Showcasing/displaying your collection,lets discuss, Display box?Glass shelf?custom case?

SUSadvocado
post Sep 22 2008, 09:40 AM

2,948 posts

Sorry to dig up an old post but regarding IKEA DETOLF, how did you guys manage to bring it home? I mean they state "We pack it so it fits even into your Kancil", but I saw the packing it's taller than me, so unless you put it on the roof, it won't fit a Kancil. Even normal car boot doesn't have enough space for it so I'm guessing putting it lying on the front to back passenger seat is the only way, but they 47kg package needs 2-3 person to carry it, how will any normal car fit the cabinet & 3 person??? I don't wanna pay RM65 for the delivery as time of delivery is also an issue.

Also how many people does it take to assemble the whole cabinet? Any better alternatives to IKEA?

I never bought big items from Ikea and I went there alone just to find out the facts, yes I went alone thinking i can get a cabinet back! There's a couple there looking at the cabinets they were also thinking how they gonna buy it...

This post has been edited by advocado: Sep 22 2008, 09:42 AM
SUSadvocado
post Sep 22 2008, 12:03 PM

2,948 posts

That must be your face in ur avatar. Carry 3 by urself! Can post us ur modded instructions for 1 weakling?

Can you give me a measurement on the unbuilt package height? I wanna see if it fits in the boot not.

And do they have White? I only saw Light Brown & Black. Also I heard they were once a promotion for the cabinets RM99 each, anyone know if they doing it again?

I also saw another display got 5 deck, it has something like metal door with locks, but dust gets in more easily due to the gaps. Anyone know how we can mod the Deltof to make it more dust proof? Also how you install lighting? Need drilling, cutting etc?

The cabinet does it come with wheels at bottom? I scare once build it cannot move it...

QUOTE(BeastX @ Sep 22 2008, 11:30 AM)
Built 3 in one go.... the last one took me approx 15 minutes to complete... all done fixing done by my lonesome..  you just need a sturdy wall to layout all the glass.. I modify the building instructions/method, to built it from the bottom up... not top down (and flip it) as suggested, otherwise will be hard to complete it by yourself...

1 unbuilt, just just need 2 average male or just 1 strong person (+ trolley) to carry ...
This post has been edited by advocado: Sep 22 2008, 12:29 PM
SUSadvocado
post Sep 24 2008, 06:32 AM

2,948 posts

Pretty big display cabinet for those small goodies.

Beast how you move your cabinet if it doesn't come with wheels?
SUSadvocado
post Sep 24 2008, 01:50 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Sep 24 2008, 09:33 AM)
40kg is pretty light... pushing force on the bottom wood board with the foot while hands supporting the glass sides... remove contains (+ glass selves).. slow and steady...
Won't you scratch the floor, the cabinet if you do that?
SUSadvocado
post Jan 5 2009, 01:32 AM

2,948 posts

I'm planning to have some customized arcylic display casing made as ready made casings are relatively expensive for big sizes but still can't figure out a standard size, hope you guys can give some ideas so in near future i might be able to have them built in bulk quantity if anybody interested. The reason I want arcylic casing is for "Double Protection", putting them in cabinet isn't good enough but putting them in casings inside a cabinate definately helps keep the dust out.

Right now am thinking of making casing for 12" Figures that can accomodate single or multiple figures. I want to standardize the size so it can accomodate most figures.

Casings for other stuffs will also be considered but right now i want to have somekind of standard on the dimensions.

This post has been edited by advocado: Jan 5 2009, 01:33 AM
SUSadvocado
post Feb 10 2009, 08:57 PM

2,948 posts

dri1 I though your collection on Chogokin probably the most complete in Malaysia. Yet you still have full collection of Zoids OMG what else you have there keeping a secret???

Added on February 10, 2009, 9:01 pmI'm curious how you got those Mazingers shipped over here? How did they manage to pack it and did the Custom hold the item?

This post has been edited by advocado: Feb 10 2009, 09:01 PM
SUSadvocado
post Feb 11 2009, 10:26 AM

2,948 posts

So all your stuffs are in Philipines or Malaysia? Is it easy to get toys over there or you have to buy online and post.

Would be great if you can carry some giant mazingers over to malaysia in your next trip i will be interested in putting them infront of my house.

Ur wife collect transformers? Good on you. I assume you say just MP, TFTM & TFA plus pokemons and McDonalds Happy Meal Toys are actually another huge collection.

The Black Getter 2 was actually offered from a guy in Singapore asking me to sell them, the chogokins price were much lower than here but seems Malaysians are not that into Chogokins, so I gave up. You can try Singapore I'm still seeing Black Getters in Shops.

SUSadvocado
post Feb 11 2009, 01:56 PM

2,948 posts

How much you bought for the lights? Need to drill etc to install it?
SUSadvocado
post Aug 3 2009, 08:22 PM

2,948 posts

Anybody know where to get those foam like lines with glues on one side as shown in Detolf Dust prove method?

What are they called?
SUSadvocado
post Oct 19 2009, 01:32 PM

2,948 posts

I saw somewhere the glue is special & not suppose to be sold to public I think it's hazardous when not applied.

Where did you buy the arcylic sheets, the size & how much they cost?

Cutting the sheets perfectly needs some skill & good cutting tools.
SUSadvocado
post Oct 19 2009, 06:55 PM

2,948 posts

Where can we get Arcylic sheets, arcylic cement & what cutting tools are needed to do good cuttings?

Can get in ACE hardware shop as I don't know any advert company or labs.
SUSadvocado
post Jun 8 2010, 07:18 AM

2,948 posts

Detolf cost rm179, those 2 cabinets esp the one on top would cost at least rm500. But they are bigger.

I saw a nice round shape glass cabinet at shop beside Harvey Norman at Curve, looks pretty nice so i went it to check the price and realise it's over rm3k... same size as Detolf just more stylish.
SUSadvocado
post Jun 8 2010, 07:20 AM

2,948 posts

You can try similiar case in METROJAYA where they sell those rements. Price are not cheap for these small size case which don't have any covers. Better buy a cabinet in your local furniture shop or get a detolf.

QUOTE(xphossis @ Jun 6 2010, 07:13 PM)
Anyone knows where I can get something like this?

0.0497sec    0.18    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:45 AM