Car Tint Advise Needed, RayTech, VKool, Huper Optic, 3M or .....

Lord Gitsy
post Aug 11 2013, 04:18 PM

I am Window Film consultant for Raytech International Window Film. I will post more accurate information to all consumer from time to time. Please visit my link, or like us in Raytech Window Film facebook for more information.

Raytech International Website : www.raytechfilms.com

Topic Link : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2918371/+0#entry62379331

Facebook Link : https://www.facebook.com/pages/Raytech-Tint...112324005459022

This post has been edited by Lord Gitsy: Aug 12 2013, 10:12 PM
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 12 2013, 10:02 AM

QUOTE(lonely143 @ Aug 11 2013, 07:13 PM)
Since the Raytech film from USA and well recognize by IWFA. Why the product specification do not have Shading Coefficient or Solar Heat Gain Coefficient reading? It is very important to have this data to determine the film TSER performance.
You can check Raytech Solar Film TSER in my link above. Cheers, bro
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 12 2013, 10:07 AM

The Link to Raytech Solar Film product list:

http://raytech.com.my/solar-control-window-film/
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 12 2013, 02:15 PM

It is good when you find out window film can reject about 99.9% of Ultra-Violet (UV), which may cause darkening of skin pigment, skin aging, and skin cancer, due to cell mutation. Besides, all kind of plastic material (polymer), pigment and dye will be degraded by UV ray and cause color fading. Thus, window film can protect your car interior all plastic material for longer lifespan and always look like new. rclxms.gif

However, window film which can reject 99.9% of UV ray, does not means it can reject most of the heat. UV ray only contribute 3% of total solar energy.cool2.gif

If you interested to know more about UV ray can visit the link below:

http://raytech.com.my/how-good-raytech-fil...harmful-uv-ray/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ultra_violet

This post has been edited by Lord Gitsy: Aug 12 2013, 02:18 PM
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 12 2013, 08:54 PM

QUOTE(simchengheng @ Aug 12 2013, 05:34 PM)
i do some readings, quite a lot actually..

found out VLR actually is most contribute to TSER under "Visible Light", is it true?

and the lower value of VLT, it helps for TSER also. and IRR actually is the rest of UV and Visible Light, means even 90%+ IRR, it only means that 90% of the Infra Red Light, which its not visible by human eyes and its only about half of solar energy.

kinda confuse to tinted specs, might be some sort of marketing. so if we are looking for very good heat rejection, gonna go for highest VLR, Lower VLT, Higher IRR? i am feeling like wanna ignore IRR as IRR ratings on different wave show different result, and we cannot confirm in what range of wave for the brand to post out their IRR value.

i am hearing many feedback that pro rating of IRR tint still not very good on heat rejection, while some tint with 85%+- did better than 90%++, 93%, or even 95%. all brand should have a guide line or standards for all those rating, and how the value being carry out.
Actually is very easy, first you need to understand there is 3 ray in natural sun-light. In another word, you are expose to these 3 ray in the same time when you walking under the sun.

a) Visible light (Light which can be seen by human eye)
b) Infra-Red (Invisible)
c) Ultra-Violet (Invisible)

All these 3 rays contribute to Solar Energy. Infra-Red (54%), UV (3%) and Visible Light (43%).

If the film spec IRR90% means 90% of solar energy in Infra-Red Region is reject away, thus it is not represent the whole solar energy. The more accurate film performance is refer to TSER, Total Solar Energy Rejection consist of the solar energy rejection of IR + UV + Visible Light.

Somehow, the TSER value is always low for automobile film. Due to VLT is high, more visible light can pass through, means more energy contain in visible light can pass through. In the other hand, when VLT is low, if the film is darker, the TSER is much higher. thumbup.gif

Example :
Raytech Centurion 4mil IRR95%, TSER 62%
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 12 2013, 09:10 PM

Infact, TSER value is more accurate compare to IRR value. Somehow, we normally refer to IRR value is good enough, because VLT value in Malaysia in order to compliant with JPJ rules and regulations must be higher than 50% for side and back window.

The only problem is that the IRR value you getting is genuine or not.

Please click in my trade to see what is USA genuine product.
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 13 2013, 06:00 PM

QUOTE(tifosi @ Aug 13 2013, 05:07 PM)
If you want good heat rejection, look at the TSER percentage for the most accurate measurement. IRR is not the best measurement for heat rejection. The higher TSER means the higher % the solar heat/sun hotness is rejected by the film.

But TSER % varies from company to company also because they do not have a proper standard to test it. You won't know which company is advertising the genuine TSER %.

Generally, what you pay is what you get. Go for reputable companies such as V-kool, Ecotint, HO or 3M.
1st, You have to know which brand film product is origin made from USA or Japan.
2nd, The spec which you can find in the internet can be trusted.
3rd, The genuine product from one brand normally got it trademark logo on the film.
4th, If that tinting shop provide meter testing is even better to make you confident.

