Do you want Xbox Live to be Official in Malaysia?, Do you actually want it?

TSHamster X
post Feb 26 2007, 05:11 PM, updated 16y ago

315 posts

BEFORE VOTING READ THIS TO CLEAR EVERYTHING UP

- This poll is about Xbox Live NOT the launch of the Xbox 360 itself. Who wouldn't want the 360 to be official? Surely no one would say no to easier warranty claims right? Therefore assuming Xbox 360 is already launched here, would you want official Xbox Live?

- What I mean is Xbox Live itself, where you can set your region to Malaysia, and have Malaysia-exclusive content, tehbotol excel energy drink adverts, video content that knowing the government, the content probably suck due to various censorships. Think about it, knowing the government here do you think MS points will be cheaper? Who knows, they might be, they might not be. Have a good think about it before voting. And also most importantly, MORE TRASHTALKERS LIKE EFFRET EPALMERAH WILL COME

This post has been edited by Hamster X: Feb 28 2007, 09:07 PM
SUSleenaz
post Feb 26 2007, 05:15 PM

29 posts

ada takder sama jer
yang ada nie pun dah meriah
pikaphebat
post Feb 26 2007, 05:16 PM

199 posts

ada pon ok gak.. mana tau leh dapat murah sket subscription dia ke..
michael9413
post Feb 26 2007, 05:16 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

i hope it will be available..
as the warranty wise is much better for us... smile.gif
marauderz
post Feb 26 2007, 05:33 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

errr... trash talking is the norm on online games man. If you don't like to hear some one just mute him, the options right there on the guide, select the person from your list and select mute! tongue.gif

Hitman190
post Feb 26 2007, 05:42 PM

589 posts

Are you joking??

Hell Yes for official live !!
un9ku
post Feb 26 2007, 05:43 PM

335 posts

dont mute me niggggggahhhhhh. w000t biggrin.gif ima kick yo big a$$ for the trouble
terranova
post Feb 26 2007, 05:44 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Feb 26 2007, 05:16 PM)
i hope it will be available..
as the warranty wise is much better for us...  smile.gif
i think threadstarter was talking about xbox live (online service), not official launch of the console in MY.
the_registered
post Feb 26 2007, 05:44 PM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

Of course!!!! We can have a bigger community of XBOX fans then!
un9ku
post Feb 26 2007, 05:51 PM

335 posts

xbox live is available anywhere as long as u have internet connection, look at what we're on laugh.gif crack tongue.gif. as for official launch, doesnt that mean that there must be a physical location in malaysia that will handle the sales, warranty n stuff?
nargoe
post Feb 26 2007, 06:12 PM

87 posts

no one voted no YET tongue.gif

my answer will be ... yes cool2.gif
TSHamster X
post Feb 26 2007, 08:23 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(nargoe @ Feb 26 2007, 06:12 PM)
no one voted no YET tongue.gif

my answer will  be ... yes cool2.gif
Someone voted 'No' rclxm9.gif
|Keantan|
post Feb 26 2007, 08:26 PM

407 posts

zomg which nitwit voted no XD

everyone knows what my answer is going to be anyways so i dont need to say...

but. ah well.. hahah of course its a hell yea man tongue.gif
SUSleenaz
post Feb 26 2007, 08:39 PM

29 posts

wat is XD symbol means??\
saw a lot of that symbol around this forum??
acougan
post Feb 26 2007, 09:18 PM

590 posts

a great dream~ official xboxlive malaysia without official 360 being sold.
better than india ~ official 360 sold w/o xboxlive india tongue.gif tongue.gif
TSHamster X
post Feb 26 2007, 09:19 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Feb 26 2007, 09:18 PM)
a great dream~ official xboxlive malaysia without official 360 being sold.
better than india ~ official 360 sold w/o xboxlive india tongue.gif tongue.gif
Wrong, there is Xbox Live... sweat.gif
scpt
post Feb 26 2007, 09:22 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

Must be some Sony/Nintendo boy who voted no doh.gif
Hitman190
post Feb 26 2007, 09:24 PM

589 posts

Hoi!!!

Who voted no???

Im going to break his/her legs and feed it to the locust!!!

mad.gif

This post has been edited by Hitman190: Feb 26 2007, 09:26 PM
blackshirt
post Feb 26 2007, 09:52 PM

Goodwell Car Detailer
1,313 posts

Yes of cause smile.gif
aegis`-
post Feb 26 2007, 09:58 PM

1,480 posts

yea then xbox malaysia staff will say
apa? apa?
tiga lampu merah yang maut
InLove
post Feb 26 2007, 10:17 PM

142 posts

i think the xbox360 must arrive here 1st be4 xboxlive
no xboxlive if no xbox360

mistaman
post Feb 26 2007, 11:56 PM

177 posts

weihh jangan kutuk gomen msia!

