77 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

MacBook Pro Retina with touch bar User Thread V3, All you can feedback here as well

Porie
post Jul 10 2018, 09:45 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(joshua7paul @ Jul 9 2018, 12:36 AM)
hey all. thinking of purchasing a MBP 15" 2017 retina model. There quite a number of good deals in Low Yatt, parallel imports they are.

Anyone has any experience with them?
New MBP is announcing soon if you want current gen specs.

Do note mbp 2017 model is still using last-gen intel processor.
auxoura
post Jul 10 2018, 10:28 AM

QUOTE(Porie @ Jul 10 2018, 09:45 AM)
New MBP is announcing soon if you want current gen specs.

Do note mbp 2017 model is still using last-gen intel processor.
Was thinking of getting it cause quite need it for work but worried regret because it's so close to the new MBP 2018...haha

Plus the discount isn't very substantial for me to say, worth it.

Wondering what will the new prices be
giggs_509
post Jul 10 2018, 11:50 AM

1,409 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Jul 9 2018, 12:39 AM)
even if no issue can send ? I'm not having any issue with keyboard now *touchwood*
same here. but still in warranty. maybe year end will send in
ultra_nyamuk
post Jul 10 2018, 12:36 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(giggs_509 @ Jul 10 2018, 11:50 AM)
same here. but still in warranty. maybe year end will send in
They'll replace regardless currently got issue or not?
splinter
post Jul 11 2018, 04:05 PM

New Kid In Town
2,102 posts

Hi, is it worth to get Apple protection for MacBook Pro 2016 Touch Bar? Any expiring for getting apple protection care?
Nauts
post Jul 13 2018, 06:28 AM

340 posts

Apple releases new Coffee Lake-based MacBook Pro laptops
New 15-inch model offers a 70 percent performance boost; 13-inch model now with quad-core CPUs.

https://www.macworld.com/article/3289624/ma...ro-laptops.html
fox_shinoda
post Jul 13 2018, 03:40 PM

965 posts

Co worker accidentally spilled 3/4 cup of water to her Macbook Pro 2017 without touchbar. Water seeps in the keyboard while it was running. Immediately she turn over the macbook upside down, and water was running through the back vents and trackpad. after 2 minutes or so the display went black.

Spotify was still running and we can still listen to music before she force shutdown using the power button. fully wiped any excess water on the macbook pro body.

She left it the whole night in a back of 10kg uncooked rice, in the morning, surprisingly it was able to power on as usual laugh.gif
Icehart
post Jul 13 2018, 06:06 PM

14,304 posts

QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Jul 13 2018, 03:40 PM)
Co worker accidentally spilled 3/4 cup of water to her Macbook Pro 2017 without touchbar. Water seeps in the keyboard while it was running. Immediately she turn over the macbook upside down, and water was running through the back vents and trackpad. after 2 minutes or so the display went black.

Spotify was still running and we can still listen to music before she force shutdown using the power button. fully wiped any excess water on the macbook pro body.

She left it the whole night in a back of 10kg uncooked rice, in the morning, surprisingly it was able to power on as usual  laugh.gif
Better send in for servicing to check and make sure water dried out. My mechanical keyboard also have this problem and stops functioning after 7 months due to rust. Wei from MacCore shared a good post about this issue some time back. If you have time ask your colleague to check out the Facebook page.
hibiki0104
post Jul 13 2018, 09:03 PM

482 posts

gave up my MBP for this whistling.gif

ychwang
post Jul 15 2018, 06:09 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

QUOTE(hibiki0104 @ Jul 13 2018, 09:03 PM)
gave up my MBP for this  whistling.gif
how much is this guy?
is it smallest 13' 1070 laptop?
hibiki0104
post Jul 16 2018, 12:27 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Jul 15 2018, 06:09 PM)
how much is this guy?
is it smallest 13' 1070 laptop?
smallest/thinnest 15.6". comes with gtx 1060 144hz monitor

This post has been edited by hibiki0104: Jul 16 2018, 12:28 AM
rebus
post Jul 16 2018, 03:18 PM

316 posts

Want to ask the Touch bar users here - is the TB helpful/ beneficial or gimmicky as claimed by some on the net?

