yes u r right, but in California only UKM, UM, IMU graduates r allowed 2 practise there, provided they passed USMLE n got a residency, do correct me if i'm wrong.
Life Sciences CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS!, medical student chat+info center
Feb 20 2008, 06:47 PM
759 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
yes u r right, but in California only UKM, UM, IMU graduates r allowed 2 practise there, provided they passed USMLE n got a residency, do correct me if i'm wrong.
Feb 22 2008, 06:55 PM
Added on February 22, 2008, 6:58 pm QUOTE(hypermax @ Feb 22 2008, 03:30 PM) Nope, you are wrong. Graduates from any medical schools listed in IMED can practice in any part of US provided that they have passed USMLE. dun worry if u r not from IMU, UM, UKM, but truth is the truth, In california, onli IMU, UKM, UM graduates r recognised, International Medical University National University of Malaysia Faculty of Medicine University of Malaya Faculty of Medicine http://www.medbd.ca.gov/applicant/schools_recognized.html Take note, To date California is the only state out of 50 that requires the school to be on their list for Licensure, the rest of the states will consider any school that is on the WHO list and is not on an Unapproved list if the state has one. So, my advice is 2 do some research 1st, b4 sayin "Nope, you are wrong",ok? And realli is that, some private medskols in M'sia will say their degree is recognised 2 practise in US, but that does not apply 2 California. This post has been edited by wgy589: Feb 22 2008, 07:00 PM |
Feb 26 2008, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Feb 26 2008, 10:53 AM) Damn, should have gone to Ireland back then when i was being offered a place in Royal College of Surgeon in Ireland. i tink if u graduate from RCSI, it's almost impossible 2 get a specialist traning there, as long as u r not EU. It's just that u can work there 4 a few years, earning in euro, dat's it.But the tuition fee and cost of living is close to RM1 mil Btw, is local specialist training good? I heard there's quota for bumis for popular subjects like cardiology and etc hmm, i tink whether local residency is gud realli depends on where u wanna work, if u just 1 2 stay in Msia, den it's ok, but 4 overseas, hmm, u shld roughly know dy right,,, imo, NEP is everywhere, so always b pessimistic, dun expect 2 get into residency immediately after 5 years post graduation, den prospect is quite gud 4 u, since u r med student, u can basically ask arnd the locally trained specialists, n they'll give u the exact ans. but imo, y dun u just take USMLE, den go US, the route is not easy, but at least it's better den stayin in bolehland, being bullied by NEP. Btw, r u from UM/UKM? if so, u might consider Spore den, ther r increasin no of residencies every year. |
Feb 27 2008, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Feb 26 2008, 11:24 PM) Sorry, but i dun seem to understand the bold part. Care to elaborate more? yup, i agree wif u, it's very hard 2 get into UKM/UM as a non Bumi. But realli i tink it doesn't make much diff btw UM/UKM and Manipal, in fact, Manipal is more well known globally.Btw, i am not from UKM or UM. It takes a genius for non bumis to enter those schools. I am from Melaka-Manipal, which was the cheapest local school recognized by Malaysia 4 years ago. On loan some more. I heard that even if the degree is not from colleges recognized by Singapore, one can still practice in Singapore provided that he/she has passed USMLE or PLAB. Is this true? i heard it's very hard 4 a non bumi 2 get into residency in msia, dun expect 2 much from it, so dat u wun b 2 disappointed. unless it things have changed, i dun tink USMLE/PLAB is accepted in spore. hmm, if i'm not mistaken, u nid certain amount of years of experience 2 get temporary registration wif spore medical council, so i dun tink it's worthy 2 go there, but haf u ever considered my suggestion 2 sit 4 usmle, if u r interested in internal medicine, den it's quite easy 2 get a residency post there (surgical traineeship is very rare 4 foreign graduates) |
