2017 Elantra Sport, Turbo Version

throx
post Jun 19 2017, 06:56 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jun 19 2017, 06:50 PM)
Can swap with 2.0 seat ?
2.0 seat is not full leather.
throx
post Jun 21 2017, 10:18 AM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

Anyone test drive the 2.0NA Elantra ? How is it compare to the turbo ?
throx
post Jun 21 2017, 11:44 AM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jun 21 2017, 11:26 AM)
i kenot brain this... u mean performance ?
Performance of course is not comparable la. I mean is the 2.0NA drive OK for normal use.
throx
post Jun 21 2017, 12:17 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

I am incline to the turbo but feel that the price does not justify the package. Considering also 2.0NA since it is 10k cheaper.
throx
post Jun 21 2017, 01:33 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jun 21 2017, 01:23 PM)
Dun buy... Later regret if 1.6t discount to 120k
Not buying now. Will wait at least until end of the year or early next year.
throx
post Jun 22 2017, 12:03 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 22 2017, 11:58 AM)
Yes, auto car need to step brake also. However, for manual, got an extra step which is to clutch/declutch the tranny and repeat that every single time in a stop/go traffic congestion. That is at least 50% more effort and do that for 2 hours, not fun at all. 

You say people are lazier, well that is a major factor. People don't even want to walk a few extra steps/minutes from a proper car park lot but die die want to double/triple park just in front of the shop they want to go. So to choose which requires least effort, quite a non brainer choice to make.

And those old days where manual is favoured, another major concern was due to the fuel consumption and reliability. Newer generation auto pretty much negate that disadvantage now. Coupled with the fact that there is an exponential increase in car volume and also traffic congestion, constant clutching getting less favoured.
In fact the Elantra turbo 7-speed DCT outperform the manual version in both performance and fuel consumption.
throx
post Jun 24 2017, 03:36 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 23 2017, 06:57 PM)
Who on earth dunno its the driver driving style affect the fc, for sure i asking DCT vs CVT is base on the same driving style , which will have better fc haha
It would be still difficult to know unless the same car model sold in 2 versions : DCT and CVT. Then only we can make a fair comparison.
throx
post Jun 29 2017, 06:24 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

This thread so quiet. Any news on the leather seat ? Can change ?
throx
post Jun 29 2017, 09:59 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

No one here buy the car yet ? Not seeing any on the road either. Sales must be very bad then.
throx
post Jun 30 2017, 03:17 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(Khoiyat @ Jun 30 2017, 12:26 PM)
Since this car is quite overprice based on many forumer's word, why not choose volkswagen jetta 1.4 HL. It's also turbocharged yet dual clutch. Resale value both car also bellow japanese rival. Features i think elantra might win. Anyone else got compare with this jetta with elantra before?
Maintenance cost and resale value of Hyundai should be better than VW. Plus the look is really no match.
throx
post Jun 30 2017, 10:20 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(ketupatlazat @ Jun 30 2017, 09:24 PM)
too little too late to introduce the new Elantra here in the local market

primarily due to the current Civic's offerings, and Elantra's pricing does not help it either

and would you look at that interior man. Hyundai has failed big time on their current line-up's interior

for the average customer, it is pretty hard to compete with the Civic when your advantage is only a slightly faster car and losing out massively on the other aspects
That's why it's stupid for Hyundai-Sime Darby to think that they can sell Elantra turbo at 135k.
throx
post Jul 1 2017, 12:50 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jul 1 2017, 11:10 AM)
I did, during raya holiday. Waiting for loan approval. Been looking for a more powerful compact sedan, almost book the Civic early this year and accidentally came across the news about Elantra Sport and decided to wait. Test drive once and book immediately.

The key differentiators for me vs Civic are not what most people look at, and not related to performance at all. I think power wise both cars are more than adequate and well above the class standard. Handling wise I'm leaning toward Elantra Sport firm continental like setup. After so many years of highway car sick in Toyota. rclxub.gif

Ok, first is the driving position. I like to hold the steering at 4 and 8 o'clock position and rest the elbows on the car seat. As you can imagine, this is impossible in Civic unless I move the car seat so close to the steering wheel that I have not leg room. In Elantra Sport, I found my preference position within seconds. The thick side of the semi bucket seat is perfect for my elbows rest. LOL. Also my wife also complains the Civic low hip point seat will give her difficulty when she pregnant, what can I say as a good husband?