How do you all find the TB for your daily use?
tutuyao
post Jul 16 2018, 06:00 PM

noob
870 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Jul 11 2018, 04:05 PM)
Hi, is it worth to get Apple protection for MacBook Pro 2016 Touch Bar? Any expiring for getting apple protection care?
I'd say go for it. the next 2 years of worry free. anything happen to your mac, apple will fix for you.

QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Jul 13 2018, 03:40 PM)

She left it the whole night in a back of 10kg uncooked rice, in the morning, surprisingly it was able to power on as usual  laugh.gif
good luck.

weeks or months later, the laptop is gonna be playing tricks because of corroded chips.

judging from your description, the water definitely reaches the motherboard.
fox_shinoda
post Jul 16 2018, 06:02 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(tutuyao @ Jul 16 2018, 06:00 PM)
I'd say go for it. the next 2 years of worry free. anything happen to your mac, apple will fix for you.
good luck.

weeks or months later, the laptop is gonna be playing tricks because of corroded chips.

judging from your description, the water definitely reaches the motherboard.
Well, it's not mine but already warned her in the long run there might be problem because of the water spill.
RiriRuruRara
post Jul 17 2018, 05:00 PM

783 posts

Hi guys is there any one here you bought the macbook pro with 125gb??? Do you have a big problem with space getting fill up quick or it is ok, not so bad???
soonwai
post Jul 17 2018, 05:10 PM

9,989 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jul 17 2018, 05:00 PM)
Hi guys is there any one here you bought the macbook pro with 125gb??? Do you have a big problem with space getting fill up quick or it is ok, not so bad???
Yeah, 128GB is too little. Get at least 256GB is possible. Even with 256GB, you'll need to manage your usage but not as bad as 128GB. My older MacBooks were 256GB. Newer ones 512GB. Of course, no matter how much you have, you'll fill it up.
RiriRuruRara
post Jul 17 2018, 05:20 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 17 2018, 05:10 PM)
Yeah, 128GB is too little. Get at least 256GB is possible. Even with 256GB, you'll need to manage your usage but not as bad as 128GB. My older MacBooks were 256GB. Newer ones 512GB. Of course, no matter how much you have, you'll fill it up.
But my budget cannot go any higher then 128gb.. cry.gif
It is either a 128gb macbook pro for me or windows laptop...
My concern will be how much space will the Mac Os will fill up in the future? If the mac os wont take more then 30% i think can manage, just need to delete program that i seldom use or put in cloud. But if the mac os takes up a large shunk of that 128gb then that is a problem..
ychwang
post Jul 17 2018, 07:30 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jul 17 2018, 05:20 PM)
My concern will be how much space will the Mac Os will fill up in the future? If the mac os wont take more then 30% i think can manage, just need to delete program that i seldom use or put in cloud. But if the mac os takes up a large shunk of that 128gb then that is a problem..
128gb just for macOS should be ok
as currently my MBA is 128GB but i dual boot Windows/Mac
so the personal file i store in 64 GB SD card permenently attach to MBA.

tutuyao
post Jul 19 2018, 11:28 PM

noob
870 posts

my 512gb left less than 150gb of space after 6 months of usage.

so err... depends on what you do on the machine. design softwares? or just a facebook machine + light assignment?
iStand_store
post Jul 20 2018, 11:01 AM

50 posts

macos system size actually reduced or maintained the same over major updates, theres no need to worry about it

128gb is still very sufficient for most normal users, and if you utilise cloud storage then i dont see why 128gb should be a problem, but if for intense user, 128gb is definitely not enough, 5 1080p movie will take up half of the space already, a cheap cheap external hard disk is a great solution for unimportant file

This post has been edited by iStand_store: Jul 20 2018, 11:06 AM

77 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0152sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:02 PM