Feb 29 2008, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(starryangel @ Feb 29 2008, 11:32 AM) but according to sources frm wikipedia, US Pre-med takes only 2 years. Is it 2 years or 4 years? I'm so confused. 2 get into US medskol, it's either u nid a US bachelor's degree (3/4 years) or a pre med from some colleges, but the former is the majority.SOURCE: Admission into medical school does not technically require completion of a previous degree, however applicants are usually required to complete at least 2-3 years of "pre-med" courses at the university level because in the US medical degrees are classified as Second entry degrees. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Medical_educa...e_United_States Another ques...is Cambridge A-Levels (Pre-Medical studies) equivalent to Pre-medical studies in US? [CAL is basically divided into Pre-Medical, Pre-Engineering, Pre-Law and Pre-Business] CAL is not divided into pre medic..... i tink it's just the subject combination, like wif bio, it's called as pre med, wif further maths, it's called as pre engine.... i would recom u the website below 2 noe abt US medskols, most of us in msia r not realli familiar wif how the system in US works. http://forums.studentdoctor.net/ |
Mar 2 2008, 07:26 PM
lolz, it supposed 2 b "no bodies for them" , which means since the day they went usm, only their spirits haf been reserved, their bodies have been dissected 2 become cadavers for their own educational purpose.
Added on March 2, 2008, 7:30 pmisn't it the best explanation for the statement "LOL, no bodies for us in USM.. just have cadevers.. not sure bout the newer batches though.." This post has been edited by wgy589: Mar 2 2008, 07:30 PM |
Mar 9 2008, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(csrulez @ Mar 9 2008, 07:42 PM) I'm in metabolism alreadyyyyy, helllpppp meeeeee! T.T Anywayz for anatomy, we've got histology 1st, den only goes into regional anatomy. hmmm. hmm, isn't it quite weird? cos one needs 2 know the big pic 1st (gross anat) b4 doing the microscopic structures right. Unless the histo u mean is onli limited 2 cytology and tissues. Makes sense? |
Mar 13 2008, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(Minolta @ Mar 13 2008, 08:25 PM) Hi, Hi Minolta, thx 4 the adviceAn advice for all medical students.....I doubt anyone else will tell you this before its too late. When you start your medical school, chances are that you will not be exposed to clinical teaching immediately. Traditionally, this begins in year 3, but nowadays, theres a trend to start limited clinical exposure from early on. That brings us to the question of equipping yourselves for clinical practise. Forget the books etc, I'm talking of a doctor's tools. Locally, you can get medical equiptment form any of the local medical bookstores, but what to get and what type to get? The single most important tool is your stethoscope. There are just so many types and brands and length. My advice, think 3M's Litmann series and forget the rest. Its a trusted brand and quality. Almost every doctor uses this brand. But there is a whole series. So just buy the most expensive one that your budget can afford....even if you have to forgo buying other equiptment! Malaysian medical student all buy the Litmann's Classic Stethoscope.....I think this is a mistake. Medical students in Canada, US all use at least a Littman's Cardiology III as standard! Think of it this is......you will be using it for at least 10 years or longer......and stethoscope have gotten more expensive over the years due to the rising dollar(but in view of the opposite now, it may be cheaper next year!). I remember a Littman's Classic cost just RM130 brand new 7 years ago....how much is it now? 3M is still making and selling the same one. 2nd? tendon hammer? Get the standard long plastic with rounded rubber(queen's hammer)? Or the triangular head with metal handle? They both perform the same...just that the triangular one is easier to hit with and is easier to carry and doesn't break easily. But just get one which is the cheapest....you will likely go through a few of them in your lifetime. But remember, better to use a disposable orange stick for babinski's rather than the pointed end of either. 3rd? Opthalmoscope/autoscope? Forget it. Only posers get it IMHO. Better spend the money getting a better stethoscope. There's always one in the wards if you need one. Else, use it in your uni's clinical teaching unit. 4th? pocket snellen chart. Just get the cheapest one. Quite useful. Torchlight? Ah.....very very useful. Trick is to get one which is small enough to pocket, but bright enough to outshine everyone's elses.....this one, be a poser all you want IMHO! Get the small maglite if you can afford, but make sure you don't lend it to anyone else and engrave your name on it.....student's lose their torchlight all the time. Measuring tape? Err......forget it. Rulers? Forget it. Geometric rulers? Forget it. I can't think of anything that you will need at this point. cheers, digi |
