QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Feb 7 2017, 05:54 PM)
Now that'll do in a blink of an eye!Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V29, Speed Upgrade Starting Soon!
Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V29, Speed Upgrade Starting Soon!
Feb 7 2017, 06:37 PM
1,230 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Feb 7 2017, 06:55 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
142 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Just have my Unifi ADV30 package installed few days ago with router D-Link DIR-850L. Just wonder if I need to change DNS to Google DNS for both ipv4 & ipv6? See empty for both the DNS at the setup page of DIR-850L.
Any impact if we don't set the DNS accordingly?? New to this and need help. Thanks all sifu for the advise. |
Feb 7 2017, 07:16 PM
1,305 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Jitra >> Putrajaya |
QUOTE(LionMY @ Feb 7 2017, 06:55 PM) Just have my Unifi ADV30 package installed few days ago with router D-Link DIR-850L. Just wonder if I need to change DNS to Google DNS for both ipv4 & ipv6? See empty for both the DNS at the setup page of DIR-850L. if you dont set them,it'll automatically use TM's DNSAny impact if we don't set the DNS accordingly?? New to this and need help. Thanks all sifu for the advise. if you set them to use OpenDNS or Google DNS, it'll help you to bypass some restricted/banned site (porn site etc2) and a bit of "speed boost" to your connection |
Feb 7 2017, 07:42 PM
142 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(buyoq @ Feb 7 2017, 07:16 PM) if you dont set them,it'll automatically use TM's DNS Thanks bro. How about ipv6? Use Google DNS or Open DNS? Which one better?if you set them to use OpenDNS or Google DNS, it'll help you to bypass some restricted/banned site (porn site etc2) and a bit of "speed boost" to your connection |
Feb 7 2017, 08:01 PM
657 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
Feb 7 2017, 09:32 PM
2,807 posts Joined: Jun 2015 |
Hi guys, currently I am using UniFi Biz 5Mbps. Right now I am having a frequent disconnection from my router. This is really fraustrating but TM told me that they can change it for me. At first I agreed to it but then the CS said I have to pay for the router or if I want it for free, then I have to extend my contract for another two years and if I want to upgrade my package, I will need to extend my contract for another 2 more years, which means if I have upgrade my package in next year, I will have a 3 years contract. So I want to know is the router that TM is giving right now worth it or not. My friend got one brand new C1200 (not C5) from TM a few days ago but I dont know will TM give me the same router as the router is really good.
This post has been edited by mztang52: Feb 7 2017, 09:34 PM |
Feb 7 2017, 09:52 PM
4,622 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(mztang52 @ Feb 7 2017, 09:32 PM) Hi guys, currently I am using UniFi Biz 5Mbps. Right now I am having a frequent disconnection from my router. This is really fraustrating but TM told me that they can change it for me. At first I agreed to it but then the CS said I have to pay for the router or if I want it for free, then I have to extend my contract for another two years and if I want to upgrade my package, I will need to extend my contract for another 2 more years, which means if I have upgrade my package in next year, I will have a 3 years contract. So I want to know is the router that TM is giving right now worth it or not. My friend got one brand new C1200 (not C5) from TM a few days ago but I dont know will TM give me the same router as the router is really good. router should be under warranty if contract not yet finishthats what i know for home user not too sure about biz but not worth extend contract, unless you very sure will use it for next 2-3 years the router tm give not expensive router... 200-300 only if not mistaken |
Feb 7 2017, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(vez @ Feb 7 2017, 10:52 PM) router should be under warranty if contract not yet finish The warranty ends at 1st of Feb 2017. I should redeem it earlier. The router that they gave to my friend is a C1200 which costs RM460thats what i know for home user not too sure about biz but not worth extend contract, unless you very sure will use it for next 2-3 years the router tm give not expensive router... 200-300 only if not mistaken This post has been edited by mztang52: Feb 7 2017, 09:59 PM |
Feb 7 2017, 10:25 PM
671 posts Joined: Jul 2015 From: Shah Alam |
If I'm still in contract does it mean my router still has warranty? I wanna call tm and tell them to change the old white orange dlink router to the archer c5
