Honda Jazz CKD, Vol 2

Miwqa
post Aug 19 2017, 10:39 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Aug 19 2017, 10:11 PM)
Getting the silver ! Pretty good at 750km

I'll try with hypermiling and see if I can cloak at a higher distance. Guess can't beat ioniq range of 1000km
Mine also silver. Goodluck and enjoy your car.
danthe0
post Aug 20 2017, 04:28 PM

Edit: How do I thumbnail these pictures...?

Just got the 2017 Jazz Hybrid Modern Steel Metallic, coming from a 2008 Myvi 1.3L Auto (9 y.o. rattle cage bangwall.gif ).

Only driven 40km,

Things I love:
Good Points #1: S-i-l-e-n-t.
Good Points #2: Braking is progressive as hell. Perfect slowdown -> stops transition very very easily done.
Good Points #3: Gear shift? What's that? You won't even feel it during acceleration.
Good Points #4: Below...

Opinion#1: NVH is good (coming from a 9 y.o. car). It's quite insulated. The wind noise + road noise VS speed is very jarring.
Cruising at 80-90 km/h is equivalent to old beater at 50km/h, which is scary. You don't feel the speed due to the insulation. Perhaps Mazda's concept of allowing road noise into cabin was a good idea...

Observation #1: Gear shift felt, not jerk, @ 40-50km/h during deceleration/coast blink.gif
Observation #2: Hybrid rolls forward after a short delay (500-700ms) after lifting off brake pedal. Closest analogy would be Proton's clutch CVT I think? Let go brake, wait a short while, only car rolls forward.

Bad Experience #1: Stopped at apex of shopping complex bump (no incline), open door to take ticket (tint, can't wind down window yet), close door, release brake pedal. Car rolled backwards. WTF'd! Jammed brakes, then press accelerator. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

Critique #1: The accelerator pedal is extremely laaaazy. I'm depressing about 2 cm but it's not moving??? Need press down to ~5 cm only car will move. Same behaviour observed during test drive also cry.gif [25/08/17 Edit: Had a stupid plastic mat blocking accelerator input. Derp.]
Critique #2: Sound system is bloody awful for such a silent car. The old Myvi's stock front 4" dash mounted speakers has more presence.
Rear speakers booming like mad. Vocals are blurry as hell, can't make out anything aside the boom. Short time (10 minutes) in Jazz V-spec 6 speakers also similar thing. Blurry mess.

ICE part confused.gif

This post has been edited by danthe0: Aug 31 2017, 08:53 PM
prasys
post Aug 20 2017, 05:45 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(danthe0 @ Aug 20 2017, 04:28 PM)

Just got the 2017 Jazz Hybrid Modern Steel Metallic, coming from a 2008 Myvi 1.3L Auto (9 y.o. rattle cage  bangwall.gif ).

Only driven 40km,

Things I love:
Good Points #2: Braking is progressive as hell. Perfect slowdown -> stops transition very very easily done.
Good Points #3: Gear shift? What's that? You won't even feel it during acceleration.

Opinion#1: NVH is good (coming from a 9 y.o. car). It's quite insulated. The wind noise + road noise VS speed is very jarring.
Cruising at 80-90 km/h is equivalent to old beater at 50km/h, which is scary. You don't feel the speed due to the insulation. Perhaps Mazda's concept of allowing road noise into cabin was a good idea...

Observation #1: Gear shift felt, not jerk, @ 40-50km/h during deceleration/coast blink.gif
Observation #2: Hybrid rolls forward after a short delay (500-700ms) after lifting off brake pedal. Closest analogy would be Proton's clutch CVT I think? Let go brake, wait a short while, only car rolls forward.

Bad Experience #1: Stopped at apex of shopping complex bump (no incline), open door to take ticket (tint, can't wind down window yet), close door, release brake pedal. Car rolled backwards. WTF'd! Jammed brakes, then press accelerator.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Critique #1: The accelerator pedal is extremely laaaazy. I'm depressing about 2 cm but it's not moving??? Need press down to ~5 cm only car will move. Same behaviour observed during test drive also  cry.gif
Critique #2: Sound system is bloody awful for such a silent car. The old Myvi's stock front 4" dash mounted speakers has more presence.
Rear speakers booming like mad. Vocals are blurry as hell, can't make out anything aside the boom. Short time (10 minutes) in Jazz V-spec 6 speakers also similar thing. Blurry mess.

