Car coating or paint protection film not cheap and the price can repaint the whole car. What do u think?
Car coating or paint protection film, Is it worth?
Feb 5 2017, 08:50 PM, updated 9y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,768 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Car coating or paint protection film not cheap and the price can repaint the whole car. What do u think?
Feb 5 2017, 09:01 PM
3,772 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Film better than coating , Coating seems like con job now, the coating itself also need care and protection So the protection also need protection , wtf? Minchai liked this post
Feb 5 2017, 09:27 PM
240 posts Joined: Sep 2016 |
QUOTE(xSean @ Feb 5 2017, 08:50 PM) Car coating or paint protection film not cheap and the price can repaint the whole car. What do u think? Coating is a sacrificial layer..PPF is to protect the paint job.. Both also need maintenance, like my friend car's PPF has irremovable dirt marks when the car was parked outside of the workshop under the hot sun and he ended up replacing the whole car's PPF.. |
Feb 5 2017, 09:30 PM
32 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Basically, it's all nonsense. The film is better than the coating but the film will also get scratched and faded and need to be replaced. Since the cost of the film is the same as repainting the car, you may as well wait until the paint is ruined and then repaint it.
There isn't anything you can do to keep your paint brand new unless you inspect it 3 times a day and spend a fortune removing stone chips etc as you go. Live you life man, it's just paint and it's just a car. |
Feb 6 2017, 09:01 PM
1,032 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Wrapping your car doesn't make sense. It costs more than a good quality respray and the film sure isn't going to last as long. In 2 years it will probably look so ugly that you have to tear it out.
Just accept that a daily use car is going to acquire some scratches, scuffs and dings. The only protection you need to do is to wax it every 2-3 months. Spend your money on other things. |
Nov 25 2020, 10:40 AM
162 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Good points by Ginny88 and roocarroll...just was planning on putting PPF on Proton X50...
Nov 25 2020, 10:56 AM
10,015 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: the future |
QUOTE(jason_spyboy @ Nov 25 2020, 10:40 AM) Respraying presents another set of problems, like workmanship, paint quality, etc. It's better that you don't go down this route at all even though some people make it sound like it's a really great and easy thing, unless your paint is already oxidised and too thin to be brought back to lifeSome PPF are advertised with self-healing capabilities and will not turn yellow. So far the price for an entire car is generally really expensive (10k<), and usually people get it done for the bonnet, bumper, and headlights only for this reason, and the rest of the car is protected either with coating or with regular application of wax/sealant You should get it done minimum for the headlamps as it's just within RM100 to RM300, and it'll stop your headlamps from becoming oxidised and getting stone chips This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Nov 25 2020, 10:59 AM |
Nov 25 2020, 11:01 AM
1,187 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
If car parked in covered place mostly, then coating enough (some cheaper ones just reapply every 6mnths or so), but honestly unless car is high value, both may not be worth doing If parked outside and paint already faded, repaint & wax the hell out of it. Then rain self wash to remove dirt & rewax...thats the best way...like care for bonsai tree pulak. Wrapping onto bad paint = peeling of paint when wrap comes off, remember that. Also imperfections on the body/paint will show on the wrap, as it takes the contours of the surface. melkishi81 liked this post
Nov 25 2020, 05:22 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1 posts Joined: Feb 2019 |
QUOTE(jason_spyboy @ Nov 25 2020, 10:40 AM) Car original paint are unable to duplicate. Nowadays PPF and coating are getting dirts cheap. I think full body PPF can get around 4/5k. So mostly people go with the combination of ceramic coating and front PPF for cheaper price. Probably around 3k +/-. Worth it in my opinion.Applicable to new car only. If your car repainted cheap paint then no need lor. Protection also expansive than cheap paint |
Nov 25 2020, 09:56 PM
4,057 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
What are the different of ppf in details? I got some shop offered rm1k for full front area for ppf, while some shop quoted almost rm6k. Both said against yellowish problem and covered under warranty ultra_nyamuk liked this post
