Blotter Spot Test Oil Analysis:VOA Helix HX7 5W30, 16,286 km blotter Shell Helix Ultra 5W40
Jan 31 2023, 10:06 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4,352 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: KL |
Dec 28 2023, 03:35 PM
Probation
28 posts Joined: Nov 2020 |
Halo bro Zeng, needing our expert opinion on this one, as I was experimenting with 'time' aspect of oil life, thanks ya..
Myvi Lagi Best 2014, 1.5L 3SZ-VE Current mileage: 85,111km Engine oil: Shell Helix Protect 0W-30 API SN Plus; ACEA A3/B4 Oil sample was taken on 27.12.2023, photo taken after 24 hours Oil mileage: 9,596km Oil age: 2 years 7 month Last oil change was at 75,515 km, 10.05.2021 The car currently is being used by my parents, very very low monthly / yearly mileage, most of the time the commute was 10-15 minutes, eat kolo mee or buy sayur, then go back... The farthest maybe 3 hour trip here and there onece or twice a year. I believe after more than 2 years inside the engine, close to 10k km mileage, the oil condition is nothing to worry about? Correct me if I'm wrong.. Oil will be changed once it hits 10k km Attached thumbnail(s) |
Feb 9 2024, 04:04 PM
105 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
Sifu zeng
Can you help to interpret my oil? Thanks in advance Engine: 4GR-FSE (direct injection) Mileage: 166993km Oil brand: unknown brand (just bought the car on Dec 2023) Mileage: 3177km++ (I have added 3177km on top of previous owner use which is also not known) Blotter was sampled during cold. Photo taken after 6 hours Plan to change to Bold Atas EO. Hope it's good This post has been edited by Dweller: Feb 9 2024, 04:09 PM |
Feb 9 2024, 08:31 PM
692 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(Dweller @ Feb 9 2024, 04:04 PM) Sifu zeng CHANGE IMMEDIATELY!Can you help to interpret my oil? Thanks in advance Engine: 4GR-FSE (direct injection) Mileage: 166993km Oil brand: unknown brand (just bought the car on Dec 2023) Mileage: 3177km++ (I have added 3177km on top of previous owner use which is also not known) Blotter was sampled during cold. Photo taken after 6 hours Plan to change to Bold Atas EO. Hope it's good Dweller liked this post
Feb 10 2024, 07:27 AM
1,810 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(Dweller @ Feb 9 2024, 04:04 PM) Sifu zeng Quick answer:Can you help to interpret my oil? Thanks in advance Engine: 4GR-FSE (direct injection) Mileage: 166993km Oil brand: unknown brand (just bought the car on Dec 2023) Mileage: 3177km++ (I have added 3177km on top of previous owner use which is also not known) Blotter was sampled during cold. Photo taken after 6 hours Plan to change to Bold Atas EO. Hope it's good Change, as suggested by e-lite but I would say do it as soon as possible like not more than 1-3 months (2-5K kms) from now. Will give longer answer later. Happy Chinese New Year to all folks out there. Dweller liked this post
Feb 10 2024, 09:36 AM
105 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
QUOTE(e-lite @ Feb 9 2024, 08:31 PM) QUOTE(zeng @ Feb 10 2024, 07:27 AM) Quick answer: Happy CNY to all Change, as suggested by e-lite but I would say do it as soon as possible like not more than 1-3 months (2-5K kms) from now. Will give longer answer later. Happy Chinese New Year to all folks out there. ![]() From my short searching, spot 3 is the most similar and indicate intermediate wear. |
Feb 10 2024, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(Dweller @ Feb 9 2024, 04:04 PM) Sifu zeng sorry but i try to keep it short. maybe zeng can elaborate more in the futureCan you help to interpret my oil? Thanks in advance Engine: 4GR-FSE (direct injection) Mileage: 166993km Oil brand: unknown brand (just bought the car on Dec 2023) Mileage: 3177km++ (I have added 3177km on top of previous owner use which is also not known) Blotter was sampled during cold. Photo taken after 6 hours Plan to change to Bold Atas EO. Hope it's good you might have excess fuel or coolant in your oil. there might be a leak that needs fixing. smell your oil if it smells of strong fuel smell Dweller liked this post
Feb 10 2024, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(Dweller @ Feb 10 2024, 09:36 AM) Happy CNY to all Yes, spot 3 best represents your sample.![]() From my short searching, spot 3 is the most similar and indicate intermediate wear. It's mainly characterized by the dark and thick coloured annulus (of about 8 mm diameter size in your physical sample) - or what I called aureole zone and this is a 'lousy and bad' phenomenon of agglomeration of heavy size/weight metallic wear (mainly a metal wear caused by corrosion ) and combustion contaminants within your oil sample. This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 10 2024, 02:43 PM Dweller liked this post
