Car Tint Advise Needed, RayTech, VKool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

TSmomo-sang
post Feb 27 2007, 12:11 PM, updated 13y ago

217 posts

I am looking for some advise here.
I am not sure which car tint is advisable to go.
I am an Altisan, and since the original glass alredy have UV protection, i am not sure should i go for a high end tint film or just got for a normal one will do.

From what i know is VKool, Huper Optic, RayTech, 3M, Solar Gard and Eco Tint.

Any recomendation? Considering price and the performance.

Thanks for all your replies ya! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by momo-sang: Jan 18 2013, 09:30 PM
TSmomo-sang
post Feb 27 2007, 01:54 PM

217 posts

How much is 3M? Anyone knows?
I am looking for 3M....probably need to pay a visit...
TSmomo-sang
post Feb 27 2007, 02:28 PM

217 posts

I am actually considering Air Cool also.....struggling whetehr should i get Air Cool or a combination of 3M + Solar Guard.
TSmomo-sang
post Feb 27 2007, 02:40 PM

217 posts

I think those are Cap Ayam one.
I drove my friend's car before....after some while, u will see the film its like very blur....so not recomended to buy those cheapo tint films.
TSmomo-sang
post Feb 28 2007, 11:41 AM

217 posts

I just went to ask for Air Cool yesterday.
Salesman saying that Air Cool Highest Grade will cost me RM1.4K...(Is it expensive?)

Its from accessories shop....dunno how much i can trust.
I am thinking of tinting my side windows mirror with 3M, then both big glass (front and rear) tint with Air Cool / Someother brands.
TSmomo-sang
post Feb 28 2007, 12:11 PM

217 posts

but lets think again, why would u pay so much for good heat rejection ?

it doesnt really make much diff when u're driving with aircon

if u park your car under the sun, no tint in this world can keep your car cool. it will still get heat up anyway....

bottom line is :-
if u got tonnes of money, u may go for vkool
but never go for el-cheapo rm300 tint.

I agree with statement. biggrin.gif
Rather spend more on my ICE...
TSmomo-sang
post Dec 15 2009, 11:00 AM

217 posts

Honestly speaking, base on my experience, I tried out Air Cool, where i spend ~Rm1.4K for whole car. It just last me for 2 years, and the color get fade out and what makes thing worst is that the heat rejection rate is not as good as a newly installed one.
Ended up, I decide to re-tint my car again. After certain research, I decide to go for Huper Optic. Yes, it is expensive where i spend ~RM2K for the whole car. Anyway, so far another 2 years, no regret in selecting Huper Optic as it realy out perform Air Cool. Color still looks good...
TSmomo-sang
post Jan 19 2013, 08:53 AM

217 posts

i tried amorcoat before, just normal, not as impressive as the premium tints. maybe tser is slightly lower. why not all vkool?
TSmomo-sang
post Jan 23 2013, 06:11 PM

217 posts

I heard Raytech not bad as well.
TSmomo-sang
post Jan 29 2013, 06:16 PM

217 posts

Hi Sifus,
I was used to be HuperOptic's supporter for the past 5 years and quite happy with it until recently I had give a try on Raytech N85 by installing it at my sister's car. Reason behind of trying out this film is because one of my friend highly recomended it.

Initially I was quite reluctant to give a try on it as i am a big fans of HO, but after trying out the performance in my friend's car, my 1st impression on its heat rejection capability - surprisingly quite competitive with HO. Therefore, why not give a try? Also i saw some new car from Peugeot and Camry also using this, so should be low risk to tryout.

So far just tried 1 day on N85, and was satisfied with its performance and decide to install its top range series V90 in my new car.

Anyone interested to know the feedback for V90?

http://www.raytech.com.my/products.html

TSmomo-sang
post Jan 29 2013, 06:32 PM

217 posts

I had not get my new car yet, will receive it tomorrow. Fully installed with V90 which i heard to be the premium range of Raytech.
I will update this thread once i tried on for a week.

TSmomo-sang
post Jan 31 2013, 09:40 AM

217 posts

I guess Llumar is good in security film, but not sure bout their Heat Rejection capability.
TSmomo-sang
post Feb 4 2013, 05:10 PM

217 posts

Tinted my Fiesta XTR at Raytech Cheras yesterday.

Before coming, I was seriously considering the V90 but it turns out that it's no longer available and has been replaced with the V97. This info is not even available on their website when I checked..

I decided to got with V97 for the windscreen and Centurion RX4 (security) for the rest; but the rear screen tint is a non security version of the RX4.

Performance is awesome!
Coincidentally, since I just installed it yesterday, the weather today is perfect to test it. According to the temp. sensor on my Fiesta, weather today is mostly 37 - 40c (Damansara, Bangsar and PJ area). Parked the car under the scorching sun for like 30 mins, and upon entering the car the heat is really tolerable, not really the kind that you can feel on your face, if you know what I mean?
Turned on the aircond and barely a few mins on the heat is gone.

The difference between this and the RayTech Pro Series tint that I installed on my old Satria around last week is a lot. Before that I was driving that old car with no windscreen tint and 'expired' side tint (some random brand) for years. The Pro Series tint, when parked under the scorching sun, still gives the kind of heat that you can feel on the face (LOL I really don't know how else to describe ). After turning on the aircond, give it like 5 mins and it's all good though. With the V97 and Centurion RX4 it's more like 1-2mins

Oh and I also installed RayTech CS75 tint on a family car at the same time as the Satria. Can't comment much on that one since I don't drive that car... asked the driver and he said "of course I can feel the difference" since he has been driving that one for years without a solar tint.. LOL

RayTech may be a local brand, but their manufacturer is indeed from the United States.
http://www.commonwealthlaminating.com

Click on World Wide Distributor and you will see their name there.

Oh and the Cheras branch have no credit card terminals yet... but I still paid with card, Sean from RayTech drove me to the Serdang branch just to swipe..
If he didn't offer to do that I will just walk away.. not that I didn't have the cash, it's just that I wanted the X5 TreatPoints from Maybank.
Hi There,
I was in Raytech - Cheras last Saturday, just got my new car tinted with V97 as well. I had the same experience like your, I would say the the performance is quite good and i like the film color as well. Film color is as good as Huper.

So far i tint both my car with Raytech and no regret. The only thing which is unknown - reliablitlity; whereby it doesn't make any different due to there is a 7 years warantty.

I would recomend to try Raytech V97 if you are really into Solar Film, whereas CS85 for Security Film.

Oh yes, forgot to mention, Raytech has very good customer service.

This post has been edited by momo-sang: Feb 4 2013, 05:12 PM
TSmomo-sang
post Feb 7 2013, 02:38 PM

217 posts

Just got my whole car tinted with V97 - which includes SunRoof. The whole car is dimmed now and very nice cooling effect. Thanks to Sean who had highly recommended V97 to me and brings me a cool CNY.
Workmanship wise is very effective as just took them 45mins to fully tint my Sun and MoonRoof. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSmomo-sang
post Feb 28 2013, 04:10 PM

217 posts

Try Raytech - No Regret base on my experience.
TSmomo-sang
post Dec 4 2013, 02:43 PM

217 posts

Hi all,
Please continue at version2 thread.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3053984

0.0229sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:37 PM