Laptop suitable for engineering design work?

TSGuar308
post Jan 22 2017, 06:10 PM, updated 8y ago

80 posts

Dear All,

I plan to buy a laptop for work but not sure which one to choose, could you all give a suggestion?

I'm not a gamer, but I will need to use the laptop for engineering software i.e. StaadPro, Autocad drawings, ANSYS, SACS, USFOS and may be SolidWork sometime. Initially I'm thinking to buy a desktop + a laptop, however after think about licensing issue and also file transfer problem it will be better if I keep all the files in one laptop. The preferably screen size would be 14" and above since it's a bit hard to work on small screen for the modelling.

Thank you.
warpig
post Jan 22 2017, 06:19 PM

147 posts

ur budget? if need power go for hq processor and gtx graphic card gaming laptop straight
sickworms
post Jan 22 2017, 06:29 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(Guar308 @ Jan 22 2017, 06:10 PM)
Dear All,

I plan to buy a laptop for work but not sure which one to choose, could you all give a suggestion?

I'm not a gamer, but I will need to use the laptop for engineering software i.e. StaadPro, Autocad drawings, ANSYS, SACS, USFOS and may be SolidWork sometime. Initially I'm thinking to buy a desktop + a laptop, however after think about licensing issue and also file transfer problem it will be better if I keep all the files in one laptop. The preferably screen size would be 14" and above since it's a bit hard to work on small screen for the modelling.

Thank you.
you need laptop with nvidia quadro or amd firepro to use those very demanding engineering software.

http://www.dell.com/my/business/p/precisio...-workstation/pd

http://www.dell.com/my/business/p/precisio...-5520-laptop/pd

This post has been edited by sickworms: Jan 22 2017, 06:32 PM
shirogawawa
post Jan 22 2017, 06:30 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

yeah, budget ?
TSGuar308
post Jan 22 2017, 07:20 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(sickworms @ Jan 22 2017, 06:29 PM)
you need laptop with nvidia quadro or amd firepro to use those very demanding engineering software.

http://www.dell.com/my/business/p/precisio...-workstation/pd

http://www.dell.com/my/business/p/precisio...-5520-laptop/pd
How much are these laptops??

QUOTE(warpig @ Jan 22 2017, 06:19 PM)
ur budget? if need power go for hq processor and gtx graphic card gaming laptop straight
QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Jan 22 2017, 06:30 PM)
yeah, budget ?
Honestly, I don't have the idea for the price for the laptop required for those software. Can a get a laptop suitable for these software with price around RM6000?
myway1985
post Jan 22 2017, 07:25 PM

11,471 posts

QUOTE(Guar308 @ Jan 22 2017, 07:20 PM)
Honestly, I don't have the idea for the price for the laptop required for those software. Can a get a laptop suitable for these software with price around RM6000?
for dell... precision m3510 new

or dfo 3510,5510,7510

hp n lenovo oso got workstation.. but price not sure.. slight over 5k lowest spec i think

shirogawawa
post Jan 22 2017, 07:31 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

Dell Precision 15 M3510-I7828GB50-W107 Laptop/ Notebook

(i7-6820HQ, 8GB, 500GB, AMD W5130M, W10P/ W7P)
sickworms
post Jan 22 2017, 09:35 PM

185 posts

either go this website http://www.hardwarezone.com.my/priceLists and check the price
or
http://www.dell.com/learn/my/en/mybsd1/cam...c=my&l=en&s=bsd

because dell precisions laptop are customizable to user reqiurements, so the price different, unless you choose those pre-build

what i normally do is call dell customer service, tell them the specs that i want, and they will email the price quotation to me
once i confirm and pay by credit card, they will deliver in 2-4 weeks for customized laptop or 3-5 business day for pre-build laptop

This post has been edited by sickworms: Jan 22 2017, 09:45 PM
warpig
post Jan 22 2017, 09:48 PM

147 posts

to be honest workstation laptop with quadro or firepro not cheap. Normally purchased by enterprise. Is better to get a desktop if gaming laptop not high end enough for u. As pricing wise not so worth it from consumer point of view unless u really like to draw 3D it.
TSGuar308
post Jan 22 2017, 10:37 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(warpig @ Jan 22 2017, 09:48 PM)
to be honest workstation laptop with quadro or firepro not cheap. Normally purchased by enterprise. Is better to get a desktop if gaming laptop not high end enough for u. As pricing wise not so worth it from consumer point of view unless u really like to draw 3D it.
My daily work will be more to StaadPro, SACS, USFOS and 2D AutoCad drawings only. I believe the requirement for graphic for these software might be not so high except for AutoCad, but 95% I only use it for 2D drawings.
The frequency to use ANSYS is not high, and also normally for small and local item, won't be large model.
Solidwork can be ignored if it required too high level graphic card.

Honestly, if can buy a cheaper one for sure I would like to save the money.

This post has been edited by Guar308: Jan 22 2017, 10:38 PM
DuFfz
post Jan 22 2017, 10:40 PM

424 posts

lenovo Y-700..with i7 (hyperthreaded) & GTX 960. can run autocad 2017 smoothly. less than 5k.
sickworms
post Jan 22 2017, 10:47 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(Guar308 @ Jan 22 2017, 10:37 PM)
My daily work will be more to StaadPro, SACS, USFOS and 2D AutoCad drawings only. I believe the requirement for graphic for these software might be not so high except for AutoCad, but 95% I only use it for 2D drawings.
The frequency to use ANSYS is not high, and also normally for small and local item, won't be large model.
Solidwork can be ignored if it required too high level graphic card.

Honestly, if can buy a cheaper one for sure I would like to save the money.
of course you can buy a cheaper one, the question you will face is how fast you need to complete your task
and since u mention those software are very resource demanding, recommend to invest more to get more bang out of your buck, and future proof.

0.0136sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:28 PM