diabetic at age 30

sjr
post Apr 1 2017, 04:08 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Apr 1 2017, 03:51 PM)
I'm employed under my own company, so that's a no go.

I use Levemir / Novorapid same as I did in the UK - just buying from pharmacies here as prescription isn't needed. Test strips I still buy in bulk UK and DHL them over as they work out cheaper (and CGMS supplies, not available here)
Double ouch!
I feel you....
How much do they cost inclusive of couriering them here?
rjb123
post Apr 1 2017, 04:12 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Apr 1 2017, 04:08 PM)
Double ouch!
I feel you....
How much do they cost inclusive of couriering them here?
I buy Accu Chek mobile as I like the format (cartridge with 50 tests and the finger pricker attached) which aren't available here, and don't need to carry separate parts.

50 tests cost anything from £10-18 depending on the time and how many I find. They come in boxes of 2 so 100 in total - can send 10 boxes and a spare tester for around £20 or so.
sjr
post Apr 1 2017, 04:52 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Apr 1 2017, 04:12 PM)
I buy Accu Chek mobile as I like the format (cartridge with 50 tests and the finger pricker attached) which aren't available here, and don't need to carry separate parts.

50 tests cost anything from £10-18 depending on the time and how many I find. They come in boxes of 2 so 100 in total - can send 10 boxes and a spare tester for around £20 or so.
That's really cheap. At least 50 cents cheaper compared to the local price here.
I think I'd consider teaching people doing so next time...
rjb123
post Apr 1 2017, 04:55 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(sjr @ Apr 1 2017, 04:52 PM)
That's really cheap. At least 50 cents cheaper compared to the local price here.
I think I'd consider teaching people doing so next time...
Yup - there's lots available on eBay (I guess people that get them FOC and sell on)

The meters themselves are often subsidised by the manufacturer - Accu Chek mobile can often be had for £20-25 and sometimes less, inclusive of 50 tests!

kelsem
post Dec 27 2018, 03:57 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(David_78 @ Jan 20 2017, 12:57 PM)

If you want to taste sweet switch to stevia sugar , dont used those fake sugar like chemical based on that you can get in pharmacy.....Insist only at stevia....

Stevia cannot be taken on a longterm basis. Please read up more about the subject.

kelsem
post Dec 27 2018, 04:20 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jan 20 2017, 02:29 PM)
Please start running at least 5KM a day.
10K steps a day.
At least 160KM a month.

If you're overweight and have knee problems, please consult doctor before you do running exercises. Climbing an incline like the Commonwealth Hill in Seri Petaling is also a good exercise to reduce cholesterol.

kelsem
post Dec 27 2018, 04:57 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Percival II @ Jan 27 2017, 02:39 PM)

But my underarm & neck darkened. It called africanus symptoms. Curious if this suggested pre-diabetes.
Yes definitely a sign of pre-diabetes or even diabetes.
Docile
post Dec 27 2018, 09:45 AM

Naked Sleeper
404 posts

QUOTE(kelsem @ Dec 27 2018, 04:57 AM)
Yes definitely a sign of pre-diabetes or even diabetes.
Just curious, can diabetic consume dates? aka kurma

It's sweet..
SUSslimey
post Dec 27 2018, 10:11 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Docile @ Dec 27 2018, 09:45 AM)

It's sweet..
Haiz.

Didn’t go for diabetic counseling and diabetic diet education?

The answer is depends.
Diabetic diet is based on each individual allowed “bread unit”.
Every food item and quantity has certain assigned bread unit.
So whether allowed to eat or not depends on the bread unit the person is allowed to eat.
Docile
post Dec 27 2018, 10:13 AM

Naked Sleeper
404 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Dec 27 2018, 10:11 AM)
Haiz.

Didn’t go for diabetic counseling and diabetic diet education?

The answer is depends.
Diabetic diet is based on each individual allowed “bread unit”.
Every food item and quantity has certain assigned bread unit.
So whether allowed to eat or not depends on the bread unit the person is allowed to eat.
I'm not a diabetic, but i like to eat kurma
Especially when i'm on low carb diet, kurma is the only sweet thing i consume...

So im wondering if consuming too much of it will cause diabetes or not...
SUSslimey
post Dec 27 2018, 10:16 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Docile @ Dec 27 2018, 10:13 AM)
I'm not a diabetic, but i like to eat kurma
Especially when i'm on low carb diet, kurma is the only sweet thing i consume...

So im wondering if consuming too much of it will cause diabetes or not...
The cause of diabetis is often complex and not due to one single reason.

Docile
post Dec 27 2018, 10:18 AM

Naked Sleeper
404 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Dec 27 2018, 10:16 AM)
The cause of diabetis is often complex and not due to one single reason.
Alright boss. Tq
kelsem
post Dec 27 2018, 01:12 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Docile @ Dec 27 2018, 09:45 AM)

It's sweet..
My son has been a diabetic since he was in his early 30's. I like to believe that I'm pre diabetic. I'm in denial but so far the doctor didn't ask me to take diabetic pills.
Off hand, I will say you can take 1 or 2 dates. It's has fibre but it's kind of concentrated sweetness. If you're like me and don't have discipline, better just forgo it. Just like raisins. Certainly only consume tiny amounts at a time.
I just found out that sugar is addictive, so if you're diabetic, just go easy on sweet stuff especially preserved fruits. Better to just not eat any of these very sweet dried fruits. It is quite easy to go overboard. Or eat one or two if you have just eaten vegetables or meat.
Better stick to apple, orange but small portions. It is still sugar in the form of fructose.

