7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center

MBBS siang
post Mar 27 2009, 05:59 PM

582 posts

I do call smc for enquiry today. The answer is yes both are recognized.Beside that,I also receive the email from smc:

Dear Mr Tan,

I refer to your email below

2 The practice of medicine in Singapore is subject to medical registration with the SMC. The SMC would consider granting medical registration to International Medical Graduates (IMGs) who possess a basic medical qualification obtained from the schools listed in the Schedule, subject to an offer of employment with an approved healthcare institution. The list of schools can be found on http://www.smc.gov.sg/html/1153709442948.html. The basic medical degree from the Zhejiang University School of Medicine is recognised by the SMC for medical registration.

3 Any foreign-trained doctor who possesses a basic medical degree from a medical school where the medium of instruction is not in the English Language must submit evidence of proficiency in English Language in the form of either the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) test or the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or Occupational English Test (OET) before the SMC considers his or her application for medical registration. The doctor must achieve the following minimum score:
· IELTS - Minimum score of 7 for EACH component (Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking).
· TOEFL - 250 marks for computer-based test or 600 marks for paper-based test or 100 marks for internet-based test
· OET - Grade B and above

4 To be considered for medical registration, IMGs are also required to pass the relevant national licensing exam in the country where they obtained the basic medical degree if this is a pre-requisite to medical registration and practice in the country. In other words, you'll have to pass the national licensing exam in China before you can be considered for medical registration with the SMC.

5 Please visit our website, www.smc.gov.sg for more details on medical registration.

Thank you

So,the medium of instruction is english,then ok ! Now need to wait the university offer letter,then just call and ask!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Mar 27 2009, 06:45 PM
MBBS siang
post Mar 27 2009, 07:21 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 27 2009, 08:06 PM)
Ah ok its better than the China Embassy answered. Nut I guess that some blog I visit said that China's professor is not well versed in English and this is said by a current medical student. But I don't think you have any problem since you are fluent in Chinese language.

If I were you, I will try to bypass the agent and apply directly there. try check this possibilities.
I will try!
MBBS siang
post Mar 28 2009, 12:21 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 28 2009, 12:37 AM)
visualise, getting married is nothing new.......these jpa/mara scholars have been given allowances for their spouses and children on scholarship......someone i know sent on a postgraduate scholarship in glasgow brought along her husband and 4 kids, all paid for by the scholarship......for 4 years..........

Added on March 27, 2009, 11:42 pm

sigh.........

i am tired already....i shall now pass the baton to hypermax to warn people about russia and ukraine.........
Erm.....what is the licensing exam in china? I cant search it! I will try to find out but If anyone here can answer please post it up here!

Now, I have registered with that agent and bank in RM500 to him already. Everything in process,within 14 working days I will accept an offer letter from zhejiang uni.When I make sure everything from china,then I will announce the good news here. Zhejiang uni is the top 4 uni in china.The affiliated hospital is the most popular and famous organ transplant center in china and there are a lot of cadavers can do the experiment.With the 11 fully equipped affiliated hospital(2 of its are general hospital), I think the clinical skill shouldn't be an obstacle for me to be a skillful doctor.

I'm sure with smc recognition and my effort, to register with smc will not very difficult to me! Dear senior here please bless me good luck all the way! rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
MBBS siang
post Mar 28 2009, 12:29 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 28 2009, 01:25 AM)
You are seriously lucky.  biggrin.gif Well, good luck in your studies. You now have a ticket to leave bolehland (a cheap one too). Too bad i love my country too much, if not i would have quit the course and join a SMC recognized Chinese school back then.  biggrin.gif

BTW, do post your experience here once you have started the course.  smile.gif
Hopefully,everything is not a dream! HAha...then I will share all experience here when everything start! medicine gogogo!!haha... rclxm9.gif
MBBS siang
post Mar 28 2009, 01:04 AM

582 posts

I do google it up! China seems do not have any medical licensing exam! Please post here if anyone can make sure! biggrin.gif
MBBS siang
post Mar 28 2009, 01:06 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Mar 28 2009, 02:05 AM)
try to keep in contact wif SMC throughout ur studies, as i said it can be easily de-recognised in the near future.

and it's impt to improve ur english on ur own efforts, as i dun think studying in china can help, eventhough it's conducted in english.

and u should also try to look for alternatives elsewhere, eg USMLE, australian...

and lastly, all the best. rclxms.gif
Yup! I will! The university do help students in usmle and plab exam! Thanks!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Mar 28 2009, 01:07 AM
MBBS siang
post Mar 30 2009, 05:34 PM

582 posts

Hey! All dear senior! I have stop all the application in zhejiang uni. The Medic ED consultant DR HO told me,he graduated from tianjing medical university china.He did took the qualifying exam.He tell me that exam is very very hard to pass,during his batch 70 candidates only 2 pass.He is the one but that is the 3rd time he took the exam,if failed he will not have the title"DR"now.He told me if the recognition of mmc is granted in future,the batches go before recognized will also considered not recognized. I do call smc again,they tell me the registration is not guaranteed but will take into consideration.

