Car Tint Advise Needed, RayTech, VKool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

viper1912
post Oct 18 2011, 05:20 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(qq_20012003 @ Oct 18 2011, 03:56 PM)
Hi all sifu here. Just bought a new Honda Accord. Honda offered their tinting stating RM2k-RM3k. Worth it?

Any recommendations?

I will highly recommend 3M full crystalline in your car.

If you are afraid of kacau by those Polis or JPJ the front 70% side + back you can opt for 60% or 50%.

2nd option: Front put 60%, the rest you can put 50% or 40% Crystalline.

3rd option: The whole car 50% Crystalline including the front windscreen.

I would prefer know the installer rather then let the Car Dealer do it. You know what you paid for rather then go thru 3rd party.

Just my 2 cents

viper1912
post Dec 21 2011, 02:18 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(bluebirdwks @ Dec 21 2011, 12:57 PM)
then what the recommended price for normal budget tinted which got reduced the sun heat? thank for your information.
If budget permit, get some decent brand. Dun get the normal budget film.

Not worth it at all. If you look at the rear windscreen of many many cars....all got bubble. Some car based on their plate should 1-2 years old.

This should be budgeted film i guess or FOC from Sales person, furthermore the heat rejection only normal only. Just a layer of film. Over your original glass.

Come to film I only trust 1 brand 3M. Of coz Crystalline is expensive.

They have other series. You can drop by any authorized 3M dealer to check out the price.

Standard Film, RE, FX HP series, Color Stable, Crystalline.

D higher you go of coz the more expensive...

viper1912
post Mar 19 2012, 08:20 AM

44 posts

I'm driving MyVi with the GPS unit and wondering if any of the package above will affect the GPS signal? I'm not very sure about this but I have read many feedback that 3M Crystalline isn't SmartTag friendly, however no effect on GPS signal. Anyone care to chip-in any information or feedback? smile.gif

[/quote]

Both of my car is installed with 3M tinted.

Crystalline series will affect Smart Tag (Yes n No) This very much depends on the SMART TAG lane. Some lane are ok some are not.
May be this is due to the device on the lane itself, brand new unit or old unit.

To solve this problem the very top part of my car was tinted with black color film, not 3M. Only the little part was not tinted with 3M Crystalline. Then I will place my smart tag over that area each time I pass the Smart Tag lane.

Or Alternatively you can opt for 3M FX HP film, which is smart tag friendly.

Both car fitted with different series of film, one car Crystalline Series Full, another is FX HP Full. Both got no issue on GPS signal.

Hope my 2 cents helps.
viper1912
post Apr 19 2012, 02:04 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Apr 17 2012, 02:11 PM)
I recommend 3M.

Regarding smart tag issue, they can tint the top 7 inches with a different dark tint, then the rest with crystalline.

I tinted my roc with colorstable 35 all around with crystalline 50 in front, my 2 buddies did the same with their passat CC and Polos, my dad did his crystalline 50 all around.

All for damn good price.

Can PM me if u ts are interested then I can recommend my installer.

No regrets, in fact I'm now waiting for my Kia forte to be done. Stripping off my Ecotint which was too bright causing glare and poor vision...
Actually colorstable 35 tinted film color was awesome. But the heat rejection was so so only. ( I mean the black was awesome).

If can Crystalline 50 the whole car...that would be great.

u did your tinted at Sunway Mas?
viper1912
post Dec 24 2012, 06:04 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(megamaniac27 @ Dec 24 2012, 02:52 AM)
I need to have my car tinted soon. Budget around 2k for my GTI. I want it as dark as possible without trouble. The tint has to be black in color.
For the 4 door and rear window you can try color stable 35 from 3M, if is still not dark enough then go for Color stable 20. For the front windscreen you can put Crystalline 40/50 if you want it to be dark.

Your without trouble meaning no interruption from JPJ or Police?

This post has been edited by viper1912: Dec 24 2012, 06:05 AM
viper1912
post Mar 18 2013, 02:15 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Mar 17 2013, 07:42 AM)
Different hue is unavoidable since you chose diff film for windscreen and side/rear - as you know their VLT is different.

There are many reports of 3M Crystalline giving issues with smart tag, so this is a common problem faced by users. It's the main reason why I did not choose 3M.
YES NO doubt 3M Chrystalline got some issue with some of the smart tag lane. This is how the installer can do to minimize this from happening.
Option are as follow

1. Tinted yr front windscreen 90% with Chrystalline, and 10% with those black tinted (normally use to block direct sunlight on the top of yr windscreen. Use that area for smart tag.

2. Most of the latest car these days....got some dotted spot on top of its rear view mirror, that area was not tinted with Chrystalline, then u can use that area for Smart Tag.

Both method I use in different car...........so far no smart tag issue at all.
viper1912
post Sep 4 2013, 02:02 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(bushyboy105 @ Aug 27 2013, 11:42 PM)
Can any 3M user tell which model of tinting they using?

and which is the best?

why so many kind of spec? for own preference or pricing?
I am a 3M customer not a reseller or anything related to 3M company. Just that I truly supported 3M film since they day I got my first car in year 2000.

There are few category under 3M film, all cater for different budget user. Some dun mind spending more then 1.5K for a good film, some prefer under 1K group. Here is how 3M tinted film line up. Crystalline, Nano, Color Stable, RE, FX HP and Standard film.

Personally I feel that with our M'sia wheather is best to get Crystalline 50 for the whole car if you dare. Coz compliance issues do come with it. Since JPJ allow front WS 70% visible light transmision and the rest is 50%. Since its the top of the range from 3M line up, you pay what u get. If 50% not enough there is Crystalline 40 for you to choose. ( prefer darker color)

Since my car interior was black so I opt for Crystalline 60 for the whole car, which I feel I will more comfortable with Crystalline 50 for the whole car.If you were to ask me.