Added on February 26, 2007, 11:57 pmweih jangan kutuk gomen!!

This post has been edited by mistaman: Feb 26 2007, 11:57 PM
zio
post Feb 27 2007, 09:41 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Actually I would like to vote No for different reasons. Seriously, such a thing could be a double edged sword.

For one, contents for Malaysia could be seriously limited. The Censorship board would want to look at whats available etc

Secondly, Microsoft could just say, "Now they will be happy with Live, maybe we dont need to launch the 360 here". They could take the stance of giving you Live and hope that you are happy that they never launch the 360 officially here.

The positive side could be that Microsoft will finally be able to actually see how many XBOX gamers are there in Malaysia actually. Not to say they cant do it now, just that it needs a lil more work.

So yeah, I feel the poll is a bit too restricting. I would prefer to see the launch of the 360 in Malaysia. Then we can get Live and official support over here.
marauderz
post Feb 27 2007, 10:01 AM

3,390 posts

I think it's pretty safe to say that MS Malaysia will either launch the 360 here with Live, or not at all. It'd be foolish to only launch Live only. It doesn't make sense.
michael9413
post Feb 27 2007, 11:28 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yeah... if you have here live you sure have the official office support here...
then everything will be much at ease for us... smile.gif
Sd-RawK-Cab25
post Feb 27 2007, 08:35 PM

Yiw maaaaaader!
595 posts

i wanted to vote, but there wasn't a "HELL F'N YEAH" button, so i voted "NO".

tongue.gif yea rite..

btw, leenaz: XD is an emoticon symbol. symbolizes someone extremely happy till they close their eyes similar to what is seen when someone is having an orgasm or when they shit out bricks (only when shitting out bricks it should technically be X~~O )

SUSleenaz
post Feb 27 2007, 09:13 PM

29 posts

oooo
thanks for ur info
Kernkraft400
post Feb 28 2007, 04:47 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

tehbotol ?? That's so Indo.
TSHamster X
post Feb 28 2007, 06:49 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Feb 28 2007, 04:47 PM)
tehbotol ?? That's so Indo.
That's why it's scratched off.
daidzz
post Feb 28 2007, 08:22 PM

165 posts

i really would like lag-free games to be played..
nargoe
post Feb 28 2007, 08:55 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(daidzz @ Feb 28 2007, 08:22 PM)
i really would like lag-free games to be played..
of course, who wants to play with lag doh.gif
SUSleenaz
post Feb 28 2007, 09:13 PM

29 posts

luna loves what
got some extra advantage
u can ciansaw people
but people cannot shot you
tongue.gif
TSHamster X
post Feb 28 2007, 09:15 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(leenaz @ Feb 28 2007, 09:13 PM)
luna loves what
got some extra advantage
u can ciansaw people
but people cannot shot you
tongue.gif
*warp left*
*warp right*
*warp left*
*warp right*
*ngeng! ngeng!*
*ngeeeeeeeeeeeeeeng!!!!*
SUSleenaz
post Feb 28 2007, 09:16 PM

29 posts

hamsterx..
ur oncamping mode at here or wat??
tongue.gif
TSHamster X
post Feb 28 2007, 09:24 PM

315 posts

I camp 10 mins la not like you you camp 10 hours sweat.gif

Eh when your nephew grows up... Tell him to build a chainsaw and use on grandpa-version unkool laugh.gif
SUSleenaz
post Feb 28 2007, 09:32 PM

29 posts

hahahah
i only camping at my offices durng working time only

MobiusVyper
post Feb 28 2007, 11:00 PM

Livin' Ultralife.
1,249 posts

Official Xbox Live + Unofficial Xbox 360? hmm.gif
munky
post Mar 1 2007, 12:19 AM

1,971 posts

mobi u sak
un9ku
post Mar 1 2007, 02:19 AM

335 posts

mobi can u do me a favor n shove an apple down ur brother's throat. laugh.gif tongue.gif
Roland San
post Mar 1 2007, 09:20 AM

262 posts

poor apple. what did he do wrong?
TSHamster X
post Mar 1 2007, 04:29 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(un9ku @ Mar 1 2007, 02:19 AM)
mobi can u do me a favor n shove an apple down ur brother's throat. laugh.gif tongue.gif
QUOTE(Roland San @ Mar 1 2007, 09:20 AM)
poor apple. what did he do wrong?
rclxub.gif
michael9413
post Mar 1 2007, 05:37 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

the apple had no do sin...

they are very kind already...
never poke the apple into the apple into the arse...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Mar 1 2007, 05:38 PM
thurtin
post Mar 1 2007, 05:51 PM

277 posts

if you asked me, the real question is when they gonna launch the 360 officially. like marauderz has said, it doesnt make sense for msoft to just launch Live here without the console.

so what im saying is that this thread is a bit irrelevant. tongue.gif

PS: anyways, msoft MY is on to the things happening with the local 360 scene. i know that for a fact.

several "key" malaysian and regional 360 folks have been snooping around town, especially around GH. is this a sign that we're close to an official launch?

dont ask me because i dont have the answer. smile.gif

PPS: go bug marauderz for the answer instead!

