Painting and replacing roof tiles cost, Seeking opinions on 2017 renovation cost

TScorosadia
post Jan 12 2017, 02:34 PM, updated 9y ago

93 posts

Hi everyone,

My 20-year-old house is due for major renovation. it's an intermediate lot that's 2 1/2 storey - 20 ft wide by 45 feet long.

I have been quoted RM20,000 for replacing roof tiles and RM17K for repainting - both inside and out.

Are these prices reasonable in light of weakened ringgit and GST and general increase of cost of building materials?

Roof is fine now, no leakage. Monier tiles will be used plus addition of alum insulation, which wasn;t there in the original house. I figured that since house is being renovated, might as well insured myself against future leakage by replacing ageing tiles. But the cost looks prohibitive so it has given me pause as whether to do it now or latter. In Malaysian weather, how long on average can tiles last before they start cracking up and leaks start?

This weekend is REX,a renovations expo in KL....Planning to visit to check out exhibits since almost everything is there under one roof. Are there any cons to consider in buying fittings, toilet bowls, kitchen and toilet sinks, other household stuff at such expos? There is always the risk that vendors may try to sell you defective products or end of life products as they try to get rid of old inventory.

Looking forward to constructive responses.

Cheers.

This post has been edited by corosadia: Jan 12 2017, 02:35 PM
Richard
post Jan 12 2017, 02:40 PM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(corosadia @ Jan 12 2017, 02:34 PM)
Hi everyone,
My 20-year-old house is due for major renovation.  it's an intermediate lot that's 2 1/2 storey - 20 ft wide by 45 feet long.

I have been quoted RM20,000 for replacing roof tiles and RM17K for repainting - both inside and out.

Are these prices reasonable in light of weakened ringgit and GST and general increase of cost of building materials?

Roof is fine now, no leakage. Monier tiles will be used plus addition of alum insulation, which wasn;t there in the original house.  I figured that since house is being renovated, might as well insured myself against future leakage by replacing ageing tiles. But the cost looks prohibitive so it has given me pause as whether to do it now or latter. In Malaysian weather, how long on average can tiles last before they start cracking up and leaks start?

This weekend is REX,a renovations expo in KL....Planning to visit to check out exhibits since almost everything is there under one roof. Are there any cons to consider in buying fittings, toilet bowls, kitchen and toilet sinks, other household stuff at such expos? There is always the risk that vendors may try to sell you defective products or end of life products as they try to get rid of old inventory.
Cheers.

Do you mind sharing the quotation from that company?

I am also considering the same looking to budget what materials, brand, labour, completion time, costing etc ....

Also to know what is involved before calling in a contractor..

Thanks in advance..
scorgio
post Jan 12 2017, 09:35 PM

4,694 posts

They are both ridiculously expensive.
For a 20 x 45 ft house, I don't believe your roof's area measurement exceed 3000sqf.
Next RM17k is the price for a double storey corner/semi-d using very good paint.

TScorosadia
post Jan 14 2017, 11:45 PM

93 posts

Not including the porch which extends another 20 feet to make overall lebgth of 65 feet.

quote=rambo8,Jan 14 2017, 02:35 PM]
20x45? 45 Seems a bit short...

[/quote]

Joink
post Jan 15 2017, 09:40 AM

164 posts

Think the prices are extremely expensive.

Monier roof tiles (elabana) and al insulation (excluding trussels, gutter, workmanship, flashing etc....) is about 3-4k. Materials alone. Just call monier directly for a quotation.

Painting depends on the type of paint as well. Yours should be around 8-12k. Think it is 2/3 of the price if you buy the paint yourself and hire a couple of indonesian workers.
djvixx
post Jan 15 2017, 10:31 AM

393 posts

Shouldn't this topic be under home renovation ?!

This post has been edited by djvixx: Jan 15 2017, 10:32 AM
LDP
post Jan 15 2017, 12:14 PM

632 posts

Hi everyone,
My 20-year-old house is due for major renovation.  it's an intermediate lot that's 2 1/2 storey - 20 ft wide by 45 feet long.

Roof is fine now, no leakage. Monier tiles will be used plus addition of alum insulation, which wasn;t there in the original house.  I figured that since house is being renovated, might as well insured myself against future leakage by replacing ageing tiles. But the cost looks prohibitive so it has given me pause as whether to do it now or latter. In Malaysian weather, how long on average can tiles last before they start cracking up and leaks start?

Cheers.

Why are u painting it ? Whats the advantage of painting it ? R u getting a general contractor to place yr tiles which then he will get a few indon n bangla to do it ? Is the contractor supervising it ? Does he slso carry out the work by himself ?
magnesium
post Jan 15 2017, 12:18 PM

1,130 posts

better repaint if no leak problems

than install zink under roof to proof from burglar
nexona88
post Jan 15 2017, 01:49 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

Hmm 20k seems expensive...
I feels around 12k is enough hmm.gif
Painting I think 10k..
TScorosadia
post Jan 16 2017, 07:42 PM

93 posts

thinking of replacing parquet tiles on first floor with wood laminate strips. but there are now tiles that also look like wood. is there any advntage to using tiles over wood laminates eg cost? i think wood strips would still b superior since they are more 'natural' and warm as opposed to cold tiles.

opinions?

This post has been edited by corosadia: Jan 17 2017, 12:55 AM
quicksilver9832
post Jan 19 2017, 08:37 PM

770 posts

Crazy price

0.0165sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:23 PM