Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

wgy589
post Oct 16 2008, 05:02 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Oct 16 2008, 04:26 PM)
MMA is supposed to be okay. Stop being a pessimist, look into the brighter areas of your life there. First year medicine can't be that hard. Even lousy students go through.

Think about it, not many in your home country get to travel around europe cheap. A flight to London is just at 1GBP! You should enjoy your winter and summer holidays.
and moscow has always been a nice place for me, esp the buildings.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Oct 16 2008, 05:03 PM
wgy589
post Oct 17 2008, 01:52 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Oct 17 2008, 01:48 PM)
well right and wrong...its recognized by the Msians n the Australian Medical Association but the Sg's MA has not recognized it yet coz monash malaysia hasnt produced any grads yet....the pioneer batch of students are still 1 year away from graduation, but i think Sg will recognize it when the grads are out.....its kinda weird if the Aussies recognize it but Sg doesnt.... shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif

anyway good for us....Sg grads working for us instead of the other way around!!!  flex.gif  flex.gif  flex.gif

btw wanna raise some issue here ah....what u guys think about the medical system here.....like the ministry of health said they are working on a public-funded insurance cover thing, like the Medicare / NHS system....but no news bout it till now....and i think we should hav that coz for average folks.....seeing a 'normal doctor' / GP is getting more n more costly.... unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
do u knoe any sg grads working in msia?
wgy589
post Jan 2 2009, 11:36 AM

759 posts

har? i thought republic of ireland is using euro?
PMC is twinning to medskols in republic of ireland, not northern ireland.
wgy589
post Jan 2 2009, 06:30 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 2 2009, 03:36 PM)
Leeds total tuition + living comes to RM620K.

I know for certain you can get by with GBP4K/yr or 20K/5yr or RMRM100K/5yr in Leeds because it's the cheapest in UK and if you are careful with money. Of course if you wanted to go to London's Imperial College or go to pub every night, then this budget flies out of the window.

And mind you, Monash fees increases every year unlike Leeds which are fixed upon 1st entry.

http://www.rbs.co.uk/content/personal/curr...iving_Index.pdf

Added on January 2, 2009, 3:50 pm

My own calculation comes to:
5 yrs tuition fee (including annual increase) RM460K
5 yrs living expenses RM90K
Total RM550K.

Excluding London. UK ranges from RM620K to RM750K depending on which uni you go to. All courtesy of the falling Sterling Pound.

In other word, doing the cost in UK is only about RM70K to RM200K more than MM.
walao eh, now Leeds only RM 620K? compared to roughly RM 1M when I finished my pre-U last time. I think it's now the best time to go UK or US medskols, whether thru IMU or go straight.
wgy589
post Jan 7 2009, 02:53 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(Leto Kynes @ Jan 7 2009, 09:06 AM)
I'm just wondering.. but for those of you who got accepted into uni's.. did you get any experience before-hand?

Like shadowing a GP / volunteering at a hospital / etc.

When did you do it?
I just started my A-Levels and I have to send my application off around Sept. this year so I'm wondering if it's a good idea to start now - need to find out how first though tongue.gif
yup, u should do it esp if u r applying for the more competitive medskols. i did stpm so it's a diff matter for me.

Added on January 7, 2009, 2:58 pm
QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jan 7 2009, 01:04 PM)
Dang. Does it mean IPTS like PMC and IMU not recognized by Singapore? (even if twinning in Ireland?)

I need an accredited U's as it would help me with deferment letter from National Service. I heard UM and UKM does not accept foreigner into medicine as it already filled with local... sad.gifsad.gif
most IMU twinning medskols are recognised by SMC, PMC is no longer recognised, cos the clinical component is not done in the country of origin(Ireland)
You should look thru the list and see which medskols suit u the most. even some taiwanese medskols are recognised so that can be part of ur considerations.

Added on January 7, 2009, 3:01 pm
QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jan 7 2009, 01:39 AM)
My father's cousin work as an examiner for their clinical year(something with optometrist) said that PMC students are very very  good as they are trained for the first 2 years in Ireland.

There a lot of discussion throughout this thread but can anyone help me with this question (I'm an STPM student waiting for result):-

1. What is your STPM/Matics etc. result when you get accepted to certain university?
2. Any list of good IPTS recommended? PMC,Monash, etc. in term of cost vs. quality
3. How you pays the enormous tuition fees? Loans? Scholarship?
4. Interviewing process?