Feb 11 2024, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(zeng @ Feb 10 2024, 02:39 PM) Would like to share some info that might be interest of you.There is a German company doing UOA posted on oil-club.de with blotter test that might further improve your expertise. I think they using AD DT100DL machine. A sample of the UOAs are:- https://oil-club.de/index.php?thread/7930-r...rid-5-tkm-100h/ https://oil-club.de/index.php?thread/10842-...9316-kilometer/ |
Jun 15 2024, 11:05 AM
Shell Helix Ultra 5W40 (MB229.5)
Oil Life : 14,184 km 8 months oil life thus far since Sept 2023. ODO :380,740 km in Car model: Toyota Avanza 1.3L Note: Top up at 12,000 km about 0.8L of mineral Shell Helix 15W40 (Yellow packing, SN) -due to timing cover oil seal leaks. Samples were taken hot within 5 minutes of engine shut down after a 20-25 minutes drive. 48 hours blotters: a)With back light b)With NO back light The Centre Zone (of about 8 mm diameter) is clear, transparent and not grayed, indicating absence of usually higher level of high density/heavy metal wear particles typically found in a 14K km blotters. Question: Where has the typical heavy metal wear particles gone or why seems to disappear? The aureole zone/perimeter ring (of about 10 mm diameter size) is absent and not darkened indicating absence of agglomeration of combustion by-products in the blotter sample. It represents the usual capability of detergents in a used oil to disperse contaminants within the used oil sample. At 14,184 km usage, the Diffusion Zone here is not grayed or darkened/opaque indicating an unusually low level of light/low density combustion by-products/contaminants despite its 'high' mileage of 14,184 km. Please note the outer annulus of the Diffusion Zone (that stays within darkened zig-zag edge) remains clear and light coloured and not graying/darkish - which appears to be ready to absorb additional amounts of oil contaminants in this 14k km used oil sample. Darkened zig-zag outer edge that is clearly seen here indicating presence of oil oxidation phenomenon and/or presence of moisture. Translucent halo is obviously present on the outermost zone (encircling the zig-zag edge) indicating presence of fuel dilution phenomenon in this 14,184 km blotter sample. Note: Daily driving pattern is 11km over 20-25 minutes one way in KV. As usual, there is no indication of coolant contamination of used oil. Despite its rather lengthy usage of 14,184 km thus far, imho this used oil (with some 0.8L top up in between) is still serviceable. Hence I've no intention to get this used oil replaced at 15,000 km interval - strictly basing on the current blotter spot 'performance'. We'll see how long further can this oil change interval be extended well beyond 15K km without harming the engine. This post has been edited by zeng: Jun 22 2024, 11:22 AM |
Jun 16 2024, 07:19 AM
QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 31 2023, 10:06 AM) @cempedaklife, apologies for the late (and outdated) response, but anyway......to complete the 'story' I would continue...... The Centre Zone of about 8mm diameter size is very marginally grayed but transparent indicating a very low level of heavy weight/high density metalic wear particles floating in the oil sample. A slightly darkened aureole zone/ perimeter ring seems to be about to emerge indicating impending agglomeration of contaminants onto internal engine parts - time to do some Italian tune up by revving engine at highway speed to retard agglomeration. The Diffusion Zone is generally very clean and light coloured/transparent indicating a very very low level of light weight/ low density combustion carboneceous contaminants which is a reflection of clean internal engine condition. The zig-zag edge is emerging indicating a certain level of moisture and/or oil oxidation. The translucent halo surrounding the zig-zag edge indicates presence of fuel dilution issue in this sample. Overall I believe there is still life in this 8100km/8 month oil sample and should be go till say, 12000-14000 km usage. |