Pls Read my articles in my thread, Why 80% of consumer do not realise that
they using low grade film with high price,
and how to ensure the brand's product is genuinely make from USA.
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 14 2013, 06:45 PM

Good News everybody in Johor Bahru, Raytech Window Film newly open outlet in JB, Skudai started business by yesterday.

Add : 67 & 69, Jalan Glasier, Taman Tasek, 80200 Johot Bahru.
Tel : 07-2365455

Lord Gitsy
post Aug 17 2013, 12:11 PM

Raytech Safety Film made from Commonwealth Laminating and Coating, Inc. Evaluation according to the following test methods/standards:
◦Small Missile Impact Test – ANSI Z-97.1 and CPSC 16 CFR 1201
◦Large Missile Impact Test & Cyclic Window Pressure Tests –
ASTM E 1886-02/ASTM E 1996-03, Level C, 4.5lb 2" x 4"
◦GSA Explosive Test – GSA-TS01-2003
◦Flame Spread and Smoke Developed Test – ASTM E-84

Here is youtube link for the Raytech Safety Film Live Smashing Demonstration in China Business conference. You can see the different before and after the film remove from the window. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Lord Gitsy: Aug 17 2013, 12:13 PM
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 20 2013, 03:11 PM

Actually, there is difference between "Home-brands" and "Local Brands".

What is Home-Brand :
Lets say a good brand called "Samsung". The original Samsung phones are S3, S4 or Note2. You can find these models in their official website. But when the retailer takes in other non-brand model (Not from Samsung), create a name for it (for example Samsung S33), tries to cheat and sells it as a Samsung phones model in their shop and give Samsung warranty card for it. Most of the customers are not aware of this and think it is a original Samsung model. Somehow this model is not made by Samsung and you can't find this model in Samsung's official website. This is called "Home-brand".

What is Local-Brand :
Local brands are not international brands, these brands can only be found in Malaysia, the brand owner buys films from supplier and labels them as his own brand. Actually, there is no problem by doing so. However, too many local brands are claiming that their products are origin from USA but the truth is they are just taking low grade and low cost films made in Korea and sell them as high end films to customers who are not aware about it. Most of the dealers will claim that their products are made in USA. Somehow, if you go into more details about their USA products, they would not even be able to give you any information about their USA manufacturer. You won't be able to find any concrete information or evidence of their manufacturer in their website, product catalogues or brochures.

Customers must do more studies to choose the right brand and original products.
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 20 2013, 09:05 PM

Guys, I am sharing more information online, more for educating consumer. However, I will not advice which brand is good or not good. shakehead.gif Every brand has its strong and weak point. Everyone has their personal favorite. Of course, if you feel interested with Raytech International Window Film product, you can come to me. Cheers.
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 22 2013, 05:28 PM

Guys, i just sharing some information about JPJ issue. I think most of you know about the technical data that
VLT for front windscreen must above 70% and the rest of windows must about 50%.

Infact, every tinting company in Malaysia must responsible for the JPJ and police summon issue. None of the tinting shop dare to say they are not guarantee for that, otherwise nobody will tint over there.

Although your window film is compliant with JPJ rules and regulations, the officer who might stop your car as they can not determine that your film is pass or not pass, because they normally not carry the VLT meter device with them. But no worry, only very dark film will be suspected and stopped by them. If one day, you are very unlucky stopped by the officer, they will normally give you a "Surat Pemeriksaan JPJ".

After receiving this letter, you are very unlucky for spending half a day to do inspection of your window film in JPJ. If your film is tested "Pass" you can then drive your car away. See, very troublesome. If your window film tested "Fail", you need to remove the film, and come for second inspection again. See, LAGI troublesome. icon_question.gif

In Malaysia, we must respect our police and JPJ officer. Give your best cooperation and manners to them when they doing "Operasi". The nice guy will always get away from unnecessary trouble. (Although your window film is clear and compliant with JPJ.) Be smart. Show respect and you will gain respect. thumbup.gif
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 24 2013, 10:43 AM

QUOTE(johnny82 @ Aug 24 2013, 07:30 AM)
Dear sifus, I'm bout to get my new altis soon... I asked the sales man he said the car is tinted already with what solar tint? ..and got 7 years warranty .. Currently I'm doubting how good it is.. Should I tear it down do new one? Or double tint it?
Normally double tint is not recommended, 1st is warranty will be void, 2nd the VLT will normally below 50% which means not compliant with JPJ.
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 27 2013, 06:47 PM

QUOTE(Phenomace @ Aug 26 2013, 02:49 PM)
Hi, please pm me best price for Honda Jazz. Looking for Centurion 6mil, it's good?

