Any expert here? I am indeed need of help in term of
how to start..
what to buy..
function i m interested is detecting the object that cannot be seen with normal light...
UV and IR photography
Feb 26 2007, 10:44 AM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,193 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sungai Petani |
Any expert here? I am indeed need of help in term of
how to start.. what to buy.. function i m interested is detecting the object that cannot be seen with normal light... |
Feb 26 2007, 11:04 AM
718 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
I'm no expert here but I do know that U need to have filter if u want to tray IR & UV photography. Try google around. Or ask in photog forum such as photokaki.com or photomalaysia.com or clubsnap.com
Feb 26 2007, 11:21 AM
interested in looking on blood or sweat this kind of thing...
Feb 26 2007, 11:44 AM
4,744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
hmmm if u want cheap and good IR filter, go to digicolor@mutiara complex along jalan ipoh 1. There 1 IR filter is around rm55. According to ablnok it's as almost the same as Hoya's RM90 IR filter. IR filter usually darkens the whole image so a higher exposure value is need to get the correct exposure. And 1 vital thing, is your camera sensitive to infrared? to do this, get a remote control, point it towards your camera, then use your camera to take a photo. If u can see a red light, then your camera is IR sensitive - you're good to go for IR photography.
Feb 26 2007, 11:52 AM
how bout UV? izzit jz hoya filteR?
how bout nikkor lens? |
Feb 26 2007, 12:36 PM
Feb 26 2007, 01:44 PM
do we need to use nikkor lens with hoya filter?
Feb 26 2007, 04:12 PM
Feb 26 2007, 04:26 PM
my camera will be f-mount camera.
so what is the purpose of nikkor lens anyway? i heard this lens not multicoated... it will allow uv and ir into it.. |
Feb 26 2007, 04:53 PM
2,502 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuching,Kuala Lumpur, Gifu,Japan |
nikkor lens = f mount? what lens are you talking about?
Feb 26 2007, 05:05 PM
i m not saying nikkor lens = f mount..
i jz asking whether what is the function of nikkor lens? |
Feb 26 2007, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Feb 26 2007, 04:26 PM) my camera will be f-mount camera. there's nothing wrong with allowing uv and ir into it. Except that UV will degrade the quality of your lens in the long run. So the basic thing to do is buy a UV filter for the lens you own. If u want to do IR photography, just get an IR filter and screw it infront of your lens. so what is the purpose of nikkor lens anyway? i heard this lens not multicoated... it will allow uv and ir into it.. QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Feb 26 2007, 05:05 PM) Nikkor is the brand of lenses produced by Nikon Corporation, including camera lenses for the Nikon F-mount.There's no typical function. It's just lenses. And some are built with VR(vibration reduction) and some are not. Some are meant to be professional that's why the pricing of some of the lens are up to 5k or more. In other words, It's the name of the series of the lens that nikon gave to their lens lo here are some knowledge for the Nikkor lens http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nikon_F-mount#Nikkor http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nikkor This post has been edited by R a D ! c 4 L: Feb 26 2007, 08:41 PM |
Feb 27 2007, 12:35 PM
4,956 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
I highly suggest you get an old Canon Powershot or Nikon Coolpix 990/995. Those are very sensitive to infrared, and allow you to use Manual Exposure mode so you can expose long enough.
You need to buy a cheap roll of film, pull it out and expose to light, then process the negatives for RM5. Take those black strips and put at least two layers in front of the digicam. Details here. CLICK! If you try to shoot infrared with a digital SLR you'd have to expose at least 2 seconds. A digicam lets you get to 1/8 seconds, if it's very bright. If you want even faster infrared speeds, you can open up an old digicam and remove the infrared filter. I've done it before (CLICK!) There is a more legitimate non-hack way; get a film SLR and infrared film (which is expensive and has very strong grain.) I don't even know where you can find IR film. I think you're talking about OLD Nikkor lenses that are not multi-coated. However, this is meant to be used with film SLRs and IR film. But if you do find it, remember that you have to refocus based on the red infrared dot instead of the normal focus mark. Also, if you have a lot of money and F-mount lenses, you can buy the Fujifilm S3UVIR. That fully supports UV and IR photography. |
Feb 27 2007, 01:53 PM
fuji s3uvir is a digital camera?
any digital camera that can be use for uv and ir? |
Feb 27 2007, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Feb 27 2007, 01:53 PM) yeah it is. And's its a DSLR =/check it out here http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/S3UVIR/S3UVIRA.HTM albnok already suggested two. Why are you keep on asking questions that's already been answered? No offence though, are you even reading the post rightly? |
Feb 27 2007, 11:33 PM
no offence here... but in my mind i kinda want to turn my line scan camera to capture uv and ir..
his method cannot work with my line scan camera... |
Feb 28 2007, 01:35 AM
4,956 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
No offense here, but:
AIYO say so lah you have a line scan camera waste my time only to explain about other cameras! I hope that's less technical and fully understandable. Anyway, it is best that you contact your manufacturer then, to capture UV/IR. ALL naked CCDs are very sensitive to IR. If you dare, open up your line scan camera and remove the blueish IR-blocking filter. CCDs are not very sensitive to UV. Film was very sensitive to UV. So, to shoot UV, get a uncoated old lens, a film SLR (and make sure there's no UV filter), a infrared-pass filter (which also blocks out normal light, leaving only UV) and snap! |
Feb 28 2007, 02:09 AM
QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Feb 27 2007, 11:33 PM) no offence here... but in my mind i kinda want to turn my line scan camera to capture uv and ir.. his method cannot work with my line scan camera... I dont think there's a way to do so. Unless you do the film thingy suggested by albnok. Did u even do the test i told you to? to check and see whether your camera is sensitive to infrared? let me remind you, the test where u point the remote towards your camera and see whether your cam picks up the infrared? |
Feb 28 2007, 10:07 AM
will try thanks guys
Feb 28 2007, 04:25 PM
1,139 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
just to ask..
are you taking about ir=infrared camera that detect heat and so on? once i was confius with the term IR photography and IR photog use in predective maintenance. i use FLIR camera... is it the same? FLIR camera detech heat emmited by any BODY.. so i get color code of temp range instead of actual person/ thing images... using this definately u can trace un seen blood trace or unwanted trace like CSI series |
| Change to: | 0.0195sec
5 queries
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:12 AM |