Jun 20 2024, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(Gin87 @ Dec 28 2023, 03:35 PM) Halo bro Zeng, needing our expert opinion on this one, as I was experimenting with 'time' aspect of oil life, thanks ya.. Hi Gin87, apologies for the late response.Myvi Lagi Best 2014, 1.5L 3SZ-VE Current mileage: 85,111km Engine oil: Shell Helix Protect 0W-30 API SN Plus; ACEA A3/B4 Oil sample was taken on 27.12.2023, photo taken after 24 hours Oil mileage: 9,596km Oil age: 2 years 7 month Last oil change was at 75,515 km, 10.05.2021 The car currently is being used by my parents, very very low monthly / yearly mileage, most of the time the commute was 10-15 minutes, eat kolo mee or buy sayur, then go back... The farthest maybe 3 hour trip here and there onece or twice a year. I believe after more than 2 years inside the engine, close to 10k km mileage, the oil condition is nothing to worry about? Correct me if I'm wrong.. Oil will be changed once it hits 10k km https://forum.lowyat.net/uploads//attach-96...-1703748026.jpg The Centre Zone of about 8mm diameter size is generally grayish, not transparent but a bit opaque indicating rather high level of heavy weight/high density metalic wear particles like iron/copper etc attributed to corrosion wear within this 10K km/ 31 months 'old' used oil sample as a result short drives pattern. Darkened aureole zone/ perimeter ring (of about 10 mm diameter) seems to be absent -which in itself is good news for this 31 months 9596 km used oil. It suggests the impending 'agglomeration' of rather large quantities of contaminants and wear particles present is not as serious as one would imagine for a 31 month 10ish K km used oil. Its exceptionally high VI of 193 (in a SP, A3B4 Pure Plus Technology) seems to suggest a rather high percentage/amount of Group 3 synthetic in the oil formulation. I would speculate this may have helped a lot in resisting agglomeration of contaminants in the current used oil sample. The Diffusion Zone is generally rather darkish and not transparent indicating a high level of light weight/ low density combustion carbonaceous contaminants which is a reflection of a not-so-clean internal engine condition like coloured/yellowish stuff like varnish on non-contacting surfaces within and inside the valve cover. The zig-zag edge seems to suggest a certain level of water moisture and/or oil oxidation in this 31 month used oil, which is unsurprising. The not-so-obvious translucent halo surrounding the zig-zag edge indicates presence of fuel dilution issue in this sample. I would have thought fuel dilution in this driving pattern of your parent should be very serious but, seems to be not that bad in this Shell Helix Protect. Overall I would concur with you to get this oil replaced at 10K km and not extending further too far. In terms of mechanical damage of engine internal parts, I would think there is nothing to overly worry about other than the not-so-clean non-contacting internal surfaces within the valve cover. Would this engine last another 10/15 years ? I would think so. This post has been edited by zeng: Jun 22 2024, 07:24 PM Gin87 liked this post
Jun 22 2024, 03:49 PM
Probation
28 posts Joined: Nov 2020 |
🙏 Thank you so much bro Zeng. Yeah, the oil has been replaced at 10k km with the latest API SP Helix Protect (2 years ago it was API SN Plus). Would you suggest the same OCI to be repeated bro Zeng? (another 2+ years 10k km), or shorten it a bit? ie yearly 5k km (assuming that will be my parent's 'normal' mileage).
Jun 22 2024, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(Gin87 @ Jun 22 2024, 03:49 PM) 🙏 Thank you so much bro Zeng. Yeah, the oil has been replaced at 10k km with the latest API SP Helix Protect (2 years ago it was API SN Plus). Would you suggest the same OCI to be repeated bro Zeng? (another 2+ years 10k km), or shorten it a bit? ie yearly 5k km (assuming that will be my parent's 'normal' mileage). You're most welcome, bro.Due to the absence of darkened aureole zone/perimeter ring of about 10 mm diameter (of physical blotter spot sample) in this current SN+ sample, I believe 10K km usage mileage is no sweat for the upcoming SP sample with VI 193 (vs Shell Helix Ultra 0W30 VI of 177). You may consider having a blotter sample at 10-10.5K km checked in times to come not with a view of immediate replacement. Note: For the purpose of progressive monitoring you could also take samples at 6K and/or 8K km intervals as it is FOC after all. And depending on the 'performance' of that blotter sample and your appetite, imho you may tentatively schedule an oil change between 11K and 13K km usage. In terms of time duration, 31 months was fine with the old SN+ oil formulation. This new SP could be giving you more time duration imo. Gin87 liked this post