Second is my master brake pump phobia in the old Toyota. I have numerous experience both as passenger and driver. Everytime, the good old school mechanical handbrake come to rescue. So I try to avoid electronic parking brake. Sadly, from market trend, handbrake will be gone in my next car change.

Third is I can not stand the sluggish HU in Civic. Elantra Sport is way smoother, close to Mazda3 smoothness. Although both Elantra Sport and Madza3 are no where near the Galaxy S8/iPhone 7 silky smooth. If any HU at that level, it would be a dream to use. HU with Snapdragon 835 maybe? Then Civic HU is deeply integrated to the car climate control, upgrade option is limited. Elantra Sport is HU is relatively simple, no build in GPS, just media player, bluetooth, USB. Maybe due to the light (or lack of?) features, it need less powerful processor. You will need Android Auto/Apple Carplay. But plenty of aftermarket options.

Fourth, the DCT is surprising smooth. No jerk at all, passenger won't notice it is a DCT in a blind test. I think it is due to extremely short first gear, max 45km/h at 6000rpm. So if you in stop go traffic ant 10'ish or maybe 20km/h, you are looking at 1500-2000 rpm. This is well above engine stall speed, and DCT clutch can be fully engaged even at slow speed. I think cleverly design gear ratio, with some scarification of the fuel economy.

Fifth, I hate the red seat, but my wife love it. All my 70's/early 80's friends hate it, all my late 80's/90's friend cool with it. Maybe really millennial generation gap. Decided to let the red seat be.
Congrat ! thumbup.gif First one to buy the car at this forum.

What color did you choose and was there any discount given ?
throx
post Jul 3 2017, 03:42 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

How long you guys are willing to wait ?
throx
post Jul 3 2017, 09:34 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

I only hope the price can drop to around 120k. Ioniq HEV+ with so much more features only cost 117K, how can they justify Elantra turbo at 135k ? Turbo engine might be more complicated and expensive but cannot be more expensive than a hybrid with 2 set of drivetrain, right ?
throx
post Jul 3 2017, 10:26 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 3 2017, 10:01 PM)
There is significant tax incentive for hybrid vehicles or they would be more expensive than ordinary vehicles. I think rm10k normal discount for Elantra Sport is possible and maybe rm15K discount just before the facelift model.
Both Ioniq and Elantra Turbo are classified as EEV. Not sure if there is any difference in terms of tax rate between hybrid and non-hybrid EEV.
throx
post Jul 4 2017, 12:17 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 4 2017, 11:29 AM)
i monitor santa fe 2.2d price... from 181k can get 150k... believe no issue for SD to give disc
How long it takes for them to start giving out big discount like that ?
throx
post Jul 4 2017, 01:51 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 4 2017, 01:29 PM)
1-1.5yr
That's quite long. I plan to change my car by the end of this year or early next year, hopefully there will be a year end sales.

I think most of us who are interested with Elantra turbo can surely afford the 135k asking price. Just that we feel the price cannot justify the package offered. For me, the reasonable price should be in 120-125k range. I'll buy if the price come down to that range.
throx
post Jul 5 2017, 11:00 AM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 5 2017, 07:55 AM)
Lucky i got "two" plate no... Kekeke
Urr... can you enlighten me ?
throx
post Jul 11 2017, 03:20 PM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 11 2017, 03:06 PM)
SKD kot... Pasang tayar je
I also think is SKD, but more than just pasang tayar.

QUOTE(sitescope @ Jul 11 2017, 03:11 PM)
Coz the tactic see market response 1st
If no buyer then 10-15k disc
Looking forward for it to happen. whistling.gif

throx
post Jul 12 2017, 09:26 AM

Team Arsenal
1,020 posts

QUOTE(poilam @ Jul 11 2017, 11:02 PM)
Test drived , power tip top.

However, interior quality wise seems like myvi
What's your take, RM135k worth it ?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top