Aircon compressor failure.
Coil plug failure.
Spark plug failure.

acbc
post Nov 25 2018, 02:07 PM

9,045 posts

Latest update to my 2012 Peugeot 3008.

On the way to Penang, Aircon not cold. Replaced compressor in Penang. On the way back to KL, alternator died. Replaced in Penang.

Back in KL, Aircon not cold again. This time, condenser coil kaput. Replaced in KL.

Drove to Penang for work and suddenly lost power or stuck in limp mode. Drove back slowly below 100kph and found turbo housing cracked!

Fucking piece of French shit. Everything broke down within 2 weeks. Need to spend approx RM 5k.

Will fix the turbo housing first. If more faults, it is up for sale below RM 20k.

I'm going back to my beloved 1990 Mitsubishi Galant VR4. Will detuned back to stock for daily driving.

New cars too many unreliable electronics and poor quality components just like an iPhone.
acbc
post Nov 27 2018, 04:59 PM

9,045 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Nov 27 2018, 04:22 PM)
Wah.. mine also still in the workshop 6 weeks already still cannot source parts for the ECU
ECU? Call Renautech. They have stock.
acbc
post Feb 25 2020, 12:22 PM

9,045 posts

Same here.

After the recall program, my 3008 is stable for now. However, 2 months ago, the alternator died and had to replaced for RM 1700. Later, the accessories belt cracked and also tension bearing broke. Another RM 600 spent.

Now in end Feb, no issues but I can feel the suspension is about to give way. Not as comfortable as last time.
acbc
post Sep 22 2021, 09:55 AM

9,045 posts

When buying a used Peugeot, go visit Ken of Bros Auto. He can tell what's wrong with your car just by looking at it.

Of course, this fella is always busy. Calling is useless. Go find him and ask.
acbc
post Oct 3 2021, 10:35 AM

9,045 posts

Unlike older turbo cars, this EP6 engine from Peugeot is highly unreliable. High pressure pump kaput after 2-3 years. Turbo housing cracked after 4 years. Turbo bearing kaput after 3 years. Coil over plugs kaput after 3 years without warning. Lastly, the low pressure fuel pump kaput after 3 years.

The low pressure fuel pump on my VR4 kaput after 15 years! Plug cables after 10 years. Turbo leaked after 20 years. I'm thinking of using my VR4 full time if this 3008 kaput again. Cannot tahan the repairs and downtime.

Power delivery from the 1.6L engine is not amazing. Modding is not an option because it will be unreliable too.

0.0282sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:45 PM