Mar 14 2008, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(linkeong @ Mar 14 2008, 04:16 PM) 1)Only UM and UKM is recognised worldwide. Really? how u know? it's quite weird to have 6 oncologists only, haha2) You need to take the local examination of that country 3) Definitely, many specialist are USM, UKM etc graduates Neuro, you need to really study hard and long. Roughly takes 20 years from the day you start your MBBS course. Malaysia is in need of Oncologist, there are only 6 in Malaysia, and Singapore is in need of Internal Medicine, so they pay extra if you specialise in that field. |
Mar 14 2008, 06:13 PM
haha, after arnd 9 years, u r still a MO/GP. In msia, after MBBS, got 2 years houseman, 3 years of compulsory service, and as a non-Bumi (r u?), it's either u will never get neurosurgery or get it in late 30/40's. so, ...9 years, it's quite funny
Mar 15 2008, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(hyperx @ Mar 15 2008, 04:01 AM) add a bit haha, thx againthis clin book quite good, and it is easy to read/understand.. bring it along when u're doing ward round » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « but for beginner, try to get this book » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « even u're if you're not yet enter clinical year, theres no harm of getting these books.. you can read it during your free time, help to correlate with what you'd learnt.. plus it also helps you doing your assignment such as boring ( about rule/measuring tape.. get a pen and mark 1-5cm on your finger |
Mar 19 2008, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(aerikh @ Mar 19 2008, 08:35 PM) 1st of all, congrats! That's pretty true, haha..... So most of the time, just "smoke" them lor, lolzwell, the most important thing: don't choose medicine just because you scored in your exams... score in your exams cause you chose medicine! well.. i knew i wanted to be a doctor since i was 5.. never wavered from then... always had to crack my skull to write 2 more options during primary school (anyone still remember the small card you have to fill, including 3 cita-cita?) i joined st. john's ambulance since std 5, just to get a feel of the first aid training.. never went to any hospitals for training.. medicine is fun, lots of problem solving, no patient is the same as the previous one.. you can have the most canggih meds & equipment to heal (& kill) people.. people treat you different, your friends & relatives consult you from the 1st day you entered medical school (even though you've only just learnt about the anatomy & physiology)learning in medicine never stops.. the day you graduate is just the 1st step to the wide world of medicine.. you'll be a doctor till the day you die.. (YES, there is a LOT to memorize) |
Mar 20 2008, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(jidinmiya @ Mar 20 2008, 11:27 AM) hye der. m spm leaver. well,my reslt wasnt great enuf n i cant apply st8 away tru JPA 4 medic. ur Q is rather superficial for an aspiring doc. R u really interested in Medicine? hmm....but,i hve a very high interest in medic. very. i was fricking 8 years old wen i fell in love in dis filed. but,i dono wt hpnd,my spm just.. argh!! ;( nway,wana ask somthng. 1) wat actually is MBBS? 2) how i can get ito medic? is it tru matriculation @ wut? anyone cares to answer? |
