TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 12 2007, 12:17 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(Naruki @ Apr 12 2007, 12:13 PM)
Just wondering, I was at MidValley's petshop last December, I saw loads of hamster in a glass enclosure and many were shivering? Is that normal? o_o

But its kinda fun seeing all those hamsters sleeping in a group and the rest running over the sleeping ones xD
They shiver to mean they are insecure.... scared.... the hamsters do not feel comfortable coz over crowded in the tanks on display and it is not natural for them to have so many hamsters together in 1 place.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 12 2007, 08:33 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(anizarina @ Apr 12 2007, 02:04 PM)
actually it stuck between the bar ..how to describe..hurm..the cage have the plastic floor  which is the height around 7-8cm..even mama and papa oso hard to panjat it..
[attachmentid=216617]<--this is 3 of them

so they dun have problem to walking..hurm kenot describe that as walking..running laa..they like running here and there..even only 19days old,can walk and running properly oredy..oredy love to make noise at nite by running on the wheel.. vmad.gif like the mama and papa but is a smaller size..

but one of them manage to climb to 2nd floor..how laa he/she do it..i dunno laa..only mama can because the jarak between the bar is quite besar and only mama can get up there...so....i dunno what did he/she do...but just imagine only its head stuck between the bar..it seam like he/she want to sneak out rfom the cage..it did not stuck at the 2nd platform's floor..but is stuck at the 2nd platform's barred wall..like we were trying to sneak from jail through the barred door laa..but ..ups..the head stuck..oso still dunwan to throw the food from its pouch..haiyaa doh.gif

the second floor..only for adult hamster
[attachmentid=216619]<-..he/she did not stuck at the floor, but at the wall(this side..hurm..this wall laa)..so notty..
Big suggestion.... sell away your cages and change to tanks.... Robo hamsters should never be kept in cages.... If say 5 years ago, petshop do sell cages suitable for Robos with smaller cage bar gaps... but it became a hassle and cost more to manufacture those cages so stopped production. Your pics show the cages as suitable more for larger hamsters like Syrians....

It's not funny to see the hamster get stuck like that.....

QUOTE(Syrian @ Apr 12 2007, 03:16 PM)
I never agree with using those metal wire cage.  A lot of disadvantages:
1.  Hamster's legs might get stuck to it.
2.  Hamster will bite - BISING!
3.  All the shavings might come outta cage when the hamster dig holes.
4.  Will rust - poisonous when da hamster go and bite or lick it.

Those toyogo container will only cost u around RM 30 which I think is about the same price as those metal wire cage lar.  It's jz that u need to spend extra RM 20 to get a bowl and water bottle and running wheel.  RM 30 - u can get a super big toyogo already which is super spacious for them.  If u think that consume a lot of space and u don't have the space, u could get the one below RM 20.  Jz like mine, i bought one new one the other day for RM 13.90 only neh - cheap and spacious for one syrian only - about the siez of 2ft aquarium tank.  The choice is up to u tho tongue.gif.
Metal wire cage, RM30 is small small ones.... RM30 toyogo box is way way WAYYYY much better hahahah....

Actually, we can DIY 2nd floor.... Use hot glue gun and clear acrylic plastic, can glue the 2nd floor and add a small metal ladder.... I'm gonna do that soon hehehe.

QUOTE(carenys55 @ Apr 12 2007, 04:12 PM)
I'll be getting my RC from crazymouse this sunday, so excited~!
Anyways, i notice that many hamster owners assume that hamsters are to to be kept in pairs or groups.

Alot of my friends do keep different species in the same cage, i really feel sad for the hammies. =(

I've tried to persuade my classmate to remove the different species. She has 2 unknown breed(both male) and 1 WW(female). 3 of them are all in the same cage now, and fighting alot(according to my friend).
However, after listening to my advise, she still doesnt want to seperate them. haizzz.....

All their excuse is the same
"They wont fight one la."
"They are just playing only"
"They are still small"
"They will be lonely"
and the list goes on.

I told her, if the 2 male's breed is unknown, then why would you want to put them together with the female which is WW? Isn't that a risk??
And also, WWs are better to live alone.

She seems to be seeing it like a game, and did not treasure the hamsters life! She will come to me and say : " The big male likes the female, the female likes him too...but the small male is feeling jealous bla bla bla"

To me, it is like playing a game on them!
but what to do, she doesnt want to listen!
Fat round little Jingle is waiting for you hehehehe.

Wah, your friend do not share the same feeling as us.... sigh... pity those hamsters.

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Apr 12 2007, 05:46 PM)
rm12.90 arr ? cheap laa .. if put gerbils ok ar ? hahaha ...
Gerbil tak boleh loh.... I tried before, ended up my RM16.80 clear storage box from IKEA kena chewed up... this is cause the plastic is not hard enough.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 12 2007, 10:47 PM

12,047 posts

Ah... must show you guys Caren's future RC, named Jingle... she is so round and chubby.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 12 2007, 11:39 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Apr 12 2007, 11:21 PM)
very cute la hun .. u got any robos arr ?  brows.gif

RC and WW .. look the same to me. how to see the diffrent ?
Robos tak da wor hahaah....

RC comes in many colours, WW comes in only Pearl, Agouti and Sapphire. There is a difference in facial features and side arches.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 13 2007, 07:21 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(anizarina @ Apr 13 2007, 02:39 PM)
my robos oso eat their shit...i used to heard that sometime they eat it for their digestion..something like that laa..

hey..why the mummy dunwan give the pups milk?the pups have to kejar2 her somemore but she still run here and there , hide under the wheel , climb to upper place...haiyaa..the pups have to kejar2 her until she surrender then they got the milk..izit because the mummy fell 'tak larat' as the pups quite big
The mom hamster is teaching her babies to be independent hahaha.... soon, they will learn how to live life from their mom. When they reach 5 weeks old, you can seperate them but for me, best is to separate at 4 weeks old, then you can use the extra 1 week to hand tame and by 5 weeks go to new homes.

