AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

chocobo7779
post Nov 19 2019, 09:41 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(matni01 @ Nov 18 2019, 10:53 PM)
does asus b450-f support ryzen 3rd gen out of the box? or i need to flash bios?
didn't to flash bios, need previous gen proc 1st? or got bios flashback?
i'm excited to upgrade but also takut if things get complicated sad.gif
Check whether the box has the Orange Ryzen 3000 ready sticker - if it has one then it has Ryzen 3000 support out of the box icon_idea.gif

Also, the B450-F has poor VRMs - for that budget you can get the MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX which is a much better board in terms of VRMs icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Nov 19 2019, 10:09 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(matni01 @ Nov 19 2019, 08:39 PM)
the answer i've been waiting for
thank you.

need those stability since i'm going for ryzen 3700x
dun wan to drop below 4Ghz biggrin.gif *gotta spend a bit la T_T
Note though, if you picked the B450 Tomahawk MAX you can even upgrade to the new 16 core 3950X without much issues icon_idea.gif

chocobo7779
post Nov 26 2019, 05:26 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(offinz @ Nov 26 2019, 11:14 AM)
whats a good cpu cooler at rm200-250 for 2600? air or liquid is fine for me. ill be changing the thermal to grizzly
The Scythe Mugen 5 Rev. B would be the choice here - fits your budget perfectly and it has near NH-D15 performance icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Dec 15 2019, 01:03 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 15 2019, 12:19 PM)
Yup, got people done it before.

Uninstall all the drivers, switch CPU and mobo, install AMD drivers. You still need to activate Windows because of different motherboard.
I've done it before (3570K -> 3600) - you can just install Windows 10 on it and it should work just fine icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Dec 15 2019, 01:04 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(Killy @ Dec 15 2019, 12:44 PM)
it's not possible to transfer license if you change mobo right?
mine won't activate, might have to buy new Win 10  hmm.gif
Do you have the Win7 license key? Windows 10 will activate with a valid Windows 7 key icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Dec 24 2019, 03:23 PM

14,673 posts

$85 Ryzen 5 1600 Zen+ ? hmm.gif

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/ecwld...af_zen_variant/
chocobo7779
post Dec 24 2019, 10:43 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 24 2019, 04:01 PM)
What exactly is 3600MHz with terrible timing?

Nothing wrong with Hynix die either, don't be too obsessed with Samsung B-Die.
IINM the Hynix C die is known to be a very good overclocker as well (along with Micron's E die) hmm.gif
chocobo7779
post Dec 26 2019, 02:10 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 25 2019, 01:51 AM)
Yes, pretty well. I can do 3266 CL14 with my 3200 CL16.

I have other kits that do 3800 CL16 with tightened timings as well.

Might not be Samsung B-Die level but it's great. In fact some kits have Samsung B-Die but can't OC well, not all Samsung B-Die are equal.
I wonder how's the new Samsung A-die overclocks though considering that Samsung has ceased production of their B-die chips hmm.gif
chocobo7779
post Jan 2 2020, 02:42 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Dec 29 2019, 01:03 AM)
hey all, maybe it's already answered 10 times here already but is 3900x idling at 45-50 celsius normal? running cinebench R20 will heat it up to 75-80 celsius.
That's perfectly normal - in fact Ryzen 3000 CPUs are designed to make good use of the 95C temperature limit (by boosting its clock speeds up to the thermal limit) icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jan 2 2020, 02:42 AM
chocobo7779
post Jan 6 2020, 07:13 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(suffian1 @ Jan 5 2020, 07:49 PM)
Hi guys, been out of the PC gaming scene for a while (work kids etc..life hehe). Looking to build a decent gaming rig so below is my shortlist for the base build:

Ryzen 5 3600
Asus B450-F Rog Strix Gaming
Asus RTX 2060 Super Rog Strix (going for 1440p)
Kingston HyperX Predator 16GB CL16 (HX432C16PB3AK2/16)
240 AIO (maybe) or CM 212

Been reading a lot about Ryzen 3000 series issues with mobo & RAM so hopefully nothing bad happens. I've checked the RAM and it is on the QVL for the Asus board and 3rd Gen Ryzen ready (https://www.amd.com/en/products/ryzen-compatible-memory/ready-for-3rd-gen-amd-ryzen) and its cheap.

Thinking about going to x470 or even x570 boards but for the R5 3600 B450 should be ok. Won't be doing crazy overclock, maybe just a bit but might need to OC the RAM though or hope it works with XMP.

