Aug 6 2008, 11:46 PM
759 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 6 2008, 11:32 PM) yea it cost 135k USD for foreign student. A portion of the fees is used to pay their local student fees. Yea, we could learn more from the rich clinical exposure under KMC but staying there for 6 years, really makes you think twice. But wouldn't it be better if u can follow the USMLE style in KMC (as wat hyperax said) and sit for it, then can go US lor (provided u got very good score lar). |
Aug 7 2008, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Aug 7 2008, 12:00 AM) Hey there, long time no see, how life in NUS? opps, sry for that, i was abt to sleep at that time, so abit blurredBtw, is hypermax, not hyperax (sounds like hyperass well, total school fee for KMC is near 400k. I seriously dun think that's worth for an Indian school. Also, one can always take up course for USMLE after he/she graduates. Cheaper too. hmm, can i ask right, is the 2 years HO+ 3 years MO compulsory for MMMC student? or u can get out of it anytime u got an offer elsewhere, eg US residency. Added on August 7, 2008, 10:20 am QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 7 2008, 12:15 AM) wgy589, u must be one hell of a student. I did apply for NUS but got other course. When u'r into medicine, it's hard for u to change your mind, don't you guys think so? wat u mean? u r waiting for rejects? hmm, normally there r abt 2 or 3 rejects in year 1 tho.btw, there r less places allocated to foreign students in both NUS and HKU, so it's quite competitive. for HKU, i heard less than 2 foreign student each cohort. This post has been edited by wgy589: Aug 7 2008, 10:27 AM |
Aug 9 2008, 03:36 PM
u've been in spore hospitals b4?
Aug 17 2008, 06:54 PM
i would recommend
1) Clinical Microbiology Made Ridiculously simple (it's the best book in ridiculously simple series. CMMRS and ur skol notes are sufficient for most exams ady, eg USMLE...., it's gud if u can c the clinical relevance of microb in infectious disease management, so do consider the following 2 books 2) Problem-orientated Clinical Microbiology and Infection H Humphreys and WL Irving 3) Cases in Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases PH Gilligan, ML Smiley and DS Shapiro Added on August 17, 2008, 6:56 pmdo take note that it's always best to start any subject from an easy-to-read textbook, and that's the reason y the book i mentioned abv r very user friendly. This post has been edited by wgy589: Aug 17 2008, 06:56 PM |
Aug 20 2008, 06:05 AM
If Immuno included, i heard the Levinson, Baby Abbas, and CMMRS are the best combo, but personally i haven tried it yet.
and there are some useful websites out there on these 2 subjects, eg http://pathmicro.med.sc.edu/book/welcome.htm from USC. |
Sep 3 2008, 09:35 AM
Added on September 2, 2008, 11:34 pm It's very hard to secure a surgical training post in singapore for non-PR, even if the degree is recognized. [/quote] i'm not sure how true is this statement, but it shouldn't be a prob for someone from well recognised medskols to get an PR status. This post has been edited by wgy589: Sep 3 2008, 09:53 AM |
Sep 4 2008, 06:09 AM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Sep 3 2008, 09:53 AM) That's what i have heard from my friend's dad working in Singapore as a doctor. Even if you are a PR, priority will be given to citizen first. this is again hearsay. I think the same goes for medical intake for NUS. My friend's brother (munsheng to be exact), was able to secure a place in Melb U but failed to do so in NUS. No matter wat, Spore still offers better postgrad opportunities to foreigners/foreign graduates as compared to UK, US, Aus. And they r tryin to increase postgrad posts to meet the target of GP:specialists ratio to 40:60. currently the ratio is the other way round This post has been edited by wgy589: Sep 4 2008, 06:51 AM |
Sep 4 2008, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(munsheng @ Sep 4 2008, 12:57 PM) True to certain extent, but then again, how many people studying in developed countries like OZ want to go to Singapore? i think u r too biased with ur bro's case, but rmbr, he's just an individual case onli, there r many other bright students who never got into NUS medicine, and reason being academics only accounts for 50% of total admission score, the rest depends on interviews, essays, and portfolio.My brother studied in Singapore for 6 years, with all the education cost paid by Singapore gov. Yet NUS rejected him even though he is one of the best students in the country. So the end result is OZ gets a free doctor in about 6 years time, while Singapore looses a brilliant student, as well as the money paid to train him. Something wrong in Singapore's strategy? http://medicine.nus.edu.sg/corporate/app-m...missionfaq.html It's very common for a country to lose their talents, and there's y spore are always tryin their best to retain the doctors, 1 way being to offer them wif postgrad training, get me? Added on September 4, 2008, 6:04 pm QUOTE(munsheng @ Sep 4 2008, 09:32 AM) They can do the same thing for those undergrads. Why only post grads then? PR is offered to most foreigners studying in NUS, but few males took it bcos they have to serve NS, but not if they take it after Uni, And if they r doin medic/dental, they would have to serve 5/6 yrs bond, so definitely will try to understand the system lor, somemore majority of them will stay there for postgrad and practice.It is actually better for them to offer citizenship to those foreigners during undergrad years in NUS. They will tend to understand the health care system better as they will be spending many years in SIngapore. This post has been edited by wgy589: Sep 4 2008, 06:04 PM |
Sep 4 2008, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Sep 4 2008, 07:16 PM) Yeah, home sweet home. Too bad our country is screwed up to the core. bond after undergrad studiesSocial engineering?? Wow, that's like communist man. I know many UK grads from Msia want to work in OZ, but seldom heard of them wanting to work in Singapore. Personal preference. Also, many of my friends from OZ said lifestyle in OZ is more relax. I myself like living in Singapore, but not working there. working environment is too stressful. However, this is only my opinion. I actually heard people saying that most medical seats are reserved for citizens. Just like what limmeu said, they want their citizens to become doctors, so chances of loosing doctors are less. The 5/6 yrs bond you mentioned is for postgrad or undergrad? |