This post has been edited by thurtin: Mar 1 2007, 05:51 PM
acougan
post Mar 1 2007, 05:59 PM

590 posts

^wah, sounds interesting, maybe the team conducting "feasibility study" at GH. or maybe they were there to buy crackdown for their halo3 beta tongue.gif tongue.gif

local 2008 launch coming sooner than we think?
oniee
post Mar 1 2007, 06:03 PM

133 posts

i don't think that MS will do it - unless we eliminate all the pirates or at least contained the situation ( like what they are doing in KL right now )...

acougan
post Mar 1 2007, 06:07 PM

590 posts

well s/w piracy is always a controllable/containable problem. ofcos, the cost of policing/ containing it is not cheap or always feasible.

LoL, even bill gates will shake in his boots if all of china goes open source and legit instead of being infested with pirated windows, LoL.
thurtin
post Mar 1 2007, 06:15 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(oniee @ Mar 1 2007, 06:03 PM)
i don't think that MS will do it - unless we eliminate all the pirates or at least contained the situation ( like what they are doing in KL right now )...
never say never. the 360 is in india and india is not exactly a pirate free market.

acougan
post Mar 1 2007, 06:29 PM

590 posts

a guesstimation article abt xbox india

http://www.gameguru.in/features/2007/19/sa...the-real-story/

xboxlive india is still pending (lousy infrastructure)

^ i think their main problem is electronics (videogames) taxes and the fact they got roped in PAL terrotories - i.e. games are expensive. not sure how games are locaized there, i'm guessing English only?

compare to india or singapore, our local community is doing better than expected. within days of crackdown release, the mygamercard.net tracking SGP gamertags show a sizeable M'sian contigent. haha, all hope is not lost
TSHamster X
post Mar 21 2007, 05:49 PM

315 posts

Vote here if you haven't icon_rolleyes.gif
Beatmasta
post Mar 22 2007, 09:51 AM

Drummer Guy
577 posts

i'd like to see xbox live officially available in msia soon , would be a great new to all xbox gamer.
cylon
post Mar 22 2007, 02:36 PM

882 posts

There's nothing wrong with launching X360 without locally base Xbox Live. It happens in Columbia and Brazil.

I wouldn't be surprise if they launch Xbox Live without official launch of X360 for in coming months a few "Game for Windows" running on pc will support Xbox Live.

michael9413
post Mar 22 2007, 02:46 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yeah there is the possibility....
greyshadow
post Mar 26 2007, 04:31 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Just last week a little bird from M$ m'sia told me there's some big shot from a big big local chain retail store are interested to carry the X360, wanted to become the official launcher here.
Now they still nego with M$, and nothing solid yet. But if the deal really goes thru, EVERYONE CAN AFFORD A X360!!!

why I say everyone can afford a X360 if they succeeded? whistling.gif
hint: the retail store can be found in almost every state, in almost every major town. Shop color are Yellow and Blue. whistling.gif

That's all I know... and don't ask me for further info... I got to know this because of the slip of the tongue from the little bird whistling.gif
Hitman190
post Mar 26 2007, 04:41 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 26 2007, 04:31 PM)
Just last week a little bird from M$ m'sia told me there's some big shot from a big big local chain retail store are interested to carry the X360, wanted to become the official launcher here.
Now they still nego with M$, and nothing solid yet.  But if the deal really goes thru, EVERYONE CAN AFFORD A X360!!!

why I say everyone can afford a X360 if they succeeded? whistling.gif
hint: the retail store can be found in almost every state, in almost every major town.  Shop color are Yellow and Blue. whistling.gif

That's all I know... and don't ask me for further info... I got to know this because of the slip of the tongue from the little bird whistling.gif
Not April Fools Joke right?? tongue.gif tongue.gif
marauderz
post Mar 26 2007, 04:44 PM

3,390 posts

Yellow And Blue? Every state, oh god.. courts mamooth... sigh...
Eisenmeteor
post Mar 26 2007, 05:00 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Courts Mammoth,realli going to sell the console ar..dat's good i guess..

Courts Singapore also same company rite?

This post has been edited by Eisenmeteor: Mar 26 2007, 05:01 PM
Hitman190
post Mar 26 2007, 05:11 PM

589 posts

Wei Ikea also yellow and blue what....

