Pre-grad ACCA wan2 do degree, Is ther any degree course tht is partime

TSwayfeel
post Feb 24 2007, 10:59 PM, updated 19y ago

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

Ive been struggling ACCA many years at the final stage and still not able to pass it, n i mean many years, believe me. eventually decided to look for an alternative way

I'm currently working. I discover tht my interest lies in corporate finance n wud like to look for a degree doin part time while im working. i know its gonna be hard but ive to cope with it. after get the degree, then i can continue with my ACCA at least the degree can help me in these few years first as far as opportunity is concern.

Im not clear abt degree program route nowadays i wud lik to find out so i post it here for help, actually after tis cny i will also look for it at kl.

i wud lik to know how many years to get tht paper qualification with my part 1 n part 2 ACCA. hopefully 1 yrs only. n really mean to do it part time if possible. i need to work.

I hope any fren in LYN or lecturers or anyone u know can help me? any uni tht offer tis degree in corp fin also u can recommend to me. il be indebted to u.

Thnk u very much.

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Feb 26 2007, 06:23 PM
athlon 11
post Feb 25 2007, 02:04 AM

287 posts

have you hear about the oxford brookes university?

acca have a pathway for this university degree in accounting and finance.with you acca part 2,you only need write another thesis and send a hugh exam fees.

you may get more info from your acca school or the acca malaysia website.

i remember lowyatt had a acca topic,perhaps you will get more info by post your question there.

Good Luck!

This post has been edited by athlon 11: Feb 25 2007, 02:08 AM
Sesshoumaru
post Feb 25 2007, 10:14 AM

1,190 posts

Certainly interesting indeed. We've all heard of certain units in a accounting/finance degree exempting units from ACCA, but not sure if it is possible the other way around.

On a side note, a part time study for a degree usually takes 6 years, as you'll be taking half the load of a normal full time student.
SUSkillingspree
post Feb 25 2007, 10:44 AM

456 posts

In addition, the Bachelor of Accounting (Hons) is also recognised by:

* Malaysian Institute of Accountants (MIA) - Exempted from the Qualifying Examination
* Malaysian Institute of Certified Public Accountants (MICPA)
* Chartered Institute of Management Accountants ( UK )
* Association of Chartered Certified Accountants ( UK )
* CPA Australia

The graduates are also given automatic exemptions in the following professional examinations:

+ ACCA - 9 subjects (out of 14 subjects)
+ CIMA - 11 subjects (out of 17 subjects)
+ MICPA - 3 subjects (out of 9 subjects)

u can take accounting course in MMU , so u just need to take 5 subject for ACCA, dunno whether they provide part time study...http://www.mmu.edu.my/%7Ebm/fbl/

p/s: why in the world i promote mmu, damn! ... hahaha.. tongue.gif
TSwayfeel
post Feb 26 2007, 06:34 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

thnks everyone for sharing.

athlon11, im not qualified for the oxford brookes uni for some reasons.

Sesshoumaru,
it is because most ppl they get their acca or they don get it . those who struggle long enough may hv taken lik 10 yrs to eventually earn it. im not settled for tht way so i hv to look for other alternatives atm. ppl don do it doesnt mean its not plausible.

i cant b starting from scratch. thts why i need to get info abt tis so im clear of my choices

killingspree,

i don think u get wht i mean. i AM a acca finalist, ive the last 3 core papers to clear. but atm, im js wondering around if theres any uni tht provide degree course wit shortest time possible, n if they hv partime in it. especially, with my acca part 1 n 2 , i wanto know wheres my entry point in a degree program ,in kl. tts the concern.

really appreciate if anyone whos clear or know anythg abt tis post sthg here for ty: ,

SUSkillingspree
post Feb 27 2007, 12:23 AM

456 posts

owh, sorry..i just missed the final stage part... gud luck then...
vin_ann
post Feb 27 2007, 12:54 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Feb 26 2007, 06:34 PM)
thnks everyone for sharing.

athlon11, im not qualified for the oxford brookes uni for some reasons.

Sesshoumaru,
it is because most ppl they get their acca or they don get it . those who struggle long enough may hv taken lik 10 yrs to eventually earn it. im not settled for tht way so i hv to look for other alternatives atm. ppl don do it doesnt mean its not plausible.

i cant b starting from scratch. thts why i need to get info abt tis so im clear of my choices
killingspree,

i don think u get wht i mean. i AM a acca finalist, ive the last 3 core papers to clear. but atm, im js wondering around if theres any uni tht provide degree course wit shortest time possible, n if they hv partime in it. especially, with my acca part 1 n 2 , i wanto know wheres my entry point in a degree program ,in kl. tts the concern.
really appreciate if anyone whos clear or know anythg abt tis post sthg here for ty: ,
u r from TARC???
btw, since u finalist... why would u wan to give up?
put in ur effort or attending classes.......

there is a ACCA thread in this sections....

u are welcome to post ur questions.... and u also can let us know what's ur problems... and there are many expert in ACCA...

Added on February 27, 2007, 12:55 amhttp://forum.lowyat.net/topic/379762

the link of ACCA (v2)

This post has been edited by vin_ann: Feb 27 2007, 12:55 AM
coolly
post Feb 28 2007, 01:41 AM

1,171 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Feb 26 2007, 06:34 PM)

erm...i know u struggling for ur final core papers...but since u jus left with 3 cores..i don't find any reason why u not complete it instead u wan to get one degree out of that...there is a corp finance paper in the core papers,so u might learn from there...and with acca part qualification,u still can work in corp finance areas...

with the 2007 syllabus introduced,u don need to take 3 papers together...so u can pass ur acca as soon as possible,the most also 1 yr like that...

so u shd reconsider finished acca instead getting a degree,i know what u wish to know..sorry by not providing with wat u want..

but the above opinion jus my 2 cents... laugh.gif

Teong
post Mar 8 2007, 09:24 AM

479 posts

can enquire from segi college in their kl campus. believe they have abertay finance & accountancy degrees designed for acca students.
segi is pretty well-known to cater for working adults, so should have no problem with part-time.
Do check though on mia recognition, which necessitate that the degree should be accredited by lan.
good luck
lousycar
post Mar 10 2007, 09:49 AM

234 posts

The new syllabus starting july 2007, will ensure easier path to acca.
the three core subjects, let's say in one sitting u pass 2 n fail 1 sub, u only have to resit for that 1 particular sub. u dun have to resit for all 3. sounds good? stick with it. since u have work hard for many years.

0.0161sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:52 PM