 26 2022, 11:02 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 26 2022, 10:22 PM)
The undervolt + OC results are interesting hmm.gif

I wonder whether AMD has pushed too much power just for the sake of making benchmarks look good hmm.gif

So far, Zen 4 doesn't seem to be worth the price right now (feels like much of its pricing are early adopter's tax, not to mention board prices and DDR5 RAM) hmm.gif
Yes, that's why when I did my first run I was unimpressed. (as stated in video).

It was until I was doing OC and downvolt where I found it interesting.

Can go DDR5 5200MHz 2x 8GB but do you want to pay twice? smile.gif Can go B650E board with some wait.

BUT my concern is about gains la, the performance level is that of an i9.

I do feel that they did over-do the power, considering I can go from 4.7GHz base to 5.4GHz base and went from 1.25v to 1.2v and still works fine.

My recommendation is to skip 2 generations for upgrade, or if up 1 generation then have to step up on the CPU rank.

That also see what GPU and reso you're on.
chocobo7779
post Sep 26 2022, 11:06 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 26 2022, 11:02 PM)
Yes, that's why when I did my first run I was unimpressed. (as stated in video).

It was until I was doing OC and downvolt where I found it interesting.

Can go DDR5 5200MHz 2x 8GB but do you want to pay twice? smile.gif Can go B650E board with some wait.

BUT my concern is about gains la, the performance level is that of an i9.

I do feel that they did over-do the power, considering I can go from 4.7GHz base to 5.4GHz base and went from 1.25v to 1.2v and still works fine.

My recommendation is to skip 2 generations for upgrade, or if up 1 generation then have to step up on the CPU rank.

That also see what GPU and reso you're on.
Guess AMD did took a page out of Intel's playbook sweat.gif

Also somewhat interesting is that if you are only gaming you can basically run the 7950X at ECO mode (aka '65W' mode) and it'll still perform better than a 5950X without power limits icon_idea.gif
Ideally you will want to do some power tuning + undervolting for best results icon_idea.gif

But yeah, Zen 4 isn't very compelling so far (feels more like an introductory chip to the AM5 platform rather than a substantial upgrade over what we have right now) icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Sep 26 2022, 11:08 PM
chocobo7779
post Sep 26 2022, 11:14 PM

14,674 posts

Some more power scaling benchmarks:

https://www.club386.com/amd-ryzen-9-7950x-v...t-125w-and-65w/

It's quite impressive to see that a 7950X at 65W is faster than a 12900K at stock power limits in multicore icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Sep 26 2022, 11:15 PM
goldfries
post Sep 26 2022, 11:18 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Sep 26 2022, 11:06 PM)
But yeah, Zen 4 isn't very compelling so far (feels more like an introductory chip to the AM5 platform rather than a substantial upgrade over what we have right now) icon_idea.gif
I'm a sucka for stuff that allows me headroom to play.

Sold my i9 to get and i5 for that. Now this one comes. biggrin.gif

Out of the box ....... meh, personally I feel my i5-12600K is the better all-rounder, thanks to those E-cores.

BUT the E-cores is not without issue, some benchmarks / games actually result in lower FPS when E-cores enabled. Haven't try Windows 11 though.

chocobo7779
post Sep 26 2022, 11:31 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 26 2022, 11:18 PM)
I'm a sucka for stuff that allows me headroom to play.

Sold my i9 to get and i5 for that. Now this one comes. biggrin.gif

Out of the box ....... meh, personally I feel my i5-12600K is the better all-rounder, thanks to those E-cores.

BUT the E-cores is not without issue, some benchmarks / games actually result in lower FPS when E-cores enabled. Haven't try Windows 11 though.
Did you try E cores on older games? I heard that some older games don't play well with E cores (either they don't run at all or they run very poorly) hmm.gif
xxboxx
post Sep 27 2022, 10:23 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

Those that want max computing power, only 7950x seem to be worth it. If main concern is gaming, best choice would still be 5800x3D.

7700x is meh.. Despite same price with 12700k, it can't match it's computing performance. Also means already know it will lose to 13th gen.
targon
post Sep 27 2022, 12:06 PM

291 posts

MSI X670e boards pricing. that's a massive increase compared with x570 models.