Lastly, I'm a Singaporean studying my whole life in M'sia.

5. What is my chances of studying in public university? I heard most don't accept except UIA (which I vying for).
1) reuslts depending on which medskols u apply.
2)depends mainly on ur budget and locations.
3) i dun think u can get any loan/scholarship in msia to fully support ur studies.
4)wat r u asking?
5) wat's ur predicted results?

This post has been edited by wgy589: Jan 7 2009, 03:04 PM
wgy589
post Jan 7 2009, 08:39 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jan 7 2009, 08:19 PM)
Thanks a lot. (I'm applying by UCAS now)

3. Yeah. A good chance it gonna break the bank but I think about only applying just to let my parent know I try to get into the place. Going there is a different matter. sad.gif
5. I'm gunning for UKM now as UIA is not recognized. Is >3.5 do any good for Med,Pharma,Dentistry?
Actually even in les demanded couse like engineering have many opportunity like my bro who study in Edinburgh. Medicine etc. is a globally in great need as population
is increasing. Just so you know, hospital in UK's have a lot of foreigner.
Another thing, is that mean I should apply for IMU since PMU not recognized? How good is IMU like its tweening partner.
limeuu was right, u r naive.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Jan 7 2009, 08:40 PM
wgy589
post Jan 9 2009, 10:39 PM

759 posts

if u have the calibre to enter UKM, u can also try NUS.
wgy589
post Jan 15 2009, 03:14 PM

759 posts

only IMU twinning, but i thot u r luking for cheaper options?
wgy589
post Jan 16 2009, 04:36 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 16 2009, 02:06 PM)
Try to grasp the situation here. He has no money to study abroad and was born in the wrong country for admission to IPTAs, what other alternatives he has besides the previously mentioned "obtaining a recognized post grad" pathway? rolleyes.gif
nolar, he has been talking abt IMU, UM, UKM, so i dun think he is planning to work here.
wgy589
post Jan 16 2009, 07:44 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 16 2009, 07:03 PM)
So far this is what i understand from TS's posts:

IMU: Its PMS option is too expensive for TS.

UM and UKM: TS can't enter as he was born in the wrong country.

Tell me what other choices he has besides the above mentioned "post-grad" path? Bear in mind that with a recognized post grad qualification, he can work in Singapore via conditional registration.
then it's really a matter of his priority. to work in spore, or become a doctor is more impt. but i guess he wants to work in spore more, since he mentioned IMU dental after u suggested the post grad pathway to him.

Added on January 16, 2009, 8:01 pmbtw, wat books in internal medicine would ur recommend for a beginner to clincals?

talleys?
macleod?
oxford handbook?
Davidsons?
Kumar?
medicine at a glance?

This post has been edited by wgy589: Jan 16 2009, 08:01 PM
wgy589
post Jan 17 2009, 08:17 AM

759 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 16 2009, 11:53 PM)
I am using macleod, but Talley is actually a better book.

Use Davidsons for theory, many vivid diagrams and pictures which aid you in memorizing as well as understanding. Kumar focuses too much on pathophysiology and less on management.

Just my 2 cents. You should read according to your Uni's recommended list.
ya, i also heard talley is better, but it's too wordy compared to macleod, mabbe i'll try out at the library 1st b4 deciding on which to use. thx notworthy.gif

Added on January 17, 2009, 8:24 am
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 17 2009, 12:31 AM)
what kumar book? that 'Pathological Basis of Diseases' book is it?

Thats a good book, if you can handle the ridiculously deep content. It doubles as a  door stop, if you wish. You can seriously injure a person with it.

by the way, for clinical examination books: MacLeod's and Hutchinson's are the two books that I used.

I think somehow, Indian med colleges use similar books throughout the country. I dont know about other countries though.
'Pathological Basis of Diseases" is more commonly called robbins i guess (papa robbins in my medskol). but i think robbins basic pathology (called as mama robbins) is quite adequate already.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Jan 17 2009, 08:24 AM
wgy589
post Jan 17 2009, 12:37 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Jan 17 2009, 10:59 AM)
I'm rather curious.
Does anyone else uses K.D Tripathi's Essentials of Medical Pharmacology and S.Das Concise textbook of surgery in their skools?
no
btw just for reference, here are the books used in NUS
http://www.medicus.tk/

This post has been edited by wgy589: Jan 17 2009, 12:43 PM
wgy589
post Jan 28 2009, 10:10 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(Yeyechan @ Jan 28 2009, 05:46 PM)
Haha... applied...

