Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Maxis VoLTE, When will maxis having this features?

views
     
shaktiv8
post Oct 18 2020, 10:40 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(Dozz @ Oct 18 2020, 07:52 PM)
43.0 ? Can you do a screenshot please ??
*
I’m on 44 and still no volte too! It’s really frustrating when they can’t rollout nationwide at once, or allow us to force opt in like Umobile and their sms activation
shaktiv8
post Oct 19 2020, 12:37 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(netbeans @ Oct 18 2020, 11:37 PM)
Mine iOS 14.0.1, carrier profile Maxis 42.0
*
I see, maybe mine is different because i'm on the public beta? or i'm using an esim
shaktiv8
post Oct 19 2020, 10:19 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Oct 19 2020, 08:11 AM)
It is a shame really.
They take more than three years just to introduce VoLTE.
Whereas my Digi number is VoLTE ready since 2016.
And also VoWiFi ready.
I wonder how long they gonna take to introduce VoWiFi?
😂😂😂

user posted image
*
I don’t think they ever will. Too easy to avoid roaming call charges. In that sense, Umobile is the best
shaktiv8
post Oct 19 2020, 10:20 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(vez @ Oct 19 2020, 07:50 AM)
i using esim too still 42.0
but able to use volte already smile.gif
*
That’s sweet! Are you in Klang valley area?
shaktiv8
post Oct 19 2020, 11:09 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Oct 19 2020, 10:51 AM)
is hotlink pospaid also support for volte like maxis ??
*
yess

but i am maxis postpaid and i still can't use volte lol.
shaktiv8
post Oct 19 2020, 10:24 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(dannychen @ Oct 19 2020, 10:00 PM)
Just called Maxis again, customer service told me that the VoLTE are still under testing for selected users only. It is yet to be launched for all users. Still no exact time frame for the exact launch yet. They need one month to test on the stability before they will be able to launch it for the general public.
*
That’s really unfortunate.
shaktiv8
post Oct 19 2020, 11:03 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(ionStorm @ Oct 19 2020, 10:35 PM)
Phased rollouts are necessary when doing anything at scale. It helps manage risk and user experience.
*
yap that seems fair, but when I asked the customer service agent she kept insisting that I should have VoLTE as it has been activated nationwide, and she even made a report for me lol

but i understand need for this type of rollout, thanks for pointing it out
shaktiv8
post Oct 19 2020, 11:07 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(raymondwong1808 @ Oct 19 2020, 10:36 PM)
Hi may i know where is your house location ? Just to understand if only my area is affected. Thanks.
*
Are you Klang Valley? I think they are afraid the infrastructure can't handle so many people without adequate testing

When I was with digi, VoLTE at my university always failed, making me sound like a robot

i'm guessing they're trying to avoid destroying their reputation among the professions and high end users who rely on their networks stability and reliability


my cousin in ipoh has it already btw
shaktiv8
post Oct 21 2020, 01:42 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(vez @ Oct 21 2020, 08:19 AM)
now on iOS 14.1 and maxis carrier profile 43.0
VoLTE seems still working

i have one household member with maxis multisim, tested both iPhone using multisim and VoLTE not working

seems as stated by forumer above, multisim VoLTE not working
*
I’m on 44 but it still doesn’t work for me. Sick of this ahhaha

user posted image
shaktiv8
post Oct 23 2020, 02:19 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(netbeans @ Oct 23 2020, 10:20 AM)
Curious .. is it being enabled based on location?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
*
I think so. Maybe based on population density and importance of stability in that location.

I live right next to University Malaya Hospital, 4G here has always been bad with fluctuating signal strength at different times of the day.

I don’t expect to get anytime soon 😂
shaktiv8
post Oct 25 2020, 03:45 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(KCY3701 @ Oct 24 2020, 07:22 PM)
I wonder would Maxis also introduce VoWiFi in the future? Might be beneficial for those who have weak indoors connection, and also for those using VoWiFi to call back home from overseas.
*
Lol maybe 2030 only
shaktiv8
post Oct 30 2020, 12:56 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(NagaK @ Oct 30 2020, 12:39 PM)
I’m paying only Rm48 but still I pay  RM1500+ since they combined all plan prices and fibre connection under one account 🤦🏻
*
you're the same guy i saw on twitter complaining weii, they already said just wait until november 3rd la, if still doesnt work then complain to them
shaktiv8
post Oct 30 2020, 01:41 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(NagaK @ Oct 30 2020, 01:25 PM)
Bruh they never said that I should wait until November 3 instead of that their staffs giving me silly reasons like ( i never known about VoLTE) I used VoLTE with Digi many years for now smile.gif
If he/ she said that I need wait November 3 means I won’t complain then bro. FAQ stated like that but why maxis staffs can’t have proper answer? I really don’t know what their Managements are teaching them!!!

user posted image
*
understandable. the staff didn't know what was happening at the start, but they have updated their page. ill send u the link



https://www.maxis.com.my/support/network/mo...an-enjoy-volte/
shaktiv8
post Oct 30 2020, 09:56 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Oct 27 2020, 05:17 PM)
anyone whose phone model not in the list but still received VoLTE?
*
My mothers Note 10 Lite got VoLTE today. My fathers Note 10 and my 11 Pro have not got it yet. Same account but she is principal and my dad and I are supplementary

She didn’t have to enable anything, just came on on it’s own and she was asking me what the sign means 😂😂
shaktiv8
post Oct 31 2020, 07:36 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(mfa682 @ Oct 31 2020, 06:48 PM)
Very very very very very late. Better late than never though.
Good point. I always have problem when truecaller pops up with unknown number. When I get inkambing call, the network data switches from 4g to 3g and its giving any apps a hard time to retrieve data from the Internet.
I understand the frustration. Perhaps maxis is not making a good preparation to embrace this.
Indeed. Glad to know that since the Note 10 series can make volte call eventhough they are not listed in the supported device list. At least that would solve some problems on their end in future. Hopefully, older device will be supported when volte has been fully rolled out nation wide. What concerns me now is whether we have to change SIM or not to get volte. Is changing SIM considered as renewing the contract? I hope not  sweat.gif
*
Hello! Nope you don't need to change sim to enjoy volte, and even if you need to change or replace your sim in the future it does not affect your contracts
shaktiv8
post Nov 2 2020, 02:42 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


QUOTE(p4n6 @ Nov 2 2020, 11:32 AM)
The Samsung list updated but no news for Note10+ still ...

SAMSUNG
S20 FE 5G
A10S
M10
A71
A51
Note 20 Ultra 5G
Note 20 5G
Note 20
*
My moms note 10 lite got maxis volte so I assume the plus would get it automatically too
shaktiv8
post Nov 5 2020, 03:28 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


Anyone notices a drop in signal strength after the activation of VoLTE? My area has been full strength 4G since before lockdown

All of a sudden these past two days it’s been at 1 bar when I’m connected to WiFi and when it turn off WiFi it goes to 2 bars but nothing more than that
shaktiv8
post Nov 21 2020, 11:46 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
205 posts

Joined: Sep 2014


I got a missed call from this number +60 3 2770 4611 and when I call back it switches to 3G instead of VoLTE and cuts out

Is there a reason why some numbers can’t be called using VoLTE ?

 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0209sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2020 - 11:13 PM