[Help] My Star Tortoise is sick

TShivemy
post Feb 22 2007, 09:47 AM, updated 19y ago

Gadgets Slave . Storage Craze
2,151 posts

Sorry for double posting as main thread,

My Star Tortoise is sick! icon_question.gif

I think it got flu? Or bitten by something?

- Nose is watery and comes bubble (could be flu)
- Always sleeping for 2 days without eating
- Eyes is always sleeping, watery
- Don't want to eat
- After opening eyes for few seconds, it goes back to sleep
- Sometimes it walks with eyes closed.

icon_question.gif any tort doctors advise? icon_question.gif it's 3rd day now it hasn't been eating..
khaneys
post Feb 22 2007, 09:50 AM

297 posts

pm uzairi la bro.he is dewa tort hmm.gif
hope ur tort will get well soon cheers.gif
cheaka
post Feb 22 2007, 10:10 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(hivemy @ Feb 22 2007, 09:47 AM)
Sorry for double posting as main thread,

My Star Tortoise is sick! icon_question.gif

I think it got flu? Or bitten by something?

- Nose is watery and comes bubble (could be flu)
- Always sleeping for 2 days without eating
- Eyes is always sleeping, watery
- Don't want to eat
- After opening eyes for few seconds, it goes back to sleep
- Sometimes it walks with eyes closed.

icon_question.gif any tort doctors advise? icon_question.gif it's 3rd day now it hasn't been eating..
Try Yeoh's Veterinary Clinic in Taman Mayang there...facing the LDP highway...Last time I took my star tortoise for treatment..they are familiar with small animals.....and also this usually happen when it didn't have enough Sun or heat...
TShivemy
post Feb 22 2007, 10:33 AM

2,151 posts

i'm in Kuching Sarawak ler. how to bring to the recommended vet.

so what should i really do? put under the sun?
khaneys
post Feb 22 2007, 11:02 AM

297 posts

r u sunbath them?many forumers said u need to sunbath them minimum 45mnt(9 am -9.45)
babymoli
post Feb 22 2007, 11:10 AM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

Try sun bath him. It might help. May be it takes time to recover but at least can stop it from getting worst while you trying to find solution. Do PM uzairi..
TShivemy
post Feb 22 2007, 11:57 AM

2,151 posts

will put him under the sun now while i go back for lunch. thanks.

will pm uzairi as recommended
uzairi
post Feb 22 2007, 12:11 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Hello there,

I supposed your star is having a respiratory problem. Firstly, you need to sunbath your star tortoise. Feed your star with long beans/french beans to boost your star tortoise's appetite.

Can i have a picture of your star tortoise's enclosure ?
khaneys
post Feb 22 2007, 12:14 PM

297 posts

waa uzairi ckp ala2 doc. biggrin.gif dun angri -jk-
p/s bile mau reply msg aku daaa~ rclxs0.gif
TShivemy
post Feb 22 2007, 12:15 PM

2,151 posts

uzairi: thanks

i will go home now to sunbath him and buy long beans while having my lunch.

will post the pic here as well later and PM u.

Added on February 22, 2007, 4:42 pmuser posted image
Sun Bath

Sleepy eyes started to open

Eat

Eat

Eat

Sleeping while eating doh.gif

He's still sleeping now inside my kitchen... Should I keep putting him under the sun? Please advise. Thanks!

This post has been edited by hivemy: Feb 22 2007, 04:42 PM
SAMPERTH
post Feb 22 2007, 06:01 PM

517 posts

Your diet and housing is not right the basket you are puttng it in is it its permenant house ?/
If so he will get really cold at night from wind especially during the rainy period at year end

From picture - Also watch what you are feeding him it has some excessive shell growth from too much protein - long bean ......

Next pontential sickness on line will be MBD - Metabolic Bone Disease

All the best
funkychips
post Feb 22 2007, 06:46 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

hivemy, from what I see, your tort looks underfed, what do you usually feed it? how old is it?
TShivemy
post Feb 22 2007, 10:03 PM

2,151 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Feb 22 2007, 06:01 PM)
Your diet and housing is not right the basket you are puttng it in is it its permenant house ?/
If so he will get really cold at night from wind especially during the rainy period at year end

From picture - Also watch what you are feeding him it has some excessive shell growth from too much protein - long bean ......

yea, that red basket is where i keep him, but i keep him indoor inside my kitchen. i made a box with hole before but he hides else where next morning, so i had to jail him from morning - noon when i'm working. what do you suggest?

uzairi suggested long bean today. So i buy long bean in the market today. he does eat a little bit. He hasn't been eating for 3 days now....

