Carck screen on my Iphone 6s Plus

TSFieldEngineer
post Jan 17 2017, 04:03 PM, updated 8y ago

372 posts

So the pair is priced at Rm1300 at iFixit as the Screen is somewhat expensive due to the 3D Touch.
Ceh.

LCD is ok.

The phone is at 6-7 months old purchased from Maxis.

been told that if you go to Machine, you can get warranty new phone with RM1500 charge.
It is true?
hOly X
post Jan 17 2017, 04:07 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(FieldEngineer @ Jan 17 2017, 04:03 PM)
So the pair is priced at Rm1300 at iFixit as the Screen is somewhat expensive due to the 3D Touch.
Ceh.

LCD is ok.

The phone is at 6-7 months old purchased from Maxis.

been told that if you go to Machine, you can get warranty new phone with RM1500 charge.
It is true?
Nope, no new phone but is refurbished/used set if not mistaken..
Baconateer
post Jan 17 2017, 04:12 PM

Meh..... (TM)
4,874 posts

is a refurbished phone..not new..but looks exactly like new..
TSFieldEngineer
post Jan 17 2017, 04:15 PM

372 posts

It is worth it at some of the my phone side edge is also scrapped, so refurbished sound good.
dino89
post Jan 17 2017, 10:41 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,943 posts

QUOTE(FieldEngineer @ Jan 17 2017, 04:15 PM)
It is worth it at some of the my phone side edge is also scrapped, so refurbished sound good.
If repairing the screen is already RM1300, you might as well get the refurbished phone
If you still want to repair it, can try and PM Wimpykid to quote you repair price
hightechgadgets8
post Jan 17 2017, 10:43 PM

Rất Vui Được làm quen với bạn
5,646 posts

if you don't mind 3rd party screens. price is way below 1k
TSFieldEngineer
post Jan 18 2017, 09:40 PM

372 posts

Wimpykid, PM me the total cost please.
My office is at KL.
TSFieldEngineer
post Jan 18 2017, 09:41 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Jan 17 2017, 10:43 PM)
Any reference for good shop?

TSFieldEngineer
post Jan 21 2017, 12:00 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Jan 17 2017, 10:43 PM)
Dude.
I'm waiting man.
Dont keep me hanging.
TSFieldEngineer
post Feb 3 2017, 12:04 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(hOly X @ Jan 17 2017, 04:07 PM)
Nope, no new phone but is refurbished/used set if not mistaken..
QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jan 17 2017, 04:12 PM)
is a refurbished phone..not new..but looks exactly like new..
QUOTE(dino89 @ Jan 17 2017, 10:41 PM)
If repairing the screen is already RM1300, you might as well get the refurbished phone
If you still want to repair it, can try and PM Wimpykid to quote you repair price
Guys,

Went to MACHINE and found out that it is not refurbished unit, instead it is a NEW IPHONE.
NEW, come out from a "iPhone only without accessories" box.
Confirmed by several MACHINE staff.
The box is sealed with serial number bar code something.

Also, for 64GB iPhone 6s Plus, the trade scheme is at RM1899 inclusive GST.
So RM1899 for a new phone.

Oh ya, warranty for 3 months or as per your old phone remaining period; which ever longer.
Baconateer
post Feb 3 2017, 01:06 AM

Meh..... (TM)
4,874 posts

QUOTE(FieldEngineer @ Feb 3 2017, 12:04 AM)
Guys,

Went to MACHINE and found out that it is not refurbished unit, instead it is a NEW IPHONE.

Oh ya, warranty for 3 months or as per your old phone remaining period; which ever longer.
if its true..thn is good for u..as far as i know..there's no way u can tell just by looking at it...whether is new or refurb..
TSFieldEngineer
post Feb 3 2017, 05:20 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Feb 3 2017, 01:06 AM)
if its true..thn is good for u..as far as i know..there's no way u can tell just by looking at it...whether is new or refurb..
You are saying Machine could be lying?

Baconateer
post Feb 3 2017, 05:27 PM

Meh..... (TM)
4,874 posts

QUOTE(FieldEngineer @ Feb 3 2017, 05:20 PM)
You are saying Machine could be lying?
mayb themselves hv no idea whether is new or refurb..

anyway.. as long is working normally.. u shouldnt concern about it..
TSFieldEngineer
post Feb 3 2017, 09:40 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Feb 3 2017, 05:27 PM)
mayb themselves hv no idea whether is new or refurb..

anyway.. as long is working normally.. u shouldnt concern about it..
It's not about the quality.
But your claim on Machine is laying shout be brought to Apple.
Apple would want to suspend their Premium Reseller status.
It is true?
Baconateer
post Feb 3 2017, 09:42 PM

Meh..... (TM)
4,874 posts

QUOTE(FieldEngineer @ Feb 3 2017, 09:40 PM)
It's not about the quality.
But your claim on Machine is laying shout be brought to Apple.
Apple would want to suspend their Premium Reseller status.
It is true?
if u google about it.. u can see ppl in other countries also asking the same.. even iphone bought from Apple stores..

some said yes.. some said no..
TSFieldEngineer
post Feb 3 2017, 09:52 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Feb 3 2017, 09:42 PM)
if u google about it.. u can see ppl in other countries also asking the same.. even iphone bought from Apple stores..

some said yes.. some said no..
Ohhh...
Simply said only.

Baconateer
post Feb 3 2017, 09:59 PM

Meh..... (TM)
4,874 posts

QUOTE(FieldEngineer @ Feb 3 2017, 09:52 PM)
Ohhh...
Simply said only.

bcs we are not apple staff..cant know for sure.. anyway.. enjoy ur new phone..
TSFieldEngineer
post Feb 4 2017, 10:28 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Feb 3 2017, 09:59 PM)
bcs we are not apple staff..cant know for sure.. anyway.. enjoy ur new phone..
That why it should not be simply said.
It could be misdirecting to other people whom reading this topic.
I posting the news so people can gain info when they search about it.
Simply said just misdirect the actual fact.

Kita kan kawan.
kawan tolong kawan.
jumpstat
post Feb 12 2017, 01:44 AM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(FieldEngineer @ Feb 3 2017, 12:04 AM)
Guys,

This is a surprise, if the unit is a new unit, shouldn't it comes with the whole 1 year warranty like the norm? Could this be an open box unit or a demo unit?

The serial number of the unit can provide the details as follows:-

Examine the iPhone's serial number. The digits within a serial number will indicate when the iPhone was manufactured and produced.
Determine if the first digit of the serial number is "5." If the device has been refurbished and is "Apple Certified," then Apple will modify the serial number to begin with the number "5."
Locate the third digit of the serial number. The third digit indicates the last digit of the year in which the iPhone was manufactured. For example, if the third digit is an "8," the iPhone was made in the year 2008. If the third digit is a "0," then the iPhone was manufactured in 2010.
Examine the fourth and fifth digits of the serial number. These digits will indicate the week of year in which the phone was manufactured. For example, if the fourth and fifth digits are "51," then the iPhone was made in late December of the year it was manufactured.
Although the manufacturing dates within a serial number may not be recent, it is still possible that the iPhone has never been used and has been sitting in its original packaging since its release.

Got this info from wiki.

0.0163sec    0.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:41 PM