But I have to be very lucky to be picked, i mean SUPER lucky coz they only give out 3 places in their medicine programme for the WHOLE uec science student in malaysia. So the ratio will be like 1:???......

It isn't really easy going there too. =)
3 seats just for UEC is alot dude.
wgy589
post Jan 30 2009, 12:57 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Jan 30 2009, 10:36 AM)
Wah! you sound like very arrogant!!! I think for UEC AAAAAAAB3 this kind of result is a"NEED" in order to be qualified to enter medical school....actually UEC is nothing compared to STPM/A level!!!! That kind of pre-u...please lah!!! your bio,che,math,phy or what are taught in mandarin medium....really cannot withstand your arrogant...If you get all 8 subject As so what!!! icon_idea.gif " STPM" ,4 out of 5 subjects get A is enough already lo..... hmm.gif actually i don look down on UEC but just feel you sound like very proud!!!!!!!

Added on January 30, 2009, 12:43 pm

When your cousin's parents shot you again.....go and tell them to ask their child better don be a doctor....tell them to set up their own bussiness maybe they will become another teh hong piow or bill gates....for a general surgeon in singapore can only earn about  20000SD monthly so "pay like shit and work like dog la[I]" if compare to a great banker like teh hong piow....then if their child can be a business man like bill gates....wah...can earn 1000USD but just in 5seconds!!!!! GO and tell your shit cousin's parents ask their child better quit their job don be a doctor.....
"general surgeon in singapore can only earn about 20000SD monthly"

in public hospitals only, not in private practice

"mandarin medium"

I think they can choose either to ans in chinese or english. btw, if u think he's arrogant, just leave him alone, ur comment sounds quite childish

This post has been edited by wgy589: Jan 30 2009, 01:01 PM
wgy589
post Jan 30 2009, 01:49 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Jan 30 2009, 01:35 PM)
ya...they can choose to answer in english...but what they taught is in chinese ok?If you are teach in chinese medium...will you answer it in english?

I mean who want to be a doctor should not be always think about money money and money......If one want to be a doctor dont keep on think of how much will earn.....if you think what i say is childish then thank for your remind...i will try to behave more mature but i think what i am talking about is nothing wrong....Hey i think maybe you dont know in malaysia....government need to subsidise  a lot of money to public health unit almost 70% and above....so you think government will pay more to a doctor who work in public hospital...that is impossible....And this is totally different in singapore!!!! btw,in private health sector in malaysia the doctor are pay high too....so ,what i mean is dont always compare with others because different country different circumstances....If really want to compare with others just compare with the one who can earn 1000 USD just in 5 seconds will be better i think!!!! so,ask their cousin set up their own business will be better..... dont you think so? DOCTOR is such a holy title which use it on the one who can save life but not use it on anyone who are only think of the "pay" and "money".......society need a doctor but not a money earner ohmy.gif  shakehead.gif
no, i meant ur comments to yeyechan, ie

"actually UEC is nothing compared to STPM/A level!!!! That kind of pre-u...please lah!!! your bio,che,math,phy or what are taught in mandarin medium....really cannot withstand your arrogant...If you get all 8 subject As so what!!! " STPM" ,4 out of 5 subjects get A is enough already lo..... actually i don look down on UEC but just feel you sound like very proud!!!!!!!"

and happy cny to all the chinese here.
wgy589
post Jan 30 2009, 10:23 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Jan 30 2009, 09:07 PM)
Well from my father's experience back in 80's its tough especially when posting in outer-city area. There are only a handful of doctor handling hundreds of non-stop patient. Maybe its much easier now but I don't think much has change. Getting into private practice iss the best way to live with more time on your own. If you attach with hospital expect call to get back to work even if you take a holiday already.

