Tyre air - is it a must to follow exactly?
zeng
Feb 2 2017, 09:47 AM
2 psi more than OEM recommended pressure is ok, as it's way below tyre manufacturer's maximum permissible pressure. 2 psi below would not be ok at designed loads, as it promotes tyre overheating and potential tyre burst at prolonged high speed. I typically fill air up to 30 % higher than OEM recommendation for agility and better fuel economy with acceptable increased ride harshness.
This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 2 2017, 09:50 AM
zeng
Feb 2 2017, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(Actchan @ Feb 2 2017, 02:11 PM) 30% higher than oem ? wow @@ Let say oem is 30psi so you inflat till 38psi up ? That's right, up to 30% overpressure. Wira 1.5 recommends 29 psi all round . Mine is 37 psi. Had been monitoring for several years, no premature wear (uneven botak) at the tyre centreline area. This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 2 2017, 04:28 PM
zeng
Feb 4 2017, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(JTLMELB @ Feb 4 2017, 09:35 AM) Above pressure just based on the road condition like highway. Nooo ...... This .. QUOTE(6UE5T) Usually tire pressure recommendation is largely determined based on the weight distribution. This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 4 2017, 10:18 PM
zeng
Feb 10 2017, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 10 2017, 03:24 PM) Actually is OK if u drive fast or carry full load 5pax On my camry the sticker say u can put 210kpa for light load & <160 kmh speed Increase to 290kpa if for 5pax full load &/or >160kmh speed Nice info from Camry! I learned from internet saying for highway travelling (km/hr not specified), increase OEM pressure by 10%. So I started off upping 10%, now in 30% territory .... Would appreciate very much if you could upload a picture of said sticker... for general guidance ..... if it isn't too cumbersome for you.
zeng
Feb 11 2017, 11:33 PM
Thanks heaps, mate. Learning something new and authoritative on tyre pressures from your posts ..... I read some tyre literature saying that after parking between 30 min to an hour, one may pump air at indicated OEM cold tyre pressure. Your attachments are rather detail and specific... Btw, can I have your prior permission to upload your above pictures in forums like Bitog/lowyat etc for the benefits of others in times to come ? This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 11 2017, 11:35 PM
zeng
Jul 2 2017, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(samurai_ghost @ Jun 30 2017, 11:58 AM) My understanding will be OEM tyre. Tyre originally fitted in upon purchasing the car. I don't think same pressure applicable with tyre with same range / size. Unless exact same brand, size & model. Eventhough same range / size, different tyre manufacturer or even different model will be using different compound, soft / hard sidewall, etc. That contribute to optimum tyre pressure. Not so expert lah. Based on my experience & reading only.  Unfortunately I beg to differ on this. This post has been edited by zeng: Jul 2 2017, 01:20 PM
zeng
Jul 13 2017, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(iverice @ Jul 11 2017, 04:57 PM) like for avanza in the manual only said front 210kpa rear240kpa, it did not show any load or no load condition just a table stated this pressure. so follow it? also the tyre change from stock 185 65 r15 to 195 60 r15 so thr tyre pressure how now? I believe these two tyre sizes 'happen' to have the same load index, therefore same OEM recommended tyre pressures for both front and rear would be applicable. However in my 1.3 Avanza, I select over-pressure of 275 kpa in all 4 tyres for agility and fuel economy. This post has been edited by zeng: Jul 13 2017, 10:19 PM
zeng
Jul 14 2017, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(iverice @ Jul 14 2017, 04:59 PM) 275kpa for avanza is just too much man Yes, it's on the high side for Avanza's weight and it's recommended 210 front 240 kpa rear. But, it's way below the tyre's maximum allowable weight/air-pressure of 310 kpa. No uneven tyre wear though.
zeng
Sep 11 2017, 09:56 PM
Without knowing further details from your car and tyre size, all four tyres on 40 psi should be ok for agility and FE. All four tyres on 33 psi should be fine too.
My wira calls for 29 psi on all four, but I pump up to 37/38 psi for agility.
zeng
Sep 13 2017, 01:01 AM
240 kpa is ok for your car, that specifies 210 kpa for front and 220 kpa for rear. These tyres could go up to 250 kpa if you wish, up to 160 km/hr.
zeng
Oct 3 2017, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Oct 1 2017, 11:06 PM) Hi All, My tyre is written with Max pressure 350 KPA 51 PSI May I know what is the recommended air? My tyre brand is continental CC6 Thanks. My wira 1.5 (and Avanza 1.3) tyres are rated at maximum pressure of 51 psi too. Proton specifies 29 psi for front and rear in Good Year 75/70R13.(Refer to driver side door pillar). I had been applying 37-38 psi tyre pressure for umpteen years with good results.
zeng
Feb 12 2018, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 11 2018, 11:01 AM) There is this maximum pressure allowed, indicated on the tyre wall. It makes sense not to pump air to this 'maximum pressure', right? Yes, one should not pump air to the maximum pressure indicated, as like 51 psi for some tyres.
zeng
Feb 13 2018, 10:46 AM
I pump all my 82H/88H tyres up to 280 kpa/ 41 psi for fuel economy and agility.
zeng
Feb 14 2018, 10:20 PM
My rule of thumb is about 4 psi.
zeng
Feb 21 2018, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 20 2018, 07:29 PM) For sedan, does it make sense to pump same air pressure for both front and rear? My Avanza specifies 31 front and 35 rear. I pumped 38 psi, and now 41 psi on all four tyres ........................... for its maximum tyre loading and maximum tyre road speed which isn't required for the Avanza, but fine for the tyres anyway. This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 21 2018, 10:52 AM
zeng
Feb 21 2018, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 21 2018, 09:51 PM) What are you aiming for in pumping more than the recommended air pressure? Is it fuel economy and/or lesser frequency to pump air and/or fuel economy? Curious to know More for agility ... and then for fuel economy, yet stay within specs of tyres in question. Also note tyre pressure drops by about 3 psi in every 1-1.5 month of use .
zeng
Feb 21 2018, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Feb 21 2018, 03:52 PM) Must be epic bouncy  ... not really with good road surface in KL/Subang Jaya areas, other than safety bumps within Taman where I typically move at 15-25 km/hr.
zeng
Feb 22 2018, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 22 2018, 12:24 AM) Fair enough. Anyway, no significant longer braking distance? Longer, yes. Significant, no .
zeng
Mar 8 2018, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Mar 8 2018, 10:32 PM)  ! What's your tyre profile? Most is 15 inch rite ? 38 psi?  185/70R14 88H tyres.