Anyway, my RCs do not bite. Some of them nibble but they never bite hard. This is why we get from breeders, better quality and temperament. Petshop ones sure bite and they have been bred badly so the aggressive streak lives on in their genes...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 14 2007, 04:38 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Lance8431 @ Apr 14 2007, 12:06 PM)
I got one black bear that never bites at all. Tame as his father (Rena, its your male that give me one, his gene finally pass to his kids xD)

But also got follow his father inferior and dumb dumb behaviour, always blur only xD. But always bullied by his brother.  doh.gif Very chubby and squishy. Will show pics when i got the chance.
So cute.... I wanna see pics hahahah.

QUOTE(Reanne @ Apr 14 2007, 12:26 PM)
Ww turn winter coat
So nice... agouti?

Hahaha.... campbells from breeders are non-bitey... not to say they won't nip coz nipping for RC is common. They are brave and curious, more curious than WW.... RCs are sometimes very busybodies. Put your hand into the tank and all will come hahahah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 14 2007, 04:56 PM

12,047 posts

Seperate at 4 weeks, not 3 weeks. Then just handle them everyday.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 14 2007, 09:30 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Apr 14 2007, 09:22 PM)
Will a pearl have that distinct dominant dorsal stripe on its back when it changes to winter coat?
Erm... Pearl WW will never change into winter coat coz they are permanently in their winter coat for life.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 14 2007, 09:41 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Apr 14 2007, 09:38 PM)
blink.gif  blink.gif  blink.gif But they still can breed???

I read about pearl stuck in winter coat but I thought it's a joke.  sweat.gif
LOL... a pearl is a mutation colour, not the natural colour of the WW lah hahah.... but they can breed.

Added on April 14, 2007, 9:42 pmSome male Pearls are infertile or sterile.... so normally the best is to breed a pearl female with a sapphire or an agouti.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Apr 14 2007, 09:42 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 14 2007, 09:53 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Apr 14 2007, 09:49 PM)
Won't you end up with a pudding?
Pudding? Har? No lah.... pudding do not come from that kinda breeding hahahaah....

If you breed Pearl with Sapphire, depending which colour is dominant or if they are recessive carriers, they can produce pearls, sapphires and agoutis.... same if breed pearl with agouti. If pearl breed with pearl, the most of the pups born would be pearls....

Puddings can only be bred out if breed with pudding or pearl or sapphire... but strongly suggest to keep the WW line pure and the pudding line pure by only Breeding puddings with puddings....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 14 2007, 11:17 PM

12,047 posts

Hahah... they don't do research. The label the animals according to what their suppliers name them.... so no choice lah heheheh.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 15 2007, 07:41 PM

12,047 posts

Should never have such an award.... I would be ok with the "hamster with the best fur" or "hamster that has the best standard" or "prettiest hamster" or even "smartest hamster or best hamster tricks".
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 15 2007, 08:57 PM

12,047 posts

Dominant.... if you keep your RC in a group, the biggest is always the dominant coz he or she will eat first.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 15 2007, 09:16 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(dazzle @ Apr 15 2007, 08:56 PM)
Reane and Crazymouse,

Do u know which pet shop got chinchilla.

Chinchilla look cute but big size.
Please post this in the Chincilla thread.

They cost RM500 to RM1k plus, depending on colours. Go Garage sales, got ppl selling and they are not easy to care if you cannot provide the proper cage and also air cond 24/7.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 15 2007, 10:17 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 15 2007, 09:57 PM)
lolz... gathering cum hasmter award presentation ceremony??... laugh.gif
chincilla looks like rabbit... haha... cute cute.... rclxms.gif
Hahah... one day, why not have such an award for hamsters? Heheheh.... stay tuned, maybe 1 day we can organize such an event.

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Apr 15 2007, 10:02 PM)
haha .. sorry reanne. forgot about it..  tongue.gif
really ar ? how about robos ? i got two and one of them are bigger than the other one. later wanna add another 2 to the family. will they fight cozz of their age different ?
aircond 24/7 ?
Robos, not sure coz I don't have ahahah... but normally the bigger one would bully the smaller ones. Adding new ones to the group can make them fight, so better not lah. Not a nice thing to see, happened to my friend before.

air cond 24/7 means 24 hours, 7 days a week a chincilla needs air cond to live long and happy.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 15 2007, 10:22 PM

12,047 posts

Well... we can be an unofficial one, easier.... those registered ones alot of paperwork and legal stuff to deal with haahahah....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 15 2007, 10:38 PM

12,047 posts

From now on, please talk chincilla in the chincilla thread.

Added on April 15, 2007, 10:42 pm
QUOTE(Reanne @ Apr 15 2007, 10:25 PM)
Well, we can do that and say that it's formed by a group of hamster/gerbil/rodent enthusiasts. tongue.gif
We can loh hahaha.... let's sit and discuss one day.... then see if we can get a space at Pet Safari.... see they wanna sponsor also or not LOL.... at least sponsor us the space lah tongue.gif

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Apr 15 2007, 10:42 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 15 2007, 10:47 PM

12,047 posts

it'll be interesting to see what we can brainstorm on.... hahaha... also interesting to see other people's hamsters. And also an opportunity to promote tame RC hamsters LOL.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 15 2007, 11:02 PM

12,047 posts

remove the body....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 15 2007, 11:18 PM

12,047 posts

Well, we will organize something like that one day lah. It would also be good to educate people about small animals as well.

15 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:46 PM