For those which budget constraint, can always opt for Color Stable 50 I would advice to opt for the whole car with Color Stable 50,which I feel it got the black color which is pretty cool, but if you compare with Crystalline, of coz there is a gap, in another word heath rejection is not as good as Crystalline (You pay what u get remember).

If you think 50 series is too bright for you, you can always opt for Color Stable 35. ( Which I did in my CT for all the windows except front is using Crystalline, for that you can immediately tell the different.....why Crystalline worth so much more.

Of coz you can mix and match different different line up of the film in the car, you definetely can tell which is superior to another. Strongly advice only the rear windsreen you use different category of film the rest should be the same. (if budget is a factor).

For those who wish to install Crystalline but also want some darkness in their car, I will advise all car windows with Crystalline 50 and the rear windscreen with Color Stable 35. Believe me you will love the black color of the color stable.

Hope my 2 cents helps...

viper1912
post Sep 6 2013, 08:27 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(roofocus @ Sep 4 2013, 02:22 PM)
Any photos of your tint?
What can you see from a car tinted film, I mean through photo.

I doubt you can have a clear view of that. If you still prefer, PM me, I will send u the pic of my car to your HP.
viper1912
post Sep 9 2013, 05:31 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(syangloo @ Sep 6 2013, 04:32 PM)
Can pm me you car photo as well? Thanks
The things is different car, the OEM glass come might come with different color, the outcome might b different depending on the film you choose. Different series, the color also different. Crystalline 60 & 40 there is huge different interms of the color.

So the question is are you going to tint the same series like my car on yr car? Provide you n I have the same car.

So If your car is the same as mine, then you can hv my car photo that it could help, else I dun see a point getting pic of the tint. Lighting also play an important role.

If color is your major concern, best is you drop by the shop ask him to tint the film that you want on your window...see whether the color is acceptable to you or not. I guess that is best choice, you can have.

viper1912
post Sep 10 2013, 08:30 AM

44 posts

For those who eagerly wanted to view, how does the color looks like. Pls check out this site.
http://solutions.3m.com.my/wps/portal/3M/en_MY/AutoFilm/Home/Products/Comparison/

There is a simulator for you to try out the different different color of the film on the car.
Also full details of their film. From the chart I guess you can a clear picture of 3M product as I mentioned earlier, their full range of product.

3M Nanos is the latest safety film develop by 3M. It combines safety and UV protection, 2 in 1 protection.

Earlier, this the method they provide double layer protection. 1 Layer is safety film (3M scotchshield) , follow by 2nd layer of U.V flim (Crystalline, Color Stable,ST, FX HP). Due to 1st layer safety film has lesser U.V protection, thus they apply this method.

3M Schothshield is the security film from 3M.

This post has been edited by viper1912: Sep 11 2013, 08:39 AM
viper1912
post Sep 10 2013, 08:33 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(KronenZerg @ Sep 7 2013, 04:06 PM)
Anyone heard of 3M scotchshield? How much does it cost to hv it fix on all 4 windows?
u can contact my installer at Sunway Mas shop name call "Tintworks". The details you can obtained from here.

http://solutions.3m.com.my/wps/portal/3M/e...me/Contact/WTB/.
viper1912
post Sep 11 2013, 08:37 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(KronenZerg @ Sep 10 2013, 12:24 PM)
Thanks, Viper-bro ..

But I think you made an error .. Scotchshield has UV protection as shown in the table but it doesnt filter as much as CR70 or Nano series.
Thanx for enlighting....yeah Scotchshield more towards security....less UV protection.
viper1912
post Nov 7 2013, 02:01 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(momo-sang @ Feb 27 2007, 01:54 PM)
How much is 3M? Anyone knows?
I am looking for 3M....probably need to pay a visit...
3M starts with FX Standard films....

Here the link....furthermore...they are having promotion..going on....this coming KLMS...

http://solutions.3m.com.my/wps/portal/3M/e...oth_Highlights/
viper1912
post Nov 11 2013, 04:36 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Nov 11 2013, 11:32 AM)
Hi all sifus,

I'm looking to apply a second layer on my car's current tint.. Not dark enough.. Takde privacy yo. People like to look inside.. How much would it cost to do a cheap darker tint? My current tint has good IR and heat rejection. So am thinking of just getting it darken.

Try 3M Color Stable with 50 series or 35 series. Sure is dark enough for you and the black sure you will like it.
viper1912
post Nov 12 2013, 11:45 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Nov 11 2013, 05:14 PM)
Whats the price like?
Bakry,

3M Color Stable is middle range...above Std and FX HP, but below Ceramic, Nanos and Crystalline.

Pls check your PM & also check the link in one of the post, you can see the range of 3M films.
viper1912
post Dec 3 2013, 08:25 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Dec 2 2013, 03:42 PM)
i was quoted with rm2500 for 3M tint on hyundai elantra 1.8. and the sales girl said that most of the shops which quote rm1000++ are giving the customer other brand. It is impossible to get at this price. Is it true?
Do you have any idea what film she quoted u? Crystalline or Nanos?

That price could be RRP. Should have some discount on it, Elantra is not huge after all.

3M got a few range for you to choose, Crystalline, Nanos, Ceramic, Color Stable, FXHP, Standard film, not to forget RE70.

Here is range of autofilm available from 3M.

http://solutions.3m.com.my/wps/portal/3M/e...arControlRange/

Here is the price during autoshow, should give you an rough estimation on how much film should cost.

http://solutions.3m.com.my/wps/portal/3M/e...oth_Highlights/

This post has been edited by viper1912: Dec 3 2013, 08:30 AM

0.0234sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:05 AM