Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V29, Speed Upgrade Starting Soon!
nikrizal
Feb 3 2017, 12:04 PM
Recommended speed for 4K streaming is 25mbps. I guess if you're in 30mbps, shouldn't be an issue unless you have multiple devices streaming HD video at the same time.
This post has been edited by nikrizal: Feb 3 2017, 12:48 PM
nikrizal
Feb 3 2017, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(christina1 @ Feb 3 2017, 12:06 PM) I better complain to MCMC if they dont upgrade my to 50Mbps by next month. 30Mbps contract gonna expire this month. I strongly think you should!
nikrizal
Feb 3 2017, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(kebeckham7 @ Feb 3 2017, 12:16 PM) 18 ore connect, demo supo duduk asrama...hehehe gura jah....fully utilizes ...50Mbps value for money if got those kind of connection peers at home.
nikrizal
Feb 3 2017, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(christina1 @ Feb 3 2017, 05:37 PM) 12 - 15 devices can stream in HD with multiple devices for 50Mbps? Of course not all those connected devices streaming HD at the same time. Realistically I would say apart of streaming 4K via the tv, probably 6-8 others watching YouTube probably in HD while others probably surfing the internet. So far I have no buffering issue with the current 50mbps speed. I cannot comment what would happen if all these connected devices streaming HD simultaneously
nikrizal
Feb 3 2017, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(christina1 @ Feb 3 2017, 05:57 PM) Is worth it for you to get 50Mbps if 10-15 ppl can access the Internet same time without any buffering issue etc you tube or online movies. I would say it's worth it
nikrizal
Feb 3 2017, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(christina1 @ Feb 3 2017, 07:07 PM) Based on ur feedback 50Mbps will be enough for users like me for the next 3 years.
nikrizal
Feb 7 2017, 03:24 PM
I tried calling Unifi Call Centre, believe it or not, waiting queue now is 60 over calls! Something to do with ThankYouSurprise I believe. people keep asking them!
nikrizal
Feb 7 2017, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(kebeckham7 @ Feb 7 2017, 03:55 PM) during streamyx day, everything sucks....especially when its raining....  .....file above 100MB can give me tears while waiting. How about during tmnet 56kbit/s time?
nikrizal
Feb 7 2017, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(plumberly @ Feb 7 2017, 05:23 PM) Ya good one, the dialup 1515! Or was it 1511? Those old days joining the internet! Now glad to have Unifi, it has reallyimproved my family usage/satisfaction to another level with wifi, streaming etc! Can't wait for my Unifi 50! Ha. New generation now so lucky to straight away experience fast internet..
nikrizal
Feb 7 2017, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(calvinlaw510 @ Feb 7 2017, 05:54 PM) ya...i remember download a 3mb mp3 took 10-20 minutes.  Now that'll do in a blink of an eye!
nikrizal
Feb 9 2017, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(noobandroid @ Feb 9 2017, 01:57 PM) im gonna try to fool the noob tm technician into changing my tin can to the tplink archer 1st, if didnt succeed, then i find alternatives  Would you share the 'fooling strategies'?
nikrizal
Feb 9 2017, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(noobandroid @ Feb 9 2017, 02:28 PM) slow speed Internet, frequently random disconnect and reconnect, wifi reception bad, and other imaginable possibilities under the hood i use qos, and run ipv6(somehow everytime i use ipv6 speed slows down to 7mbps), and run speed test on that qos device and show them Orait thanks
nikrizal
Feb 9 2017, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(jojoe @ Feb 9 2017, 03:33 PM) hi unifi user..... anyone have been free upgraded from 30 to 50mbps? i have the applied the unifi surprice where free upgrade 30-->50mbps and i received sms stated processing and last sms stated completed... So the upgrade process has started! This post has been edited by nikrizal: Feb 9 2017, 05:03 PM
nikrizal
Feb 12 2017, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(yoda @ Feb 12 2017, 07:23 AM) Is it ok/safe to DIY movingĀ the internal fiber routing to another location in one' house ? TM charges is outragous . RM200 to move current fiber port to another wall. If it involves the fiber optic, it'll be costly & risky. You need to have some fiber optic basic tools like splicer and connecters among others. These tools are not cheap. If it involves cables like RJ45, then it's cheap, easier and straightforward. This post has been edited by nikrizal: Feb 12 2017, 11:14 AM
nikrizal
Feb 12 2017, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 12 2017, 11:16 AM) Mana free upgrade ni? Seems like takde orang ada free upgrade?  Your friend didn't say anything recently? They're still processing the system and no timeline given Apparently upgrading will take place by batches, not locations. Hope they'll execute it coming days.
nikrizal
Feb 12 2017, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 12 2017, 12:13 PM) We kena trolled by TM.  Yup we are!
nikrizal
Feb 12 2017, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 12 2017, 12:38 PM) Of course no. Just wondering when only the upgrade will happen. My mobile data is 26GB combined and I have UniFi 30M at home, all for myself without sharing with anyone.  Really! Later you'll get 50mbps!
nikrizal
Feb 12 2017, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 12 2017, 01:18 PM) That's funny but I don't really trust CS' words. Yes, all by myself.  Housemates wanted to share but I prefer not because I don't want people to complain if I hog the line too much. Since I still can afford it, I better use it for myself. Next month I won't be around for the whole month, will be paying for nothing.  Since Dec to Feb, total days I was in PJ house was only around a month but I already paid for 3 months of UniFi.  I think you can share it when you get 50 mbps. Well, you could control the speed & bandwidth using tbe router. You can choose their speed 5,10 or 20 and they should pay according to the speed. Most importantly, this setting won't affect your speed. (Yours will always be 50)
nikrizal
Feb 12 2017, 01:34 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 12 2017, 01:31 PM) Oh is it? If I use 50M and they are using 20M at the same time, it will not affect each other's speed?  Nope! Because you only limit them to 20. Not to yourself This post has been edited by nikrizal: Feb 12 2017, 01:35 PM
nikrizal
Feb 12 2017, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 12 2017, 01:43 PM) Sounds good. I wonder if my Huawei WS-880 router has this feature. I have flashed to Asus XWRT-VORTEX. It's wrt! It should have! This post has been edited by nikrizal: Feb 12 2017, 02:12 PM