And did I tell you the pay here is lower than across the bridge? Better go oversea unless oyu passionate about giving back your expertise to your own country..
wat bridge? causeway izzit?
wgy589
post Jan 31 2009, 12:12 AM

759 posts

QUOTE(marissa90 @ Jan 30 2009, 11:57 PM)
hi....im not a med stud...
may i know how much does it  cost for med course in ipts? user posted image
really envy u guys who already got this course..... user posted image

which have better chance of getting med course in ipta, form 6's grad or asasians or matrixs if they got 4 flats? user posted image
The fees range from 200++ (the cheapest being AIMST) to 400++ (the most expensive being monash, not sure on the figure tho)

Matrix is easier to get into IPTA. look at the distribution of places for non bumi from form 6 and matrix and u can pretty much have the idea. if u r malay, i dun think there are any malays who came from form 6 background.

Asasi? u mean UM asasi? i think it's only open to bumi.
wgy589
post Jan 31 2009, 09:50 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Jan 31 2009, 09:04 PM)
oi, can you break your sentences into paragraphs or not? so hard read lah!
never read oxford handbook?

btw, any recommendations for internal medicine handbook? Oxford seems to be the best but the words are just too small and closely packed.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Feb 1 2009, 08:46 AM
wgy589
post Feb 1 2009, 09:45 AM

759 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 1 2009, 09:18 AM)
hey wgy589! edge85 is BDS student not a medical student. So, I think he never read oxford handbook la!!! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Added on February 1, 2009, 9:26 amOops!!! Forgot to say actually im no yet a medical student but hopefully I can enter the UM....AIMST is my last choice....haiz...poor guy....IPTA competitive...IPTS cheapest one is AIMST.....really wish that I can get 4 flat in my STPM lo.....but i believe i can enter de la....haha...pray for me everybody....haha rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
the question is meant for all thread visitors.

how much u got in stpm trial? i think those from stpm shouldn't aim for UM, if u get 4 flat, better aim for USM/UPM, otherwise u will end up in UMS/ Unimas. (not to say UMS/Unimas are not good, but i guess it won't be smtg u want right)

Added on February 1, 2009, 10:01 amTHE Allianze College of Medical Sciences (ACMS) will offer a medical degree via a twinning programme with two established universities in Ireland beginning September.

A memorandum of understanding (MoU) was signed between ACMS and the National University of Ireland, Galway (NUIG) and University College Cork recently.

http://thestar.com.my/education/story.asp?...2&sec=education

it's just like PMC. honestly it doesn't appeal to me since the clinicals is also done in msia.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Feb 1 2009, 10:01 AM
wgy589
post Feb 1 2009, 06:37 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 1 2009, 02:17 PM)
my trial 3.92(bio A, che A, Math A-,and PA A)....yaya...USM or UPM still ok la...BUt unimas...UMS.....erm hopefully not!!!!BUt my senior tell me he got UKM le....he ask me to apply leh....Oo....dont know how...

Ireland??expensive is it? im not rich at all....Nus is reserved for singapore resident is it?

Added on February 1, 2009, 2:39 pmactually i get matrikulasi after my spm....i go there for two weeks then go back because my cousin told me...STPM with higher standard if want to do medicine better take STPM as my pre-U...After i come back only know im cheated...haiz...very regret to come back....otherwise maybe i will in UM or UKM already lo...my friend do  the matriks in johor one now 2 in UM and 1 in UKM rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
trial results of 3.92 is quite good already, so i wish u all the best in ur medskol admission.
nus medicine is also open to foriegners, but but it nids band 6 in MUET, which i guess u didn't score well (have u ever used past tense?)

yup, it's much easier to enter local U from matriks

Added on February 1, 2009, 6:44 pm
QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Feb 1 2009, 03:38 PM)
Yes, it quite sad but the reality is that matriculation is easier and some can even get UM while STPM student can't even get to medicine.

But 3.92 is good enough for UKM. Ireland is private is around 650k while to do in NUS mean getting a presidential scholarship. But if you are Chinese then NUS might accept you but the condition/interview is tough as hell. You could cry as what I heard.
3.92 is definitely not gud enough for UKM. and most med students in NUS are not scholars.

there are certain conditions to get admitted into NUS, ie straight A's in all subpapers, gud interview/essay performance, strong CCA, MUET band 6. there's no nid to cry lar.

This post has been edited by wgy589: Feb 1 2009, 06:44 PM

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0544sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:48 PM