QUOTE(funkychips @ Feb 22 2007, 06:46 PM)
hivemy, from what I see, your tort looks underfed, what do you usually feed it? how old is it?
i don't know how old is it. still quite baby i guess. i usually feed him all kind of veges i have in my fridge. sometimes he eat ladies finger, bayam, sawi, carrots, long bean etc.

what do you suggest a proper diet?
kembara
post Feb 22 2007, 10:06 PM

dinobots, maximize!!
1,668 posts

i think tortoise must be keep in large tank...with some setting similar as nature habitat... for food..i think there were pallet sold in market for them...
you must google the internet la..search how to keep tortoise...

here some things related to your pet...

star tortoise care sheet

http://www.geocities.com/carolinatortoises/starcare.html

http://www.reptilesweb.com/reptiles-sectio...r-tortoise.html

This post has been edited by kembara: Feb 22 2007, 10:11 PM
TShivemy
post Feb 22 2007, 10:18 PM

2,151 posts

you guys mind to share with me how does your star tort house looks like?

i am thinking to get a medium glass aquarium as a new home, perhaps with cover too. i have no idea if soil is recommended or should i just use newspapers?

my aunt has a adult 20cm star tortoise, all she did was a small box in the kitchen like i did before.
uzairi
post Feb 23 2007, 02:20 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(khaneys @ Feb 22 2007, 12:14 PM)
waa uzairi ckp ala2 doc. biggrin.gif dun angri -jk-
p/s bile mau reply msg aku daaa~  rclxs0.gif
laugh.gif Where got like dr. LOL

QUOTE(hivemy @ Feb 22 2007, 12:15 PM)
uzairi: thanks

i will go home now to sunbath him and buy long beans while having my lunch.

will post the pic here as well later and PM u.

He's still sleeping now inside my kitchen... Should I keep putting him under the sun? Please advise. Thanks!
From the pic, i can say the diet given contains too much protein. The shell pyramiding is very bad. What i can suggest is feed your star with sawi + some long beans(to attract him to eat) and see how it goes.

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Feb 22 2007, 06:01 PM)

All the best
From the size and shell growth i suspect MBD too, but not jumping into conclusion yet. Hope the star only have RNS.

QUOTE(hivemy @ Feb 22 2007, 10:03 PM)
yea, that red basket is where i keep him, but i keep him indoor inside my kitchen. i made a box with hole before but he hides else where next morning, so i had to jail him from morning - noon when i'm working. what do you suggest?

uzairi suggested long bean today. So i buy long bean in the market today. he does eat a little bit. He hasn't been eating for 3 days now....

i don't know how old is it. still quite baby i guess. i usually feed him all kind of veges i have in my fridge. sometimes he eat ladies finger, bayam, sawi, carrots, long bean etc.

what do you suggest a proper diet?
Bayam not recomended, but for now what i suggest is mixed sawi with long beans/french bean and hope your star eat at least something.

QUOTE(hivemy @ Feb 22 2007, 10:18 PM)
you guys mind to share with me how does your star tort house looks like?

i am thinking to get a medium glass aquarium as a new home, perhaps with cover too. i have no idea if soil is recommended or should i just use newspapers?

my aunt has a adult 20cm star tortoise, all she did was a small box in the kitchen like i did before.
Actually, a normal 2ft tank with cover is sufficient. Bedding you can use wood chips and prepare a basking lamp. Dont use soil for now, newspaper is okay but remember to clean it whenever your star poo or pee and keep the humidity level down.

Your aunt is a different case because her star tortoise is big and it is more hardy compared to yours.
crazymouse_yyh
post Feb 23 2007, 09:39 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Wah... the pyramiding looks too early to develop... looks like a small star too... How big is it in cm?

Like what Uzairi said.... feed long beans for now if not eating. Well, a star cannot eat a lot of our vegies since contain either too much sugar or water or absorbs calcium. So the best would be sawi... you can feed a few kang kung leaves and ladies fingers too.

Long beans are sweet and contain high protein, so normally sick or starving tortoises favour long beans. To gain strenght, that is why Uzairi advice you to feed long beans first since you said it has not been eating and appear weak.

Yes, you need to sun bath him. 20 minutes a day under the hot morning sun should be enough.

Do not use soil since soil contains a lot of moisture and can have mold or parasites.

For now, since your star got respitory problem, use newspaper coz I am afraid woodchips dust may cause some difficulties in recovering.

The basket is not proper at all. Get a 2ft glass tank is the best. Also, you should get a basking lamp to provide some heat when it is sick. A sick tortoise needs a bit of heat to recuperate...

Hope your tortoise gets well... I had 1 star died in my care coz of severe case of calcium dificency... the body could not absorb calcium and it had soft shell for 1 year before it died...
scaleslithers
post Feb 24 2007, 01:50 AM

130 posts

a link that you might be interested to read as reference in order to save you star tort:
http://www.malaysiafauna.com/forum/index.p...st=0&#entry9017

fyi

regards

This post has been edited by scaleslithers: Feb 24 2007, 01:52 AM

0.0185sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:29 AM