2017 Elantra Sport, Turbo Version

kluseng
post Jan 25 2017, 04:47 PM

473 posts

Looks like a winner. This will be the hottest sedan in C-segment able to tapau the Civic X turbo.

This post has been edited by kluseng: Jan 25 2017, 04:47 PM
kluseng
post Jan 25 2017, 06:51 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jan 25 2017, 06:46 PM)
Sounds promising but I still don't like the design and still doubtful of the reliability. laugh.gif
Will this be on CVT also?
It will be on 7 speed DCT. CVT is for the puny and sissy Civic turbo.
kluseng
post Feb 21 2017, 02:50 PM

473 posts

Hi laurateoh, can you tell us when the Elantra Sport is coming?

kluseng
post Mar 21 2017, 12:00 PM

473 posts

Unfortunately Korean models don't have a lot of leeway on price due to the strength of the Korean won and being CBU.
kluseng
post Apr 14 2017, 08:24 AM

473 posts

Pricing the Elantra Sport at the RM130,000 mark would put it head to head with the Civic 1.5 tuurbo and above the Mazda 3 HS. NOt an easy sell but not excessive also. There will be takers from those who prioritize performance over resale value.

kluseng
post May 25 2017, 09:35 PM

473 posts

Just wait until they back down on price when sales suffer just like the Hyundai Veloster turbo.

kluseng
post Jun 2 2017, 02:33 PM

473 posts

For RM125K better go for the Mazda 3 GVC high spec. RM135K for the turbo isn't going to sell many. It will be the most expensive non-luxury C-segment car in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by kluseng: Jun 2 2017, 02:34 PM
kluseng
post Jun 7 2017, 09:03 PM

473 posts

For the same price as the Civic turbo I would choose the Elantra 1.6T for these reasons (not that I'm in the market for another 3 years)

1. More powerful
2. DCT is better for spirited driving than CVT
3. Built quality should be better than Honda's shitty CKD quality
4. Not impressed with Civic crab rear lights.
5. Has sports mode for an exhilarating drive and normal mode for family drives
6. Elantra has 3 years free service.
7. Honda's maintenance schedule for Civic turbo is ridiculous!

Lower RV doesn't bother me. I buy a car to enjoy, not for investment.

This post has been edited by kluseng: Jun 7 2017, 09:03 PM
kluseng
post Jun 8 2017, 11:22 AM

473 posts

I'm impressed with how Korean cars keep improving from model to model. The perception that K cars are technologically inferior to Jap cars is no longer valid. In fact they are moving ahead of Japs with turbo charging. Japs still have no confidence to turbocharge their engines. The Honda Civic turbo is just a whimpy effort. It has just about enough power to beat the NA Mazda 3 but only just. Coupled with CVT is a waste of time. Look at the power of the Elantra Sport and the Kia Optima GT. Jap car manufacturers have stagnated just like Jap electronics. They are too conservative.
kluseng
post Jun 9 2017, 08:33 PM

473 posts

The red leather seats look so Ah Beng. Do they have other options? (Not everybody who likes powerful cars are young la...some are young at heart. biggrin.gif )

kluseng
post Jun 12 2017, 12:36 PM

473 posts

Elantra turbo is priced RM2K more than Jetta Highline. Which is a better choice?

Power: Elantra beats Jetta

Reliability: I think Korean cars have the edge over Conti.

Resale Value: The previous model Elantra has very good RV. Not sure about the turbo but should not be worse than a Jetta.

After sales service: Both aren't the best but Hyundai have more SCs to choose.

kluseng
post Jun 20 2017, 07:17 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(DigitalMop @ Jun 20 2017, 04:31 PM)
too all the hyundai sales person, why cant you include the manual variant?
and why does the US get a sunroof while we dont have? and why is the price higher than civic while US is lower than the civiC?

if came with a better seat, better side door panel and manual. conlanfirm ill buy it. but for now. the whole car feel like half pail water. like mau kasi tapi tak mau kasi.

juz include back the sunroof dun giv nonsense like safe weight, if mau save weight remove spare tyres and give us run-flat tires
Run flat tyres is a bad idea for this segment of car. They are not targeted at high income people like Merc and BMW. Run flats are expensive (about RM1K per tyre), uncomfortable and wear out fast. They cannot be repaired and may need to be replaced in pairs. It is also hard to tell if they are low on air so they need tpms.

kluseng
post Jun 22 2017, 10:34 AM

473 posts

These days how much can you mod a car and still keep the warranty? All you can do are cosmetic items like rims and spoilers. Don't even think of touching the engine compartment with cold air intake and exhaust header; even a drop in filter need to be replaced with the standard filter before you send for service. You can't even install an aftermarket alarm without voiding your electrical warranty much less change the HU.

