Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

dunaskwhy
post Mar 26 2009, 04:33 PM

89 posts

Agreed with limeuu. Medical education is a tricky one. Its both the hardest and the most expensive course to get into.

What you need to do now is to sort out the cost with a fairly accurate estimation and give in adequate leeway on the unexpected costs that may arise. You have 3 choice as far as the cost concern.

1. Study locally - Pay local fee - No need to worry about foreign currency exchange rate and relatively cheap living costs.
2. Study overseas - Pay fee as an international student - Currency exchange rate might vary thus resulting in variable final costs and relatively expensive cost of living
3. Study half local and half oversea - Lower cost than doing the whole program oversea.

I believe you did not consider studying medicine in a third world country thus negating the cheaper option of studying overseas. I personally think its better to study locally than studying in other third world country. Problem with recognition and standard of education is debatable.

Its like buying a house. You don't want to buy a huge house where you need to spend more than 50% of your salary to buy it and end up having a hard time surviving. However, if you can afford it then of course you will like to buy a decent and resonable priced house at a good location.

Good luck
dunaskwhy
post Jun 3 2009, 05:20 AM

89 posts

Well said. Let me add by saying as you train to as a doctor you will start to realise what is important and whats not. Its usually the non-sensational, common but important disease we will see most and also the rare but potential deadly presentation we will try to rule out. We don't to around testing everyone with tachycardia for pheochromocytoma just because we know what it is.
dunaskwhy
post Jun 4 2009, 02:15 AM

89 posts

Ondine's curse
My lecturer actually had a patient who had this. The patient lived a relatively normal life, but had to sleep using a CPAP machine

I believe what you explaining here is Obstructive Sleep Apnoea instead of Ondine's curse.
dunaskwhy
post Jun 4 2009, 07:05 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jun 4 2009, 04:03 PM)
Out of curiosity, the intern friend of yours earn 3k ringgit or Aussy after deduction of tax?
Aussie intern gets around AUD 3k+ to 4k+ per month. Depends on which state you working and hours of OT.

Basic salary per year range from ~50k-70k

dunaskwhy
post Jun 4 2009, 11:51 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 5 2009, 01:30 AM)
for oz residents and citizens, the higher taxes translates into better healthcare, education, social services, pensions, parks, good public toilets, good roads and highways and hardly any toll in sight......etc.......

you pay less taxes in msia, but you get practically nothing in return.......unless you belong to the privileged class and ethnicity, you will eventually need to pay for private healthcare, education, pay tolls for your roads, and hardly any social service at all........you tax money goes to bail out crony companies, lost in projects like patrol boats and free trade zones........and collapsing stadiums........

given the choice, i would choose oz over msia........not to mention needing to work less time to pay for almost everything.....(eg, for a basic car like toyota corolla....YES that is a basic car in most parts of the world, except msia where it is a 'luxury' car!!.......you need to work 3 years in msia, but 6 months in oz to get one).........

don't look at taxes in the short term.....but look at it as what you will get in return over your lifetime.......
Agreed.

Technically you get tax around 30% of your salary. However, if you know how to do good tax return you can get at least 2k back from your annual tax return.

There is also salary packaging which allow hospital to withold your salary for tax exemption. 9k limit for each financial year for thing like rent/morgage/credit card expenses etc. 1/2 your gross salary limit for meal packaging. So essensially all the meals you eat out are tax free *note minimum invoiced amout is AUD20*

There is also continuous medical education claim of AUD1000 a year for intern. You can claim a laptop/sthethoscope/books etc related to your medical training.

OT is usually rostered. You rarely just work basic hours. 38-40 hours is 150% basic pay. 40 hours onwards is 200%. 150% working night, 250% working public holiday, 150% on weekends.

Oh yeah and there is locum jobs once you get fully registered that varies AUD80-100/hr for 2year resident.

*this is for victoria - the worst paid state*

This post has been edited by dunaskwhy: Jun 4 2009, 11:53 PM

0.0461sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:45 PM