Then again there are alot of mamak stalls who use yellow and blue... hmm.gif
Mr. Alby
post Mar 26 2007, 05:12 PM

128 posts

MYDIN wei!!!!! rclxms.gif
Hitman190
post Mar 26 2007, 05:15 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Mar 26 2007, 05:12 PM)
MYDIN wei!!!!! rclxms.gif
HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

Good one ...maybe... tongue.gif
nargoe
post Mar 26 2007, 05:16 PM

87 posts

digi?? blink.gif
TSHamster X
post Mar 26 2007, 07:16 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Mar 26 2007, 05:11 PM)
Wei Ikea also yellow and blue what....

Then again there are alot of mamak stalls who use yellow and blue... hmm.gif
Maybe the swedish dudes/dudettes lost their interest on the Xbox 360 whistling.gif
marauderz
post Mar 26 2007, 10:47 PM

3,390 posts

Ikea or MyDin doesn't have a store in every state right?
acougan
post Mar 26 2007, 10:49 PM

590 posts

so? we going to camp out at courts M? tongue.gif tongue.gif

wonder what installment plans and extended warranty plans they will sell whistling.gif
judge-the
post Mar 26 2007, 10:57 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Mar 26 2007, 10:49 PM)
so? we going to camp out at courts M? tongue.gif tongue.gif

wonder what installment plans and extended warranty plans they will sell whistling.gif
dont think so msia will ever give free hdtv to first 100 owners lah...
greyshadow
post Mar 27 2007, 09:14 AM

1,844 posts

guys... it's still at negotiation state only... nothing concrete yet
but I'm crossing me fingers hoping it will go thru....
imagine, getting a X360 tanpa cengkeram and with installment brows.gif
and no worries about 3ROD rclxm9.gif
if M$ are manage to sell the X360 like this, they are really gonna kick $ony ass in M'sia tongue.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Mar 27 2007, 09:15 AM
Lord_Ashe
post Mar 27 2007, 09:22 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Hmmm. Never liked Courts Mammoth - they usually make buyers pay MORE after installments than with just the 0% installment package Credit Card companies offer.

But we shall wait and see...
greyshadow
post Mar 27 2007, 09:50 AM

1,844 posts

anyway... it's a good thing if everyone can afford a X360 thru the installment plan, even if at the end of the day the total price are slightly higher.
Same with paying the so called credit card 0% installment plan, you still need to pay extras like the 3%-5% credit charges as most of the shop won't absorb it, plus the processing fee for the 0% installment plan, which can be from RM50 - RM120, depending on which CC you're using.

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Mar 27 2007, 09:51 AM
michael9413
post Mar 27 2007, 11:59 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

ha... process fees is the 3-5% la..
duno la... but i'm hoping for the 360 to arrive to our shores...
coz then no need to so troublesome to get warranty from MS in SG
Lord_Ashe
post Mar 27 2007, 12:11 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Mar 27 2007, 09:50 AM)
anyway... it's a good thing if everyone can afford a X360 thru the installment plan, even if at the end of the day the total price are slightly higher.
Same with paying the so called credit card 0% installment plan, you still need to pay extras like the 3%-5% credit charges as most of the shop won't absorb it, plus the processing fee for the 0% installment plan, which can be from RM50 - RM120, depending on which CC you're using.
OT I know but,

I've never been charged the RM 50 - RM 120 processing fee, so maybe you can PM me in what situation this happens? I've bought stuff using 0% before with various CC and it's always as they say - 0%...but then again I stick to HSL or Best Denki which don't even charge the 3-5%...
Mr. Alby
post Mar 27 2007, 12:18 PM

128 posts

as far as i know....
only Std Chartered charge RM30 processing fee for every 0% installment plan...

...and the 3% charges is usually bank charges for CC transaction...

and big chain store usually dont charge customer for CC transaction..

michael9413
post Mar 27 2007, 01:17 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

ya lo... well S.Charted ok la.. RM30 only nia...
i duno y ppl say there are still more charges after the processing fees...
i think they all kena con liao...
all standard isn't it... certain amount or 3%-5%... that one only nia...
greyshadow
post Mar 27 2007, 03:19 PM

1,844 posts

OT again...
Errmmm... dunno leh... last time I was charged RM60 for the 0% installment plan as the so called processing/application fees thingy, was buying from SENQ... using HongLeong card
There's once I also kena RM30 or something like that when buying from a furniture shop, using Citibank.
acougan
post Mar 27 2007, 03:40 PM

590 posts

lets start speculating what game will be launch together. what rating is Assasin's Creed? if it is not too violent, it'll be a perfect for a Malaysia launch, no? or maybe something family friendly like V.Pinata?
SUSleenaz
post Mar 27 2007, 03:45 PM

