MacBook Pro Retina with touch bar User Thread V3, All you can feedback here as well

dreamthief
post Jan 14 2017, 12:25 AM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jan 13 2017, 09:06 AM)
Had a go at them yesterday. Can't say the touch-bar is smart or really dumb. The things it's capable of doing is limitless, especially once software to utilize it keeps up.

But the location of the touch-bar, and how un-intuitive it is to use makes it a really really hard sell. Plus the pricing. So I think I'll stick my old MBP until they figure out what to do with themselves again.
Ditto... it's not essential. Something like iPhone 3D Touch... hit or miss depending what you use it for and why.
dreamthief
post Feb 3 2017, 04:01 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Feb 1 2017, 10:13 PM)
I ordered mine from the USA and it got delivered today smile.gif Gonna test it out in a bit wink.gif
Thought you gonna get the kickstarter USB hub?
dreamthief
post Feb 16 2017, 12:17 AM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(johnm @ Feb 15 2017, 12:00 PM)
all quiet here. whats the verdict of the new Pro after few months of use?
The new models are still good. Light weight, sturdy premium feel.

Overpriced - yes
Touch bar - gimmicky (as of now, whether with app support still I won't find myself using it). It's like the 3D Touch of iPhone. Useful but not essential
Keyboard - probably personal preference but it's okay to type on.
USB-c only ports - hassle yes. Will someone die? No
Battery usage (13") - just normal comparable to others. Not as great as MacBook Air which really is astounding. Same like 6 plus battery life wow when it came out. Now just meh.

Pretty typical of most YouTube reviewers comments. If you need to buy it, yes. If you can hold on, do so. It's like the iPhone S cycle minimal changes.

QUOTE(adrixxx @ Feb 15 2017, 04:01 PM)
nobody else facing the random pop/click sound ?
Nope. Couple of Friends unit also nothing. Shit happens... get it checked out and hopefully a replacement.
dreamthief
post Feb 20 2017, 09:30 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(darkjackal @ Feb 20 2017, 03:25 PM)
I just bought an USB C to multiport adapter. Once I put on that adapter then it will disconnect my wifi from MBP. Anyone else experience the same thing?
QUOTE(kokhoong0624 @ Feb 20 2017, 08:25 PM)
It's normal... Only Apple ones work best for me now currently
I got a M.craftsman USB adaptor from Machines. Don't experience that. Using 13" Macbook pro TB
dreamthief
post Mar 28 2017, 08:35 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

anyone upgraded to the new macOS? significant or just minor?
dreamthief
post Apr 2 2017, 11:35 AM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 2 2017, 01:07 AM)
Rm89 now.
Last day was 31st March to have the USB c price cut
dreamthief
post Apr 16 2017, 03:54 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

Check out PowerUp: The MacBook Charger That Does More on #indiegogo!
http://igg.me/at/homeypowerup/x/11924213

Anyone saw this? It's a power brick with USB type A ports. Not a bad option.
dreamthief
post Apr 18 2017, 11:19 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(honoreric @ Apr 17 2017, 09:35 PM)
From the video, it seems like it. However, i think this charger benefits those that are using macbook pro 13 inches only, for macbook pro 15 inches, it will charge slower. I'm still juggling, as the connector they provide is to be use in the States. If we purchase it for malaysia, i guess we will need a multi national adapter.
Yes. Benefit those with 65W and lower which is 13" mbp. It does mention, the ac power adaptor can be selected and not just US based.
dreamthief
post Apr 19 2017, 08:29 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(gavingoh @ Apr 19 2017, 05:40 PM)
Does PowerUp work with my computer (i.e. 15" MacBook Pro)?

PowerUp is a USB-C type charger that was designed for the latest generation MacBook (2015+) and MacBook Pro (2016+). PowerUp has been rigorously tested with these computer models, including both the 13" and 15" versions of MacBook Pro!
Seems interest rclxms.gif
Read through the description. Caveat was, it charges 15" at a much lower charge.
dreamthief
post Apr 27 2017, 09:32 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Apr 27 2017, 08:27 PM)
Most owner here is w TB?
How is the experience so far? 30% Useful and 70% gimmick?
Contemplating the 2 choices.
Was thinking rather spend the extra 1k for accessories instead.
absolutely gimmicky for me. I'm only using the touchID. Maybe i'm not a pro user.

Reason: It's distracting as you need to look down at the TB. Even keyboard I don't type fast, but I can touch type without looking down.

Don't think of the TB being 1k more. It's the CPU, more ports, graphics card, faster memory.

I tried the CPU, felt some slowness. Opted for the touchbar model instead.

However, if you could wait, why not wait longer if Apple decides to release newer models this year.

This post has been edited by dreamthief: Apr 27 2017, 09:42 PM
dreamthief
post May 7 2017, 11:38 AM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(kappa500 @ May 4 2017, 02:32 PM)
https://discussions.apple.com/message/31711238#31711238

It's quite famous problem. Since day one I shared here but no one concern about it.  sad.gif
I suggest you complaint to apple while you are still in warranty period.
Mine have no noise but if you press the bottom right or bottom left of "down arrow" key it will only active 50% even it click.
Tested at all outlet Macbook pro 2016 all is same, should be design flaw...
Don't say no one concern. It's just at the back of the mind.

Bought the MacBook, can't do anything about it. Just hoping never happen or happen during warranty to get a replacement.

If it's a design flaw, nothing much we can do right.
dreamthief
post Aug 14 2017, 12:48 AM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Aug 13 2017, 09:53 PM)
How many of you have experienced the keyboard pop/click noise issue on 2016/2017 model? Seems like a serious issue from what I've read in Macrumors. hmm.gif
Touch wood. Nothing yet. December bought for 2016 TB MacBook 13"

0.0477sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:28 AM