449 Pages « < 202 203 204 205 206 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 Platform

Killy
post Dec 15 2019, 06:13 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 11 2019, 08:01 AM)
but hor even my lowly Team Vulkan Z 3200 CL16 can do 3266 CL14. biggrin.gif Or 3600 CL16.

I guess the only difference is how tight can the sub-timings go.

QUOTE(HerbalTea @ Dec 11 2019, 09:09 AM)
Yeah I can go cl14 at 3600mhz but on my current mobo bios it's not really stable. So I stuck with cl16@3600

Too lazy to do multiple reboots, so I just use dram calculator 😅
when you guys say CL16 or CL14, do you adjust all the timings or just the tCL?
tried the timings from DRAM calculator, wouldn't post at all even safe setting and bump voltage to 1.4 rclxub.gif
XMP/DOCP works but the timings (18-22-22-42) aren't great haha

these are the calculations btw, seems quite agressive even at safe:

This post has been edited by Killy: Dec 15 2019, 10:17 AM
cstkl1
post Dec 15 2019, 11:56 AM

6,799 posts

has anyone managed to port windows from intel to amd x570..

got a cpu/mobo sitting here.

its the only thing holding me back from changing
TristanX
post Dec 15 2019, 12:19 PM

Where is my stars?
23,662 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Dec 15 2019, 11:56 AM)

got a cpu/mobo sitting here.

its the only thing holding me back from changing
Yup, got people done it before.

Uninstall all the drivers, switch CPU and mobo, install AMD drivers. You still need to activate Windows because of different motherboard.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Dec 15 2019, 12:24 PM
Killy
post Dec 15 2019, 12:44 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 15 2019, 12:19 PM)

Uninstall all the drivers, switch CPU and mobo, install AMD drivers. You still need to activate Windows because of different motherboard.
it's not possible to transfer license if you change mobo right?
mine won't activate, might have to buy new Win 10 hmm.gif
TristanX
post Dec 15 2019, 01:01 PM

Where is my stars?
23,662 posts

QUOTE(Killy @ Dec 15 2019, 12:44 PM)
mine won't activate, might have to buy new Win 10  hmm.gif
Yes, you have to buy a new Win10. I don't know about retail Windows 7 license key though.
chocobo7779
post Dec 15 2019, 01:03 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,368 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 15 2019, 12:19 PM)

I've done it before (3570K -> 3600) - you can just install Windows 10 on it and it should work just fine icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Dec 15 2019, 01:04 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,368 posts

Do you have the Win7 license key? Windows 10 will activate with a valid Windows 7 key icon_idea.gif
Killy
post Dec 15 2019, 01:11 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 15 2019, 01:01 PM)
Yes, you have to buy a new Win10. I don't know about retail Windows 7 license key though.
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Dec 15 2019, 01:04 PM)
Do you have the Win7 license key?  Windows 10 will activate with a valid Windows 7 key icon_idea.gif
oh really? i upgraded from Win 7 a year ago but didn't know the key could be used to activate also
need to find that box haha

thanks thumbsup.gif
cstkl1
post Dec 15 2019, 03:00 PM

6,799 posts

oh its not the cpu. its the motherboard make. so if u know how to edit the windows thingy. set a mobo make say asus and get asus equivalent.. it will activate.

the transfer of cpu, or chipset doesn't affect the activation.

goldfries
post Dec 15 2019, 10:58 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Dec 15 2019, 11:56 AM)
Swap SSD with OS, from Intel to AMD system and back? smile.gif Yup, done it. Doing it all the time.

goldfries
post Dec 15 2019, 10:59 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

QUOTE(Killy @ Dec 15 2019, 06:13 AM)
when you guys say CL16 or CL14, do you adjust all the timings or just the tCL?
tried the timings from DRAM calculator, wouldn't post at all even safe setting and bump voltage to 1.4  rclxub.gif
XMP/DOCP works but the timings (18-22-22-42) aren't great haha
It does not CALCULATE. tongue.gif

Did you try up VSOC and such?

goldfries
post Dec 15 2019, 11:00 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

I changed mobo with no issue, depends on your Windows 10 license type.

If it's OEM I think can't change, mine can. Call up Microsoft support and they settle it for me.

goldfries
post Dec 15 2019, 11:01 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Dec 15 2019, 03:00 PM)
oh its not the cpu. its the motherboard make. so if u know how to edit the windows thingy. set a mobo make say asus and get asus equivalent.. it will activate.
The Windows activation is quite funny.

In some cases you can swap board with no issue at all, activation remains as it is.

In some cases it will ask you to activate, just have to call up MS to settle it. They do allow motherboard change.

cstkl1
post Dec 15 2019, 11:02 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 15 2019, 10:58 PM)
Swap SSD with OS, from Intel to AMD system and back? smile.gif Yup, done it. Doing it all the time.
i suppose the install was in AHCI mode??

nvme??

cstkl1
post Dec 15 2019, 11:03 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 15 2019, 11:01 PM)
The Windows activation is quite funny.

In some cases you can swap board with no issue at all, activation remains as it is.

In some cases it will ask you to activate, just have to call up MS to settle it. They do allow motherboard change.
from my experience...

i set the basic information about your comp
for system
manufacturer Asus

and as long i use an Asus board.. no issue...

goldfries
post Dec 16 2019, 08:48 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Dec 15 2019, 11:02 PM)
i suppose the install was in AHCI mode??

nvme??
Not sure about the AHCI part but I've maintained my installation from SSD to M.2 SSD (cloned) and changed board before with no impact.

As long as not OEM Windows the transfer of key should be just fine.

Same experience.
SSJBen
post Dec 16 2019, 04:36 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,477 posts

This is not pirating, but use HWIDGEN lol.

The key is already yours, so just use HWIDGEN to re-activate when you switch to a different mobo+CPU. Nothing complicated. Just remember to flush all the previous drivers.
Killy
post Dec 17 2019, 12:54 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Dec 15 2019, 01:04 PM)
Do you have the Win7 license key?  Windows 10 will activate with a valid Windows 7 key icon_idea.gif
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Dec 15 2019, 03:00 PM)

the transfer of  cpu, or chipset doesn't affect the activation.
QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 15 2019, 11:00 PM)
I changed mobo with no issue, depends on your Windows 10 license type.

If it's OEM I think can't change, mine can. Call up Microsoft support and they settle it for me.
Indeed it activated with Win 7 product key
surprisingly it was using 70%+ cpu power when activating lol
Killy
post Dec 17 2019, 12:56 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 15 2019, 10:59 PM)
It does not CALCULATE. tongue.gif

Did you try up VSOC and such?
No, just DRAM voltage
will try it and see if it helps
first time manual tune memory, can't get it to work tongue.gif
nevermine
post Dec 17 2019, 09:12 PM

300 posts

Hi, any1 have any idea the AMD game bundle promotion still able to redeem or it is up to limited redeemtion?
https://www.amd.com/en/gaming/raise-the-game
I went to AMD fb page no option to pm them... thanks

449 Pages « < 202 203 204 205 206 > » Top

0.0159sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:33 AM