29 posts

viva pinata??
never heard b4
tongue.gif
greyshadow
post Mar 27 2007, 04:01 PM

1,844 posts

Free lifetime Live! Gold membership!!! tongue.gif

(PS: you'll have to give your butthole to Bill Gates first laugh.gif)
TSHamster X
post May 22 2007, 08:43 PM

315 posts

*bumps for newbies to vote too*
izaman
post Jun 1 2007, 10:50 AM

234 posts

my father being cheated once at courts mammoth. want to buy a washing machine. price was very cheap if compared to other store. but when at check out my father ask about warranty and the sales person said he had to add another amount of money so that he can get official warranty. at the end of the day, the price will be the same. so, here my example based on my father's experience if x360 sold in malaysia by courts mammoth.

PROMOTION!! Xbox 360 cheapest in this region: RM1100 only at courts mammoth.

but got very very tiny asterisk near the sentence. have to add another RM500 for warranty. the price is the same coz who the heck want a x360 without official warranty (for me la....dont know u guys)

hehee. just example only la ekk...but based on true story.
verced
post Jun 1 2007, 01:43 PM

168 posts

For 100 bucks, I will take it without warranty. biggrin.gif
TSHamster X
post Jul 16 2007, 06:16 PM

315 posts

*bumps topic*
MonsterJ9
post Sep 3 2007, 11:56 PM

244 posts

http://www.sayyoursay.com/

Why we can't do like this?
Have to try

This post has been edited by MonsterJ9: Sep 3 2007, 11:56 PM
TSHamster X
post Sep 4 2007, 12:22 AM

315 posts

...wasn't South Africa already official? I thought JudgeTHE is on SA local? mellow.gif
scpt
post Sep 4 2007, 01:17 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

Well they say their numbers are several thousands...
refnulf
post Sep 4 2007, 09:21 AM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

To be honest, having XBOX Live would be pretty great if it's official for Malaysia. No more snooping around, piggy backing off our Singaporean neighbours, etc. But it still wouldn't solve the XBOX issues we're having right now.

They're all rather inter related. Having to register using Singapore address (we're going to run out of them eventually). Then having to call up Microsoft support with that Singapore address from within Singapore itself. Going hundreds of km to Singapore just to exchange the console. With the 3ROD problem, it could be a hundred times in the console's life cycle.

The snooping around, the hiding, etc. It reminds me of the time I was courting my wife. Hiding from the parents, waiting a block down the road for her, etc.

If it's going to happen, it needs to be either an official XBOX 360 launch along with the XBOX Live or nothing at all. Having some extra content and being able to download themes isn't high on my list if there's so many other issues, etc. I doubt Microsoft is interested in launching one without the other anyway.

Regarding the piracy, I don't think it's a problem. It's not as though Microsoft doesn't have other vested interest in the country. They are bringing in their whole catalogue of softwares, etc. What's a few games? If they didn't have a foothold in this country then I would say it'll be a problem with extra cost, etc but I don't think this could be a problem.

If we have XBOX 360 and XBOX Live officially in this place, games would be a tad bit cheaper (since they'll be bringing it in bulk). I'm not sure about other content online, but the games will definitely be a little bit cheaper. Hell, things go well enough Malaysia would be a cheaper option to actually mass produce those games. Singapore will have to start getting it from us instead.

All in all, many things that could happen. Would be great if they supported the gamers here by releasing it live. They could at least make an attempt to support the gamers here by getting everything official. With the 3ROD problem, establishing a service center, or at least a place that accepts local consoles would be great enough so we don't have to travel all the way to Singapore to do it.

Taman Linkin
post Sep 4 2007, 10:04 AM

Bijes
1,657 posts

Meh, stop dreaming. MS hates us Malaysians.
MonsterJ9
post Sep 4 2007, 02:03 PM

244 posts

We need to do a petition for LIVE

This post has been edited by MonsterJ9: Sep 4 2007, 02:03 PM
huss_wuss
post Sep 4 2007, 05:08 PM

i tot we did long time ago? with loads of piracy goin on.. i dnt think ms wld agree.. yet..
TSHamster X
post Oct 19 2007, 09:31 PM

315 posts

All you newbies can vote.
jackal_x2005
post Oct 20 2007, 06:16 PM

236 posts

yeah...local made content would be nice...can download form marketplace... tongue.gif

neogeocdz
post Nov 17 2008, 11:45 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Feb 27 2007, 09:41 AM)
Actually I would like to vote No for different reasons. Seriously, such a thing could be a double edged sword.

For one, contents for Malaysia could be seriously limited. The Censorship board would want to look at whats available etc

I voted yes.