This post has been edited by Skeuomorphic: Feb 7 2017, 10:29 PM |
Feb 7 2017, 10:32 PM
766 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Penang Island |
QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Feb 7 2017, 10:25 PM) If I'm still in contract does it mean my router still has warranty? I wanna call tm and tell them to change the old white orange dlink to Archer c5 When your contract start? Router, Hypptv Box, and Dek phone only cover with 1 year warranty, but unifi contract is 2 years. |
Feb 7 2017, 10:47 PM
249 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(mztang52 @ Feb 7 2017, 09:32 PM) Hi guys, currently I am using UniFi Biz 5Mbps. Right now I am having a frequent disconnection from my router. This is really fraustrating but TM told me that they can change it for me. At first I agreed to it but then the CS said I have to pay for the router or if I want it for free, then I have to extend my contract for another two years and if I want to upgrade my package, I will need to extend my contract for another 2 more years, which means if I have upgrade my package in next year, I will have a 3 years contract. So I want to know is the router that TM is giving right now worth it or not. My friend got one brand new C1200 (not C5) from TM a few days ago but I dont know will TM give me the same router as the router is really good. Yep, Archer C1200 (3 antenna) will be given after Archer C5 phase out. So lucky |
Feb 7 2017, 11:24 PM
11,836 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah |
unifi being giving me this weird IP and i am getting only 10mbps out of my 30 package, the ip starts with 1.32.xx.xxx
how do i get around solving this, restarting keeps lead me to this IP |
Feb 7 2017, 11:34 PM
3,669 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(noobandroid @ Feb 7 2017, 11:24 PM) unifi being giving me this weird IP and i am getting only 10mbps out of my 30 package, the ip starts with 1.32.xx.xxx Huh....I only get that 1.32.xxx.xxx ip if I enable Ipv6 on my unifi router.how do i get around solving this, restarting keeps lead me to this IP |
Feb 7 2017, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 7 2017, 11:34 PM) my ip v6 is local connection only, in dir850L term means it's offnow on 175.137 but speed still same on test, youtube gets max speed though, which is weird This post has been edited by noobandroid: Feb 7 2017, 11:40 PM |
Feb 7 2017, 11:42 PM
Feb 7 2017, 11:43 PM
Feb 7 2017, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Feb 7 2017, 11:42 PM) Local connection? Are your sure? i m in admin of router, see is local connection only, my guess would be instead the routing problems or damm TM doing something stupid againMaybe it is enabled for your router but not for your connected devices? (Due to unconfigured DHCP server, RADVD etc) |
Feb 7 2017, 11:50 PM
671 posts Joined: Jul 2015 From: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Feb 7 2017, 10:32 PM) When your contract start? Router, Hypptv Box, and Dek phone only cover with 1 year warranty, but unifi contract is 2 years. I first subscribed with unifi back in 2011 with vip5. I was under 24 months contract up until 2013, then I renew the contract; still with vip5 and got another 24 months contract. Then in Nov 2015 when they first offer the "Advance" package which was 30Mbps, I upgraded to it and got the early bird price which was rm169 (i'm still paying for the same price till this day). I guess i'm still contract until this year's nov. Since I first subscribed vip5 until now still using the dir615 router cause they didn't come to change it |
Feb 8 2017, 12:02 AM
766 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Penang Island |
QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Feb 7 2017, 11:50 PM) I first subscribed with unifi back in 2011 with vip5. I was under 24 months contract up until 2013, then I renew the contract; still with vip5 and got another 24 months contract. Then in Nov 2015 when they first offer the "Advance" package which was 30Mbps, I upgraded to it and got the early bird price which was rm169 (i'm still paying for the same price till this day). I guess i'm still contract until this year's nov. Since I first subscribed vip5 until now still using the dir615 router cause they didn't come to change it But Nov 2015 till now already pass 1 year...router warranty only extend by 1 year when you upgrade to adv 30 on nov 2015. If you now request to change router they will charge you or if you want change for free they will extend your unifi contract by another 2 years start from 2017 nov |
| Change to: | 0.0286sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:27 PM |