ICE part  confused.gif
Here's some frequency measurement I took using a calibrated mic, UMIK-1. Processing done in REW.
Methodology:
Laptop Bluetooth frequency sweep and measure with UMIK-1. (It's digital, Bluetooth codec should reconstruct back to flat right... confused.gif  confused.gif )
Measure 7 different positions and angles at driver's seating position then Average the frequency response.
Head Unit settings are Bass +0, Treble +0, Sound Effect OFF (Sedan/Compact/SUV/OFF)
A/C was at speed 1. Might have been blowing at mic, I forget. Mic has a wind shield though.
All measurements taken while on EV mode of course  rolleyes.gif

Here's the result. 45dB noise floor / completely silent.

Here's a smoothed version.

Good Points #4: The sound treatment for this car is good stuff. Most frequencies decay after ~90ms.

Extra stuff:
Here's the Head Unit's Bass and Treble response. Black is the +0 Bass +0 Treble.

Bass -5 ... +5

Treble -5 ... +5
So if I understand correctly , the whole graph thing states that change the HU to those settings to have a good experience ? Got it
danthe0
post Aug 20 2017, 08:04 PM

QUOTE(prasys @ Aug 20 2017, 05:45 PM)
So if I understand correctly , the whole graph thing states that change the HU to those settings to have a good experience ? Got it
It's more a guideline for those who wanna know which frequencies and how much it boost/cut, increase/decrease when they go +1,+2,+3,+4,+5 or -1,-2,-3,-4,-5.
What they do with this info depends on their is taste.
Last portion of the post was more for information only.
To me, the stock HU settings are beyond help, whatever settings that is set, it still sounds very very far off from my internal reference.

Easy configuration suggestion
Perhaps if it feels too boomy, one can turn down the bass setting to -5, then increase the volume so that the voices are abit more present. If you miss the bass, just turn it up.
I've also briefly touched the Sound Effect: SUV, and if I remember correctly, setting it makes the vocals feel very very slightly more present, if I really pay attention.

Intermediate configuration suggestion
Rolling your own equaliser (ie. phone music player equaliser, since bluetooth connection is used probably) is the best way forward. Stock HU equaliser is beyond help. sad.gif
Starting point for those interested, turn up the 1kHz, 2kHz and 4kHz by a lot.

Even harder configuration suggestion
Well you wouldn't need help if you're reading this part...

If anyone on Android using Poweramp and needs a quick starting point, lemme know, I can put up the settings so you can tweak from there. Or any music app with 10-band+ EQ.
Or... you could use the chart I posted at previously then work your way towards flat. biggrin.gif

On another note, I stumbled upon this site when researching FC for JDM spec Fit/Jazz Hybrid. Hypermilers take note.
https://sites.google.com/site/fithvs/home

His notes on AC compressor usage under 34 degrees celcius sun without shade @ AC 25degrees AUTO,
https://sites.google.com/site/fithvs/home/battery/ac
[Gasoline consumption] Since
idling at the time of air conditioning use was a flow rate of 30 to 31 cc / min, it will be calculated to consume about 405 cc gasoline for 1 hour air conditioning use.
It is about 400 cc per hour when using the scorching sun, about 70 yen as a gasoline fee (170 yen / L × 0.4 L = 68 yen).

So... RON95 RM2.15 / L x 0.4L = RM0.86/h drool.gif

This post has been edited by danthe0: Aug 20 2017, 08:42 PM
Miwqa
post Aug 20 2017, 09:01 PM

33 posts

Just got the 2017 Jazz Hybrid Modern Steel Metallic, coming from a 2008 Myvi 1.3L Auto (9 y.o. rattle cage  bangwall.gif ).