On the Censorship issue i agree with you.
We Xboxer should think twice if we really get to choose.

Malaysia Censorship authority is one of the dumbest.
Once they get their hand into Live or Wiiware we are in serious shit,
they might ban content based on their dumb "discretion".

You know..... Super Mario 3 might be ban because "Pricess Peach clothing is too revealing",
or GoW 2 DLC might be banned because it "incite hatred between different races" (Make sense, Locust vs Human).

If we Xboxers protest any censorship decision,
Utusan might run a series of report labeling us "communists" or "Terrorists" etc etc...

Maybe leaving us alone is a better choice.

Hitman190
post Nov 17 2008, 11:49 PM

589 posts

SUPER THREAD RESURRECT!!
MmxZero
post Nov 17 2008, 11:52 PM

189 posts

Dude, why the hell the thread pop out back?
TSHamster X
post Nov 22 2008, 12:08 AM

315 posts

The newbies keep coming so why not?

Besides, the bumper made a very good point.
marauderz
post Nov 22 2008, 12:14 AM

3,390 posts

if it happens it'll happen. so forget about wasting time on polls that have no effect
steventanz
post Nov 22 2008, 12:18 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(neogeocdz @ Nov 17 2008, 11:45 PM)
I voted yes.

You know..... Super Mario 3 might be ban because "Pricess Peach clothing is too revealing",
or GoW 2 DLC might be banned because it "incite hatred between different races" (Make sense, Locust vs Human).

Utusan might run a series of report labeling us "communists" or "Terrorists" etc etc...

Maybe leaving us alone is a better choice.
yeap..agreed..not a good idea if its under the control of malaysia censorship..an official launch of xbox 360 and the support in Malaysia is good enough for users here
TSHamster X
post Nov 22 2008, 12:24 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Nov 22 2008, 12:14 AM)
if it happens it'll happen. so forget about wasting time on polls that have no effect
This poll shows public opinion, as it is intended to do.
PrivateJohn
post Nov 22 2008, 12:48 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

^
Where is him?
TSHamster X
post Nov 25 2008, 12:56 AM

315 posts

Sleeping in the living room.
trogdor1oh1
post Nov 25 2008, 11:27 AM

101 posts

You know if you think about it,there won't really be much of a difference if XBox Live was official in Malaysia.
Service would be probably about the same...

It would be much better if the XBox 360 just officially launched here,then we would get full support from Microsoft.
TSHamster X
post Nov 25 2008, 03:17 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Nov 25 2008, 11:27 AM)
You know if you think about it,there won't really be much of a difference if XBox Live was official in Malaysia.
Service would be probably about the same...

It would be much better if the XBox 360 just officially launched here,then we would get full support from Microsoft.
If XBL was official, the content that would be available to users located in Malaysia would be restricted by the Malaysian censorship board.

In other words, most of everything wouldn't be available.
isis
post Nov 25 2008, 03:29 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(neogeocdz @ Nov 17 2008, 11:45 PM)
I voted yes.

notworthy.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif my thoughts exactly!!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif notworthy.gif
haris
post Dec 6 2008, 05:15 PM

172 posts

Let me add some additional point supporting sheer idiocy of MS not releasing it officially in M'sia with no Life support some more.

1. The only true solution to piracy is education. And in this case it should be education / information specific to not pirating Xbox 360 games. How to educate Malaysian if it is not even release here officially?

2. Right now. The first real exposure one will get to the console is when trying to buy it. And guess what. Retailers will offer moded console (eventhough it is not moded ala mod chip etc). Highlighting the advantage of able to play copy game. This is the education that this generation of Malaysian get. One may wonder the effect of this negative feedback to the next generation too.

3. Live is the main reason why not to mod console and play copy games. There is some inherent risk of the console knowing that a disc is copy disc, cache the information and ban the console once someone sign in to Live. But right here in Malaysia, just buy moded console, play copy game and don't ever login to Live. And everything is set. It is not just that there is no reason to login to Live. It is also that Malaysian are not allowed to login to live. Encourage more piracy. Go figure.

I honestly think that MS should rethink their strategy. Focus more on doing the right thing (aka education, raise public awareness, etc). Not releasing it in Malaysia due to piracy sounds like an idiotic argument. The better argument will be due to small market, which IMHO singapore has even smaller.

After years of waiting. Honestly I have give up on this biggrin.gif. So here is for another would be moded console owner who will prolly play copied games. Because waiting for official life & official support sounds like a bad idea at this so late of the console life time.

Cheers!

deodorant
post Dec 6 2008, 05:21 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Just a question:

If MS didn't ban modded consoles from Live, how many of us here would honestly say we'd 100% support original?