For new cars the modding ecosystem is not really a factor which influence sales. The Elantra AD will rise or fall based on its price. Lets see if HSDM has set the price wisely.
kluseng
post Jun 22 2017, 02:24 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jun 22 2017, 01:35 PM)
Then why are there such a huge market for Honda aftermarket parts? even for the new City/Jazz/Civic?

And it's not just modding, there is also the factor of getting cheaper OEM parts for wear and tear items or after the warranty expires. Imagine everytime an absorber konk you must bring it back to Hyundai and be tiok-ed, because you can't get it anywhere else, or any cheaper alternative.

The small aftermarket ecosystem may not bother most, but it is still a factor. And as your car ages, it will become a major factor.
Lots of independent Korean car parts suppliers now. You will never have to step into a Hyundai or Kia SC after warranty if you don't want to. Like Jap cars Korean cars don't require specialist mechanics unlike conti makes like Ford, VW, Pug, etc

kluseng
post Jun 23 2017, 11:23 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jun 23 2017, 08:40 AM)
I'm sure more units than Elantra Turbo DCT. (Can't compare Veloster Turbo because two-door, and overly done).

dstl1128, what have you been smoking? laugh.gif
kluseng
post Jul 5 2017, 09:50 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jul 5 2017, 08:29 PM)
Yes, no gear hold and rev quickly. Almost too fast for the uncle reflex to keep up. For non special trained driver like me, can utilize the power at straight line or long high speed corner only, no way I capable of using the full power at winding road.

To add on: top speed at gear 1 (~45kph), 2 (~80kph), 3 (~120kph). So gear 1,2,3 are aggressive which give the good 0-100 time. Gear 4 is almost 1:1 ratio, and gear 5,6,7 are overdrive. Cruising at 80kph, the car select gear 5 only. Probably rarely use gear 7 in Malaysia's road.

I'm going to disappoint those thinking to smoke Civic here, don't try and it is not safe to do street racing. The advantage really at 0-100 when in gear 1,2,3, the kick ass acceleration gone once go into gear 4. Both car will be at even ground in the open road, whoever prepared at the right gear and rev will win. Be safe driver and enjoy driving guys. thumbup.gif

So if you are cruising at 80km/h in gear 5 and you want to overtake the acceleration is ordinary only?

kluseng
post Jul 10 2017, 07:29 PM

473 posts

Hyundai Elantra promotion video. Very dramatic.

kluseng
post Jul 11 2017, 03:08 PM

473 posts

If CKD why the price so high? confused.gif
kluseng
post Jul 11 2017, 03:22 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 11 2017, 03:11 PM)
Coz the tactic see market response 1st
If no buyer then 10-15k disc
Looks like the market is not impressed. brows.gif
kluseng
post Jul 12 2017, 09:43 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 12 2017, 10:47 AM)
How does the interior compare with Mazda 3 facelift high spec? To me this is one of the best quality interior I've seen and it is cheaper than the Elantra turbo.

Power alone isn't going to sell the Elantra turbo. For RM135K buyers expect better than Myvi interior.
The Elantra Sport interior doesn't do it for me. The air vents design looks like from 1990s, the steering buttons look overdone and messy and the two aircon control knobs look like radio knobs. The use of the traditional handbrake means the sad looking central console can't be improved. Overall the dashboard looks like from a decade ago. As for the red leather inserts the less said the better.

The Mazda 3 interior looks much better. Modern looking air vent designs with nice use of chrome, the 3 aircon control knobs have a luxury look, the steering buttons look neat and sleek and the leather wrapped central console with sliding cover looks like from a luxury car. The all black leather interior looks classy.

0.0174sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 05:34 PM