Nov 26 2020, 09:42 AM
203 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Hi guys, I guess a lot people here didn't even use coating or PPF and just speculate and listen to rumors from friends that also do not even use them or from online source. So I will share some of my real experience with you all. 3 years ago, when all these coating things just pop-up, I did a 6 layers coating at c**** p*** for my CRV. I did not specifically take care of the coating, did not go back and do any "maintenance", didn't wash my car during MCO (not recommended because some stubborn dirt will stuck on coating), after 3 years, it was still "wet" and reflect light much better than a same color car that does not coat. The car was also involved in minor accident also and have some car to car scratches, also easily polish away and yes, there was mark leftover but only can be seen in certain angle with sunlight. I also parked my car in outdoor carpark of my condo during those time. And there were cats jumping onto the car bonnet and few scratches on the car body. However, due to coating, you can easily notice that compare to other cars, the scratch is not obvious at all and can be very easily polish away (not sacrificing your original clear coat but the coating layer itself.) By the way, original clear coat can only last for 6 polishes (thickness = 1 paper). So coating is like a sacrificing layer for your polish work. 3 layers of proper coating equals to 1/3 thickness of a paper, so 10 layers of coating = 1 paper = another layer of clear coat depends on car made. Now I bought a new BMW and sold the CRV higher than market value because the car still look extremely new compare to another same car & same color. For the BMW, because from my own experience and know this coating work, I did a 10 layers coating plus front bumper PPF to prevent stone chip. So let's talk about PPF. PPF is not godlike, there are 2 types of PPF, one is the expensive TPU (15k+ for full wrap), and another one is a cheaper variant (not TPU, can't remember the name). TPU PPF only 40% sticky on your car body, so it can be removed and does not hurt your original paint. Yes, you have to remove PPF and rewrap every 5 years or just sell the car away. For TPU PPF, you cannot use high pressure jet to wash the car in close distance because as I mentioned, TPU PPF is only 40% sticky on your car and it can be torn off with high pressure. For the cheaper variant (not TPU), once applied cannot be removed because of the glue properties on the cheaper PPF. Does coating work for a shiny wet car like you wax it everyday? Yes from my experience. Does it protect against scratches? No, it just make it less obvious and easier to fix. Does PPF protect against scratches? Yes. (But not full force with sharp items la...) Is PPF worry free? No, PPF is harder to take care than coating. Should I wrap full car PPF? Yes if you have 10k+ to spend, it is the best protection you can get nowadays. No if you always send your car to bangla to wash and have to remind them everytime do not shoot the jet near the PPF, else prepare for rewrap. No if you just want to partially wrap the car and not wash it frequently because the color will age differently between PPF and non PPF area. Hope it helps. Thanks. General_Nic, xXTAUFANXx, and 4 others liked this post
Dec 2 2020, 03:19 PM
Probation
4 posts Joined: Sep 2020 |
QUOTE(hOnGhOnG @ Nov 26 2020, 09:42 AM) Hi guys, I guess a lot people here didn't even use coating or PPF and just speculate and listen to rumors from friends that also do not even use them or from online source. So I will share some of my real experience with you all. Will coating make a white colour car easier to maintain?3 years ago, when all these coating things just pop-up, I did a 6 layers coating at c**** p*** for my CRV. I did not specifically take care of the coating, did not go back and do any "maintenance", didn't wash my car during MCO (not recommended because some stubborn dirt will stuck on coating), after 3 years, it was still "wet" and reflect light much better than a same color car that does not coat. The car was also involved in minor accident also and have some car to car scratches, also easily polish away and yes, there was mark leftover but only can be seen in certain angle with sunlight. I also parked my car in outdoor carpark of my condo during those time. And there were cats jumping onto the car bonnet and few scratches on the car body. However, due to coating, you can easily notice that compare to other cars, the scratch is not obvious at all and can be very easily polish away (not sacrificing your original clear coat but the coating layer itself.) By the way, original clear coat can only last for 6 polishes (thickness = 1 paper). So coating is like a sacrificing layer for