For me, I'm not so sure. On one hand I'm all-original now cos I don't want to be banned from Live (and the 3rrod issue). But on the other hand I hardly ever play online anyway -- my style of game is more offline/single player e.g. RPG's. I've had Gold for the last 2-3 years, but I can honestly count the number of times I've played online as less than 30.

[edit] To make things worse, we have bullsh*t like, buying GoW2 limited but being unable to redeem the lancer/map pack due to IP issues. WTF is this?

So sometimes I wonder, is it worth the money?

This post has been edited by deodorant: Dec 6 2008, 05:23 PM
PrivateJohn
post Dec 6 2008, 07:41 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(haris @ Dec 6 2008, 05:15 PM)
Let me add some additional point supporting sheer idiocy of MS not releasing it officially in M'sia with no Life support some more.
1) original games community is the best education?

Regarding the launch in Malaysia...forumer pmsoo shared his thought on this subject before which I think make the most sense. (forgot which thread)

Microsoft first & foremost is a software company...there have only like what, 2 consumer hardware out in the market - Zune & xbox360? It's not as easy as it sounds to simply launch a hardware here.
They do have a service center here but that's mainly for all the software like windows, office etc. So ya, we have official windows support here laugh.gif

Comparison with Singapore is not valid though. Their country is smaller but the authority is doing everything they can to stop the growth of piracy market, while legitimate games market seems bigger too. At the moment Malaysia government can't seems to bother with it.

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 6 2008, 05:21 PM)
Region IP lock on regional content is not a Malaysian specific problem, it applies to everyone else especially the non-Live countries. Also Microsoft is not the only one taking this "precaution" for copyright issues...although it seems bull from a consumer perspective.

It's always less hassle & less worries when playing original games compare to modding your console. This matters alot for a working adult + <insert any real life commitment you have>
If everyone has given up on original gaming, the chances of us seeing things official here will be 0 to none and nobody will ever take us seriously. At the end of the day, buying original game is still the right to do regardless of all setback.

You can't say i am not satisfy with BigMac, so tonight I am going to McDonald and steal one...it's either you stop buying BigMac, complain to McDonald or CAPSLOCK rant in a forum laugh.gif Alternatively, you can go burger king.

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Dec 6 2008, 07:47 PM
MmxZero
post Dec 6 2008, 07:45 PM

189 posts

Just a question:

If MS didn't ban modded consoles from Live, how many of us here would honestly say we'd 100% support original?

For me, I'm not so sure. On one hand I'm all-original now cos I don't want to be banned from Live (and the 3rrod issue). But on the other hand I hardly ever play online anyway -- my style of game is more offline/single player e.g. RPG's. I've had Gold for the last 2-3 years, but I can honestly count the number of times I've played online as less than 30.

[edit] To make things worse, we have bullsh*t like, buying GoW2 limited but being unable to redeem the lancer/map pack due to IP issues. WTF is this?

Worth of money is depend on your type of what do you see in gaming. For me going online and laughing and having fun with frens, then yes is worth it.

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Dec 6 2008, 07:41 PM)
1) original games community is the best education?

Regarding the launch in Malaysia...forumer pmsoo shared his thought on this subject before which I think make the most sense. (forgot which thread)

Microsoft first & foremost is a software company...there have only like what, 2 consumer hardware out in the market - Zune & xbox360? It's not as easy as it sounds to simply launch a game console here.
They do have a service center here but that's mainly for all the software like windows, office etc. So ya, we have official windows support here laugh.gif

Comparison with Singapore is not valid though. Their country is smaller but the authority is doing everything they can to stop the growth of piracy market, while legitimate games market seems bigger too. At the moment Malaysia government can't seems to bother with it.
Region IP lock on regional content is not a Malaysian specific problem, it applies to everyone else especially the non-Live countries. Also Microsoft is not the only one taking this "precaution" for copyright issues...although it seems bull from a consumer perspective.

It's always less hassle & less worries when playing original games compare to modding your console. This matters alot for a working adult + <insert any real life commitment you have>
If everyone has given up on original gaming, the chances of us seeing things official here will be 0 to none and nobody will ever take us seriously. At the end of the day, buying original game is still the right to do regardless of all setback.

