Buying Studio Unit, Worth it?

TSdoinkz_gaara
post Jan 6 2017, 12:47 AM, updated 9y ago

Too fast to live, too young to die
2,381 posts

A lot of people have been telling me that it's not worth it to buy a studio unit. I'm planning to buy one as my own stay, not looking to gain any profit from it or anything, do you think it's wise to spend that amount of money for something basic?
shaniandras2787
post Jan 6 2017, 09:34 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Jan 6 2017, 12:47 AM)
A lot of people have been telling me that it's not worth it to buy a studio unit. I'm planning to buy one as my own stay, not looking to gain any profit from it or anything, do you think it's wise to spend that amount of money for something basic?
Buying anything you like within your own means is by all definition good to yourself BUT given the nature of real properties that are permanent in nature and it does not come cheap, it's always better to take into consideration the prospect of it because to be honest unless you intend to stay at that one place for the rest of your life or you foresee yourself not needing to flip your current property to purchase another one them.

To me, studio apartments are designed for 2 groups of people:-
1) individuals who does not intend to start a family for at least twenty (20) years from their date of purchase; OR
2) individuals who intend to generate profit from it (be it, subsale or rent).

My general rule is if you do not find yourself falling into either one of the above categories then avoid.
Yveatel
post Jan 6 2017, 09:44 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 6 2017, 09:34 AM)
Buying anything you like within your own means is by all definition good to yourself BUT given the nature of real properties that are permanent in nature and it does not come cheap, it's always better to take into consideration the prospect of it because to be honest unless you intend to stay at that one place for the rest of your life or you foresee yourself not needing to flip your current property to purchase another one them.

1) individuals who does not intend to start a family for at least twenty (20) years from their date of purchase; OR

My general rule is if you do not find yourself falling into either one of the above categories then avoid.
Follow this sifu advise bruce.gif
TSdoinkz_gaara
post Jan 6 2017, 03:09 PM

2,381 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 6 2017, 09:34 AM)

I guess, if I move on to my next property I can rent it out? Thanks Sifu! I might fall under the 2nd option haha.
chiahau
post Jan 6 2017, 03:26 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Jan 6 2017, 03:09 PM)
I guess, if I move on to my next property I can rent it out? Thanks Sifu! I might fall under the 2nd option haha.
Make sure it's at prime area + price is decent enough so that you don't bleed money while getting another property.
shaniandras2787
post Jan 6 2017, 04:02 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

This is the ideal situation for all but super risky.

Moving on to your next property still means that you are financially restricted to service the loan of your existing property so the rent generated from this property cannot be used to assist in your purchase of the next therefore unless you have some financial freedom, maintaining 2 real properties at the same time is quite a bad idea.

Whatever it is, just make sure that your account balances with surplus because you never know what will hit you.
tangtang22
post Jan 6 2017, 04:22 PM

213 posts

Good for a start to ur journey in life as you can have a whole unit to urself without having to share bathroom/common area with housemate if ur going for a bigger unit. Start small as nowadays as studios in good area can be found at less than RM300K...
nookie188
post Jan 6 2017, 04:29 PM

2,515 posts

what areas are you looking at?
location is important..
TSdoinkz_gaara
post Jan 6 2017, 04:46 PM

2,381 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 6 2017, 04:02 PM)
This is the ideal situation for all but super risky.

Moving on to your next property still means that you are financially restricted to service the loan of your existing property so the rent generated from this property cannot be used to assist  in your purchase of the next therefore unless you have some financial freedom, maintaining 2 real properties at the same time is quite a bad idea.

Whatever it is, just make sure that your account balances with surplus because you never know what will hit you.
Hm true. Alrighty! Thanks!

QUOTE(tangtang22 @ Jan 6 2017, 04:22 PM)
Good for a start to ur journey in life as you can have a whole unit to urself without having to share bathroom/common area with housemate if ur going for a bigger unit. Start small as nowadays as studios in good area can be found at less than RM300K...
The one I'm looking at is around 400k+ for 650+sq. Is it okay?

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Jan 6 2017, 04:29 PM)
what areas are you looking at?
location is important..
PJ mostly. (Too used to here)
nookie188
post Jan 6 2017, 05:24 PM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Jan 6 2017, 04:46 PM)
PJ manyak besar ..which area specifically?

at the end of the day its up to personal choices - I have seen an aunty buying a studio before as she said no inclination to clean so want a small place
with security..young people may also choose studios as they just need a place to sleep..they eat out all the time and have an active social life so cant
be bothered with maintaining a bigger place.
tangtang22
post Jan 6 2017, 05:54 PM

213 posts

650+ is a good size..

Price wise hard to comment as it depends on several factors.
TSdoinkz_gaara
post Jan 6 2017, 07:31 PM

2,381 posts

QUOTE(nookie188 @ Jan 6 2017, 05:24 PM)
PJ manyak besar ..which area specifically? 

at the end of the day its up to personal choices - I have seen an aunty buying a studio before as she said no inclination to clean so want a small place
with security..young people may also choose studios as they just need a place to sleep..they eat out all the time and have an active social life so cant
be bothered with maintaining a bigger place.
Ara Damansaraaa.