Sep 5 2008, 06:51 AM
Sep 9 2008, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(blackrobin @ Sep 9 2008, 04:53 PM) 4 years for citizen.. 5 years for PR and international students..(housemanship period not inclusive) the bond for foreign medical students in NUS is 6 years instead of 5 yrs. Honestly it doesn't really matter cos u can take up postgrad during this time.both category have to undergo compulsory 1 year housemanship... malaysia.. 2 years HO 3 years MO.. so 5 years lo .. I'm not sure abt Malaysia system, but i heard u can only take up postgrad after 5 yrs, with non malays having to wait longer. by the time u get a postgrad, u counterparts in spore r already qualified as consultants. i think this is a very impt consideration to be taken . |
Sep 9 2008, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Sep 9 2008, 07:31 PM) For malaysian system, one can take up postgrad (local programme) after 4 years in service (2 years HO + 2 years MO). Of course, one can always opt for overseas postgrad training (US, UK, Aus, NZ) without adhering to such rules as well as the discriminatory policies. Yup, it's really impt to explore other alternatives, eventhough it's not an easy pathway to take. i've heard of some International medical graduates got into neurosurgery (the most competitive residensy) in US, but do take note most of them end in family medicine and internal medicine (being on the other extreme), and those are the ones with strong USMLE scores and US clinical experience. So u can imagine the kind of competition there. |
Oct 7 2008, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 7 2008, 03:14 PM) you are not understanding me.......i am NOT talking about the ability to remember and understand the facts you learn in school.......in the hope that it will help you in med school or future life....... that's true, ur ability in various aspects reflected in ur pre-U results is the main thing, and it's less on the knowledge u had in scoring well ur pre-U test.i am talking about the ability to cope, adapt, and excel in school....... that quality you will bring with you, whether in school, med school and future working life...... therefore, anyone who says he/she had problems coping with sec school, has no business in med school.... |
Oct 11 2008, 07:55 AM
QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 10 2008, 10:34 PM) arh...my parents seems like they dun wan me to go back..they want me to continue my studies here..what can i do??when i told them i wanted to restart the whole process they say i shud forget about medicine and start thinking of other courses such as engineering..i think it's because they can't afford to send me other places..how much will be totol cost if i do study at IMU??help is needed pls..i've gotta sort this out..anyways..i've got 2months until the next intake of pre-u studies..whether do i go anot..i don't really know now honestly, with financial constraints, u shld really stay back and try to finish the course. it's just the beginning and u r very fresh to the environment, but things might change later on, and u might enjoy staying in russia. futhermore, u shld have expected all these when u enrolled in the foundation course offered by the agency, and be responsible for ur own decision, |
Oct 11 2008, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 11 2008, 01:29 PM) this is what i'm planning to do actually, but i don't know why i still feel like restarting the whole process to get into med school, it seems like i came here without too much of a hassle..that's y i want to know whether am i really suitable for this course. obviously if i go back and re-do the whole process i will disappoint my parents because i gave up. If i go back and still want to pursue medicine, my parents say they can only afford to send me locally.so right now, i don't really know what to do anymore. Can anyone kindly giv their advise??PLS! i think it's best to ask some local medskols eg. Manipal, aimst... to know whether they accept ur foundation course. go personally to the medskols, talk to the boss there, and try to persuade them that u got the money to pay them. afterall, they r profit based. if they do accept u, then u can skip another pre U course. save time and money, futhermore, local medicine is 5 years. so save more time. so there's no reason why u shld't quit. but if really they dun accept u, only then u can start to consider whether to quit. |
Oct 11 2008, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 11 2008, 08:17 PM) i was wondering..is it worth it if i do quit and go back and restart??the money and the time..Before this, i never thought really properly before going to russia and pursue my studies..heck..i even quit SAM just to do this..but right now i'm having 2nd thoughts already..Is it good to go back??or just sulk it up and finish it here..I'm not sure whether i can make it here..neither back home..But i just cannot cope with the education system here..I'm well aware if i leave russia now i'll never go overseas anymore..i might be fine with tat..Can anybody giv me some ideas?? Rite now my mind's confused..heck my university is still accepting new batch of ppl even it's 2weeks after the intake..what should i do now!!i just want to find an answer whether do i have the passion to do this har, izzit the same person here? |
Oct 16 2008, 03:57 PM
i'm just wondering why is 1st year so difficult for u, just pick up a gud book for each subject and u will do.
Oct 16 2008, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Oct 16 2008, 04:00 PM) because my mind's confused...i realise i came here too easily and without thinking very much and i cannot adapt to moscow very well(the weather particulary)..well it's not difficult..i can study..but i'm just confuse..anyways..thx then i think u may need some counselling. |
| Change to: | 0.0563sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:10 PM |