Good health to you
Mrs. Keng
kelsem
post Dec 27 2018, 02:26 PM

22 posts

Ok, I just checked up on Mary Easaw's article about the amount of dates that Muslims can take when they break fast. So my memory served me well because she mentions 1 or 2 dates to eat with their iftar meal. This is with regard to diabetic patients.
Easaw is IJN dietitian & Food Service Senior Manager
icehart85
post Dec 27 2018, 02:44 PM

874 posts

The recent film What the Health raised the question as to whether sugar or other carbohydrates cause diabetes. Because blood sugar levels are high in diabetes, a common notion has held that eating sugar somehow triggers the disease process.  The American Diabetes Association and Diabetes UK have labeled this notion a “myth,” as has the Joslin Diabetes Center, which wrote, “Diabetes is not caused by eating too much sugar.” These and other organizations have worked to educate people about the causes of diabetes and the role that foods play in the disease process.

https://www.forksoverknives.com/new-study-p...ons/#gs.GnKNAMs
aepock
post Dec 27 2018, 02:46 PM

181 posts

i kinda confuse....my daily fasting sugar level is 4.9 but HBA1C is 6.1....am i pre diabetic?
jojolicia
post Dec 27 2018, 03:09 PM

1,911 posts

QUOTE(JeweL_ @ Jan 20 2017, 12:24 PM)
a few days ago doctor say i am diabetic.
i am not shocked, because my family are diabetic.
my mum was diabetic when pregnant with me. - is it true because of this my chances of being diabetic is higher?
doctor say my sugar is very high. like super high. now go down already but still in 11 to 14 range.

at first when he found out high sugar, first few days he keep on inject insulin when my sugar is higher than 14.
so now no more insulin because below 14. so he gave me 850mg metformin 2 times a day for 2 weeks. then 3 times a day for like 2 to 3 months.

i know what i am getting into and well aware what is going to happen.
but i want to understand what is going on with my body right now. i read here and there but i cannot understand a few issues.

i am supposed to be type 2 diabetis. the doctor didn't explain much. asked the diabetic nurse to coach me.
she say because i whacked too much sugar, so now my pancreas is damaged. cannot produce insulin. so need to cut sugar and eat medicine.

i don't understand, so now is my pancreas damaged and cannot produce as much insulin or am i insulin resistant like what they wrote in medical website?
or cannot determine whether my pancreas is doing fine or just that my cells becoming insulin resistant? you just can't tell?

why am i prescribed metformin? what does it really do? from what i can recall it is supposed to make my cells more sensitive towards insulin and make me produce less excess insulin into my blood stream? i need an answer.

why do they need to treat me like a chronic patient?
"unfortunately, you have to live with it now"
"there's no cure, it is a chronic disease, but you still can control it with healthy lifestyle"

now the problem now is, that metformin is giving me terrible diarrhea.
it happens for a few days already. yesterday no pass motion. i don't know why, but today..

i shit in my pants on my way to work. i cannot control my bowel movements at all. when i need to go, i cannot tahan.
i take public transport to work. i already reached office today but took a cab back home because i shit in my pants.

this week i shit in my pants for 5th time already. now i am having problem getting to work.
i am thinking to quit my job now due to long travelling distance in the morning.

before i take this metformin, i don't feel sick at all. i can run and jump. but this medicine is making me sick and taking a lot of MC this week.
please share your experience with me because i am getting depressed right now.

seriously considering quitting my job and wear adult diapers.
TS, i am also a type 2 for the past 20yrs.

i got only 1 Q, the dr u see is normal clinic dr or specialist hosp dr? answer me ASAP, undo metformin, there are many other diabitic drugs ie jardiance, galvus med, diamicron etct etc

u need the right dr

rjb123
post Dec 27 2018, 06:43 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(aepock @ Dec 27 2018, 02:46 PM)
i kinda confuse....my daily fasting sugar level is 4.9 but HBA1C is 6.1....am i pre diabetic?
It’s difficult to determine just from those 2 numbers. FWIW my last fasting blood test was 4.5 or so and A1C 6.5 and I’m a type 1

Normally doctor would do a test - take a BG measurement, eat a certain amount of carbs and then check again to see the increase
aepock
post Dec 28 2018, 09:07 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Dec 27 2018, 06:43 PM)
It’s difficult to determine just from those 2 numbers. FWIW my last fasting blood test was 4.5 or so and A1C 6.5 and I’m a type 1

Normally doctor would do a test - take a BG measurement, eat a certain amount of carbs and then check again to see the increase
OMG!!!
lempat
post Dec 28 2018, 09:13 AM

in malaysia, we have the few types of metformin.. u can ask doctor to change to another types of metformin since u not compatible for metformin 850mg

15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:19 AM