your polish work. 3 layers of proper coating equals to 1/3 thickness of a paper, so 10 layers of coating = 1 paper = another layer of clear coat depends on car made. Now I bought a new BMW and sold the CRV higher than market value because the car still look extremely new compare to another same car & same color. For the BMW, because from my own experience and know this coating work, I did a 10 layers coating plus front bumper PPF to prevent stone chip. So let's talk about PPF. PPF is not godlike, there are 2 types of PPF, one is the expensive TPU (15k+ for full wrap), and another one is a cheaper variant (not TPU, can't remember the name). TPU PPF only 40% sticky on your car body, so it can be removed and does not hurt your original paint. Yes, you have to remove PPF and rewrap every 5 years or just sell the car away. For TPU PPF, you cannot use high pressure jet to wash the car in close distance because as I mentioned, TPU PPF is only 40% sticky on your car and it can be torn off with high pressure. For the cheaper variant (not TPU), once applied cannot be removed because of the glue properties on the cheaper PPF. Does coating work for a shiny wet car like you wax it everyday? Yes from my experience. Does it protect against scratches? No, it just make it less obvious and easier to fix. Does PPF protect against scratches? Yes. (But not full force with sharp items la...) Is PPF worry free? No, PPF is harder to take care than coating. Should I wrap full car PPF? Yes if you have 10k+ to spend, it is the best protection you can get nowadays. No if you always send your car to bangla to wash and have to remind them everytime do not shoot the jet near the PPF, else prepare for rewrap. No if you just want to partially wrap the car and not wash it frequently because the color will age differently between PPF and non PPF area. Hope it helps. Thanks. |
Dec 2 2020, 03:36 PM
203 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(sushi77 @ Dec 2 2020, 03:19 PM) I just coated my white car. if easier to maintain what you mean is easier to wash = yes.but white car you have to wash every week to properly maintain it due to easily visible water mark and yellowing issue in long run. |
Dec 2 2020, 11:01 PM
746 posts Joined: May 2011 |
QUOTE(sushi77 @ Dec 2 2020, 03:19 PM) Yes, because a good quality coat makes the car paint hydrophobic, making it harder for dirt to stick onto the paint while making it easier to wash the dirt off. Just take note that beading of water on the paint, if left untended will cause watermark when dried under the sun. |
Dec 3 2020, 12:14 AM
463 posts Joined: Aug 2016 |
Coating doesnt last long
Ceramic PRO only last me a few months |
Jan 22 2021, 02:51 PM
1,009 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(hOnGhOnG @ Nov 26 2020, 09:42 AM) Hi guys, I guess a lot people here didn't even use coating or PPF and just speculate and listen to rumors from friends that also do not even use them or from online source. So I will share some of my real experience with you all. I read through your comments and thanks for educating. It was very useful. My concern is stone chip and particularly im worried about the front bumper and hood. what would you suggest? coating or ppf. And also budget is my concern 3 years ago, when all these coating things just pop-up, I did a 6 layers coating at c**** p*** for my CRV. I did not specifically take care of the coating, did not go back and do any "maintenance", didn't wash my car during MCO (not recommended because some stubborn dirt will stuck on coating), after 3 years, it was still "wet" and reflect light much better than a same color car that does not coat. The car was also involved in minor accident also and have some car to car scratches, also easily polish away and yes, there was mark leftover but only can be seen in certain angle with sunlight. I also parked my car in outdoor carpark of my condo during those time. And there were cats jumping onto the car bonnet and few scratches on the car body. However, due to coating, you can easily notice that compare to other cars, the scratch is not obvious at all and can be very easily polish away (not sacrificing your original clear coat but the coating layer itself.) By the way, original clear coat can only last for 6 polishes (thickness = 1 paper). So coating is like a sacrificing layer for your polish work. 3 layers of proper coating equals to 1/3 thickness of a paper, so 10 layers of coating = 1 paper = another layer of clear coat depends on car made. Now I bought a new BMW and sold the CRV higher than market value because the car still look extremely new compare to another same car & same color. For the BMW, because from my own experience and know this coating work, I did a 10 layers coating plus front bumper PPF to prevent stone chip. So