You can't say i am not satisfy with BigMac, so tonight I am going to McDonald and steal one...it's either you stop buying BigMac, complain to McDonald or CAPSLOCK rant in a forum laugh.gif Alternatively, you can go burger king.
SG is better cause country small ma, so easier lor. Malaysia, hmm still damn hard cause too big. ( maybe someone setup a factory for pirating in middle of jungle? )
dark lenanza
post Dec 6 2008, 08:57 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

Just a question:

not worth it
i tell u
now im thinking better support pirate
still can online
no new map
just find another room
simple as dat!!!!
wink.gif
steventanz
post Dec 7 2008, 12:04 AM

247 posts

well..i will also like to add in the fact that microsoft is not official here could also lead to more piracy users because there is simply not much difference in terms of warranty..if u use an unmodded machine, u can claim warranty but need to pay for the courier and pray that the new machine that u get wont rrod again..if u use a modded one..then u can also fix it at almost the same price or maybe cheaper

This post has been edited by steventanz: Dec 7 2008, 12:05 AM
eismeal
post Dec 7 2008, 10:15 AM

MICROSOFT SMAKERSHROFT!!!!! wat ever it is .... i just play LIVE and enjoy playing original.

Agreed with the long statement by heart from our brother here... i feel you man... but what to do ... all this i blame the GOVERNMENT!!! because they are the ones are cost of it all....

I have 1001 ways to wipe out pirated skims!! NO SERIOUSLY I HAVE.... Its a matter of the government NAK TANAK!!!!

They busy with their own affairs... things like this which is important they tutup sebelah mata. TYPICAL MALAYSIANS!!! ALWAYS HAVE NEGATIVE THINKING TOWARDS SOMETHING LIKE THIS. So they couldnt be bothered.

Gaming community is huge and Malaysia gaming community is huge. If i know someone in the politics, i would have fight this all true... cause how the hell is the people going to be educate if there is no chance for the education to pass through...

Ahhhhh!!!!!!!! i've been playing game since i was a baby... and give up waiting for official this and that.... WE GAMERS OF MALAYSIA ARE LIKE THE PALESTINIAN or THE ISRAELIST ... never ending WAR!!!!!!!! cool2.gif

ps: I'm done waiting ...............

deodorant
post Dec 7 2008, 11:57 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(eismeal)
They busy with their own affairs... things like this which is important they tutup sebelah mata.
One word: Corruption. You think the authorities don't have any financial incentive to tutup mata sebelah towards piracy?
eismeal
post Dec 8 2008, 11:48 AM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Dec 7 2008, 11:57 AM)
QUOTE(eismeal)
They busy with their own affairs... things like this which is important they tutup sebelah mata.
One word: Corruption. You think the authorities don't have any financial incentive to tutup mata sebelah towards piracy?
To wat level can you take into corruption bro.... this so called category falls under one department.... how many KEPALA IS THERE!!!??? If the leader like monkey ... the workers also like monkey... enough said.

Ayo... nanti kite masok ISA pulak.. better leave the topic as it is hahahhahaha. whistling.gif

ps: Do you notice most of ASIA games are 'MADE IN SINGAPORE' ??? go figure if you know what i mean... or see what i see..
zemang86
post Mar 9 2010, 01:12 PM

14 posts

[quote=eismeal,Dec 8 2008, 11:48 AM]

[/quote]

To wat level can you take into corruption bro.... this so called category falls under one department.... how many KEPALA IS THERE!!!??? If the leader like monkey ... the workers also like monkey... enough said.

Ayo... nanti kite masok ISA pulak.. better leave the topic as it is hahahhahaha. whistling.gif
ps: Do you notice most of ASIA games are 'MADE IN SINGAPORE' ??? go figure if you know what i mean... or see what i see..

[/quote]

we are all under one system that exist long time ago.
IccyAsd
post Mar 9 2010, 01:21 PM

846 posts

do you notice this is a year 2008 dec 8 post?
dark lenanza
post Mar 9 2010, 01:40 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

ahahahahahaha
zemang86
post Mar 9 2010, 01:47 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Mar 9 2010, 01:21 PM)
do you notice this is a year 2008 dec 8 post?
haha, no. just looking for info on xbox live
navigator
post Mar 9 2010, 02:42 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(zemang86 @ Mar 9 2010, 01:47 PM)
haha, no. just looking for info on xbox live
good, next time you know where to read before you post. hahahahaha
Hitman190
post Mar 9 2010, 07:55 PM

589 posts

thread resurrection WIN
nizam80
post Mar 11 2010, 05:37 PM

253 posts

Voted already.... in 2010... wahaha
TSHamster X
post Mar 11 2010, 11:28 PM

315 posts

Wei, who defib my thread?
AntiVenom101
post Jul 20 2010, 01:36 PM

i REALLY think it would be good 2 hav XBL here in m'sia.....i mean, c'mon....Netflix!!
Kyoyagami
post Jul 20 2010, 01:37 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(AntiVenom101 @ Jul 20 2010, 01:36 PM)
i REALLY think it would be good 2 hav XBL here in m'sia.....i mean, c'mon....Netflix!!
Netflix is stuck in US. If not, the Wii and even the PS3 would have gotten it already.

0.0708sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:36 AM