Jul 5 2024, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(zeng @ Jun 15 2024, 11:05 AM) Shell Helix Ultra 5W40 (MB229.5) Shell Helix Ultra 5W40 (MB229.5) + Helix HX5 15W40Oil Life : 14,184 km 8 months oil life thus far since Sept 2023. ODO :380,740 km in Car model: Toyota Avanza 1.3L Note: Top up at 12,000 km about 0.8L of mineral Shell Helix 15W40 (Yellow packing, SN) -due to timing cover oil seal leaks. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Oil Life : 15,278 km 9 months oil life thus far since Sept 2023. ODO :381,834 km in Car model: Toyota Avanza 1.3L Note: Top up at 12,000 km about 0.8L of mineral Shell Helix 15W40 (Yellow packing, SN) -due to timing cover oil seal leaks. Samples were taken hot within 10 minutes of engine shut down after a 20-25 minutes drive. 42 hours blotters: a)With back light b)With NO back light The Centre Zone (of about 8 mm diameter) remains quite similar as previous 14K km sample above. The aureole zone/perimeter annulus (of about 10 mm diameter size) is emergent and is cause for caution as it indicates commencement of agglomeration phenomenon of contaminants. The good news is it isn't darkened yet. Comparing against previous 14,184 km blotter sample it is nice to note that the deterioration of current 15,278 km blotter Diffusion Zone and darkened zig-zag outer edge and translucent halo zone is mild and manageable and is no cause for alarm for now imo. As usual, there is no indication of coolant contamination of used oil. Overall there is no intention on my part for immediate replacement of this used oil and we will see how it goes for another thousand or two km. Specifically, the undesirable further deterioration of darkened or blackened aureole zone is of concern and it is something to look out for in future blotter spot sample of this 'rojak' engine oil. |
Jul 17 2024, 04:27 PM
518 posts Joined: May 2006 |
zeng Need your help to interpret this test below. 2nd image is backlit photo.. Thanks in advance.
Shell Helix Ultra 5W-30 API SP ILSAC GF6A Made in Hong Kong OC date : 13 May 2023 @ 101,511 km Current date : 13 July 2024 @ 105,328 km ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by speedy3210: Jul 18 2024, 09:23 AM |
Jul 25 2024, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Jul 17 2024, 04:27 PM) zeng Need your help to interpret this test below. 2nd image is backlit photo.. Thanks in advance. Apololgies for the 1 week delay reply, and straight to the job.....Shell Helix Ultra 5W-30 API SP ILSAC GF6A Made in Hong Kong OC date : 13 May 2023 @ 101,511 km Current date : 13 July 2024 @ 105,328 km ![]() ![]() The Centre Zone (of about 8 mm diameter) is slightly grayish (without backlight) and remains transparent (with backlight) indicating a mild amount of heavy metalic contaminants in a 3800 km usage (but 14 months old) used oil - generally this metalic contaminants is more of corossion related (being 14 month old and non-contacting) and not so much of adhesive or abrasive wear related, which associates with contacting metal to metal surface.. The aureole zone/perimeter annulus (of about 10 mm diameter size) is ever so slightly emergent and is not a cause for caution. It indicates agglomeration phenomenon of contaminants is about to commence but good for now. External to aureole zone/perimeter annulus, the Diffusion Zone is very slightly grayed but remains transparent indicating a minor level of light weight contaminants related to combustion by products. It has capacity to 'absorb' additional quantities of contaminant imho. External to the Diffusion Zone, a darkened zig-zag outer edge has not formed - indicating absence of water moisture and/or oil oxidation phenomenon within the 14 month old 3800 km used oil sample. External to the 'outer-edge', a translucent halo zone is obviously formed indicating quite a degree of fuel dilution phenomenon in this 14 mo 3800 km usage. Its supposed drop in operating viscosity related to fuel dilution would not be a thing to worry about really in this Euro oil as far as adhesive and abrasive wear is concerned, basing on my experience in 'reading' the various UOA's thus far. Typically, there is no indication of radiator coolant contamination of used oil. Overall, I would rate this 14 mo 3800 km usage used oil as still in serviceable condition and is fit for continuing service. speedy3210 liked this post