let's talk about PPF. PPF is not godlike, there are 2 types of PPF, one is the expensive TPU (15k+ for full wrap), and another one is a cheaper variant (not TPU, can't remember the name). TPU PPF only 40% sticky on your car body, so it can be removed and does not hurt your original paint. Yes, you have to remove PPF and rewrap every 5 years or just sell the car away. For TPU PPF, you cannot use high pressure jet to wash the car in close distance because as I mentioned, TPU PPF is only 40% sticky on your car and it can be torn off with high pressure. For the cheaper variant (not TPU), once applied cannot be removed because of the glue properties on the cheaper PPF. Does coating work for a shiny wet car like you wax it everyday? Yes from my experience. Does it protect against scratches? No, it just make it less obvious and easier to fix. Does PPF protect against scratches? Yes. (But not full force with sharp items la...) Is PPF worry free? No, PPF is harder to take care than coating. Should I wrap full car PPF? Yes if you have 10k+ to spend, it is the best protection you can get nowadays. No if you always send your car to bangla to wash and have to remind them everytime do not shoot the jet near the PPF, else prepare for rewrap. No if you just want to partially wrap the car and not wash it frequently because the color will age differently between PPF and non PPF area. Hope it helps. Thanks. |
Jan 22 2021, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(blaze91 @ Jan 22 2021, 02:51 PM) I read through your comments and thanks for educating. It was very useful. My concern is stone chip and particularly im worried about the front bumper and hood. what would you suggest? coating or ppf. And also budget is my concern Definitely ppf for stone ship. If u take the most expensive coating around rm5k also can't prevent stone chip. blaze91 liked this post
Mar 12 2021, 02:01 PM
114 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
guys how much usually for full front PPF including front bumper, front fenders, full hood (bonnet), front headlamps, side mirror, door handle?
Mar 12 2021, 02:04 PM
664 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
Don't need those. Just give it some hard wax every 6 months. My can of wax was just rm 40, I use it every 4 months can last me 2 years.
Mar 21 2021, 02:36 PM
33 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
QUOTE(roocarroll @ Feb 5 2017, 09:30 PM) Basically, it's all nonsense. The film is better than the coating but the film will also get scratched and faded and need to be replaced. Since the cost of the film is the same as repainting the car, you may as well wait until the paint is ruined and then repaint it. Agree x100There isn't anything you can do to keep your paint brand new unless you inspect it 3 times a day and spend a fortune removing stone chips etc as you go. Live you life man, it's just paint and it's just a car. |
Apr 2 2021, 07:56 AM
960 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(hOnGhOnG @ Nov 26 2020, 09:42 AM) Hi guys, I guess a lot people here didn't even use coating or PPF and just speculate and listen to rumors from friends that also do not even use them or from online source. So I will share some of my real experience with you all. Cna u tell more on PPF harder to take care than coating? Why is that3 years ago, when all these coating things just pop-up, I did a 6 layers coating at c**** p*** for my CRV. I did not specifically take care of the coating, did not go back and do any "maintenance", didn't wash my car during MCO (not recommended because some stubborn dirt will stuck on coating), after 3 years, it was still "wet" and reflect light much better than a same color car that does not coat. The car was also involved in minor accident also and have some car to car scratches, also easily polish away and yes, there was mark leftover but only can be seen in certain angle with sunlight. I also parked my car in outdoor carpark of my condo during those time. And there were cats jumping onto the car bonnet and few scratches on the car body. However, due to coating, you can easily notice that compare to other cars, the scratch is not obvious at all and can be very easily polish away (not sacrificing your original clear coat but the coating layer itself.) By the way, original clear coat can only last for 6 polishes (thickness = 1 paper). So coating is like a sacrificing layer for your polish work. 3 layers of proper coating equals to 1/3 thickness of a paper, so 10 layers of coating = 1 paper = another layer of clear coat depends on car made. Now I bought a new BMW and sold the CRV higher than market value because the car still look extremely new compare to another same car & same color. For the BMW, because from my own experience and know this coating