Pro USD329
Carbon wifi USD499
Ace USD799
Godlike USD1299

https://www.techpowerup.com/299263/msi-shar...s-in-livestream
Skylinestar
post Sep 27 2022, 12:08 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2022/09/eve...-chipsets/3/#h4
Ronin_Amin
post Sep 27 2022, 01:13 PM

490 posts

Is it advisable to get a 5800x3d on an Asus b450F gaming mobo?
SSJBen
post Sep 27 2022, 09:10 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

I can't wait to see all the people crying about temperatures in a few weeks time because most still don't understand how the new power limit works (hint: it's similar to the PS5, surprised?).
XeactorZ
post Sep 27 2022, 09:14 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

AMD Ryzen 9 7950X - RM3,399
AMD Ryzen 9 7900X - RM2,699
AMD Ryzen 7 7700X - RM1,899
AMD Ryzen 5 7600X - RM1,399

Source from Lowyat.net
SUSipohps3
post Sep 27 2022, 09:21 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 27 2022, 09:14 PM)
AMD Ryzen 9 7950X - RM3,399
AMD Ryzen 9 7900X - RM2,699
AMD Ryzen 7 7700X - RM1,899
AMD Ryzen 5 7600X - RM1,399

Source from Lowyat.net
wow cheaper 7950X than 5950X. all cheaper in fact except the 7600X and 7900X compared to 5000 series.

This post has been edited by ipohps3: Sep 27 2022, 09:30 PM
arslow
post Sep 28 2022, 09:37 AM

3,544 posts

Can't find Mobo with 2 LAN port plus 8 SATA ports plus 3 m.2 inboard without add on card even fir ryzen 7000. I think I gotta stay with my threadripper for a longer time....

This post has been edited by arslow: Sep 28 2022, 09:38 AM
xxboxx
post Sep 28 2022, 01:02 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

I was expecting new MB will start using ATX3 power supply. That probably going to raise MB price further.
SSJBen
post Sep 28 2022, 01:40 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Sep 27 2022, 09:21 PM)
wow cheaper 7950X than 5950X. all cheaper in fact except the 7600X and 7900X compared to 5000 series.
Humans are easily blind sided.

AMD just shifted the price hike from CPUs to their chipsets and motherboard royalties instead. Go la and buy an AM5 board + DDR5, see how much total. whistling.gif
SUSipohps3
post Sep 28 2022, 02:11 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 28 2022, 01:40 PM)
Humans are easily blind sided.

AMD just shifted the price hike from CPUs to their chipsets and motherboard royalties instead. Go la and buy an AM5 board + DDR5, see how much total.  whistling.gif
not buying. not the time to buy.
kingkingyyk
post Sep 28 2022, 02:31 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Sep 27 2022, 01:13 PM)
Is it advisable to get a 5800x3d on an Asus b450F gaming mobo?
Reviews are in fact showing 3D's value. icon_idea.gif In short, it is yes.

P/S : Go for B550.

QUOTE(arslow @ Sep 28 2022, 09:37 AM)
Can't find Mobo with 2 LAN port plus 8 SATA ports plus 3 m.2 inboard without add on card even fir ryzen 7000. I think I gotta stay with my threadripper for a longer time....
https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/MEG-X670E-G...E/Specification brows.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Sep 28 2022, 02:34 PM
Ronin_Amin
post Sep 28 2022, 02:42 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Sep 28 2022, 02:31 PM)
Reviews are in fact showing 3D's value.  icon_idea.gif In short, it is yes.

P/S : Go for B550.

I am upgrading from 3700x, so i already have the asus b450 on hand. Should i upgrade that to b550 too?
raydenex
post Sep 28 2022, 02:46 PM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

All I've been certain of after reading and watching the Zen 4 content these past 2 days is to wait to see what Raptor Lake brings, and when AMD responds with the 7000x3d variants. Only then I'll decide.

475 Pages « < 433 434 435 436 437 > » Top

0.0494sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:41 AM