Mar 20 2008, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(ResQ @ Mar 20 2008, 05:43 PM) U wouldn't want to study in ur kakak's home country right.Added on March 20, 2008, 6:21 pm QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 20 2008, 06:01 PM) generally speaking, the training of doctors is closely tied to the provision of healthcare.......so obviously, the countries with the best healthcare standards are also the ones with the most stringent student selection process, and the most consistent in quality of graduates.......... The red dot at the tip of the penisso you have the rich of the world going to the USA for treatment for obvious reasons......in this region, the little red dot is an obvious destination when one with money falls sick........even some hospitals in thailand are attracting 'health tourism'........ have you noticed any rush by patients to go to indonesia for healthcare? lots of them in fact, ends up in penang, melaka, KL.........and of course the little red dot........ so go figure........ This post has been edited by wgy589: Mar 20 2008, 06:21 PM |
Mar 24 2008, 11:36 PM
Mar 25 2008, 01:24 AM
wow, den u shld be quite of older generation dy
Mar 25 2008, 01:39 AM
QUOTE(hypermax @ Mar 25 2008, 01:32 AM) But i heard now non EU students cannot take up training post in UK. So is it still possible to obtain MRCP for non EU graduate? i tink some royal colleges will conduct MRCP exams outside UK, and most of it in HK/Spore, so as long as u register for the exam, u'll sit for it. it's not a specialty traning post/residency, and neither it will lead u to become a specialist. but i heard it makes u more qualified for residencybtw, i'm not really sure |
Mar 25 2008, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(lagrima @ Mar 25 2008, 10:16 AM) oh WHAT? ah crap. I can get in trouble here for using pirated books. I'll be having a look anyhoos. Thanks heaps it's not pirated books there. Most of the books were printed in India with limited copyright, thus it can't be sold in most advanced countries like US/Canada, UK/Europe, Aus, Japan.Added on March 25, 2008, 10:21 am Yup they're pretty similar. The curriculum itself is almost the same, since unis that just opened a medical faculty essentially 'buy' the curriculum off other more established unis. Also I've got friends doing their clinical rotations with students from other unis and they're pretty much on par with each other. (I'm in Queensland, Australia) Added on March 25, 2008, 10:34 amu were from IMU? somemore wif a undergrad degree ady izzit? Queensland is postgrad entry right. This post has been edited by wgy589: Mar 25 2008, 10:34 AM |
Mar 25 2008, 04:48 PM
i doubt anyone of us tried this b4. Hey, IMU and UM/Uitm asasi r completely from diff world. Most IMU students came from SAM, Alevels, UEC, and mabbe a few STPM.
Dun u feel ashamed not being able to get into UM/Uitm medicine after completing their asasi, when some can get in thro STPM (which is a tougher route)? |
Mar 26 2008, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(Minolta @ Mar 26 2008, 08:51 PM) MRCP is conducted all over the world. Malaysia has sitings for each of the 3 parts once a year respectively. So does Singapore. It is still a very popular exam in Malaysia, especially among the non-Malay doctors. It is equivalent to MMED(UKM/UM/UPM/USM/UIA/or whatever public universities that offer it), MMED(Singapore....essentially the same exam), ABIM in regards to being a physician in Malaysia. For MMED(Malaysia), the gazettement period is 6 months, the rest 18 months. MMED(Mal) is actually a good training programme...4 years, but not recognised anywhere else in the world. The rest are. Thx for the explanation. btw, can't really understand wif MMed in Msia, u r considered as a specialist right, but not wif MRCP. izzit true?ASFAIK, all local MBBS programme are only recognised in Malaysia, except for MBBS from UM and UKM which was recently recognised by Singapore too. Singapore recognises the above 2 universities for one reason only......coz they want to recruit them. Singapore is very short of medical doctors, so they are very actively recruiting fresh graduates from the above 2 universities for starting from housemanship. The pay is way way better, not mentioning the training. So for UM and UKM medical students, you have a very good option for you all once you graduate.....and it is based on meritocracy, no preference at all for even local Singaporeans! and for the current British system, MRCP will lead u to FRCP, which is a specialist qualification right, so wat is the equivalent of MMed (Mal)? Do they haf to sit for FRCP as well? and wat do u mean "the rest"? Cheers... |
| Change to: | 0.0498sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:43 AM |