work, I did a 10 layers coating plus front bumper PPF to prevent stone chip. So let's talk about PPF. PPF is not godlike, there are 2 types of PPF, one is the expensive TPU (15k+ for full wrap), and another one is a cheaper variant (not TPU, can't remember the name). TPU PPF only 40% sticky on your car body, so it can be removed and does not hurt your original paint. Yes, you have to remove PPF and rewrap every 5 years or just sell the car away. For TPU PPF, you cannot use high pressure jet to wash the car in close distance because as I mentioned, TPU PPF is only 40% sticky on your car and it can be torn off with high pressure. For the cheaper variant (not TPU), once applied cannot be removed because of the glue properties on the cheaper PPF. Does coating work for a shiny wet car like you wax it everyday? Yes from my experience. Does it protect against scratches? No, it just make it less obvious and easier to fix. Does PPF protect against scratches? Yes. (But not full force with sharp items la...) Is PPF worry free? No, PPF is harder to take care than coating. Should I wrap full car PPF? Yes if you have 10k+ to spend, it is the best protection you can get nowadays. No if you always send your car to bangla to wash and have to remind them everytime do not shoot the jet near the PPF, else prepare for rewrap. No if you just want to partially wrap the car and not wash it frequently because the color will age differently between PPF and non PPF area. Hope it helps. Thanks. |
Apr 2 2021, 08:02 AM
QUOTE(our_team89 @ Apr 2 2021, 07:56 AM) I think why harder if u park ur car under day light like 8-5 daily. After 2-5 years, depending on what PPF u take, it will become yellowish. Hence need to replace back.Pro, ur car paint is similar like day 1. Cons, pricey This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Apr 2 2021, 08:03 AM |
Apr 2 2021, 09:09 AM
960 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 2 2021, 08:02 AM) I think why harder if u park ur car under day light like 8-5 daily. After 2-5 years, depending on what PPF u take, it will become yellowish. Hence need to replace back. Thanks for clarificationPro, ur car paint is similar like day 1. Cons, pricey Haih, no ppf then get stone chip, with ppf then it become high maintenance lol I thought after spend few thousands then can have a peace mind for at least 5 years |
Jul 1 2023, 11:52 PM
623 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
QUOTE(hOnGhOnG @ Dec 2 2020, 03:36 PM) I just coated my white car. if easier to maintain what you mean is easier to wash = yes. but white car you have to wash every week to properly maintain it due to easily visible water mark and yellowing issue in long run. QUOTE(ryanlow134 @ Dec 2 2020, 11:01 PM) Yes, because a good quality coat makes the car paint hydrophobic, making it harder for dirt to stick onto the paint while making it easier to wash the dirt off. Just take note that beading of water on the paint, if left untended will cause watermark when dried under the sun. Would like to check. For the sole purpose of maintaining white coloured paint to prevent it from turning yellowish in time, which is the best and cheapest way to do it. 1. Wash and wax regularly say once a week 2. Ceramic coating 3. Ppf |
Jul 2 2023, 12:27 AM
691 posts Joined: Nov 2021 |
QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jul 1 2023, 11:52 PM) Would like to check. For the sole purpose of maintaining white coloured paint to prevent it from turning yellowish in time, which is the best and cheapest way to do it. I’m just your normal “cuci + water wax” guy, so cannot comment on ceramic coating. But from everything I’ve read on the highly informative Care Care & Detailing thread on this forum, all PPFs, no matter what price or marketing promises, will yellow over time. If that’s true, then PPF is probably the worst choice for a white car.1. Wash and wax regularly say once a week 2. Ceramic coating 3. Ppf |
Jul 2 2023, 07:28 AM
QUOTE(dev/numb @ Jul 2 2023, 12:27 AM) I’m just your normal “cuci + water wax” guy, so cannot comment on ceramic coating. But from everything I’ve read on the highly informative Care Care & Detailing thread on this forum, all PPFs, no matter what price or marketing promises, will yellow over time. If that’s true, then PPF is probably the worst choice for a white car. Thanks for the information. Looks like wash and wax regularly would be the way to go. |
Jul 2 2023, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jul 2 2023, 07:28 AM) And repaint on year 4/5 instead of coating/ppf cost. SportyHandling liked this post
Jul 20 2023, 10:20 PM
44 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
Can never win here. I went for diamond coating because price similar to good detailing and you get free yearly maintenance for 3 years.
