Nokia Nokia 6110 Navigator, it's here!, GPS, HSDPA, 2MP Phone!

avantgarde84
post Jul 21 2007, 11:15 PM

Certified LYN Spammer
1,135 posts

Hey guys I'm about to get the Navigator in couple days time, so thought I might as well pop by this dedicated thread for 6110 enthusiasts.

My unit is gonna be an Aussie one, dont think got anything significantly different from Malaysian Avaxx/Zitron sets. Here no AP set anyway. I read on the cnet.com site they say the 6110 ships with mainly Singapore, Bangkok and Australian maps, is that true? this is in addition to the local maps of the country from which the unit was purchased. Maybe the ppl who already own the 6110 can clarify this? Another thing I have noticed is that there's been lots of questions about getting Malaysian maps onto the 6110. Is the Malaysian maps not at all pre-installed or is it lacking? In any case to get the Malaysian maps on the unit, this is what I gathered from reading the previous pages. Correct me if Im wrong k.

So first dl Smart2go from the website plus Maploader--->run and install the smart2go first on PC then on 6110 by USB---->open the smart2go on the mobile at least once---->run and install Maploader on PC then phone---->open Maploader and select Malaysian maps?

So is the Maploader a program with a database of maps or do we need to seperately dl Malaysian maps into Maploader? Im still noob when it comes to GPS stuff, would appreciate your feedback...

ps. I will be getting my Navigator from a store on eBay for AUD$570, that's about RM1,700 with 12 mths Nokia warranty. I think thats about the going price for ori Avaxx units in Malaysia is it?

This post has been edited by avantgarde84: Jul 21 2007, 11:23 PM
avantgarde84
post Jul 22 2007, 04:48 PM

Certified LYN Spammer
1,135 posts

Hmmm thanks for your feedback sonyclie77. So like you said Malaysian maps for S60 is outdated, then does Maploader provide more up to date maps? Another thing is, I know Route 66 is definitely pre-installed into the navigator. How about the NAVFone thingy which you mentioned about? Is it 3rd party or comes with the phone pre-installed? Sigh I come from PJ how can not have PJ maps...

Btw the Retail price here is $749, which is about RM2,250. So my deal is considered cheap lor. Aussie dollar more power than Ringgit wat to do.
avantgarde84
post Jul 23 2007, 11:26 AM

Certified LYN Spammer
1,135 posts

Well Im pretty sure Malaysia maps includes East malaysia also...
avantgarde84
post Jul 23 2007, 10:50 PM

Certified LYN Spammer
1,135 posts

mstr583: What do you mean by Navigation gotta pay >60 days? Do you mean the function which finds your location on the earth and leads you to wherever you wanna go? If thats the case means after 60 days you are just left with a phone with maps? Can clarify? Quite unsure myself...
avantgarde84
post Jul 24 2007, 09:20 AM

Certified LYN Spammer
1,135 posts

Some discussion comparing N95 to the Navigator's GPS abilities. Seems like the Navigator beats the N95! http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-repli...cfm/765778.html

Also I think sonyclie77 is right, gotta pay for navigation in N95s. Here's the link for GSMArena: http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_n95-review-141.php

So far I am not able to find if we need to pay for turn by turn navigation on the 6110, although I can be sure you will have to pay for it on the N95. Just checked out mypdacafe.com, and found out that sonyclie77 posted there saying the 6110 DOES NOT use the Sirf 3 GPS chip. This fact doesnt affect the compatibility of other Mapping softwares though, to quote sonyclie77.

Another fact I discovered is, which you guys may already know, turn by turn navigation is available on the 6110's Route66 and NAVFone maps, but trouble is for ppl in PJ/KL these maps aren't at all complete. Hence we go for smart2go+maploader, which has better maps for the locals but the trouble is there isnt voice navigation for it. So yeah, you cant get everything... In Australia I guess Route66 does the job well, but when I go home end of this year only can I test it out on Malaysian roads compared with smart2go.

ps anyone can confirm that the voice/turn by turn navigation on the 6110 will be FREE like for good? It will be such a let down if suddenly at day 60 of usage it says you gotta start subscribing...

This post has been edited by avantgarde84: Jul 24 2007, 09:57 AM
avantgarde84
post Jul 28 2007, 08:54 AM

Certified LYN Spammer
1,135 posts

Guys we are supposed to open the smart2go (Nokia Maps) in our HP at least once right after we have installed it correct? This step is necessary before installing the Map Loader. Question of the day: Where is the Nokia Maps program in the HP for me to open? I mean after installing it in the HP where does it land up to?

Btw got my Navigator 2 days back, and the Aussie maps are really good and detailed. Even the small backlanes are detailed. But one thing in common with everyone's device is that the Pedestrian mode always finds us a much longer route when in actual fact you can just take a shorter cut. So when the device calculates the distance as 10km, I found myself able to find the location in just 3km! Driving-wise the calculations are good.

0.0218sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:24 AM