will it spoil your camera ?, if you point it to the sun and snap it?

TSvincent_audio
post Feb 26 2007, 07:27 PM, updated 19y ago

1,161 posts

just wondering, i remember reading it somewhere that it will spoilt ur sensor if you point your camera to direct sun light. How true is that ? and why ?

Say like i accidentally set couple of second, biggest aperture and aim it to the sun and press snap. I will get white picture, but will that spoil the sensor of the camera or any other part of it ?
R a D ! c 4 L
post Feb 26 2007, 08:43 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

yeah it will, and it might not. Chances are it will damage your sensor. Imagine your lens focusing the sun's ray into your sensor. Remember last time when u were a kid then u grab those magnifying glass and point it towards a dead leaf in close range under the sun?
neoro_blitz
post Feb 27 2007, 01:37 AM

492 posts

yeah it will, its just like looking at the sun with your naked eye. Consider Hard ND Filters if you have sunny objects considering the "couple of seconds"
waynelyp90
post Feb 28 2007, 01:30 PM

Nonsense Hater
1,141 posts

Just tke pictures of the dawn and it will be great and beautiful... biggrin.gif
If you snap a pic of a bright lit sun, you won't get anything but a white patch.... Why snap at a afternoon sun anyway?? blink.gif
jdreamer
post Feb 28 2007, 01:33 PM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

QUOTE(waynelyp90 @ Feb 28 2007, 01:30 PM)
Just tke pictures of the dawn and it will be great and beautiful...  biggrin.gif
If you snap a pic of a bright lit sun, you won't get anything but a white patch.... Why snap at a afternoon sun anyway??  blink.gif
To show that it's an afternoon sun. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jdreamer: Feb 28 2007, 01:34 PM
kenlui
post Mar 1 2007, 01:13 AM

2,380 posts

Lol... point at a glaring sun to show that it's afternoon sun? Dont think anybody will do that for nothing..
jacklsw86
post Mar 1 2007, 08:12 AM

LYN spirit
1,662 posts

at least shooting eclipse is smth biggrin.gif but scorching sun? :S
jdreamer
post Mar 1 2007, 09:26 AM

Screw ITP!
11,092 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Mar 1 2007, 01:13 AM)
Lol... point at a glaring sun to show that it's afternoon sun? Dont think anybody will do that for nothing..
I was joking. whistling.gif
shinchan^^
post Mar 1 2007, 10:49 AM

K66
21,256 posts

spoilt then buy new one la tongue.gif
siokae0422
post Mar 1 2007, 11:24 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Mar 1 2007, 10:49 AM)
spoilt then buy new one la tongue.gif
haha, yalor
old one not spoilt how to get new one?
littlegreen
post Mar 1 2007, 02:56 PM

505 posts

yea rite... a tehh.. alot of money hohh....
kitman
post Mar 1 2007, 04:20 PM

2,691 posts

sensor destroy is a small matter but those with dslr ...... definately damage your eyes. so photographer jumping from non-dslr to dslr pls take note that you are actually looking throught the lens and not at the lcd - so your eyes are not protected from the sun
littlegreen
post Mar 1 2007, 04:23 PM

505 posts

if u like so much sun u can take it as long as u see the sun.... be prepared with the focus and shoot when u aim the sun... i got shoot on it..... but will the sun spoil my cam.. i ve taken few shoots...
TSvincent_audio
post Mar 1 2007, 11:24 PM

1,161 posts

erm, cool i sort of got it, u know how manual can always be a problem, u forgot to change the setting, and i'm not going to look at the viewfinder, kill my eye smile.gif
yewkhuay
post Mar 22 2007, 12:05 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

i think the Sun is too far for us to SHOOT , but those days when we used to hav 7 Suns , 1 fella did manage to SHOOT 6 down and left 1 until now, can't recall his name and which gear he used...

Just my cold joke, don't SHOOT me...
porkchop
post Mar 22 2007, 12:45 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

i do point my lens into the sun, but jsut play with zoom in and out (not taking pic / thus sensor not exposed to the sun) its to kill germs + potential fungus for now..
jacklsw86
post Mar 22 2007, 01:07 AM

LYN spirit
1,662 posts

whoa like that also boleh

0.0174sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:27 AM