Did it 6mo's ago. Few days ago some motorcyclist scratched my car while it was parked and took off coating and paint. Can't win here. |
Jul 21 2023, 08:10 AM
1,290 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
I found one using TPU PPF - less than 4K for whole car. Do you think there be any problems when its time to peel it off for cheap PPF?
Jul 22 2023, 08:56 AM
7,826 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
QUOTE(N9484640 @ Jul 21 2023, 08:10 AM) I found one using TPU PPF - less than 4K for whole car. Do you think there be any problems when its time to peel it off for cheap PPF? For 4K either is very thin type like 4 mil or lower and poor quality ones. My 8 mil PPF may peel off but didn’t damage my paint as it happen someone open the door way too wide and scuff my front fender. |
Jul 22 2023, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jul 22 2023, 08:56 AM) For 4K either is very thin type like 4 mil or lower and poor quality ones. My 8 mil PPF may peel off but didn’t damage my paint as it happen someone open the door way too wide and scuff my front fender. 8.5mil TPU for 3888. 7.5mil for 2888Got self healing This post has been edited by N9484640: Jul 22 2023, 01:49 PM |
Jul 22 2023, 05:21 PM
7,847 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
I had my cars in Sydney PPF'ed first and then ceramic coated. Ceramic Coating to help maintain the PPF and helps reduce the sun-fade that occurs. Both cars are parked in my garage, so they are unlikely to see much sun, but on the occasions that they do, at least I won't have to worry about paint being UV'ed away by Australia's deathly UV index.
Ceramic coating is also the best defence against bird shit splatter. It's literally wipe away baby bottom smooth. |
Jul 23 2023, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(N9484640 @ Jul 22 2023, 01:48 PM) Full coverage? I got mine fully covered for 8K for mid size SUV. One thing great about PPF it retains the glossy mirror effect. N9484640 liked this post
Jul 23 2023, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Jul 23 2023, 11:54 AM) Full coverage? I got mine fully covered for 8K for mid size SUV. One thing great about PPF it retains the glossy mirror effect. Yes full carCan go to roadside car wash after ppf? Or must go expensive car wash? This post has been edited by N9484640: Jul 23 2023, 12:14 PM |
Jul 23 2023, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(N9484640 @ Jul 23 2023, 12:11 PM) Any car wash you like. I prefer to wash it myself without using high pressure wash as I afraid of peeling off the PPF adhesive on the edge. N9484640 liked this post
Jul 31 2023, 01:33 AM
60 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
where and when did you get this done? can give review?
Jul 31 2023, 01:34 AM
Jul 31 2023, 10:51 AM
Jul 31 2023, 05:49 PM
2,207 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: stankonia |
Anybody knows where to so interior ppf (gear console, door switches)? A few shops are asking rm800~900
Aug 1 2023, 02:10 PM
Aug 16 2023, 04:15 PM
640 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(darkbizarro @ Aug 1 2023, 02:10 PM) hihi, can you share your review of your ppf'ed car? is it full or partial. i'm thinking about doing it too but not too sure even after researching online. Bro,I have spent $$$ for the past decades to do PPF, Coating etc etc. My advice: do not waste your hard earned $$$ away on these bs. None is worth the money spent. Just wash your car, apply some wax and coating yourself periodically is the only way to do. Do not trust anyone telling you after PPS / Coating = no need to wash car, just hose it down, it is all bs. You must well keep the $$$ and do respray of your car every few years = looks 100% new again. darkbizarro and SportyHandling liked this post
Aug 16 2023, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(tkyong1 @ Aug 16 2023, 04:15 PM) Bro, the older I am, the more I agree with ur statement. I just spend rm900 for full car coating 3 years ago when the car is brand new, does it work? yes and no. To make it clear and look good, it needs weekly wash. for rm900 maybe for me is ok but there is shop quoted about rm4k-6k for coating, that for me a rip off. Better to put that money for painting on 4th or 5th year to make the car sparkling back.I have spent $$$ for the past decades to do PPF, Coating etc etc. My advice: do not waste your hard earned $$$ away on these bs. None is worth the money spent. Just wash your car, apply some wax and coating yourself periodically is the only way to do. Do not trust anyone telling you after PPS / Coating = no need to wash car, just hose it down, it is all bs. You must well keep the $$$ and do respray of your car every few years = looks 100% new again. darkbizarro liked this post
Aug 18 2023, 09:44 AM
7,847 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
Again, yes and no in response to the above 2 posts.
