Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

i.am.nad.
post Mar 19 2008, 01:04 AM

hey y'all..
i just got my spm results n thank god i did well..11A1s..
im interested 2 pursue medicine..but i've heard A LOT of negative stuff about medicine..
eg: A LOT 2 memorize(well..it's true yea?) etc
can u guys gime some positive thoughts?..haha..i really need those..n how do u know ur sure u wana pursue medic?
how did u prepare 4 medic school?..did u do any hospital/clinic attachments?
goshh..lotza ques..hehe..just sum1 who really wana get sum background info..really appreciate ur replies! biggrin.gif
i.am.nad.
post Mar 21 2008, 02:49 PM

QUOTE(aerikh @ Mar 19 2008, 07:35 PM)
1st of all, congrats!  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif

well, the most important thing:
don't choose medicine just because you scored in your exams...
score in your exams cause you chose medicine!
  blush.gif

well.. i knew i wanted to be a doctor since i was 5.. never wavered from then...
always had to crack my skull to write 2 more options during primary school
(anyone still remember the small card you have to fill, including 3 cita-cita?) tongue.gif

i joined st. john's ambulance since std 5, just to get a feel of the first aid training..
never went to any hospitals for training..

medicine is fun, lots of problem solving, no patient is the same as the previous one..
you can have the most canggih meds & equipment to heal (& kill) people..
people treat you different, your friends & relatives consult you from the 1st day you entered medical school (even though you've only just learnt about the anatomy & physiology)
learning in medicine never stops.. the day you graduate is just the 1st step to the wide world of medicine..
you'll be a doctor till the day you die..
tongue.gif

(YES, there is a LOT to memorize)
ohh..thanx aerikh! haha..yea!! da cita-cita card.. sweat.gif ..it's nice 2 hear experience from a med student.. blush.gif hope i can be one too n join y'all!! wooo~~ lol..gettin excited now.. biggrin.gif oh goshh..A LOT 2 memorize huh? must start eatin lego raisins from now on.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(csrulez @ Mar 20 2008, 09:48 AM)
with 11A1s, i'd suggest u to try out JPA scholarship. Reappeal if you dun get them. wink.gif All the best nad! =))

And oh yeah, to add on. Medicine is really hectic, but it's fun in the other way. It's just the matter of how you like the subjects or not. Choose medicine only because u're really really really interested in it. wink.gif
hmm..i applied 4 jpa at first..but then decided 2 change 2 mara..cuz i heard jpa scholarship is a hard 1 to get..i hav a cousin who scored 10A1s n didnt get it.. cry.gif ..soo,i dun wana take risk la..hehe..
well..im interested now..n i think if i get myself deeper in2 medicine i'll be even more interested with the things i get 2 learn.. smile.gif ..hope so..haha..
thanx u guys!

0.0447sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:16 AM