> Many /k wanna start biz but let me tell you 1st...

Lazarus7181
post Jan 12 2017, 10:42 AM

67 posts

What you are implying is a good knowledge and quite good details of what is going on and off.

I have to agree partially though.

What I don't agree is only to the point whereby some employee jumping into the fire whereby unless we know exactly what industry they are jumping out into and whether they have substantial amount of clients to serve. It's really hard to judge then.

Yes, there is a lot of secrets of success and failure which we don't get to know or shared in order to prepare oneself to handle their venture well.

After all, no risk, no gain.

If your expertise as well as your clients are constantly coming to you rather than your company, any soul will start to think why not taking this venture by starting a business?

I know it's not exactly what I mentioned above happens to many entrepreneur outside, after all, it's supply and demand kind of thing.

When it's good, they reap from the profit. Otherwise, they either can think of a better plan or like you said, going back to 9 to 5 desk job.

Lazarus7181
post Jan 12 2017, 10:51 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 12 2017, 10:38 AM)
even small online biz you have to spend your free time and then think about the sales when you sleep. i say enjoy your 9-5 job & #YOLO after office hours.

make so much money also no use if you cannot enjoy life truly.

there are things money can buy, there are also things money cannot buy.

more money you have, more to lose, which holds you back in life.
I don't know about enjoying one life right now when I can't see myself progressing in the sense of having my future investment protected.

Yes, work life balance is important rather than having so much money when one will only end up using the money to treat themselves in the hospitals. But, you do know that raising cost of living is something not to be ignored though.

What you are working hard right now, might or might not be able to reap good profit in the future. But if we are to perceive to live adequately, how can one sustain and live in this constant changing environment of our world?

We can always live and think simple, but our life in our country will never ever be simple.
Lazarus7181
post Jan 12 2017, 11:03 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 12 2017, 10:48 AM)
i can say majority of people here thinking of jumping into a sector that has little to do with their job & expertise, like opening restaurants when they don't know how to cook, or never cooked in their life, or jumping into cafe, clothing, fashion, and most of them know nothing about economics, finance & accountings.

rarely people venture into the business they profess in, because they know entry barrier is high and lots of hidden tapes or cables you need, so they gave up their profession and venture into something they think is "Open Market". Not knowing there is no such thing as Open Market, every Market has their Big Players, just some you don't see them because they open shops with different names or under different companies.

those that start their own biz in their professional field usually highly skilled in the field, but these people are very rare, usually they get promoted high enough or gets some perks so they don't leave their comfort zones, many that do, end up going back as employee due to the stress that came with the money.

sure, tell you you will make $1 million this year you will raise both hands without thinking, later, you start to regret the time & effort & stress involved.
Yes, often times I do heard of that but most of the time, they tend to forget about their plan like cafe, clothing and etc. There might be others jumping into a sector due to their personal interest or conflict which I came to know a few, whereby they did very well in the engineering line and they choose to open the door and jump into the sea in search of their life.

Mind to tell you that three of my friends did that last year and I found them doing quite well although not as good as being employed and they seems energetic chasing after what is more actual life-full kind of objectives.

From one out of them, he utilized his professions as well as his connection which really helps him a lot though.

It's hard to believe hard work really pays off nowadays unless we consciously know how to break the barrier and plan ahead.

Lazarus7181
post Jan 12 2017, 11:11 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 12 2017, 10:59 AM)
you expect too much in life, be prepared to get disappointed big time.

there is a reason why Kampung folks & less intelligent people are usually more happy & content with their lives even though they are poorer than smart big city people like you.
Let me simplify that I was referring to work hard and save for future. I'm not expecting much but at least some financial backup when I might be struck with some incident which requiring me to some financial assistance.

It's not really about expectation that I working onto but rather misfortune things happen where asking for help is simple out of questions then.

Yes, those rural folks are more happy and content with their life. Can you drop whatever you are doing right now and move to rural areas and live your life as new?

If you can do that, I bet you won't even need to open this thread then.

Sorry if I might sound offending but I'm not.
Lazarus7181
post Jan 12 2017, 11:17 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 12 2017, 11:05 AM)
wait another 10 years come back here & update us.

Fire is always fiery the early years. Just like chicken droppings is always hot for first 3 minutes.
Although I might have been pessimistic about life and how things have been so far, I certainly wish them all the best.

Everyone has to work out something no matter its good or bad. It's just how one started to venture by themselves which they have to deal it.

For better or worse, be prepared to change, optimistic, and most importantly constantly improving oneself.

Bad things happen all the time but that doesn't mean to everyone.

At /k, we get to see a lot of true or not so true stuff. That's life. Life has different perspective from what we can see and hear.

Just try to work for the difference.
Lazarus7181
post Jan 12 2017, 11:29 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 12 2017, 11:15 AM)
that is why insurance & medical saving schemes are there. also there is FD to cover inflation.

As for your 2nd question, i'm sure for most people, as long as there is electricity, water, internet & good security and easy access to food & post office they won't mind moving there. problem is they can't find the job they want.
My friend, if you do a little bit of calculation, you will be afraid that FD somehow doesn't cover inflation but maybe half of it which is better than none. If you want to, you might need to learn how to allocate your fund into other investment in order to help you stay or beat the inflation.

I don't think rural area people need to focus on internet and good security though. Electricity and water is essential as well as other amenities. I don't think food is a major concern whereby if you can either grow your own or mingle with your neighbour in a community kind of lifestyle of stuff.

I used to stay in rural areas during my childhood in Gemencheh, try google it and it's a small town. It's easier to say that life there is really lay back, but can anyone live within their urge on basic electricity and water?

If you think job is stopping one from moving there, I guess it comes to a point whereby there is no other alternative than to either work for an employer or be employer and work for it.
Lazarus7181
post Jan 12 2017, 11:46 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 12 2017, 11:39 AM)
I'm sure ASB return is much higher than many business.
Yes, in fact, if you are comfortable with what you are doing and living, I'm pretty sure everything is fine and anything can be worked out in the near future.

All the best to you then.
Lazarus7181
post Jan 12 2017, 11:58 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(yugimudo @ Jan 12 2017, 11:50 AM)
I think people are forgetting 1996~1999.

My father is one the people got VSS. Till now i resent Sapura for it.

Well, I am not cursing people to get VSS or worse, laid off. But it is just a proof that being an employee is not that rosey.
Everything has their setbacks.

Either work out for the difference or stay indifferent.

0.0215sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:05 AM