Medical Conditions Ankle fractured - Pain when full weight bearing, Ankle fractured and fibula bone broken

abuyon
post May 11 2019, 10:21 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(beebee1314 @ May 10 2019, 03:14 PM)
I have both. The old one, and whole arm. I didn't buy under armpits. Unstable and dangerous to use. The old ppl one is for stability. Once my feet can hit the ground, I'll use the whole arm one. My friend lend the whole arm to me while I bought the old ppl one. I don't expect myself to move so much already. Just in bed, and during meals. And some leg day exercise to boost my thigh energy.
Mai scare me leg. My scan results are out. Ligament tendon all good. Just bone broken and one part dislocated. Broken part all screws. Dislocated, screwed back to strengthen.
just wait untill fractured heal...for time being slowly get range movement ankle and partially weight bearing if more than 6 week..and ostechondral injury cannot be seen in xray or ct scan..even sometimes mri also can be miss..u definitely have it as your medial malleolus fractured involving ankle joint which have cartilage over there..
beebee1314
post May 11 2019, 04:20 PM

1,683 posts

QUOTE(abuyon @ May 11 2019, 10:21 AM)
just wait untill fractured heal...for time being slowly get range movement ankle and partially weight bearing if more than 6 week..and ostechondral injury cannot be seen in xray or ct scan..even sometimes mri also can be miss..u definitely have it as your medial malleolus fractured involving ankle joint which have cartilage over there..
Thanks for the heads up. I just got discharged. Back home resting. I will ask doctor when I go follow up next week.

Thanks to all.
icedamericano P
post Jan 4 2021, 09:25 PM

Probation

QUOTE(beebee1314 @ May 11 2019, 04:20 PM)
Thanks for the heads up. I just got discharged. Back home resting. I will ask doctor when I go follow up next week.

Thanks to all.
Hi, how are you? Did you recover from injury after years?
Still any pain?
beebee1314
post Jan 5 2021, 10:21 PM

1,683 posts

QUOTE(icedamericano @ Jan 4 2021, 09:25 PM)
Hi, how are you? Did you recover from injury after years?
Still any pain?
Hey there. I recovered but somehow I feel the ankle connection isn't perfect. The surgeon says it's actual position but when I compare with my right ankle, looks a bit different. However there's no pain whatsoever. Can walk and run like normal. Still, it doesn't feel the same la. Maybe due to the ankle positioning. May see a bone setting chiro to re set it correctly. Or maybe my right ankle is the one in wrong position. Can never know. Haha

Experience wise, I was a bit anxious and cautious in the early stages so it took me 6 to 7 mths to shift from dual crutches to single then totally off.
icedamericano P
post Jan 6 2021, 09:38 PM

Probation

QUOTE(beebee1314 @ Jan 5 2021, 10:21 PM)
Hey there. I recovered but somehow I feel the ankle connection isn't perfect. The surgeon says it's actual position but when I compare with my right ankle, looks a bit different. However there's no pain whatsoever. Can walk and run like normal. Still, it doesn't feel the same la. Maybe due to the ankle positioning. May see a bone setting chiro to re set it correctly. Or maybe my right ankle is the one in wrong position. Can never know. Haha

Experience wise, I was a bit anxious and cautious in the early stages so it took me 6 to 7 mths to shift from dual crutches to single then totally off.
good to hear that, did you went for physio & rehab session? and, you can run without pain now? and, doesn't suffer in any osteochondral injury like what mentioned by abuyon?
beebee1314
post Jan 6 2021, 10:38 PM

1,683 posts

QUOTE(icedamericano @ Jan 6 2021, 09:38 PM)
good to hear that, did you went for physio & rehab session? and, you can run without pain now? and, doesn't suffer in any osteochondral injury like what mentioned by abuyon?
Yup lots of it. I even do my own rehab at home via my condo gym. I notice the most important part of physio and rehab is building back the flabby leg muscles that went flat due to long period of inactivity. Since the ankle didn't move a lot, it became harden so I had to use my bedstead head as a soft base to press my ankle to 90 degrees. U know nowadays, bed stead is like soft cushion.

Then when i go my gym condo, I do a lot of cycling and do the ankle weight bearing. So when I go hospital rehab, I can do the walking training. There more ppl ma so can jaga me if I fall. After 5 mths I went back to work, using 2 crutches, then a mth later 1 crutch. By end of November, I stopped using them. Some ppl say 4 mths enough for full weight bearing, but I dare not take risk. Better be slow poke than having life long pain.

And nope, no issues with osteochondral. Yup I can run already, though not the same as last time. Not that fast anymore. But if a dog chases me, I'll definitely push to the limit haha.

I just removed the metal plating last August. Pain wise, when u walk a lot, you'll feel some stress to the ankle and fibula bone. I won't say it's painful, just a bit sourish. My doctor attributes this to lack of exercising so the ankle is not used to strong or continuous movements. Haha
icedamericano P
post Jan 19 2021, 09:10 PM

Probation

QUOTE(beebee1314 @ Jan 6 2021, 10:38 PM)
Yup lots of it. I even do my own rehab at home via my condo gym. I notice the most important part of physio and rehab is building back the flabby leg muscles that went flat due to long period of inactivity. Since the ankle didn't move a lot, it became harden so I had to use my bedstead head as a soft base to press my ankle to 90 degrees. U know nowadays, bed stead is like soft cushion.

Then when i go my gym condo, I do a lot of cycling and do the ankle weight bearing. So when I go hospital rehab, I can do the walking training. There more ppl ma so can jaga me if I fall. After 5 mths I went back to work, using 2 crutches, then a mth later 1 crutch. By end of November, I stopped using them. Some ppl say 4 mths enough for full weight bearing, but I dare not take risk. Better be slow poke than having life long pain.

And nope, no issues with osteochondral. Yup I can run already, though not the same as last time. Not that fast anymore. But if a dog chases me, I'll definitely push to the limit haha.

I just removed the metal plating last August. Pain wise, when u walk a lot, you'll feel some stress to the ankle and fibula bone. I won't say it's painful, just a bit sourish. My doctor attributes this to lack of exercising so the ankle is not used to strong or continuous movements. Haha
hi, thanks for explaining in details, may i know which hospital & doc you were seeing?

almost more than 6 months, im still suffering from pain
beebee1314
post Jan 19 2021, 09:43 PM

1,683 posts

QUOTE(icedamericano @ Jan 19 2021, 09:10 PM)
hi, thanks for explaining in details, may i know which hospital & doc you were seeing?

almost more than 6 months, im still suffering from pain
I was in Penang Lam Wah Ee. Dr Khaw.

U mean u had your operation, 6 mths later still painful? My friends told me 3 mths can remove tongkat but I scare die. Anyway my 2nd operation was 5 mths, remove 1 screw. That screw connects my tibia to fibula bone bone. It wasn't all that painful, just very slight coz my fibula bone felt restraints. After the operation, felt so relieve. Then 1 yr from that remove balance screw. Come I show u my pictures.

Painful is definite thing coz bone is recovering, muscles still weak. Do you mind sharing your injuries for us to know.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

0.0203sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:22 PM