Only driven 40km,

Things I love:

Bad Experience #1: Stopped at apex of shopping complex bump (no incline), open door to take ticket (tint, can't wind down window yet), close door, release brake pedal. Car rolled backwards. WTF'd! Jammed brakes, then press accelerator.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Critique #1: The accelerator pedal is extremely laaaazy. I'm depressing about 2 cm but it's not moving??? Need press down to ~5 cm only car will move. Same behaviour observed during test drive also  cry.gif

ICE part  confused.gif
Here's some frequency measurement I took using a calibrated mic, UMIK-1. Processing done in REW.
Methodology:
Laptop Bluetooth frequency sweep and measure with UMIK-1. (It's digital, Bluetooth codec should reconstruct back to flat right... confused.gif  confused.gif )
Measure 7 different positions and angles at driver's seating position then Average the frequency response.
Head Unit settings are Bass +0, Treble +0, Sound Effect OFF (Sedan/Compact/SUV/OFF)
A/C was at speed 1. Might have been blowing at mic, I forget. Mic has a wind shield though.

I can't agree more. The sound system is terrible. Coming from VW polo, I thought I have to get my ear checked.

danthe0
post Aug 20 2017, 09:36 PM

QUOTE(Miwqa @ Aug 20 2017, 09:01 PM)
I can't agree more. The sound system is terrible. Coming from VW polo, I thought I have to get my ear checked.
From the short time I was in the car, it's actually capable. (it rumbles at the correct frequencies properly, treble can go up pretty sharp, and freaking hybrid == no engine rumble [deep bass WHILE city driving!] but only the mids/vocals are not there! vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif )
It's just that the stock tuning is pretty much non-existent. This part I am disappointed.
Seems like they just buy the parts, buy the HU with XYZ spec and slap together the system and call it done.

This is more like the sound system has the capability to be good, but nobody was assigned to give any effort in polishing it to make it acceptable.

This post has been edited by danthe0: Aug 20 2017, 09:39 PM
perrrhhh
post Aug 20 2017, 09:39 PM

154 posts

Only driven 40km,

Things I love:

Critique #1: The accelerator pedal is extremely laaaazy. I'm depressing about 2 cm but it's not moving??? Need press down to ~5 cm only car will move. Same behaviour observed during test drive also 

ICE part  confused.gif
Methodology:

Here's the result. 45dB noise floor / completely silent.

Here's a smoothed version.

Good Points #4: The sound treatment for this car is good stuff. Most frequencies decay after ~90ms.

Extra stuff:
Here's the Head Unit's Bass and Treble response. Black is the +0 Bass +0 Treble.

Bass -5 ... +5

Treble -5 ... +5
I believe new fl Jazz has improve the NVH. Not the best but good enough thumbup.gif

Later Wednesday wanna test drive the jazz hybrid and new crv tebo
prasys
post Aug 20 2017, 10:09 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Miwqa @ Aug 20 2017, 09:01 PM)
Ugh , I am going to get my car tomorrow and have it checked it out

I think I'm going to miss my awesome Ford Fiesta sounds system. The DSP has a lot of settings biggrin.gif
prasys
post Aug 21 2017, 09:53 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Just got my car

Quick Review

Positive
1. So quiet - start it up if the battery has juice and it's soo quiet , you can't hear a single thing at all
2. No dual clutch lag - Oh my god , coming from Fiesta , this car lacks of the stupid dual clutch lag , I believe the electric motor is assisting it
3. Cool display panel - it looks 3Dish and very nice

Neutral
The build quality - some parts it's good and others its meh..CKD , what can I say !

Cons
1. The fabric quality is horrible (heck my Axia G has better fabric)
2. Audio - It's a complete joke , my 6-speaker 80W Fiesta speaker just rocks and blows the mind. Everything sounds flat
3. Horrible HU - I thought Hyundai HU is bad , but this is super bad. Stupid Mirrorlink or Phonelink did not even work.
4. The Hybrid does not even come with automatic foldable mirror - seriously ????

Should you get the 2017 Jazz Hybrid - yes if you are tree hugger or want to be captain planet - else skip and get the V variant or save $$$ and get the E spec
danthe0
post Aug 21 2017, 10:21 PM

So I did some rounding for about 5km, here's what I can confirm as told here.