Thanks, looking forward for your reply notworthy.gif
Bro, you got PM.
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 27 2013, 06:53 PM

QUOTE(roofocus @ Aug 26 2013, 04:05 PM)
Can you assure vehicle after tinting fully completed will not get scratched by your installers?
If the window film is accidentally scratch by the technician during installation can ask for replacement for the new one. It might happened to new trained technician. But too seldom heard about it these days.
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 30 2013, 12:05 AM

Guys, why do you think you need window tinting advice. Who do not think the right person can give you the best answer? Professional people advice is very bias, they are in the field, selling their brand, like me. and unprofessional people advice is always unprofessional. Normally these people will try to tell you this "brand" is good because they only test on this "brand", and maybe that "brand". They even do not know they are using low grade film that make from Korea, Taiwan, and China. Somehow, they been told their film is made from USA. They do not know how to differential it. Korea IR film is cheap in market but heat rejection is temporarily, 50% depreciation after 1-2 years, continue by color fading on the whole piece of film. Will you pay RM1K for this type of film. Do you think is worth to buy and use for 1-2 years?

I thinking the most important aspect you guys must know is :
a)The product you pay for it, is original or not?
b)The product you pay for it, is good quality and genuine from USA or not?
c)The specification of the film you pay for it is true or not?

1. Ask about USA manufacturer detail.
Maybe most of the tint shops might claim that their products are from USA, but when asking about the USA manufacturer info, no answer will be given. Do some home work, online check on this matter. The genuine brand will normally reveal the supplier of USA manufacturer information.

2. Make sure the product is not "Home-brand" or not original brand.
Some tricky dealer may input other product which is not original one, sell as original product and given a "new name" this call "Home brand". You guys please online check on the original product name and spec before enter the shop.

3. Original Packaging and logo stamp on film.
All original USA product is come with standard packaging and the film is printed the brand logo. Be aware when you can not find any logo on the film when you tint your car.

Try understand the point and do more research.
Thus, never ask me which brand is better. However, kindly come to me if you interested in Raytech Window Film.
Lord Gitsy
post Aug 31 2013, 08:36 PM

QUOTE(Johnyks @ Aug 31 2013, 12:51 PM)
What is the price for Ractech Ultra70(front & rear windscreen), Centurion RX-4mil (side windscreen)

Car is Myvi

Thanks for your request. U got PM. thumbup.gif
Lord Gitsy
post Sep 4 2013, 10:59 AM

As you guys know safety film also has its break strength support limit. As professional opinion, we never tell the customer how good is our safety film, even the original Raytech USA safety film just can delay breaking time for 20-30 seconds, and it also depends on what kind of weapon has been used to break the glass. Further more, although the safety tinted window has broken, the thief need to make a hole on the tinted window is not easy also. Thus, we got just enough time to try escape and drive the car away. An expert smash-and-grab-thief can grab your things in 2-3 seconds. That why meanwhile they will not try target on the car that tinted with safety film windows. Watch the videos below :

Car without tinted glass.

Car tinted with safety fim.

Lord Gitsy
post Sep 6 2013, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(nike89 @ Sep 6 2013, 07:03 PM)
i have a doubt here guys,

is there any tint that could make the car totally "not hot" even park under hot sun?
Hi bro, there is no film from any brand that can make your car "not hot" for parking long. My car is using Raytech CS85, IRR85%, I tested the car just a little bit warm within 1 hour parking under the sun. Still feel great with it. Although the car is tinted with solar control film, maybe only 5% of heat coming in from window, what do your think if this 5% of heat is keep coming for 2-3 hours. The heat will trap inside the car and become hotter and hotter. This called "Green House Effect". If you have any device that can suck the heat or hot air out of car while parking. Then, I think your car will be much cooler. Normally, what i do is wind down 2 side windows for 1 inch, of course my car is fitted with door visor, then I feel much cooler when get in the car. However, due to too many robbery case, i'm not doing so now. shocking.gif

From my personal experience, it take only 5 minutes to cool down my car, although I park my car for several hours. Install a great tinted film will give you better result.

This post has been edited by Lord Gitsy: Sep 6 2013, 11:59 PM
Lord Gitsy
post Sep 6 2013, 11:07 PM

Dear Raytech loyal fans, supporters, car lovers, and friends, we would like to invite all of you to participate in our Raytech Tag & Win Contest Season 2. This time round, we have prepared some of the hottest prizes to giveaway. Prizes ranging from iPhone 5, iPad Mini, Raytech CS-85 Voucher, and the coolest ever daily prizes - 2 pcs of Golden Screen Cinema movie vouchers + 2 pcs Popuri Bubble Teas vouchers!!!
Yes, you will be surprised every day as every single person has the chance to win 2 pcs of GSC movie vouchers + 2 pcs Popuri Bubble Tea vouchers from us during the contest period. Don't miss this once in a life time opportunity. Join the contest now ! To know more about this contest, please visit : Raytech Tinting Facebook

3 Simple Steps to Join:

1) "LIKE" Raytech Tinting Official Facebook Page

2) Tag Raytech Tinting (Facebook page) and 9 of your friends in the photo. (*save it to your PC and re-share and tag to your wall)

3) Submit your contest entry here : Share & Win Contest Form

0.0535sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:28 AM