So any comments, suggestions etc. would be very welcome  rclxms.gif  TQ
Avoid the B450-F Strix due to poor VRM cooling - for the same amount of money get the MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX instead icon_idea.gif

The ASUS Strix RTX 2060 Super is also overpriced considering you can get a 5700 XT for about the same price (also it's a better card for 1440p) tongue.gif

For the same price as a 240 AIO cooler you can get the Scythe Mugen 5 rev. B which will perform on par with some of the best air coolers such as the Noctua NH-D15 brows.gif

chocobo7779
post Feb 6 2020, 09:39 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(mrhulk @ Feb 6 2020, 09:24 PM)
i see it...RM600....that is pretty stupid....better top up bit get 3600 instead....thanks for ur reply
This is even more expensive then the 2600 sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post Mar 6 2020, 12:10 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Mar 6 2020, 11:28 AM)
oh i see, i prefer something small right now haha
hows the steel legend perform?
i abit worried abt it bcoz i saw this review saying the vrm is getting hot
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9BNKYey7UMU&t=138s
That board has a 4 phase VRM, although the cooling is not very good due to the plastic shroud on the VRM heatsink that limits cooling sweat.gif

Get something like a B450M Pro4 (unlike most boards it has real metal heatsinks that are not covered by plastic shrouds), and uses a similar VRM setup as the ATX only Gaming K4 icon_idea.gif

Although you should consider the Mortar MAX instead icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Mar 6 2020, 12:10 PM
chocobo7779
post Apr 6 2020, 05:58 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(na21m @ Apr 6 2020, 12:04 PM)
Anyone here using a ASRock B450 mobo? I seem to be having issues installing a 512GB SK Hynix nvme ssd. It just hangs on the splash screen when I slot it in. My XPG nvme works fine though. 

I got the sk hynix from here https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...955&hl=sk+hynix
Did you do a BIOS update? hmm.gif
chocobo7779
post Apr 10 2020, 08:00 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(viruz @ Apr 10 2020, 06:21 PM)
I am planning to purchase online and build a new Ryzen PC, may I know Lazada or Shopee is most preferred by members here? And I also need recommendation on shops on these sites as well.

TQ
Budget? Usage?

Dotatech at Lazada is a decent seller icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post May 1 2020, 05:12 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 1 2020, 02:26 AM)
Reporting in with 3900x paired with B450 mobo
Which B450 though? Unless it's a Tomahawk MAX I wouldn't pair a 3900X with most B450 boards due to VRM configuration sweat.gif

Still, welcome to the club smile.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: May 1 2020, 05:12 AM
chocobo7779
post May 4 2020, 08:38 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(viruz @ May 4 2020, 08:37 PM)
Ya I think so, just played Three Kingdom and after awhile it causes error to Win 10 and restarted.

Thinking of upgrading to AIO.
That's a decent choice, although IINM avoid 120mm AIOs due to the cooling performance is no better than a decent tower air cooler tongue.gif

Look for a Scythe Mugen 5 rev B if you want a good one icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post May 8 2020, 05:32 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(llk @ May 8 2020, 05:28 PM)
Same price as the 2600 - but why would you buy this over the 2600 that has more cores and threads, with only minor reductions in single threaded performance? sweat.gif
chocobo7779
post May 9 2020, 11:27 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ May 9 2020, 10:26 AM)
wouldn't be surprised if some B450 and X470 end up getting support anyways.

note that B350 and even X370 were not supposed to receive support for Zen2 based CPU's. And just look at what happened. X370 got hardly any board without support, even B350 got some boards with (beta) support.

With B550 a month away I wouldn't buy B450 now if I had Zen3 in mind for future, but having a board already I don't think one should panic and upgrade. Especially for those with X470 or even B450 Max boards.
Yup, even a lowly A320 board supports Zen 2 CPU just fine - ultimately I think we need to wait what motherboard makers can do anyway icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post May 9 2020, 11:30 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 9 2020, 10:14 AM)
AMD trying to be Intel. Change motherboard every 1-2 generations. Looks like motherboard makers complain too much. Sigh.
Actually considering we got something from Zen -> Zen+ and Zen 2 in one socket and each generation comes with a significant performance improvement I would say AMD actually did a pretty decent job out there icon_idea.gif

The biggest problem right now is that AMD/hardware partners fail to anticipate that the small 16MB BIOS actually rendered the board to be able to upgrade to Zen 3 because of insufficient space for the new microcode - MSI actually learned about this the hard way back before the release of 3rd gen Ryzen CPUs sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: May 9 2020, 11:32 AM
chocobo7779
post May 9 2020, 12:09 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ May 9 2020, 11:52 AM)
well those 128MBits bios chip can do the job, but since some manufacturers love to bloat their ui and functions (who the fk really requires a (laggy) mouse in bios) and keep supporting old cpu's that wouldn't benefit from new microcode
Well tell that to MSI with their 'Click BIOS' whistling.gif

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:46 PM