Going for a paint respray can cause other problems - costs notwithstanding. For example, they have to remove the doors for a proper spray. When the doors are refitted, the seals may not align properly and you get wind noise. This happened to a classmate’s M3 previously which put him (and me) off the idea of unnecessary resprays. |
Aug 18 2023, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(tkyong1 @ Aug 16 2023, 04:15 PM) QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 16 2023, 04:59 PM) I suppose very few people will repaint their old cars just to make it look new again although the original paint do not have any major scratches and still look good. People will only respray the car usually only at the part where it is damaged due to accident, or there are major scratches or dents which will require repair and respray. When the car is already old, say more than 5 years, the interest to spend money on the car to keep its outlook appearance at tip top condition is less already. It's only when it is new up to about 2 years old, then only you try to keep it looking as good as possible since it's new. Everything new you will treasure more, and when it's old it will lose its appeal so you don't pay so much attention to it anymore. With older cars, most people will just focus on the maintenance, less on the appearance since it's old already. Just try to keep it scratch free or accident free is good enough by practicing good parking and driving habits. Also, most people would have wanted to sell their cars when it's approaching 10 years, and if the original paint is still in good condition it makes little sense to respray the cars. Some even sold their cars earlier in 5 years or earlier. In my mind as long as there are no major scratches on the car, that's good enough. This post has been edited by SportyHandling: Aug 18 2023, 10:20 AM darkbizarro and k9182 liked this post
Aug 18 2023, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Aug 18 2023, 10:15 AM) I suppose very few people will repaint their old cars just to make it look new again although the original paint do not have any major scratches and still look good. People will only respray the car usually only at the part where it is damaged due to accident, or there are major scratches or dents which will require repair and respray. Depends on usage. Mine mostly outstation work, full of rock chipping, front area, plenty of under sun parking, so faded. No harm for me to put rm2k+ repainting just to make sure it good looking back. Im the one who use car till end of it life, maybe 10 years per change.When the car is already old, say more than 5 years, the interest to spend money on the car to keep its outlook appearance at tip top condition is less already. It's only when it is new up to about 2 years old, then only you try to keep it looking as good as possible since it's new. Everything new you will treasure more, and when it's old it will lose its appeal so you don't pay so much attention to it anymore. With older cars, most people will just focus on the maintenance, less on the appearance since it's old already. Just try to keep it scratch free or accident free is good enough by practicing good parking and driving habits. Also, most people would have wanted to sell their cars when it's approaching 10 years, and if the original paint is still in good condition it makes little sense to respray the cars. Some even sold their cars earlier in 5 years or earlier. In my mind as long as there are no major scratches on the car, that's good enough. |
Aug 18 2023, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 18 2023, 10:28 AM) Depends on usage. Mine mostly outstation work, full of rock chipping, front area, plenty of under sun parking, so faded. No harm for me to put rm2k+ repainting just to make sure it good looking back. Im the one who use car till end of it life, maybe 10 years per change. I see, understood. Yes agreed it depends on usage. So your vehicle has gone through harsher conditions. My current vehicle although 9+ years still looks good with shiny paint, no major scratches. It's mainly parked indoors most of the time for 8 years. It's only parked under hot sun starting from earlier this year. Rock chipping, can reduce by keeping a distance from the vehicles in front when on highways. |
Aug 18 2023, 09:56 PM
31 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