So I was driving along, a bump approaches, I slow down and brake way before the yellow smaller humps. I look down and see "EV" I go biggrin.gif , then I cross the bump and go up to speed but something disappeared ! "EV" no more ! vmad.gif

Here's a google translated excerpt from that website
① When using 1st speed, keep EV until the discharge current 30A, and the engine starts when exceeding 30A.
② When the battery is at the 2nd speed or more, when the battery is LV3, keep EV until 45A, engine start when it exceeds 45A.
③ At the second speed or more, when the battery is LV 4 or higher, EV keeps up to 55 A, when the battery exceeds 55 A, the engine starts.

【Disengaging condition】 If
after "onset", "Turn off the accelerator for more than 5 seconds while driving" or "Decelerate to 41 km / h or less", the symptoms will go away and you will begin EV running. Once it is canceled, it is valid until you turn off the system.

So what happened was, I saw the bump, I lifted accelerator for > 5 seconds, car went into EV.
After the hump, I "go up to speed", which broke the 1st speed <30A rule as said in the excerpt. [edit: 1st speed should be 15km/h I think? source]

To maintain EV mode, accelerate from low speeds like kancil, then progressively apply accelerator.

Here's some charts trying to explain why.
When starting from 0 km/h, the electric motor (emotor) has to carry the whole vehicle, ~1,158kg. This starting part is considered stall. Here's what happens when a emotor stalls then the car accelerates as shown below.
The starting Current shoots up more than 6x the rated spec to provide maximum torque IF and only IF 100% power applied without restriction.

Here is roughly what happens when you DO NOT supply full power. (Soft-start)

Here's how to maintain in EV mode up to 60 km/h. You drive like a Kancil™.

If you want to return to EV mode, make sure your battery is at least 3-4 bar, then release accelerator for 5 seconds. You should see "EV" light up. SLOW DOWN AT YOUR OWN RISK. ENSURE NOBODY IS BEHIND YOU. TRAFFIC FLOW IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN YOU. LASTLY, USE COMMON SENSE.

EV mode will auto cancel when your battery reaches 2 bars. Source

This post has been edited by danthe0: Aug 21 2017, 11:01 PM
danthe0
post Aug 21 2017, 10:30 PM

QUOTE(prasys @ Aug 21 2017, 09:53 PM)
Just got my car

Quick Review

Positive
1. So quiet - start it up if the battery has juice and it's soo quiet , you can't hear a single thing at all
2. No dual clutch lag - Oh my god , coming from Fiesta , this car lacks of the stupid dual clutch lag , I believe the electric motor is assisting it
Neutral
The build quality - some parts it's good and others its meh..CKD , what can I say !
Cons
2. Audio - It's a complete joke , my 6-speaker 80W Fiesta speaker just rocks and blows the mind. Everything sounds flat
3. Horrible HU - I thought Hyundai HU is bad , but this is super bad. Stupid Mirrorlink or Phonelink did not even work.
4. The Hybrid does not even come with automatic foldable mirror - seriously ????
Should you get the 2017 Jazz Hybrid - yes if you are tree hugger or want to be captain planet - else skip and get the V variant or save $$$ and get the E spec
Pos 1.
It only starts up silent if battery has juice AND engine temperature is above 55degreesCelcius. [edit: unconfirmed]
This means, Morning cold startup = VRRRRRRRRRRM doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Neighbour's Prius C no such thing. ranting.gif bangwall.gif vmad.gif

Cons 1. Eh fabric better than Axia... ? I thought this was good... Hmm...
Cons 4. No fog light, no button press to fold mirror... HMMM.

Observation #3: DRL turns off when rotate headlight stalk at first level... wtf... why... I understand full headlight turn off DRL, but why even first level... ???

After engine break-in, have to try VTEC + electric motor assist drool.gif . Now... must... control... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by danthe0: Aug 21 2017, 10:38 PM
perrrhhh
post Aug 21 2017, 10:43 PM

154 posts

Just got my car

Quick Review

Positive
Neutral
Cons
Tbh, i really disappointed Honda cut off lot of things especially hybrid version. V spec actually got look of goodies than hybrid spec doh.gif

1- Why no paddle shift? its dual clutch transmission doh.gif

2- No folding mirror

3- No half leather half fabric that V spec got

4- The rims, doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif no offence but its ugly