Jul 31 2024, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(zeng @ Jul 5 2024, 10:47 AM) Shell Helix Ultra 5W40 (MB229.5) + Helix HX5 15W40 Shell Helix Ultra 5W40 (MB229.5) + Helix HX5 15W40Oil Life : 15,278 km 9 months oil life thus far since Sept 2023. ODO :381,834 km in Car model: Toyota Avanza 1.3L Note: Top up at 12,000 km about 0.8L of mineral Shell Helix 15W40 (Yellow packing, SN) -due to timing cover oil seal leaks. Samples were taken hot within 10 minutes of engine shut down after a 20-25 minutes drive. 42 hours blotters: a)With back light b)With NO back light The Centre Zone (of about 8 mm diameter) remains quite similar as previous 14K km sample above. The aureole zone/perimeter annulus (of about 10 mm diameter size) is emergent and is cause for caution as it indicates commencement of agglomeration phenomenon of contaminants. The good news is it isn't darkened yet. Comparing against previous 14,184 km blotter sample it is nice to note that the deterioration of current 15,278 km blotter Diffusion Zone and darkened zig-zag outer edge and translucent halo zone is mild and manageable and is no cause for alarm for now imo. As usual, there is no indication of coolant contamination of used oil. Overall there is no intention on my part for immediate replacement of this used oil and we will see how it goes for another thousand or two km. Specifically, the undesirable further deterioration of darkened or blackened aureole zone is of concern and it is something to look out for in future blotter spot sample of this 'rojak' engine oil. Oil Life : 16,286 km 10 months oil life thus far since Sept 2023. ODO :382,742 km in Car model: Toyota Avanza 1.3L Note: Top up at 12,000 km about 0.8L of mineral Shell Helix 15W40 (Yellow packing, SN) -due to timing cover oil seal leaks. Samples were taken hot within 10 minutes of engine shut down after a 2 HOUR drive. 72 hours blotters: a)With back light b)With NO back light The Centre Zone (of about 8 mm diameter) of this 2 hour drive 16K km blotter is generally transparent and shows absence of heavy metallic wear particles vs previous 15K km sample above. A greyed aureole zone/perimeter annulus (of about 10 mm diameter size) is kind of non-existent and stays clear, showing no signs of commencement of agglomeration phenomenon of contaminants. That is good news in this 2 hour drive blotter sample. Comparing against previous 15,278 km blotter sample the current 16,286 km Diffusion Zone and darkened zig-zag outer edge are not deteriorating further. The translucent halo zone has greatly improved in this 2 hour drive blotter - indicating less severe form of fuel dilution phenomenon. The blotter shows no indication of radiator coolant contamination of used oil. Overall this 2 hour drive blotter points to engine oil works best (and stay happy) in long long drive vs that of short tens of minutes drive. I'm planning to go on further with this 16,286 km used oil, albeit being a 'rojak'. |
Oct 14 2024, 11:23 PM
3,663 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(zeng @ Jul 31 2024, 10:01 PM) Shell Helix Ultra 5W40 (MB229.5) + Helix HX5 15W40 Nice!Oil Life : 16,286 km 10 months oil life thus far since Sept 2023. ODO :382,742 km in Car model: Toyota Avanza 1.3L Note: Top up at 12,000 km about 0.8L of mineral Shell Helix 15W40 (Yellow packing, SN) -due to timing cover oil seal leaks. Samples were taken hot within 10 minutes of engine shut down after a 2 HOUR drive. 72 hours blotters: a)With back light b)With NO back light The Centre Zone (of about 8 mm diameter) of this 2 hour drive 16K km blotter is generally transparent and shows absence of heavy metallic wear particles vs previous 15K km sample above. A greyed aureole zone/perimeter annulus (of about 10 mm diameter size) is kind of non-existent and stays clear, showing no signs of commencement of agglomeration phenomenon of contaminants. That is good news in this 2 hour drive blotter sample. Comparing against previous 15,278 km blotter sample the current 16,286 km Diffusion Zone and darkened zig-zag outer edge are not deteriorating further. The translucent halo zone has greatly improved in this 2 hour drive blotter - indicating less severe form of fuel dilution phenomenon. The blotter shows no indication of radiator coolant contamination of used oil. Overall this 2 hour drive blotter points to engine oil works best (and stay happy) in long long drive vs that of short tens of minutes drive. I'm planning to go on further with this 16,286 km used oil, albeit being a 'rojak'. Keep us updated when you hit 20k km. zeng liked this post
Nov 5 2024, 03:32 PM
518 posts Joined: May 2006 |
zeng Appreciate your help in interpreting this blot. Backlit photo is the 2nd image. Thanks in advance. BOLD ATAS Fully Synthetic 0W-30 API SP ILSAC GF5 CI-4 (Yes looks contradictory, but that's what the seller published) Used on a Saga BLM 2009 Previous date : 04 May 2024 @ 91,375 km Current date : 24 Oct 2024 @ 99,417 km ![]() ![]() e-lite liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0456sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:41 AM |