DR HO also said that, the passing rate of qualifying exam is become more and more difficult since there are too much medical graduates from unrecognized uni. Therefore,Who want to take the risk please think twice.I always very careful because this is my future hmm.gif

So,I will go indonesia this august. An entrance exam I need to take as the gajah mada uni take in limited medical students,so the entrance exam will be harder as compared to other uni in indo.But medic ed do prepare the tuition class for entrance exam.So everything will be easier.medic ed is also given kuota to reserved the seat,so once I pass the exam will be directly enter and no need to compete with others.The university I choose is gajah mada university,the Top 2 public uni in indonesia because the top 1 no enroll chinese. Its world ranking in 2007 is 360 and 2008 is 316,life science and biomedic is 107.Any comment about this uni?

Anyone studying there please share some experience and any senior have comments about medical education in indo please share ur view. rclxm9.gif

Thanks notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Mar 30 2009, 06:11 PM
MBBS siang
post Mar 30 2009, 06:09 PM

582 posts

deleted

Added on March 30, 2009, 6:13 pm
QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Mar 30 2009, 06:50 PM)
You really changed your decision a lot.
Then, what do you think about my decision? I really afraid to take the risk as it is not recognized blush.gif! china is really good and cheap but high risk!

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Mar 30 2009, 06:14 PM
MBBS siang
post Mar 30 2009, 06:32 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Mar 30 2009, 07:29 PM)
Medic Ed. Dr Lau's company?  hmm.gif
my sister had bad experience with him
Yaya dr lau company! do share experiences here! How bad? This company is recommended by mca!
MBBS siang
post Mar 30 2009, 07:03 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(memphis @ Mar 30 2009, 07:57 PM)
im 4th year  student in UNPAD, Bandung.Indonesia. there's a rumors now that JPA will stop sending all student to indonesia starting this august batch. starting from batch 2007, they need to undergo test from MMC before can be a doctor in M'sia. This rumors already circulating among all student but myb not yet heard by public
As long as it is recognized.exam will be exempted! abang adik will not play around the recognition games one i think! As I know all the medical student studying abroad must be recognized if the time they go that uni is still recognized.SO,haha....maybe it is really a rumour rclxms.gif
MBBS siang
post Mar 30 2009, 08:02 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(memphis @ Mar 30 2009, 08:12 PM)
yes, but if they stop sending student here this year, they are high probability that all Uni here will be derecognize...so then, u must take the exam...rite? why dont U ask the malaysian student body here about that..i think they are more informed than me...u can search for PKPMI (persatuan kebangsaan pelajar malaysia di indonesia)...i think they got profile in friendster

Added on March 30, 2009, 7:19 pmMedic ED is an agent issit?most of my batch's agent is Nugrahan..so far no major problem, especially about tuition fees payment!!!
Yup! The MCA recommending me both nugrahan and medic ed,then i choose medic ed because it is founded by doctors as they know more about this profession! I dont think there will stop sending jpa scholar there.They send student there gov can save a lot,no any news regarding the problem of medical education in indo. Anyways,thanks for sharing your views dear senior! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Mar 30 2009, 08:02 PM
MBBS siang
post Mar 31 2009, 05:49 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 30 2009, 11:51 PM)
nice fact. I guess at least we know a good agent for going to medicine. Well MCA is one of the best advisor in Malaysia. I somehow think they do better as welfare agent than a political system. I wonder if they give free advice to malays, I don't heard anyone go to UMNO branch to discuss education.
AS to obtain info about education, I don think they will turn you down? But MCA is a good political party which always care for chinese's welfare in malaysia! Haha....Give them a call they will help you biggrin.gif
MBBS siang
post Apr 2 2009, 10:58 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(tayy60 @ Apr 2 2009, 12:07 AM)
MBBS Siang,how much did Medic Ed charge for their agent fees?
rm3500
MBBS siang
post Apr 2 2009, 11:51 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 2 2009, 12:16 PM)
they are only interested in your money...........

the english language medicine programme is purely to attract mostly 3rd world students and parents, to study there.......since hardly anyone speaks english there........so there is no concern about standards, as these 3rd world students will not stay on and work and treat patients there......they just don't care about the quality of students taken in, or the standards of doctors produced........

in any case, doctoring is considered a dirty job, and do not pay well in russia, so most bright students do NOT want to do medicine, unlike in countries like msia.......

Added on April 2, 2009, 11:20 am
that is a rip-off.......they should ban middleman agents like this........these agents does not care who or what kind of doctor these russia med schools produce, they just want to recruit as many students as possible, and pocket the fees.........they have recruited arts students, people with 5's and 6's in their sciences at spm before..........
Im going to do in Indo not russia(UMG,Universitas Gadjah Mada),they will make sure all criteria meet before register! Now all the medical student want to pursue medicine overseas must obtain the sijil"sokongan luar negara" from MOHE.If the uni allowed them to do medicine without meet the criteria,when they graduated should have a bundle of problems before they can practise and qualifying exam may be required.The Uni itself also will die.So,Mr doctor limeuu don't worry. As I know It is in ukraine. But russia?