QUOTE(tangtang22 @ Jan 6 2017, 05:54 PM)
650+ is a good size..

Price wise hard to comment as it depends on several factors.
Ara Damansara, completion 2020.
ricstc
post Jan 6 2017, 07:57 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Jan 6 2017, 12:47 AM)
if you have a gf or new wife then how?

studio one shot see all very small only

one eye look see all
forever1979
post Jan 7 2017, 05:59 AM

2,854 posts

depends on the layout, for 650plus sf, it maybe can put a partition and make a 'extra' room. then become 2 rooms apartment
shaniandras2787
post Jan 9 2017, 10:25 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

Quite frankly, RM650+ per sqft is considered rather expensive already. It better comes with state of the art facilities and has super good maintenance and looks absolutely stunning on the exterior and the common area otherwise, you are over paying (taking into consideration the current real property market).

By the way, have you check the monthly maintenance charges and other commitment fees you need to pay?

I realized most people failed to take this into account when making their purchase. This affects you in the long run and can drag you down to hell with it.

Imagine if the charges are RM0.30 per sqft, a unit with about 2k sqft will already costs you RM600+ already.
TSdoinkz_gaara
post Jan 9 2017, 10:52 AM

2,381 posts

QUOTE(ricstc @ Jan 6 2017, 07:57 PM)
if you have a gf or new wife then how?

studio one shot see all very small only

one eye look see all
Yehh. Thought bout it but somehow I kinda like studios.

QUOTE(forever1979 @ Jan 7 2017, 05:59 AM)
depends on the layout, for 650plus sf, it maybe can put a partition and make a 'extra' room. then become 2 rooms apartment
Hm maybe need to think bout this too.

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 9 2017, 10:25 AM)
Quite frankly, RM650+ per sqft is considered rather expensive already. It better comes with state of the art facilities and has super good maintenance and looks absolutely stunning on the exterior and the common area otherwise, you are over paying (taking into consideration the current real property market).

By the way, have you check the monthly maintenance charges and other commitment fees you need to pay?

I realized most people failed to take this into account when making their purchase. This affects you in the long run and can drag you down to hell with it.

Imagine if the charges are RM0.30 per sqft, a unit with about 2k sqft will already costs you RM600+ already.
Yeah it's roughly 0.30 per sqft, so prolly around 200+ extra every month. So far I have not much commitment. But if the location is somewhere I like, do you think it's worth it?
chiahau
post Jan 9 2017, 11:17 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Jan 6 2017, 07:31 PM)
Ara Damansaraaa.
Ara Damansara, completion 2020.
AD many condos in future, might be tight to let go in the near future as competition would be significant for smaller sized units.

Not to mention there are some which are FH/LH that might swing potential buyers' consideration before buying.
shaniandras2787
post Jan 9 2017, 12:37 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Jan 9 2017, 10:52 AM)
Yeah it's roughly 0.30 per sqft, so prolly around 200+ extra every month. So far I have not much commitment. But if the location is somewhere I like, do you think it's worth it?
I wished I could give you the answer to your question. Worthiness is something you need to ask yourself and you alone has the answer especially when it comes to real property investment.

A lot of people listened to "property gurus" to invest but totally disregarded their own preference and ended up not paying attention to the real property itself. At the end of the day, the property is just like a cash cow to them. If one does that in a development, it is fine but if 60% of the people does that to a development then it is detrimental in the long run.

Owners rent to whoever pays the highest (ie. foreigners and that includes uscrupulous ones, which is very common). So, you may yield good rent for 3 years, maybe 4 years but your market value suffers tremendously because it becomes undesirable anymore.

At the end of the day, you need to consider all these factors and weigh each and every one of them to reach a balance.

Sometimes, securing income yield is not everything.
lamode
post Jan 9 2017, 02:43 PM

anything could happen!
3,902 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 9 2017, 12:37 PM)
I wished I could give you the answer to your question. Worthiness is something you need to ask yourself and you alone has the answer especially when it comes to real property investment.

A lot of people listened to "property gurus" to invest but totally disregarded their own preference and ended up not paying attention to the real property itself. At the end of the day, the property is just like a cash cow to them. If one does that in a development, it is fine but if 60% of the people does that to a development then it is detrimental in the long run.

Owners rent to whoever pays the highest (ie. foreigners and that includes uscrupulous ones, which is very common). So, you may yield good rent for 3 years, maybe 4 years but your market value suffers tremendously because it becomes undesirable anymore.

At the end of the day, you need to consider all these factors and weigh each and every one of them to reach a balance.

Sometimes, securing income yield is not everything.
straight to the points, very helpful advice.
thanks and hope to see more stuff like this smile.gif
TSdoinkz_gaara
post Jan 9 2017, 04:04 PM

2,381 posts

I'm not looking at this place as another income yield but yeah, you're right. I'll prolly listen to my heart this time haha.

0.2395sec    1.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:16 PM