I know the price thrown to 'hybrid' but... doh.gif
prasys
post Aug 21 2017, 10:52 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(perrrhhh @ Aug 21 2017, 10:43 PM)
Tbh, i really disappointed Honda cut off lot of things especially hybrid version. V spec actually got look of goodies than hybrid spec  doh.gif

1- Why no paddle shift? its dual clutch transmission  doh.gif

2- No folding mirror

3- No half leather half fabric that V spec got

4- The rims,  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  no offence but its ugly

I know the price thrown to 'hybrid' but... doh.gif
1. for me not important and i know for other it is
2. This is 2017 ,and I can't take that
3. I am okay with full fabric but with good quality
4. Rims are fugly as hell
Miwqa
post Aug 22 2017, 12:08 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(danthe0 @ Aug 21 2017, 10:30 PM)
Pos 1.
It only starts up silent if battery has juice AND engine temperature is above 55degreesCelcius.  [edit: unconfirmed]
This means, Morning cold startup = VRRRRRRRRRRM  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Neighbour's Prius C no such thing.  ranting.gif  bangwall.gif  vmad.gif

Cons 1. Eh fabric better than Axia... ? I thought this was good... Hmm...
Cons 4. No fog light, no button press to fold mirror... HMMM.

Observation #3: DRL turns off when rotate headlight stalk at first level... wtf... why...  I understand full headlight turn off DRL, but why even first level... ???

After engine break-in, have to try VTEC + electric motor assist  drool.gif . Now... must... control...  sweat.gif
If you are in S mode from 0, it will be fun. But the car seems to struggle when you try to make quick overtaking at highway when you already around 110km/h.
Miwqa
post Aug 22 2017, 12:12 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Aug 21 2017, 10:52 PM)
1. for me not important and i know for other it is
2. This is 2017 ,and I can't take that
3. I am okay with full fabric but with good quality
4. Rims are fugly as hell
I dont know the fabric but i can feel the foam inside is cheap, as if it wont last very long before its thinned out. What freebies/ discount did you get?
danthe0
post Aug 22 2017, 12:43 AM

QUOTE(Miwqa @ Aug 22 2017, 12:08 AM)
If you are in S mode from 0, it will be fun. But the car seems to struggle when you try to make quick overtaking at highway when you already around 110km/h.
Ya, struggle because battery assist cuts off at ~90 km/h. source:youtube
Essentially, carrying dead weight above 90 km/h.
Our engine also Atkinson cycle, lower hp + torque output, so should be equivalent to 1.4L engine once reach >100 km/h. (same like Kia Rio, ~1,200kg, 1.4L)
1.8L equivalent engine output from 0-60 km/h, ~1.5L output from 70-90 km/h, ~1.4L output >100 km/h

This car has so many quirks... confused.gif

This post has been edited by danthe0: Aug 22 2017, 12:48 AM
Miwqa
post Aug 22 2017, 07:15 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(danthe0 @ Aug 22 2017, 12:43 AM)
Ya, struggle because battery assist cuts off at ~90 km/h. source:youtube
Essentially, carrying dead weight above 90 km/h.
Our engine also Atkinson cycle, lower hp + torque output, so should be equivalent to 1.4L engine once reach >100 km/h. (same like Kia Rio, ~1,200kg, 1.4L)
1.8L equivalent engine output from 0-60 km/h, ~1.5L output from 70-90 km/h, ~1.4L output >100 km/h

This car has so many quirks...  :confused:
No wonder, thanks.

prasys
post Aug 22 2017, 07:20 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Miwqa @ Aug 22 2017, 12:12 AM)
I dont know the fabric but i can feel the foam inside is cheap, as if it wont last very long before its thinned out. What freebies/ discount did you get?
Basically got discount on tint + free petrol + mat for my car

I agree with you on the foam. Wow electric motor gets cut off at 90km/h. Ioniq it goes up to 120km/h
TSReVolVolution
post Aug 22 2017, 09:00 AM

311 posts

Not to be a spoil sport but actually Honda is ripping customers off on this hybrid as the tax exemption is high and the amount of given equipment is inadequate.

Quanta
post Aug 22 2017, 11:07 AM

Idiot member
1,425 posts

after two weeks I have change the speaker ... then after 1 month I have upgrade HU to Pioneer

87 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:39 PM