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Apr 2 2009, 12:17 PM
MBBS siang
post Apr 2 2009, 12:15 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(zedstat @ Apr 2 2009, 01:05 PM)
hurm in nt very sure regarding the approval of MOH and recognition of university
but based on my experience.. i would say Indonesia better in Russia for the place to study as
the diseases are more of less the same spectrum as in malaysia (Tropical)
compared to in Russia.. which making u abit easier.. in terms of surviving ur HO later

but Russia u will able to see some disease dat u cant even see in Tropical Country
so there are pro and cons...

those from outside malaysia will have to go thru 1 month course of Tropical Disease before they start
on their HOship in UKM...
I totally agree with you!!!Thats why I apply for Indo uni rather than russian.As I know in Indo, the medical students will have more hands-on experiences than other medical students in russia.That will be another advantage to do medicine in indo.
MBBS siang
post Apr 2 2009, 12:19 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(zedstat @ Apr 2 2009, 01:17 PM)
hurm the hands on experiences i cant really comment about it..
however.. it depends on personality.. if u rajin.. go anywhere also shud be ok biggrin.gif
indonesia good since u can go back slalu (im damn homesick)
and also.. the exchange rate there is good and u will feel damn rich..
haha...

but the spectrum.. honestly.. TB, dengue, pneumonia, SLE, HPT,DM, IHD and lot more
Are u UM medical student or?
MBBS siang
post Apr 2 2009, 03:03 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Apr 2 2009, 03:04 PM)
exactly, there shouldn't be any agent involved in the education field. these agents are just to earn $ from you, by telling you how good the universities are, helping you to apply, arranging for accomodations, etc, which are just basic things you can do or the university concerned can do for you, if those universities really care for their students, despite language barrier and stuffs.

Added on April 2, 2009, 2:17 pm

you always talked about the positive sides of the medskols you are/were applying, whether it's AIMST, Zhejiang, and Indo. try to consider the other way round. there are tonnes of problems there.

btw, i do think that indo is the better choice than zhejiang, which is obviously a very risky and "non traditional" route.
Haha! Life is always like this, we should always make thing easy.To me,a cheaper but acceptable quality of medical school is okay.Thats why I only accept the positive side of the medical school. Indonesia is not a bad destination to do medicine isn it?Actually,what Dr limeuu say is not wrong! The medical school of 3rd world uni like UMG in indonesia,they want to earn the money from foreign student.So,they just give the priority to the representative to reserve the seat in order to attract the student,who actually fit to enter medical school but due to the competitiveness lost the seat.Some of the local public uni or reputable western uni also do the similar backdoor method to franchise,twining and etc,to allow people to get the degree without much competition.The only different is just,I go indo pay RM160000 for tuition fees and who do twinning partner medical school in IMU going to pay more than half a million for tuition fees. laugh.gif Dr limeuu I go through a middleman because I have meet the requirement,so the agent will reserve a seat for me.Who go to apply on your own will only end up with failed because the priority will always give to the agent.This is the dark side of education.We can just accept it wink.gif

MBBS siang
post Apr 2 2009, 05:38 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Apr 2 2009, 04:24 PM)
being optimistic doesn't mean you can ignore the problems.

"only accept the positive" is just a suicide
Yup! But indo is not that bad isnt it? Just like I don choose the china one because I am not consider it just base on the positive side. tongue.gif

Added on April 2, 2009, 5:42 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 2 2009, 04:37 PM)
hmmmm....i wonder why so many indonesians go to penang, kl, melaka, spore, even kuching for their medical treatment........
Just like malaysian the rich one always seek for the uk,usa,singapore that kind of developed country for treatment because they think malaysian doctor lousy but Uk one is very very good. Will this mean malaysian doctor really bad. I don't think so.So,indo the same,the rich chinese always consider malaysia,singapore and some developed country is good enough,so come here to seek for treatment lo. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Apr 2 2009, 05:42 PM
MBBS siang
post Apr 2 2009, 06:04 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 2 2009, 06:54 PM)
by that same reasoning, soon, they will stop coming, as they will perceive the msian doctors as inferior in quality, being trained in russia, indonesia etc.....the old generation of well trained doctors from the developed world and the early days of ipta will be retiring soon......
Haha....maybe? Are implying you are one of the old one. biggrin.gif Haiyo....doctor don't always so pessimistic la.Maybe the new will be better than the old one? tongue.gif

This world is always full of love and full of hope! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Apr 2 2009, 06:08 PM
MBBS siang
post Apr 2 2009, 06:19 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 2 2009, 07:10 PM)
dr. mahathir is a graduate from the old um in spore......the first batch from the new um in kl graduated in 1969 and will now be 65 years old, many of them are retired......
Oh I see! Be optimistic la doctor. biggrin.gif If one day you need doctor just find me la!!!! tongue.gif You can trust me but other medical graduate from this thread better dont try, not because they are not good. icon_idea.gif its because they may kill you since you have blush them all the time.Haha..... rclxms.gif

just a joke! no offense! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Apr 2 2009, 06:20 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0848sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:57 PM