Coating or PPF, good question. Before spend money on both of it, ask yourself whether u are willing to spend the time and money to take good care of your car exterior. If u willing to do so, will u be consistent or just simply following trend of others. If u are the kind of always wanna keep your car shiny and willing to spend time and money on it, yes go ahead. But if u are other way round whereby u think spend in a heartbeat to get all it done without maintenance on it then forget it. Don't waste ur money and time. Lots of people assume that after apply the coating and PPF job done. I don't need to spend so much money and time on car detailing which is totally wrong. Both of this product are good but maintenance needed. Both of them if u don't maintain it as it should, it will give u more headache and spend more money and time on it that's where people feel such a waste on both product. This post has been edited by popmaster22: Aug 18 2023, 09:58 PM dev/numb liked this post
Aug 18 2023, 10:30 PM
691 posts Joined: Nov 2021 |
QUOTE(popmaster22 @ Aug 18 2023, 09:56 PM) Lots of people assume that after apply the coating and PPF job done. I don't need to spend so much money and time on car detailing which is totally wrong. Both of this product are good but maintenance needed. Both of them if u don't maintain it as it should, it will give u more headache and spend more money and time on it that's where people feel such a waste on both product. Agreed. If you normally wash your car once every couple of weeks, you will still need to do the same even with a ceramic coating applied. From what I’ve learned on the Car Care & Detailing thread here, coatings will not magically make your car maintenance-free. It will simply make your regular maintenance easier. Maybe without coating you would need to apply pre-wash first to loosen grime, but with the coating you can just rinse and go straight to shampoo. That’s the main benefit. Some people say coatings also have UV protection to protect paint from yellowing (especially for white cars) but I’m not sure how true that claim is. Also learned that, if you’ve coated your wheels, need to be careful at carwash shops and make sure to tell them not to spray that rim cleaner liquid. The soda content will supposedly kill the coating.As for PPF, I don’t have enough knowledge to comment. Some people say the protection from stone chips is good to have, but others say it doesn’t really offer much protection and all the self-healing promises are just marketing. They also say PPF will eventually yellow and sometimes even crack and damage paint, and you also have to be careful when using a pressure washer. I was once tempted to PPF the door cups, but now I think I will just buff out scratches once every year or two. This post has been edited by dev/numb: Aug 18 2023, 10:34 PM ktek liked this post
Aug 19 2023, 12:20 PM
98 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I bought my car 6 years ago and the agent told me they had a promotion for car coating and tinted windows I didn’t know about coating but took the offer as agent told me car would be easier to wash. I didnt wash car regularly and sometimes for a few months. As a result, the are water marks on the car even with the coating. I still don’t regret. Coating keep the car shiny especially after washing. The watermarks are only visible if you are near and look for them. Coating cost about the same as repainting but you got a shiny car all the time whereas for repaining, your car is dull all the time until you repaint. I am planning to recoat my car again and this time would try the carwash2u.
Aug 19 2023, 03:49 PM
13,207 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(drindy @ Aug 19 2023, 12:20 PM) I bought my car 6 years ago and the agent told me they had a promotion for car coating and tinted windows I didn’t know about coating but took the offer as agent told me car would be easier to wash. I didnt wash car regularly and sometimes for a few months. As a result, the are water marks on the car even with the coating. I still don’t regret. Coating keep the car shiny especially after washing. The watermarks are only visible if you are near and look for them. Coating cost about the same as repainting but you got a shiny car all the time whereas for repaining, your car is dull all the time until you repaint. I am planning to recoat my car again and this time would try the carwash2u. water mark can rub off finger= coating still gotcannot rub off = coating gone le depend the soap u put during wash too. |
| Change to: | 0.0430sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:28 AM |