Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center
ashi
May 5 2009, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(guanteck @ Apr 23 2008, 02:36 PM) Thanks for the replies. Because i've just gone through my interview and i think i did pretty badly at the end. It was quite ok at the beginning but i got a bit stucked at the case scenario. I hesitated for like 10 seconds and my answers were not that good i think. I stumbled alot after that. I dun think i've actually answer that question. Hopefully my results can actually compensate my badly done interview. Oh yea, 1 more question. I know IMU will mail u a letter if u have been accepted. How if u were to be rejected? Will IMU still mail u to actually tell u that u din get through the interview and that u r not accepted? Thanks. Hi can I ask what was the scenario question they asked from u? plz help!
ashi
May 9 2009, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(chika138 @ May 8 2009, 01:48 AM) 1. u're a pilot. in a storm when flying ur plane. a passenger heart attack. shud u land or not purposely for him? 2. u on ur way to an important function, which may affect ur career. u found some1 injured/needing medical attention halfway during ur journey. shud u stop by, or continue? 3. ur patient gives u present after u cure him/her. shud u accept? i've nvr heard anything other than this 3 (doesn't mean 100% confirmed only this 3 possible) Thanks a lot for the help!!! So, what is the typical 1st day at Imu like , and a typical learning day for the 1st sem like? How long is the holiday period after a sem?
ashi
May 10 2009, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ May 9 2009, 12:29 AM) sem 1 relax as much as you can honestly, sem 2 only work. but keep track of sem 2 work. you'll be missing out most the years activities when you come in. i dunno if you're a typical imu student or not. if you are you'll love the place if not suffer like me  . 2 hours a day leaves you with alot of time to catch up on work and have fun. so dont neglect either side. you'll be begging for fun in preparing for eos 2 otherwise. so good luck! and i wont be part of your orientation so i wont meet you  EOS 2 MONDAY TUESDAY. HELLPPPPPPPPPP..... SAQ- 5 mins per questions. crazy . OSPE also. OBA has gotta boost me. Thanks a lot for the note!!! What does EOS, SAQ, OBA , OSPE mean??? This post has been edited by ashi: May 10 2009, 12:42 AM
ashi
May 10 2009, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ May 10 2009, 03:04 AM) EOS= end of semester SAQ= short answer question OBA= one best answer OSPE= honestly i dont know what it means, but its station and each station must answer question within the time. shane, it depends actually. some people wanna just go off as soon as they can , and have more time spent doing their clinical practice. but if you really wanna try your hand in research i think its worth it. I really think its worth the time. and besides if you dont like practicing you can fall back on research in which you have been exposed to! Warwick and ANU are rather new. but i guess in terms of prestige, ANU the best university in australia , but am not sure how's their medical faculty standings. like most people have placed melbourne as one of the best. Oh now I understand. Thanks! All the best 4 ur exam Ronaldo!!! What is the orientation week like? Is it fun? Is it compulsary? What r the advantages? This post has been edited by ashi: Jul 11 2009, 05:24 PM
ashi
May 10 2009, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(chika138 @ May 10 2009, 06:21 PM) well if can dun skip as this will be ur first and only university orientation (i dun think u'll get a similar fun one in PMS, do correct me if i'm wrong) and this 2 weeks gonna be the only 2 weeks which u can play ur heart out without worrying about studies at all u'll get to know more friends, in a faster way as well compared to those who skipped and it gonna be one big part of ur sweet memories in IMU but of cuz u can choose to skip, no1 gonna penalize u Hmmm...  I think u r right. Thanks 4 the advice!
ashi
May 11 2009, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(chika138 @ May 11 2009, 12:51 AM) welcome but then, not evy1 like the orientation la it's down to ur likings afterall just go and try 1st la, before deciding whether to skip hmmm i really think we shud bring IMU-related discussions to our very own IMU thread, dun u all think so?? http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/452077I sure will.... How long is the vacation period in IMU?
ashi
May 12 2009, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ May 11 2009, 05:54 PM) I don't know why you're so caught up on to Romania. but basically obtaining working visa as a doctor in non-uk country is gonna be a bit difficult. having speak the language of that country. and many other factors. be careful of agents and universities who seemingly place their living expenses so low. you might end up spending more than you can afford. so dont trust all the agents. depending on your result, you can go to any of the IPTS in malaysia. many of them accept low grades, manipal-melaka was BCC , IMU was BBC, AIMST am not sure. so at the end of the day insurance in your degree, and you know for a fact a loan from PTPTN can be secured, malaysia sounds like a better destination rather than romania. you might not qualify for monash though, heard they have high entry results. Added on May 11, 2009, 5:57 pmif you join M209, you'll have break throughout most of december and January, but in december you have a summative, which is peanuts compared to the EOS. so take your time and have fun then. After EOS its about 1 and half months. : ) This post has been edited by ashi: Jul 11 2009, 05:12 PM